Slay dragons. Discover the killer. Make Love. Read without limits. #WorldBookDay offer until April 28!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Underground Girl: A Novel of the Exiles of Aur - Exiles of Aur #6 - cover

The Underground Girl: A Novel of the Exiles of Aur - Exiles of Aur #6

Margaret M. Lin

Publisher: Small Grey Cat Studio

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Sylvie Baker's memories hit a wall beyond three months ago.  That was when she was discovered buried in the charred rubble of an apartment complex fire.  She wonders if her past could possibly have been as strange as her three-month old life has been to date.  As it is, she's not quite sure she's sane. 
To begin with, she's periodically transported to a world of caves, black-tree forests, and a fairytale castle.  She keeps finding little moonstones there, only to find herself back in "reality," in Portland, Oregon, again.  Then there's the part where she seems to be able to heal people with the touch of her hand – though at a cost. 
Her brief life gets more complicated when she comes across another person in that other world, a man.  Then her two worlds collide when she also finds him in Portland.  He and others, who call themselves Scholars, seem bent on exploiting her "magical" powers.  That is, assuming she's not imagining it all. 
As Sylvie tries to solve the mystery of herself – and stay alive – she may discover that reality will need some serious redefining.  She may find that she's part of a greater mystery that ties her to the secretive island nation of Aur, which changed the rules of reality long ago. 
She may also fall in love along the way. 
Welcome to the Exiles of Aur series, paranormal romances that tell the stories of loners and lost souls from the mysterious Aur, a place of myth, magic, and monsters.  The Underground Girl is the sixth book in the sequence.  Like all the books, it can be read as a stand-alone, though the books chronologically follow each other, and often characters from earlier books make subsequent appearances.  This is an angsty but clean romance with mild graphic violence and little to no profanity. 
Approximately 63,000 words.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Duchess Deal - Girl Meets Duke - cover

    The Duchess Deal - Girl Meets Duke

    Tessa Dare

    • 8
    • 70
    • 0
    When girl meets Duke, their marriage breaks all the rules… 
    Since his return from war, the Duke of Ashbury’s to-do list has been short and anything but sweet: brooding, glowering, menacing London ne’er-do-wells by night. Now there’s a new item on the list. He needs an heir—which means he needs a wife. When Emma Gladstone, a vicar’s daughter turned seamstress, appears in his library wearing a wedding gown, he decides on the spot that she’ll do. 
    His terms are simple: 
    - They will be husband and wife by night only. 
    - No lights, no kissing.  
    - No questions about his battle scars.  
    - Last, and most importantly… Once she’s pregnant with his heir, they need never share a bed again. 
    But Emma is no pushover. She has a few rules of her own: 
    - They will have dinner together every evening.  
    - With conversation. 
    - And unlimited teasing. 
    - Last, and most importantly… Once she’s seen the man beneath the scars, he can’t stop her from falling in love…
    Show book
  • This Duchess of Mine - cover

    This Duchess of Mine

    Eloisa James

    • 2
    • 11
    • 0
    Eloisa James, New York Times bestselling romance author of When Beauty Tamed the Beast, puts a chilly, powerful duke in bed with an intelligent, beautiful woman…his wife. In name, anyway. 
    No man can resist Jemma's sensuous allure . . . Except her own husband! 
    Wedding bells celebrating the arranged marriage between the lovely Duchess of Beaumont and her staid, imperturbable duke had scarcely fallen silent when a shocking discovery sent Jemma running from the ducal mansion. For the next nine years she cavorted abroad, creating one delicious scandal after another (if one is to believe the rumors). 
    Elijah, Duke of Beaumont, did believe those rumors. 
    But the handsome duke needs an heir, so he summons his seductive wife home. Jemma laughs at Elijah's cool eyes and icy heart—but to her secret shock, she doesn't share his feelings. In fact, she wants the impossible: her husband's heart at her feet. 
    But what manner of seduction will make a man fall desperately in love . . . with his own wife?
    Show book
  • The Warrior Laird - cover

    The Warrior Laird

    Margo Maguire

    • 5
    • 21
    • 0
    “Margo Maguire is a masterful storyteller.”—Lorraine Heath 
    Margo Maguire has a true talent for writing scintillating, powerfully emotional historical romance novels. She works her enthralling magic once more with a wildly passionate series about siblings who have survived a brutal past and will stop at nothing to claim their birthright. Of course, breathtaking passion and undeniable love are almost certain to come their way. It happens in the first book, The Warrior Laird. Fans of Karen Hawkins, Julianne MacLean, Liz Carlyle, Julia London—and anyone else who loves to be transported by historical romance to the breathtaking Scottish Highlands—will adore this tantalizing tale of a warrior Scotsman on a treasure hunt and the runaway bride who sets out to steal his fortune…only to become his captive prize.
    Show book
  • The Artful Match (London Beginnings Book #3) - cover

    The Artful Match (London...

    Jennifer Delamere

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Cara Bernay has never fit in. At loose ends in 1881 London after a near tragedy costs her a job, she befriends a carefree artist. With his help, she begins planning a new life and developing her own artistic talent. But soon Cara finds herself at odds with the artist's brother--a handsome but arrogant earl forcing his brother back to a "respectable" life.Henry Burke, the Earl of Morestowe, feels the weight of growing financial burdens. His younger brother is the one person who can save their family, and Henry needs him back home. Despite misgivings about Cara's mysterious background, Henry sees she's a positive influence on his brother and on Henry's young ward, and he strikes a deal with her to return with them to their estate.  But the family has their own secrets, and when Cara, drawn ever closer to Henry, stumbles onto the truth, she must choose between following her heart and pursuing a bold plan that could bring disaster.
    Show book
  • An Uncommon Courtship (Hawthorne House Book #3) - cover

    An Uncommon Courtship (Hawthorne...

    Kristi Ann Hunter

    • 4
    • 13
    • 0
    "Engaging Regency romance to sweep you away."--USA Today Happy Ever After BlogLife for Lady Adelaide Bell was easier if she hid in her older sister's shadow--which worked until her sister got married. Even with thepressure of her socially ambitious mother, the last thing she expected was a marriage of convenience to save her previously spotless reputation.Lord Trent Hawthorne couldn't be happier that he is not the duke in the family. He's free to manage his small estate and take his time discovering the life he wants to lead, which includes grand plans of wooing and falling in love with the woman of his choice. When he finds himself honor bound to marry a woman he doesn't know, his dream of a marriage like his parents' seems lost forever. Already starting their marriage on shaky ground, can Adelaide and Trent's relationship survive the pressures of London society?
    Show book
  • A Duke of Her Own - cover

    A Duke of Her Own

    Eloisa James

    • 6
    • 16
    • 0
    A duke must choose wisely . . . 
    Leopold Dautry, the notorious Duke of Villiers, must wed quickly and nobly—and his choices, alas, are few. The Duke of Montague's daughter, Eleanor, is exquisitely beautiful and fiercely intelligent. Villiers betroths himself to her without further ado. 
    After all, no other woman really qualifies. Lisette, the outspoken daughter of the Duke of Gilner, cares nothing for clothing or decorum. She's engaged to another man, and doesn't give a fig for status or title. Half the ton believes Lisette mad—and Villiers is inclined to agree. 
    Torn between logic and passion, between intelligence and imagination, Villiers finds himself drawn to the very edge of impropriety. But it is not until he's in a duel to the death, fighting for the reputation of the woman he loves, that Villiers finally realizes that the greatest risk may not be in the dueling field . . . 
    But in the bedroom. And the heart.
    Show book