Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Four Stories - Trojan - God's Boys - Parnassus - White Island - cover

Four Stories - Trojan - God's Boys - Parnassus - White Island

Marcus Attwater

Publisher: Mijnbestseller.nl

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

"Apollo thumped the steering wheel in frustration. They were such a sorry excuse for a family. Playing at being human. Like Hermes, when they'd said goodbye: 'Come and see me'. They always said things like that. 'Come and visit', 'Let's have lunch', 'We'll keep in touch'. They never did. He had never seen Hermes' Manhattan apartment, and Hermes had never been to San Francisco. They would see each other only at funerals, if gods had funerals."

After several millennia, Apollo feels rather tired of featuring in the same myths over and over. So when Hera calls a family conference because his sister Helen has been kidnapped (or has run off with a man – interpretations differ on that) he is more interested in catching up with his favorite brother. Maybe this time around the story will be different?

These four stories transpose classical myth to an early twenty-first century setting, dealing with different kinds of brothers and different kinds of love: Apollo and Hermes, Castor and Pollux, Orestes and Pylades, Alexander and Hephaistion all encounter difficulties their old archetypes never had to worry about…

Other books that might interest you

  • Frostgrave: Dark Alchemy - cover

    Frostgrave: Dark Alchemy

    Joseph A. McCullough

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Dark Alchemy is an ebook only mini-expansion for Frostgrave that includes a three-scenario campaign which can be played by either solo by one player or by two players working co-operatively. It also includes an expanded potions table, with numerous new magical elixirs, as well as new rules for the buying, selling, and creation of potions.
    Show book
  • The Secret Keepers of Old Depot Grocery - cover

    The Secret Keepers of Old Depot...

    Amanda Cox

    • 0
    • 5
    • 1
    Present Day. After tragedy plunges her into grief and unresolved anger, Sarah Ashby returns to her childhood home determined to finally follow her long-denied dream of running Old Depot Grocery alongside her mother and grandmother. But when she arrives, her mother, Rosemary, announces to her that the store is closing. Sarah and her grandmother, Glory Ann, make a pact to save the store, but Rosemary has worked her entire life to make sure her daughter never follows in her footsteps. She has her reasons--but she'll certainly never reveal the real one. 
     
    1965. Glory Ann confesses to her family that she's pregnant with her deceased fiancé's baby. Pressured into a marriage of convenience with a shopkeeper to preserve the family reputation, Glory Ann vows never to love again. But some promises are not as easily kept as she imagined. 
     
    This dual-timeline story from Amanda Cox deftly explores the complexity of a mother-daughter dynamic, the way the secrets we keep shape our lives and the lives of others, and the healing power of telling the truth.
    Show book
  • The Watchers - A gripping debut horror novel for 2021 - cover

    The Watchers - A gripping debut...

    A.M. Shine

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    A spine-chilling Irish horror adventure set in the remote unknown forests of Galway, from debut Irish author A.M. Shine. 
     
    'A dark, claustrophobic read' – T. Kingfisher, author of Paladin's Grance
     
    You can't see them. But they can see you.
     
    This forest isn't charted on any map. Every car breaks down at its treeline. Mina's is no different. Left stranded, she is forced into the dark woodland only to find a woman shouting, urging Mina to run to a concrete bunker. As the door slams behind her, the building is besieged by screams.
     
    Mina finds herself in a room with a wall of glass, and an electric light that activates at nightfall, when the Watchers come above ground. These creatures emerge to observe their captive humans and terrible things happen to anyone who doesn't reach the bunker in time.
     
    Afraid and trapped among strangers, Mina is desperate for answers. Who are the Watchers and why are these creatures keeping them imprisoned, keen to watch their every move?
     
    Perfect for fans of Francine Toon, Paul Tremblay and Andrew Michael Hurley.
    Show book
  • Love on the Wind - cover

    Love on the Wind

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    LOVE ON THE WIND SynopsisAlone since the tragic death of her beloved parents, Indian-born beauty, Sita, has suffered a life of torment at the hands of her uncle, her reluctant Guardian, who despises, abuses and beats her. In despair on a voyage to Calcutta, she is on the verge of throwing herself overboard when she is saved by a handsome and mysterious stranger. Even after her saviour disappears, he seems ever-present in her thoughts and in the background of events as Sita is caught up in the political intrigue and turmoil surrounding the controversial Ilbert Bill, which aims to put Indian Judges back into the Indian Courts to sit in judgement not only on their compatriots but also on the British. Kidnapped by murderous men desperate to stop the Ilbert Bill, who say, “if your uncle wants you back, he will have to agree to kill it.”Sita is locked into a cold damp cell in an ancient Fort and is desperate to escape when she is rescued by her hero, who she has sent her thoughts to that she is in desperate danger.Her hero disappears and then she helps a mysterious stranger save the Nizam of Hyderabad from being killed by a dissident. She is then distraught that her uncle wants to return to England and she has had no contact from her hero and she does not even know his name. Sita can only pray that the thoughts of love she sends out so fervently will reach him and bring him to her rescue once more.
    Show book
  • The Last Gift - By the winner of the 2021 Nobel Prize in Literature - cover

    The Last Gift - By the winner of...

    Abdulrazak Gurnah

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    One day, long before the troubles, he slipped away without saying a word to anyone and never went back. And then another day, forty-three years later, he collapsed just inside the front door of his house in a small English town. It was late in the day when it happened, on his way home after work, but it was also late in the day altogether. He had left things for too long and there was no one to blame for it but himself. 
     
    Abbas has never told anyone about his past-before he was a sailor on the high seas, before he met his wife Maryam outside a Boots in Exeter, before they settled into a quiet life in Norwich with their children, Jamal and Hanna. Now, at the age of sixty-three, he suffers a collapse that renders him bedbound and unable to speak about things he thought he would one day have to. 
     
    Jamal and Hanna have grown up and gone out into the world. They were both born in England but cannot shake a sense of apartness. Hanna calls herself Anna now, and has just moved to a new city to be near her boyfriend. She feels the relationship is headed somewhere serious, but the words have not yet been spoken out loud. Jamal, the listener of the family, moves into a student house and is captivated by a young woman with dark-blue eyes and her own, complex story to tell. Abbas's illness forces both children home, to the dark silences of their father and the fretful capability of their mother Maryam, who began life as a foundling and has never thought to find herself, until now.
    Show book
  • Piranesi - cover

    Piranesi

    Susanna Clarke

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    New York Times Bestseller 
    Winner of the Women's Prize for Fiction 
    World Fantasy Awards Finalist 
     
    From the New York Times bestselling author of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, an intoxicating, hypnotic new novel set in a dreamlike alternative reality. 
      
     Piranesi's house is no ordinary building: its rooms are infinite, its corridors endless, its walls are lined with thousands upon thousands of statues, each one different from all the others. Within the labyrinth of halls an ocean is imprisoned; waves thunder up staircases, rooms are flooded in an instant. But Piranesi is not afraid; he understands the tides as he understands the pattern of the labyrinth itself. He lives to explore the house. 
     
    There is one other person in the house-a man called The Other, who visits Piranesi twice a week and asks for help with research into A Great and Secret Knowledge. But as Piranesi explores, evidence emerges of another person, and a terrible truth begins to unravel, revealing a world beyond the one Piranesi has always known. 
     
     For readers of Neil Gaiman's The Ocean at the End of the Lane and fans of Madeline Miller's Circe, Piranesi introduces an astonishing new world, an infinite labyrinth, full of startling images and surreal beauty, haunted by the tides and the clouds.
    Show book