Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Lost Island - cover

Lost Island

MarcyKate Connolly

Publisher: Sourcebooks Young Readers

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The thrilling conclusion to the Hollow Dolls duology continues Simone's story as she sets out with her friends to stop the body walker once and for all.
 
Simone is still reeling from learning the truth about her mother, Maeve. But she knows she has to stop her before she finds what she's looking for and ends up hurting her friends in the process.
 
When Simone stumbles across an old legend about a handful of folks with rare and powerful talents who fled to a secret island haven, she wonders if the soul summoner Maeve seeks could be there. So she and Sebastian set off to find it, hoping to get to there before Maeve does.
 
But as Simone and her traveling party draw closer to the island, it becomes clearer that Maeve will stop at nothing to get what she wants. And if her evil isn't stopped, it could mean terrible consequences for everyone Simone loves.
 
With the gripping feel of a new classic, the Hollow Dolls duology will enthrall middle school readers who love fantasy, magic, and danger. Perfect for 5th grade and above.
 
Praise for Hollow Dolls:"Connolly... introduces new characters and a gripping plot with a twist-all sure to captivate readers."—Booklist"[An] entertaining start to a new series...Simone's attempt to unravel the secrets of her past is relatable."—Publishers Weekly"This fantasy covers a lot of ground-suspense, friendship, bravery, family, and magic. Plot twists will surprise even readers paying close attention...A recommended purchase."—School Library Journal

Other books that might interest you

  • Never Look Back - cover

    Never Look Back

    Lilliam Rivera

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    "Expertly blends reality and fantasy to explore what's behind love and loss, what it takes to heal." - Randy Ribay, author of National Book Award finalist Patron Saints of Nothing 
     
    Acclaimed author Lilliam  Rivera blends a touch of magical realism into a timely story about cultural identity, overcoming trauma, and the power of first love. 
     
    Eury comes to the Bronx as a girl haunted. Haunted by losing everything in Hurricane Maria--and by an evil spirit, Ato. She fully expects the tragedy that befell her and her family in Puerto Rico to catch up with her in New York. Yet, for a time, she can almost set this fear aside, because there's this boy . . . 
      
    Pheus is a golden-voiced, bachata-singing charmer, ready to spend the summer on the beach with his friends, serenading his on-again, off-again flame. That changes when he meets Eury. All he wants is to put a smile on her face and fight off her demons. But some dangers are too powerful for even the strongest love, and as the world threatens to tear them apart, Eury and Pheus must fight for each other and their lives. 
     
    Featuring contemporary Afro-Latinx characters, this retelling of the Greek myth Orpheus and Eurydice is perfect for fans of Ibi Zoboi's Pride and Daniel José Older's Shadowshaper. 
     
    A Pura Belpré Honor winner!
    Show book
  • Bad Mermaids Meet the Sushi Sisters - cover

    Bad Mermaids Meet the Sushi Sisters

    Sibéal Pounder

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Meri Pebble, professional spy mermaid, has a new mission. She's going to be a personal assistant to the Sushi Sisters (famous for their notorious appearance on reality TV programme Catwalk Prawn, and for driving around in a submarine shaped like a giant bit of sushi). Beattie, Mimi, Zelda and Steve the talking seahorse are coming along for the ride as the least convincing glam squad ever. 
       
    Meanwhile, on land, their human friend Paris is moving from California to a castle in Scotland complete with a loch rumoured to be haunted by a mermaid.  
     
    The gang soon realise there's something o-fish-ally fishy about the Sushi Sisters – but could it lead them all the way to Paris's loch? And what has the loch got to do with things like mercats and hamstars (half hamster, half starfish)?  
    Things are getting sea-riously weird in the fourth book in Sibéal Pounder's Bad Mermaids series!
    Show book
  • Being Toffee - cover

    Being Toffee

    Sarah Crossan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    I am not who I say I am,  
     and Marla isn't who she thinks she is. 
      
     I am a girl trying to forget.  
     She is a woman trying to remember.  
      
     Allison has run away from home and with nowhere to live finds herself hiding out in the shed of what she thinks is an abandoned house. But the house isn't empty. An elderly woman named Marla, with dementia, lives there – and she mistakes Allison for an old friend from her past named Toffee. 
      
     Allison is used to hiding who she really is, and trying to be what other people want her to be. And so, Toffee is who she becomes. After all, it means she has a place to stay. There are worse places she could be. 
      
     But as their bond grows, and Allison discovers how much Marla needs a real friend, she begins to ask herself - where is home? What is a family? And most importantly, who is she, really?
    Show book
  • The Tooth Fairy and the Crocodile King - cover

    The Tooth Fairy and the...

