Reading without limits, the perfect plan for #stayhome
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Michaelmas Murders - cover

The Michaelmas Murders

Mandy Morton

Publisher: Allison & Busby

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

‘THE WORLD THAT MORTON HAS CREATED IS IRRESISTIBLE’ Publishers Weekly 
As the town’s annual Michaelmas Flower and Produce Show approaches, it is doom and bloom on the allotments as a dead body is found on Bonny Grubb’s onion patch. Baronial landowner Fluff Wither-Fork is beside herself and calls in the No. 2 Feline Detective Agency. 
Hettie Bagshot and her sidekick Tilly begin questioning locals and uncover plenty of secrets, but will they ever get to the bottom of this murky compost heap? With a killer cat on the prowl amid the binder twine and the allotment community shaking in their wellington boots, everyone wonders who will be next? 
‘ORIGINAL AND INTRIGUING . . . A WORLD WITHOUT PEOPLE WHICH CAT LOVERS WILL ENTER AND ENJOY’ P. D. James

Other books that might interest you

  • Tiny Crimes - Very Short Tales of Mystery and Murder - cover

    Tiny Crimes - Very Short Tales...

    Lincoln Michel, Nadxieli Nieto

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Immensely fun to read, Tiny Crimes is a playful mashup of crime genres (noir, sci-fi, cozy, absurdist, humor, international, and more); the collection is also a "who's who" of literature today:  Carmen Maria Machado, J. Robert Lennon and Amelia Gray, Laura van den Berg and Brian Evenson, Yuri Herrera and Amber Sparks, to name just a few
    Perfect gift for the fans of True Detective, Fargo, and Westworld; quickly digestible stories make it great read for commuting and short attention spans
    The reader can begin anywhere she likes, with each story a stellar entry point into the collection's immersive, punchy, and cinematic tone
    Includes stories in translation by Yuri Herrera (Spanish), Fuminori Nakamura (Japanese), Fabien Clouette & Quentin Leclerc (French), with both the English version and the original appearing sequentially in the collection, and featuring celebrated translators including Lisa Dillman, Allison Powell, and Jeffrey Zuckerman
    Featuring several comics among the stories in the collection
    For readers who loved My Mother She Killed Me, My Father He Ate Me: Forty New Fairy Tales, and the Akashic City Noir series
    Contributors located in Berkeley, CA; Blagoevgrad, Bulgaria; Brooklyn, NY; Cambridge, MA; Chicago, IL; Columbia, SC; Decatur, GA; Denver, CO; Irvine, CA; Ithaca, NY; Lincolnville, ME; Los Angeles, CA; Madison, WI; Merida, Mexico; New Orleans, LA; New York, NY; Minneapolis, MN; Oswego, NY;  Philadelphia, PA; Rennes, France; Salt Lake City, UT; Tokyo, Japan; Toronto, Canada; Washington, D.C. 
    List of every contributor's favorite independent bookstore available on request
    Physical ARCs will include endorsements from independent booksellers, and digital ARC available on Edelweiss
    
    Bookseller Praise for Tiny Crimes
    "I picked up this book for two primary reasons: (1) Elizabeth Hand. 'Nuff said. (2) I really liked a previous Catapult anthology called Watchlist. Well, I was not disappointed. As with any multi-author anthology, some stories were more to my taste than others. But the editors have put together a wonderful array of voices, each of whom brings a different perspective to the overall crime theme. I also loved that the translated stories included the original text on facing pages. Tiny Crimes has definitely given me a list of new authors to check out, which, as far as I'm concerned, means an anthology has done its job!" —Rebecca, Kramerbooks (Washington, D.C.)
    
     
    "Tiny Crimes is a flash fiction redefinition of the crime genre, encompassing a wide array of stunningly original voices. Asking 'What is criminal in this moment?,' the collection is imbued with a wild sense of wrongness. It’s haunted by the ghosts of murdered prairie dogs, held hostage by loneliness. The tiny crimes within are everyday offenses, cheeky explorations, and heinous acts (the index, perhaps the greatest delight, includes such entries as: PENIS—glowing faintly in the dark, DOG—eaten down to spine, and TURNSTILE—hopped by nun). Ultimately, it places a mirror before the reader. It demands an interrogation of one’s own understanding of criminality and personal culpability." —Elizabeth Willis, Avid Bookshop (Athens, GA)
    Show book
  • Killing Beauties - cover

    Killing Beauties

    Pete Langman

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    In a world made for men, Susan Hyde is no ordinary woman.And no one would suspect that the sister of Edward Hyde, chief advisor to King in exile Charles Stuart, spends her time peddling state secrets and fomenting rebellion rather than on her tapestry.As a she-intelligencer – female spy – Susan’s mission is to extract information from Oliver Cromwell’s unsuspecting spymaster, by any means necessary.In a shadow-world of ciphers, surveillance, poison, seduction and duplicity, this daring spy will risk everything for king and country. Based on the astonishing true story of England’s earliest female spies, Killing Beauties will transport you to a seventeenth-century London rife with political intrigue, betrayal and conspiracy.
    Show book
  • Whisper the Dead - A Cotsworld village mystery - cover

    Whisper the Dead - A Cotsworld...

