The perfect plan for booklovers!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Greystone Secrets #1: The Strangers - cover

Greystone Secrets #1: The Strangers

Margaret Peterson Haddix

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

  • 0
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

New York Times bestselling author Margaret Peterson Haddix takes readers on a thrilling adventure filled with mysteries and plot twists aplenty in this absorbing series about family and friendships. Perfect for fans of A Wrinkle in Time and The City of Ember! This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschooling. It’s a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom. 
  
What makes you you? 
The Greystone kids thought they knew. Chess has always been the protector over his younger siblings, Emma loves math, and Finn does what Finn does best—acting silly and being adored. They’ve been a happy family, just the three of them and their mom. 
But everything changes when reports of three kidnapped children reach the Greystone kids, and they’re shocked by the startling similarities between themselves and these complete strangers. The other kids share their same first and middle names. They’re the same ages. They even have identical birthdays. Who, exactly, are these strangers? 
Before Chess, Emma, and Finn can question their mom about it, she takes off on a sudden work trip and leaves them in the care of Ms. Morales and her daughter, Natalie. But puzzling clues left behind lead to complex codes, hidden rooms, and a dangerous secret that will turn their world upside down. 
Praise for The Strangers: 
"A secret-stacked, thrilling series opener about perception, personal memories, and the idiosyncrasies that form individual identities." (Publishers Weekly, starred review) 
* Winter 2018–2019 Kids' Indie Next List Pick * Indie Bestseller * Time for Kids Book Club: Top 10 Summer Reads *  PW Best Books 2019 *  Texas Bluebonnet Award List 2020-2021 * 2020 LITA Excellence in Children’s and Young Adult Science Fiction Notable Book: The Eleanor Cameron Notable Middle Grade Books List *

Other books that might interest you

  • Scarlett - A Creepy Hollow Story - cover

    Scarlett - A Creepy Hollow Story

    Rachel Morgan

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    "Excellent as usual. This series is one of the best I ever read and I read a lot!" - 5-star customer review.
     
    Deadly power. Stunning beauty. She will not be controlled.
     
    Sixteen-year-old Beth’s ordinary life is shattered the night her dormant magic awakens and she almost kills her boyfriend. Horrified at what she’s done, she flees into the fae realm to find the siren mother who disowned her a decade ago. When it turns out her power cannot be controlled, she is once again cast out from the siren community. Alone and afraid, Beth winds up in the Dark North where a group of witches rescues her. They offer to help her gain control of her deadly magic—but at what price?
     
    Scarlett is a companion story to the bestselling YA fantasy Creepy Hollow series. Grab your copy today to taste a darker side of this captivating magical world!
     
    While this story is best enjoyed in conjunction with the rest of the Creepy Hollow series, it is a standalone story that can be read on its own. (Optimal reading position in series: after book 1, The Faerie Guardian)
     
    Readers' reviews: 
     
    "A fabulous addition to the Creepy Hollow series."
     
    "I haven't read books this good in a really long time. Rachel, please always keep writing!"
    Show book
  • Redwood and Ponytail - cover

    Redwood and Ponytail

    K.A. Holt

    • 0
    • 14
    • 0
    Kate and Tam meet, and both of their worlds tip sideways. At first, Tam figures Kate is your stereotypical cheerleader; Kate sees Tam as another tall jock. And the more they keep running into each other, the more they surprise each other. Beneath Kate's sleek ponytail and perfect façade, Tam sees a goofy, sensitive, lonely girl. And Tam's so much more than a volleyball player, Kate realizes: She's everything Kate wishes she could be. It's complicated. Except it's not. When Kate and Tam meet, they fall in like. It's as simple as that. But not everybody sees it that way. This novel in verse about two girls discovering their feelings for each other is a universal story of finding a way to be comfortable in your own skin.
    Show book
  • Get Dirty - cover

