Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Fountain in the Garden - cover

The Fountain in the Garden

Margaret M. Lin

Publisher: Small Grey Cat Studio

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

It just looks like an old fountain in a garden, nothing remarkable, half-hidden behind stone walls and a grove of trees. But twelve-year-old Cadence soon discovers that it's remarkably, impossibly difficult to reach.  And she also comes to find that she's not the only one trying to get to it. 
What starts out as a pretty ordinary, lonely summer vacation, when Cadence goes to stay with the mysterious Mrs. Brier, quickly turns into a rather extraordinary quest.  And, along the way, Cadence makes new friends – and enemies - in an adventure that leads her inexorably to the fountain in the garden, to legends, magic, and things well beyond imagining.

Other books that might interest you

  • Spotlight - cover

    Spotlight

    Melody Carlson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Feeling the heat. On the Runway has become a global phenomenon, and when Paige and Erin Forrester take their reality show to London, they get a reception to remember. Bombarded by crazed fans and the flashbulbs and interrogations of the infamous British paparazzi, the sisters know that their lives have changed—big time. Star treatment has its perks, but the girls quickly learn just how scorching life in the limelight can be. Before long, the sisters are stretched close to a breaking point. With zealous paparazzi poised to take advantage of even the slightest whiff of a scandal, the stakes have never been higher.
    Show book
  • Seven Wonders Book 5: The Legend of the Rift - cover

    Seven Wonders Book 5: The Legend...

    Peter Lerangis

    • 1
    • 11
    • 0
    Percy Jackson meets Indiana Jones in the final installment of the New York Times bestselling epic adventure Seven Wonders! 
    Jack, Marco, Cass, and Aly’s quest to find the seven magic orbs buried beneath each of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World has hit a perilous snag. King Uhla’ar has kidnapped Aly and taken her and an orb back through a rift in time. A giant, merciless behemoth guards the opening, and so Jack and his friends realize that their only hope to rescue Aly is to rush to find the rest of the lost Loculi. This mission takes them around the world—to the Temple of Artemis to fend off a mighty army and then to the Lighthouse of Alexandria, where they wind up swallowed in the belly of a beast. But before all is said and done, they must return to where it all began, to Atlantis, to save Aly, themselves…and the world. 
    Don’t miss The Legend of the Rift, the epic finale to Peter Lerangis’s earth-shattering, New York Times bestselling adventure series, Seven Wonders.
    Show book
  • A Faerie's Revenge - cover

    A Faerie's Revenge

    Rachel Morgan

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Plot twists, action and excitement will keep you turning the pages of this bestselling YA fantasy!
     
    Still reeling from a shocking revelation, guardian trainee Calla Larkenwood finds the threads of her world unraveling further when she's accused of a horrifying crime she didn't commit: A deadly magical disease has entered the Guild, threatening to wipe out every guardian--and someone is intent on framing Calla for it.
     
    With the Guild Council focusing their investigation on her instead of searching for the real criminal, Calla watches her dream of becoming a guardian rapidly slipping away.
     
    Time is running out. As the lines between good and bad, right and wrong, begin to blur, whom can she turn to for help?
     
     
     
    Perfect for fans of The Mortal Instruments, The Iron Fey, and Graceling.
    Show book
  • The Faerie War - cover

    The Faerie War

    Rachel Morgan

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    Driven by action, suspense, and a strong heroine, this bestselling YA fantasy will keep you turning the pages ...
     
    Violet Fairdale is in big trouble. Her home is gone, her beloved forest lies in ruins, the guy she gave her heart to has deserted her—and she doesn’t remember any of it. The powerful Lord Draven is taking over, brainwashing guardians into fighting for him. No one is safe from the evil spreading throughout the fae world.
     
    As alliances are forged between the remaining free fae, Vi struggles to reclaim her identity and figure out where she belongs in this new world. When someone from her past shows up, life gets more complicated. He brings with him a long-forgotten weapon and an ancient prophecy that places Vi at the center of the fight against Draven. With the future of the fae world at stake, can Vi carry out the prophecy’s instructions before it’s too late?
     
    "Captivating from the start. I couldn't stop reading, it had me hooked!!!" ~ Google User ★★★★★
     
    "Enchanting, brilliant. I was literally spellbound." ~ Google User ★★★★★
     
    "Heart-wrenchingly good." ~ Google User ★★★★★
    Show book
  • River Secrets - cover

    River Secrets

    Shannon Hale

    • 2
    • 6
    • 0
    In this third book in New York Times bestselling, Newbery Honor-winning author Shannon Hale's beloved YA fantasy series Books of Bayern, Razo must become the unlikely hero his country needs. 
     
    Razo has never considered himself anything but ordinary--and certainly not a great soldier. So he's sure it's out of pity that his captain asks him to join an elite mission escorting the ambassador into Tira, Bayern's greatest enemy.  
     
    But when the Bayern arrive in the strange southern country, it's Razo who discovers the first dead body. He is also the only Bayern able to befriend the right people--potential allies who can provide information about the ever-increasing murders--like the beautiful Lady Dasha. If Razo can embrace his talents, he might be the only one who can get the Bayern soldiers home alive. 
     
    Don't miss any of these other books from New York Times bestselling author Shannon Hale: 
     
    The Books of Bayern 
    The Goose Girl 
    Enna Burning 
    River Secrets 
    Forest Born 
     
    The Princess Academy trilogy 
    Princess Academy 
    Princess Academy: Palace of Stone 
    Princess Academy: The Forgotten Sisters 
     
    Book of a Thousand Days 
     
    Dangerous 
     
    Graphic Novels 
    with Dean Hale, illustrated by Nathan Hale 
    Rapunzel's Revenge  
    Calamity Jack 
     
    For Adults 
    Austenland 
    Midnight in Austenland 
    The Actor and the Housewife
    Show book
  • The Captive Maiden - cover

    The Captive Maiden

    Melanie Dickerson

    • 0
    • 22
    • 0
    Happily Ever After …Or Happily Nevermore? Gisela’s childhood was filled with laughter and visits from nobles such as the duke and his young son. But since her father’s death, each day has been filled with nothing but servitude to her stepmother. So when Gisela learns the duke’s son, Valten—the boy she has daydreamed about for years—is throwing a ball in hopes of finding a wife, she vows to find a way to attend, even if it’s only for a taste of a life she’ll never have. To her surprise, she catches Valten’s eye. Though he is rough around the edges, Gisela finds Valten has completely captured her heart. But other forces are bent on keeping the two from falling further in love, putting Gisela in more danger than she ever imagined.
    Show book