    Stella Cameron

    • 4
    • 5
    • 0
    With plot twists galore and an array of credible suspects, this traditional village mystery series will appeal to fans of M.C. Beaton and Midsomer Murders
    When Alex Duggins comes across a terrifying scene at the site of a new housing development, once again she is drawn into a case of brutal murder. A new year arrives and winter holds Britain’s Cotswold Hills in its icy grip once more. But it’s the construction of a new housing development that’s causing the residents of Folly-on-Weir most concern. As she passes the site late one afternoon, pub owner Alex Duggins is confronted by the terrifying scene of a construction trailer on fire and a man desperately trying to break the door down.Her efforts to help – and the subsequent findings of the police forensic pathologist – draw Alex and her friend Tony Harrison into a major murder investigation whose tentacles will reach right to the heart of the tight-knit Folly community – and into Alex’s own past … Will appeal to fans of M.C. Beaton and Midsomer Murders.
    Show book
  • The Black Earth - The Times Historical Book of the Month - cover

    The Black Earth - The Times...

    Philip Kazan

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A HEART-BREAKING LOVE STORY SET DURING THE TURBULENT YEARS OF THE SECOND WORLD WAR AND THE NAZI OCCUPATION OF GREECE 
    1922. Young Zoë Haggitiris is forced to flee with her family during the Turkish invasion of Smyrna. When tragedy strikes in the midst of their escape, Zoë is found floating alone in the icy waters and is rescued by a passing ship. Caught up in a sea of desperate refugees, her life is touched by an English boy, Tom Collyer, before the compassion of a stranger leads her into a new life. 
    1941, Greece. In the chaos of the British retreat, Tom and Zoë are briefly reunited before fate cruelly separates them once more. Tom will discover that the war will not end so easily for either of them and, if they can find their way back to each other, that nothing will ever be the same. 
    ‘Kazan’s rich, sensuous prose is always a pleasure’ Sunday Times
    Show book
  • The Indigo Ghosts - cover

    The Indigo Ghosts

    Alys Clare

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    In this gripping forensic mystery set in Stuart England, Gabriel Taverner uncovers a series of shocking secrets when he's summoned by his former naval captain to investigate strange goings-on aboard his ship.
    
    October, 1604. Former ship's surgeon turned country physician Gabriel Taverner is surprised to receive an urgent summons from his old naval captain. Now docked in Plymouth harbour, having recently returned from the Caribbean, Captain Colt believes his ship is haunted by an evil spirit, and has asked Gabriel to investigate.
    
    Dismissive of the crew's wild talk of mysterious blue-skinned ghosts, Gabriel is convinced there must be a rational explanation behind the mass hallucinations. But matters take a disturbing turn when he and the captain discover a body hidden behind one of the bulkheads. Calling on the help of his old friend, Coroner Theophilus Davey, piece by piece Gabriel uncovers a terrifying tale of treachery, dark magic, unimaginable cruelty – and cold-blooded murder.
    Show book
  • Cherringham - Playing Dead - A Cosy Crime Series - cover

    Cherringham - Playing Dead - A...

    Matthew Costello, Neil Richards

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    When Cherringham Drama Society invite a local TV celebrity to direct their Christmas show, they get more publicity than they bargained for. Someone's out to sabotage the event, and rehearsals spin into chaos. Jack and Sarah are asked to investigate and soon discover that there's a darker mystery taking place behind the scenes ... 
    
    Cherringham is a serial novel à la Charles Dickens, with a new mystery thriller released each month. Set in the sleepy English village of Cherringham, the detective series brings together an unlikely sleuthing duo: English web designer Sarah and American ex-cop Jack. Thrilling and deadly - but with a spot of tea - it's like Rosamunde Pilcher meets Inspector Barnaby. Each of the 12 self-contained episodes is a quick read for the morning commute, while waiting for the doctor, or when curling up with a hot cuppa. 
    
    For fans of Agatha Christie's Miss Marple series, Lilian Jackson Braun's The Cat Who series, Caroline Graham's Midsomer Murders, and the American TV series Murder She Wrote, starring Angela Lansbury. 
    
    Co-authors Neil Richards (based in the UK) and Matthew Costello (based in the US), have been writing together since the mid 90’s, creating content and working on projects for the BBC, Disney Channel, Sony, ABC, Eidos, and Nintendo to name but a few.  Their transatlantic collaboration has underpinned scores of TV drama scripts, computer games, radio shows, and - most recently - the successful crime fiction series Cherringham. Now into its second season of 12 novellas, Cherringham is popular around the world and has been adapted as a series of audiobooks in English and German.
    Show book