If you like reading, you will LOVE reading without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Michaelmas Murders - cover

The Michaelmas Murders

Mandy Morton

Publisher: Allison & Busby

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

‘THE WORLD THAT MORTON HAS CREATED IS IRRESISTIBLE’ Publishers Weekly 
As the town’s annual Michaelmas Flower and Produce Show approaches, it is doom and bloom on the allotments as a dead body is found on Bonny Grubb’s onion patch. Baronial landowner Fluff Wither-Fork is beside herself and calls in the No. 2 Feline Detective Agency. 
Hettie Bagshot and her sidekick Tilly begin questioning locals and uncover plenty of secrets, but will they ever get to the bottom of this murky compost heap? With a killer cat on the prowl amid the binder twine and the allotment community shaking in their wellington boots, everyone wonders who will be next? 
‘ORIGINAL AND INTRIGUING . . . A WORLD WITHOUT PEOPLE WHICH CAT LOVERS WILL ENTER AND ENJOY’ P. D. James

Other books that might interest you

  • Dead Flowers - cover

    Dead Flowers

    Nicola Monaghan

    • 5
    • 59
    • 0
    She doesn’t trust the police. She used to be one of them.
     
    Hardened by ten years on the murder squad, DNA analyst Doctor Sian Love has seen it all. So when she finds human remains in the basement of her new home, she knows the drill.
     
    Except this time it’s different. This time, it’s personal...
     
    A page-turning cold case investigation, Dead Flowers is an intriguing, multi-layered story perfect for fans of Kate Atkinson’s Case Histories and British crime dramas like Line of Duty and Unforgotten.
     
    Shortlisted for the UEA Crime Fiction Award 2019
     
    --------------------
     
    Praise for Nicola Monaghan's previous works
     
    'A gripping, mile-a-minute British debut. Enthralling' - Kirkus Reviews
     
    'Monaghan's convincing characters swing unpredictably between terrifying and tender, and the often violent encounters usually have a bleakly funny edge' - Independent
    Show book
  • Identity Crisis - cover

    Identity Crisis

    Debbi Mack

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A missing client, a dead body, the FBI, and the Mob.
     
    How much can one lawyer handle?
     
    A simple domestic abuse case turns deadly when the alleged abuser is killed and Stephanie Ann "Sam" McRae's client disappears. When a friend asks Sam to find Melanie Hayes, the Maryland attorney is drawn into a complex case of murder and identity theft that has her running from the Mob, breaking into a strip club and forming a shaky alliance with an offbeat private investigator to discover the truth about Melanie and her ex-boyfriend.
     
    With her career and life on the line, Sam's search takes her from the blue-collar Baltimore suburbs to the mansions of Gibson Island. Along the way, she learns that false identities can hide dark secrets, and those secrets can destroy lives.                                      
    Show book
  • Assassination at Bayou Sauvage - cover

    Assassination at Bayou Sauvage

    D.J. Donaldson

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    Broussard and Franklyn pursue justice through the steamy streets of New Orleans in this thriller from “a master of the gothic mystery” (Booklist).   Chief medical examiner Andy Broussard is at a family picnic in Bayou Sauvage when his uncle Joe is killed in a murder-suicide. The deceased assailant’s motives are unknown, and the mystery sends Broussard digging into his family’s past. Meanwhile, criminal psychologist Kit Franklyn finds herself being deputized when an NOPD slowdown forces the brass to bolster the ranks. Assigned to track down a missing woman, Franklyn’s case leads her right into Broussard’s investigation.   Now, the two will have to depend on each other like never before if they are going to uncover the dark family secrets that are about to threaten both of their lives.   “Andy and Kit are a match made in mystery heaven.” —The Clarion-Ledger
    Show book
  • The Mind Readers - cover

    The Mind Readers

    Margery Allingham

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A mysterious invention causes mayhem in a coastal English village—from “my very favourite of the four Queens of Crime” (J. K. Rowling).   The ancient hamlet of Saltey, once the haunt of smugglers, now hides a secret rich and mysterious enough to trap all who enter . . . and someone in town is willing to terrorize, murder, and raise the very devil to keep that secret to themselves.   When a transistor thought to be the key to telepathic communication is found, Albert Campion is called to sort fact from fiction. But the device at the center of the mystery is in the possession of two schoolboys, and whether they stole it or invented it, there are others who will kill to get hold of it.   “Allingham has a strong, well controlled sense of humour, a power of suggesting character with a few touches and an excellent English style. She has a sense of the fantastic, and is never dull” —Times Literary Supplement
    Show book
  • Murder Below Zero - A Maxine Benson Mystery - cover

    Murder Below Zero - A Maxine...

    John Lawrence Reynolds

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    It's almost summer in small town Port Ainslie. Or is it? Temperatures are so far below normal that Police Chief Maxine Benson and her team are wearing sweaters. But is it cold enough to freeze the body of the man found in a ditch on the outskirts of town one morning? Maxine starts to investigate, but she is elbowed aside by the mostly-male provincial police force so she takes charge on her own. Soon she's visiting the victim's cold-hearted widow, tracking the widow's mysterious brother, and confronting the killer alone in a tract of forest. Will Maxine's skills solve this twisting tale of a case?
    Show book
  • Faceless Killers - A Mystery - cover

    Faceless Killers - A Mystery

    Henning Mankell

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    #1 international bestseller: This “exquisite novel of mesmerizing depth” launched the acclaimed Wallander novels and BBC series starring Kenneth Branagh (Los Angeles Times).   Early one morning, a small-town farmer discovers that his neighbors have been victims of a brutal attack during the night: An old man has been bludgeoned to death, and his tortured wife lies dying before the farmer’s eyes. The only clue is the single word she utters before she dies: “foreign.”   In charge of the investigation is Inspector Kurt Wallander, a local detective whose personal life is in a shambles. His family is falling apart, he’s gaining weight, he drinks too much and sleeps too little. Tenacious and levelheaded in his sleuthing, he and his colleagues must contend with a wave of violent xenophobia as they search for the killers.   Winner of the Sweden’s Best Mystery Award and the first installment in the series that inspired the PBS program Wallander starring Kenneth Branagh, Faceless Killers is a razor-sharp, stylishly dark police procedural with searing social commentary that reaches beyond its genre to produce “a superior novel—and a harbinger of great things to come” (Booklist).  
    Show book