Instant satisfaction for your thirst for knowledge!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Captain's Chair: A Science Fiction Adventure - Seeds Among the Stars - cover

The Captain's Chair: A Science Fiction Adventure - Seeds Among the Stars

Margaret McGaffey Fish

Publisher: TTO Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A science fiction adventure for ages 13 and up to enjoy.  
approx. 10,000 words (52 pages) 
Indie traders value freedom over security.  
Samantha Marsdom has grand plans to expand the starship she inherited from her father into a profitable indie trader fleet. She has much to prove to herself and her father’s crew, but the path has not been easy. Still, her reputation is growing, and when a prime job comes her way, she’s eager to show the crew, and her childhood friend, she has what it takes to secure their freedom with hefty profits.  
This is a short story in the Seeds Among the Stars universe. It stands alone and can be read before or after any of the books in the series. An excerpt from book 1, Shafter, is included. 
The novels in Seeds Among the Stars:  
Book 1: Shafter  
Book 2: Trainee

Other books that might interest you

  • Seasons of Joy - Every Day is for Outdoor Play - cover

    Seasons of Joy - Every Day is...

    Claudia Marie Lenart

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Immerse Your Child in the Wonder of Nature in Every Season The pure and simple delight of children playing outside is captured in needle-felted wool paintings created by Claudia Marie Lenart in Seasons of Joy: Everyday is for Outdoor Play.  The picture book pairs dreamy images of multi-cultural children, animals, flowers and trees with verse that expresses the joy young children experience in nature's seasons. Children can see themselves in the diverse characters and can be inspired to spend more time playing outdoors and connecting to nature. "Young children learn through imitation and movement. If that movement is filled with imaginative pictures, they are able to take it up in their whole being and express it outwardly in their play. Claudia Lenart's book Seasons of Joy uses the artistic medium of needle-felted wool to express the joy of children in movement at every season of the year." --Barbara Patterson, retired Waldorf Extra Lesson teacher in private practice, author of Beyond the Rainbow Bridge: Nurturing Our Children from Birth to Seven  "In Seasons of Joy, Claudia Lenart uses her beautiful rhyming prose to tell a classic tale of the changing of the seasons and the carefree pleasure of playing outside all year around. The details in every scene are meticulous and refined, down to the distinct wing pattern of a butterfly and the catchlight in a squirrel's eye. This book is exactly what it sets out to be - a joy to read and an inspiration for nature play for children everywhere." --Linda Akeson McGurk, journalist, blogger at Rain or Shine Mama, author of There's No Such Thing As Bad Weather "What a treat to meander through the seasons with these wonderful words and beautiful wool paintings. Claudia is an extraordinary fiber artist who has the special talent of bringing magical scenes to life. A delight for adults and children alike." --Donni Webber, www.TheMagicOnions.com, author of Magical Miniature Gardens and Homes Juvenile Fiction: Concepts - Seasons Learn more at www.ClaudiaMarieFelt.com From Loving Healing Press www.LHPress.com
    Show book
  • Then He Ate My Boy Entrancers - More Mad Marvy Confessions of Georgia Nicolson - cover

    Then He Ate My Boy Entrancers -...

    Louise Rennison

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    Let the overseas snogfest begin! 
    Georgia and Jas are off to Hamburger-a-gogo land! Georgia plans to track down Masimo, the Italian-American dreamboat, but after a long week in America, she only succeeds in learning importantish things -- like how to ride a bucking bronco. Will Georgia reel in the Italian dreamboat? Or is she destined to live forever all aloney on her owney?
    Show book
  • Bone Gap - cover

    Bone Gap

    Laura Ruby

    • 4
    • 64
    • 0
    National Book Award Finalist * Printz Award Winner for Best Young Adult Book of the Year 
    “Ruby’s novel deserves to be read and reread. It is powerful, beautiful, extraordinary.”—School Library Journal 
    Everyone knows Bone Gap is full of gaps. 
    So when young, beautiful Roza went missing, the people of Bone Gap weren’t surprised. But Finn knows what really happened to Roza. He knows she was kidnapped by a dangerous man whose face he cannot remember. 
    As we follow the stories of Finn, Roza, and the people of Bone Gap, acclaimed author Laura Ruby weaves a tale of the ways in which the face the world sees is never the sum of who we are.
    Show book
  • Shatter Me - cover

    Shatter Me

    Tahereh Mafi

    • 8
    • 22
    • 0
    The gripping first installment in New York Times bestselling author Tahereh Mafi’s Shatter Me series. 
    One touch is all it takes. One touch, and Juliette Ferrars can leave a fully grown man gasping for air. One touch, and she can kill. 
    No one knows why Juliette has such incredible power. It feels like a curse, a burden that one person alone could never bear. But The Reestablishment sees it as a gift, sees her as an opportunity. An opportunity for a deadly weapon. 
    Juliette has never fought for herself before. But when she’s reunited with the one person who ever cared about her, she finds a strength she never knew she had. 
    And don’t miss Defy Me, the shocking fifth book in the Shatter Me series!
    Show book
  • Epic Fail - cover

    Epic Fail

    Claire LaZebnik

    • 4
    • 134
    • 0
    Pride and Prejudice goes Hollywood in this winning romantic comedy inspired by Jane Austen’s classic. In her teen fiction debut, the author of Knitting Under the Influence goes back to high school for a tale of sisters, misinformation, and star-crossed love. 
    Will Elise’s love life be an epic win or an epic fail? 
    At Coral Tree Prep in Los Angeles, who your parents are can make or break you.  
    Case in point: As the son of Hollywood royalty, Derek Edwards is pretty much prince of the school—not that he deigns to acknowledge many of his loyal subjects. 
    As the daughter of the new principal, Elise Benton isn’t exactly on everyone’s must-sit-next-to-at-lunch list. 
    When Elise’s beautiful sister catches the eye of the prince’s best friend, Elise gets to spend a lot of time with Derek, making her the envy of every girl on campus. Except she refuses to fall for any of his rare smiles and instead warms up to his enemy, the surprisingly charming social outcast Webster Grant. 
    But in this hilarious tale of fitting in and flirting, not all snubs are undeserved, not all celebrity brats are bratty, and pride and prejudice can get in the way of true love for only so long.
    Show book
  • I Am Not a Number - cover

    I Am Not a Number

    Lisa Heathfield

    • 4
    • 6
    • 0
    The powerful and heart-wrenching new novel from Lisa Heathfield, award-winning author of Seed and Paper Butterflies. Perfect for fans of Sarah Crossan, Louise O'Neill and Lisa Williamson. 
     
    Ever since the Traditional party came into power, 15-year-old Ruby’s life has changed for the worse. Everything Ruby and her family and friends celebrate – equal rights for women, freedom of movement, individual expression – are forbidden. And things are getting worse . . . 
     
    Soon Ruby and her family find themselves taken to a prison camp far from home with no possessions, food or rights. Each person is allocated a number – Ruby is number 276. Forced into hard labour, starving and with friends and family going missing every day, Ruby knows she has to escape and let the world know what is happening. She has to somehow cling on to her identity, and fight back. The future depends on it.
     
    Lisa Heathfield's other books: 
     
    Seed 9781405275385Paper Butterflies 9781405275392Flight of Starling 9781405285902
    Show book