Don't put off till tomorrow the book you can read today!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Fountain in the Garden - cover

The Fountain in the Garden

Margaret M. Lin

Publisher: Small Grey Cat Studio

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

It just looks like an old fountain in a garden, nothing remarkable, half-hidden behind stone walls and a grove of trees. But twelve-year-old Cadence soon discovers that it's remarkably, impossibly difficult to reach.  And she also comes to find that she's not the only one trying to get to it. 
What starts out as a pretty ordinary, lonely summer vacation, when Cadence goes to stay with the mysterious Mrs. Brier, quickly turns into a rather extraordinary quest.  And, along the way, Cadence makes new friends – and enemies - in an adventure that leads her inexorably to the fountain in the garden, to legends, magic, and things well beyond imagining.

Other books that might interest you

  • Low Red Moon - cover

    Low Red Moon

    Ivy Devlin

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    The only thing Avery Hood can remember about the night her parents died is that she saw silver-deadly silver, moving inhumanly fast. As much as she wants to remember who killed them, she can't, and there's nothing left to do but try to piece her life back together. Then Avery meets the new boy in school-Ben, mysterious and beautiful, with whom she feels a connection like nothing she's ever experienced. When Ben reveals he's a werewolf, Avery still trusts him-at first. Then she sees that sometimes his eyes flash inhuman silver. And she learns that she's not the only one who can't remember the night her parents died.Part murder mystery, part grief narrative, and part heart-stopping, headlong romance, Low Red Moon is a must-read for teen paranormal fans. As breathless as Twilight and as spooky as Shiver, this is a book to be devoured in one sitting-by an acclaimed YA author making her paranormal debut under the pseudonym Ivy Devlin.
    Show book
  • Return of the Evening Star - Book 2 in Silver Mountain Series - cover

    Return of the Evening Star -...

    Diane Rios

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    • The first book in this series Bridge of the Gods received rave reviews from School Library Journal and Kirkus, and also won several awards including 2017 Moonbeam Children’s Book Awards: Silver, Pre-Teen Fiction – Fantasy; 2017 USA Best Book Awards Finalist in Children's Fiction; 2018 Oregon Book Award Finalist in Children's Literature; 2018 Gertrude Warner Awards for Middle-Grade Readers Shortlist
    • Middle grade authors are constantly up against huge media properties like Star Wars and Minecraft and Frozen, yet still maintain a firm hold in children’s book sales; 3 of the top-selling authors on Nielsen's 2016 Children's Book Report were middle grade authors .
    • Fantasy fiction is surging globally in both in literature and in film-related franchises, due to the popularity of Game of Thrones, Harry Potter, and other fantasy book series-turned-film/television blockbuster successes (The Guardian, The Atlantic). 
    • Many Americans view protecting the environment as a top priority; in 2017, more than half (55%) of Americans ranked the environment as a top policy issue that President Donald Trump and Congress should tackle that year. (Pew Research Center)
    
    AUDIENCE:
    • Middle readers
    • Young adult readers
    • Adult fiction/fantasy fans
    • Nature lovers, conservationists, environmental groups, vegans, and animal rights activists
    Show book
  • A Court of Mist and Fury - cover

    A Court of Mist and Fury

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 2
    • 19
    • 0
    The # 1 New York Times bestselling sequel to Sarah J. Maas' spellbinding A Court of Thorns and Roses. 
     
    Feyre survived Amarantha's clutches to return to the Spring Court--but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can't forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin's people. 
     
    Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms--and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future--and the future of a world cleaved in two. 
     
    With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas's masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.
    Show book
  • A Court of Frost and Starlight - cover

    A Court of Frost and Starlight

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 2
    • 4
    • 0
    Narrated by Feyre and Rhysand, this bridges the events in A Court of Wings and Ruin and the upcoming novels in the series.  
         
    Feyre, Rhys, and their close-knit circle of friends are still busy rebuilding the Night Court and the vastly-changed world beyond. But Winter Solstice is finally near, and with it, a hard-earned reprieve. Yet even the festive atmosphere can't keep the shadows of the past from looming. As Feyre navigates her first Winter Solstice as High Lady, she finds that those dearest to her have more wounds than she anticipated--scars that will have far-reaching impact on the future of their Court.
    Show book
  • A Series of Unfortunate Events #12: The Penultimate Peril - cover

    A Series of Unfortunate Events...

    Lemony Snicket

    • 6
    • 41
    • 0
    NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES 
    Lemony Snicket returns with the last book before the last book of his bestselling A Series of Unfortunate Events. Scream and run away before the secrets of the series are revealed! 
    Very little is known about Lemony Snicket and A Series of Unfortunate Events. What we do know is contained in the following brief list:The books have inexplicably sold millions and millions of copies worldwidePeople in more than 40 countries are consumed by consuming SnicketThe movie was as sad as the books, if not more soLike unrefrigerated butter and fungus, the popularity of these books keeps spreading 
    Even less is known about book the twelfth in this alarming phenomenon. What we do know is contained in the following brief list: In this book, things only get worseCount Olaf is still evilThe Baudelaire orphans do not win a contestThe title begins with the word ‘The’ 
    Sometimes, ignorance is bliss.
    Show book
  • A Court of Thorns and Roses - cover

    A Court of Thorns and Roses

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 11
    • 38
    • 0
    THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER 
     
    Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R.R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down! 
     
    When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin--one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.   
     
    As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin--and his world--forever.
    Show book