Don't put off till tomorrow the book you can read today!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Underground Girl: A Novel of the Exiles of Aur - Exiles of Aur #6 - cover

The Underground Girl: A Novel of the Exiles of Aur - Exiles of Aur #6

Margaret M. Lin

Publisher: Small Grey Cat Studio

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Sylvie Baker's memories hit a wall beyond three months ago.  That was when she was discovered buried in the charred rubble of an apartment complex fire.  She wonders if her past could possibly have been as strange as her three-month old life has been to date.  As it is, she's not quite sure she's sane. 
To begin with, she's periodically transported to a world of caves, black-tree forests, and a fairytale castle.  She keeps finding little moonstones there, only to find herself back in "reality," in Portland, Oregon, again.  Then there's the part where she seems to be able to heal people with the touch of her hand – though at a cost. 
Her brief life gets more complicated when she comes across another person in that other world, a man.  Then her two worlds collide when she also finds him in Portland.  He and others, who call themselves Scholars, seem bent on exploiting her "magical" powers.  That is, assuming she's not imagining it all. 
As Sylvie tries to solve the mystery of herself – and stay alive – she may discover that reality will need some serious redefining.  She may find that she's part of a greater mystery that ties her to the secretive island nation of Aur, which changed the rules of reality long ago. 
She may also fall in love along the way. 
Welcome to the Exiles of Aur series, paranormal romances that tell the stories of loners and lost souls from the mysterious Aur, a place of myth, magic, and monsters.  The Underground Girl is the sixth book in the sequence.  Like all the books, it can be read as a stand-alone, though the books chronologically follow each other, and often characters from earlier books make subsequent appearances.  This is an angsty but clean romance with mild graphic violence and little to no profanity. 
Approximately 63,000 words.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Ugly Duchess - cover

    The Ugly Duchess

    Eloisa James

    • 12
    • 69
    • 0
    “Eloisa James is extraordinary.”—Lisa Kleypas 
    “Nothing gets me to the bookstore faster than a new novel by Eloisa James.”—Julia Quinn 
    New York Times bestselling author Eloisa James gives the classic Hans Christian Andersen story of “The Ugly Duckling” a wonderful, witty, and delightfully passionate twist. The Ugly Duchess is another fairytale inspired romance from the unparalleled storyteller whose writing, author Teresa Medieros raves, “is truly scrumptious.” A sexy and fun historical romance, James’s winning tale of a glorious reawakening does not feature ducks and swans—rather it’s a charming story of a young woman unaware of her own beauty, suddenly duty-bound to wed the dashing gentleman who has always been her platonic best friend…until now.
    Show book
  • The Pleasure of the Rose - The MacNeil Legacy - Book One - cover

    The Pleasure of the Rose - The...

    Jane Bonander

    • 1
    • 8
    • 0
    Long a master of the historical and the heartfelt, Jane Bonander pens a sweeping Scottish romance, perfect for readers of Mary Balogh.
    "Jane Bonander reaches out to her readers' hearts." —RT Book Reviews
    As Fletcher MacNeil sat in a jail cell, the last thing he expected was a Scottish solicitor bearing news of an inheritance. Fletcher, half Comanche and half Scottish, is the only surviving heir to Castle Sheiling and a fortune beyond his wildest dreams. But to claim it, he must escape his current predicament and travel across the ocean—to a world of loyal clans and kinsmen where Fletcher’s very appearance marks him as outsider.
    Rosalyn Geddes, housekeeper of Sheiling, is relieved to hear that the new earl of Kintyre has been located in America. But the last thing she expected was the mysterious, darkly handsome man who appears on the castle doorstep. Rosalyn cannot believe he is a MacNeil, let alone the new earl. But there’s something about this man—a power and magnetism that draws her in.
    Fletcher learns that his inheritance comes with a caveat—he must produce an heir within one year’s time or the fortune goes to a rogue cousin of the late earl. A marriage of convenience is proposed, and Roz reluctantly agrees. What begins as purely a business transaction blossoms into something more. Roz begins to feel herself open up to the possibility of love, but the question of whether Fletcher will leave her once he’s met the terms of the will continues to loom over their relationship. Can they overcome Roz’s tragic past and Fletcher’s uncertain future?
    Show book
  • Her Dueling Daddies - A smexy menage romance - cover

    Her Dueling Daddies - A smexy...

    Lee Savino

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    Two daddies are better than one...I'm caught between two dominant daddies--best friends who compete at everything. Both Bear and Sawyer have muscles for days but they want to know who’s better in bed. And they want me to judge. Their game, their rules, but I can play along. They call the shots, in and out of bed, and disobedience has delicious consequences. As the final round approaches and the stakes are raised, I’m hoping this isn’t just a game. I'm falling, fast, and I don't think I can choose.They're both playing to win. But are they willing to share?Me and my heart.
     
     
    Show book
  • The Key - cover

    The Key

    Lynsay Sands

    • 9
    • 57
    • 1
    Return to the wild beauty of Scotland in The Key, a classic historical romance novel from New York Times bestselling author Lynsay Sands. Married to a barbaric laird in order to escape a worse fate, Iliana Wildwood is determined to remain a chaste wife...until her warrior husband plunders the marriage bed, awakening her to pleasures she's never known before! If you love the quirky, loveable heroines of Julie Garwood's historical romances, then you’re going to love award-winning author Lynsay Sands. Featuring Sands's trademark humor and sexy alpha hero, The Key is a sensual historical romance you won't want to miss!
    Show book
  • The Rake - Lessons in Love - cover

    The Rake - Lessons in Love

    Suzanne Enoch

    • 2
    • 58
    • 0
    A Regency romp about a young lady who vows revenge on the rakish lord who loved and left her, only to find herself unexpectedly caught in Cupid′s net along with the handsome viscount when her plan to love and leave him backfires.
    Show book
  • Sold to a Laird - cover

    Sold to a Laird

    Karen Ranney

    • 3
    • 31
    • 0
    In Sold to a Laird, the latest passionate Scottish love story from author Karen Ranney, a stubborn beauty sold into marriage by her father is determined to resist the charms of her new husband, a complete stranger. But Douglas Eston and and Lady Sarah Baines won’t be strangers for long . . .
    Show book