    Catusha Warry

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Tooth Fairy and the Crocodile King is a fairy tale told in simple rhyming couplets. It is the story of a sleepy child who is visited by the Tooth Fairy; they take a journey together to the North Pole to meet King Crocodile, an avid collector of little teeth:
    
    "King Crocodile's home is made of teeth,
    And shimmers quite beyond belief,
    But in his mouth there is not one;
    His gums are bare as a baby's bum.
    He eats jam, soup and ice cream too,
    With mashed up pea and dumpling stew."
    
    In return for her tooth the Crocodile King gives our heroine a gold coin which allows her to travel anywhere she wishes to go and so she visits the bottom of the sea:
    
    “She swims with whales and talks to seals, 
    And slithers with some slippery eels. 
    She makes a hat from seaweed strands,
    And comfy shoes from giant clams.”
    
    Next morning she wakes to find the gold coin beneath her pillow and on her cupboard shelf:
    
    “There sits a playful fairy there, 
    Who waves her wand about the air. 
    No-one can see her only you - 
    And me of course, that makes just two."
    Show book
  • The Great Christmas Tales and Fables - cover

    The Great Christmas Tales and...

    Avneet Kumar Singla

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Great Christmas Tales and Fables is a collection of stories to bring back "the true spirit of Christmas" to the todays world where whole day just passes for running for ones livelihood. In this book we try to redirect the days to schools and Sunday schools and had written 20 great Christmas tales and fables. It contains the Nativity story, of course, but other parts of yesterday's Christmas will be much less familiar to modern readers. The song "White Christmas" has not yet been written, and the expression meant something more than snow. The people gave white gifts, to symbolize purity. Children may have had visions of sugar beet, but the book contains the unsweetened versions of two weepers by Hans Christian Anderson: "The Tiny Match Girl" and "the Fir Tree."(The tree learns to appreciate Christmas too late-at the campfire afterwards.) And Tiny Tom has to learn that he is lucky enough to get new skates for Christmas, even if they are the wrong brand. The book brings back great-grandfather's Christmas as a present for today. Christmas always came with problems. But it always came anyway. This Stories are full of faith, sacrifice, joy, and hope to excite the heart and carry fragrance of love to a cherished winter holiday.ContentsPREFACEThe Legend of the " White gifts"YOUR BIRTHDAY DREAMFIR TREETHE TINY MATCH GIRLTINY IVORYTHE STORY OF THE SHEPHERDTHE STORY OF CHRISTMASTHE LEGEND OF THE CHRISTMAS TREETINY ALBERTHOW THE FIR TREE BECAME A CHRISTMAS TREE? THE THREE MAGI IN THE WEST AND THEIR SEARCH FOR CHRISTTINY GRETCHEN AND THE WOODEN SHOETHE TINY SHEPHERDBABOUSCKATHE BOY WITH THE BOXTHE WORKER IN SANDALWOODTHE SHEPHERD WHO DID NOT GOPAULINAS CHRISTMASFOR US A CHILD IS BORNSTAR
    Show book
  • Detective Dan: A Bloomsbury Reader - cover

    Detective Dan: A Bloomsbury Reader

    Vivian French

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A quirky school comedy from Vivian French. Perfect for fans of Wigglesbottom Primary and Kes Grey's Daisy books. 
     
    When Dan gets into trouble at school for being untidy, he teams up with his best friend Billy to find out who's throwing his lunchbox on the floor. With chalk fingerprints and missing sardine sandwiches as clues, Detective Dan is on the case! 
     
    This humorous mystery from award-winning author Vivian French has appealing black-and-white illustrations by Daniel Duncan and is perfect for children who are developing as readers. 
     
    The Bloomsbury Readers series is packed with brilliant books to get children reading independently in Key Stage 2, with book-banded stories by award-winning authors like double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean and Waterstones Prize winner Patrice Lawrence covering a wide range of genres and topics. With charming illustrations and online guided reading notes written by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), this series is ideal for reading both in the classroom and at home. For more information visit www.bloomsburyguidedreading.com. 
     
    'Patrice Lawrence, Tony Bradman, Margaret Mahy, Joan Aiken, Andrew Fusek Peters, Michaela Morgan, Geraldine McCaughrean and Narinder Dhami: any list that brings together such a quality line up of authors is going to be welcomed.' - Books for Keeps on the Bloomsbury Readers series 
     
    Book Band: Lime 
    Ideal for ages 7+ 
    Quizzed for Accelerated Reader
    Show book