    Get Dirty

    Gretchen McNeil

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Now streaming on Netflix and BBC iPlayer! 
    The Breakfast Club meets Pretty Little Liars in Gretchen McNeil's sharp and thrilling sequel to Get Even. Perfect for fans of E. Lockhart, Karen M. McManus, and Maureen Johnson. 
    The members of Don't Get Mad aren't just mad anymore . . . they're afraid. And with Margot in a coma and Bree under house arrest, it's up to Olivia and Kitty to try to catch their deadly tormentor. 
    But just as the girls are about to go on the offensive, Ed the Head reveals a shocking secret that turns all their theories upside down. The killer could be anyone, and this time he—or she—is out for more than just revenge. 
    The girls desperately try to discover the killer's identity as their own lives are falling apart: Donté is pulling away from Kitty and seems to be hiding a secret of his own, Bree is sequestered under the watchful eye of her mom’s bodyguard, and Olivia's mother is on an emotional downward spiral. 
    The killer is closing in, the threats are becoming more personal, and when the police refuse to listen, the girls have no choice but to confront their anonymous “friend” . . . or die trying.
    Show book
  • Libby in the Middle - cover

    Libby in the Middle

    Gwyneth Rees

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Libby and her big sister Bella used to be close, but lately it's felt like Bella is a closed book: she's sarcastic and mean and obsessed with her boyfriend. Then there's six-year-old Grace, the baby of the family. Whenever Mum and Dad aren't at work, it's all about Grace. So where does Libby fit in? 
     
    Things change suddenly when the girls move to the tiny village where their dad grew up – as their bossy Aunt Thecla has offered to pay for them to go to a posh new school. Libby doesn't mind, but Bella can't bear to leave her boyfriend behind. 
     
    Soon there are secrets everywhere … 
     
    Perfect for readers of Cathy Cassidy, Jacqueline Wilson and Judy Blume, Libby in the Middle is a story about family, friendship and discovering where you fit into the world.
    Show book
  • The Leaving - cover

    The Leaving

    Tara Altebrando

    • 1
    • 16
    • 0
    Six were taken. Eleven years later, five come back--with no idea of where they've been. A riveting mystery for fans of We Were Liars. 
     
    Eleven years ago, six kindergartners went missing without a trace. After all that time, the people left behind moved on, or tried to. 
      
     Until today. Today five of those kids return. They're sixteen, and they are . . . fine. Scarlett comes home and finds a mom she barely recognizes, and doesn't really recognize the person she's supposed to be, either. But she thinks she remembers Lucas. Lucas remembers Scarlett, too, except they're entirely unable to recall where they've been or what happened to them. Neither of them remember the sixth victim, Max--the only one who hasn't come back. Which leaves Max's sister, Avery, wanting answers. She wants to find her brother--dead or alive--and isn't buying this whole memory-loss story. But as details of the disappearance begin to unfold, no one is prepared for the truth. 
      
     This unforgettable novel--with its rich characters, high stakes, and plot twists--will leave readers breathless.
    Show book
  • What You Always Wanted - An If Only novel - cover

    What You Always Wanted - An If...

    Kristin Rae

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Enjoy What You Always Wanted and the other standalone titles in Bloomsbury's contemporary If Only romance line centered around an impossible problem: you always want what you can't have! 
     
    Maddie Brooks has always had high standards for guys. But she has yet to find one who can live up to the grace and romance of classic Hollywood heartthrobs, especially the dreamy song-and-dance man, Gene Kelly. When Maddie begins to carpool with Jesse Morales, her new neighbor and star pitcher of the high school baseball team, she's immediately struck by his wit, good looks, and love for his family-but a guy so into sports is definitely not her style. Then Maddie discovers that Jesse was raised a dancer and still practices in the community theater dance studio to keep in shape. Perhaps her perfect dream guy exists after all. But when it becomes clear that baseball-not dance-is Jessie's passion, can Maddie find a way to let her dream guy go and appreciate the charms of the amazing guy in front of her?
    Show book