Which book are you going to read today?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Far Field - cover

The Far Field

Madhuri Vijay

Publisher: Grove Press

  • 1
  • 8
  • 0

Summary

•    Madhuri Vijay is a graduate of the Iowa Writers’ Workshop, where she was an Iowa Arts Fellow and the recipient of a Henfield Prize•    Vijay’s writing has received a Pushcart Prize, as well as a 30-Below Prize from Narrative Magazine, and has appeared in Best American Non-Required Reading, Narrative, and Salon, among other publications She is currently a contributor to Departures Magazine•    Praise already in from Anthony Marra, Anna Noyes, and Ben Fountain with more potentially from Moshin Ahmed, Carmen Maria Machado, Merritt Tierce, Curtis Sittenfeld, Michael Ondaatje, Arundhati Roy, Claire Vaye Watkins, Olivia Laing, and Naomi Shihab Nye among others•    A flaneuse novel set in India, The Far Field examines the fierce and encompassing desire of the rootless traveler to inhabit other people’s lives, and the inevitable danger of such desires•    Classic and epic feeling in its scope and politics, Vijay takes a young modern woman trying to unpack her past and places her in the midst of a decades-old conflict in an often underrepresented part of the Indian subcontinent—the conflict-ridden region of Kashmir—from which the narrator is politically and culturally sheltered•    Not only is the novel “equal parts love story, war story, and family intrigue” (Ben Fountain) it also depicts tensions between classes and religions, and idea of the culpability of an individual in a country’s wrongs •   Will appeal to readers of Salman Rushdie, Jhumpa Lahiri, Arundati Roy, Mira Waheed, Anthony Marra, J.M. Coetzee, Moshin Ahmed, Karan Mahajan, Min Jin Lee, and Kiran Desai•    Madhuri is from Bangalore, India, and is married to novelist Alexander Maksik. She has spent significant time in Kashmir

Other books that might interest you

  • Winter King The - A Hawkenlye 13th Century British Mystery - cover

    Winter King The - A Hawkenlye...

    Alys Clare

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    All Saint’s Eve, 1211. An overweight but wealthy nobleman, desperate for an heir, dies at the celebration feast he’s thrown in his own hall. A natural death . . . or at the hands of his reluctant new wife?Sabin de Gifford, an apothecary and healer of note, is called to examine the body, and concludes that he died of a spasm to the heart. But she is troubled, all the same, and beset by suspicions. Did the man really die of a heart attack? Or was something more sinister to blame?There is only one person Sabin can turn to for help: fellow healer Meggie, daughter of Sir Josse d’Acquin. But what she requires of her is dangerous indeed . . .
    Show book
  • Way Between the Worlds - cover

    Way Between the Worlds

    Alys Clare

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    An Aelf Fen medieval mystery - Come to me! I need you! These words bring apprentice healer Lassair awake one morning in the spring of 1092, trembling with terror. Soon Lassair is certain that one of her loved ones is in terrible danger . . . and when the news comes that a nun at Chatteris Abbey - where her beloved sister Elfritha lives - has been murdered, Lassair fears the worst. She sets off immediately, but the danger she will have to face may be greater than she is ready for . . .
    Show book
  • Sissy Landlord - Dominated and Forced Feminised by his Young Tenant & Her Friends - cover

    Sissy Landlord - Dominated and...

    Anonymous

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    He should never have gone into Kerry’s bedroom; but curiosity got the better of him. A weakness that had cost him dearly.
     
    When a young and elegant female colleague comes to rent a room in his flat, Stephen Williamson can’t wait to rummage through her lingerie and try them on. Kerry Carfax is oblivious to the fact her landlord secretly dresses in his tenants’ panties and bra and is unaware he is a closet sissy with fantasies of being humiliated by young, sexy women. His obsession extends to a spying on a long back catalogue of female tenants but he has never taken the plunge to ask any of them out or even to consider confessing his proclivities of cross-dressing or female BDSM. Will Stephen take the leap and realise his deep fantasies could become a reality in the presence of this young strong-willed woman and her friends? Will he ask her to be his Sissy Mistress or will he return to his life of watching and fantasising? Possibly he may have no choice. Read ‘Sissy Landlord’ and find out, now.
     
    A story of young domme female superiority, blackmail and forced feminisation approximately 6000 words long.
    Show book
  • Slaughter in the Cotswolds - cover

    Slaughter in the Cotswolds

    Rebecca Tope

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Once again, there’s death on her doorstep… 
    Thea throws herself into house-sitting for Babs and Cedric Angell in Lower Slaughter following her beloved father’s death  – anything to keep her busy and away from some of her rather difficult relatives. Although it’s lonely, she has her spaniel Hepzie for company, and keeping the house in order and looking after the Angells’ menagerie of animals does the trick for a short period of time.
    
     
    But when Thea’s prickly older sister turns up, after witnessing a horrific killing, the timeless tranquillity of Lower Slaughter vanishes, replaced by the sinister connotations of the town’s name.
    Show book
  • Tropic of Cancer - cover

    Tropic of Cancer

    Henry Miller

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Henry Miller’s famously banned book is “a matter-of-fact celebration of chucking one’s dreary life and following your heart to Paris” (Richard Price).   Now hailed as an American classic, Tropic of Cancer, Henry Miller’s masterpiece, was banned as obscene in this country for twenty-seven years after its first publication in Paris in 1934. Only a historic court ruling that changed American censorship standards, ushering in a new era of freedom and frankness in modern literature, permitted the publication of this first volume of Miller’s famed mixture of memoir and fiction, which chronicles with unapologetic gusto the bawdy adventures of a young expatriate writer, his friends, and the characters they meet in Paris in the 1930s. Tropic of Cancer is now considered, as Norman Mailer said, “one of the ten or twenty great novels of our century.”
    Show book
  • Mist over the Water - cover

    Mist over the Water

    Alys Clare

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The second in a brand-new medieval mystery series from the author of the popular 'Hawkenlye' series - On Ely Island, the Normans are proclaiming their authority with the construction of a magnificent cathedral. When Morcar, fishing for eels nearby, is attacked, his cousin Lassair is sent to nurse him. Morcar tells Lassair a frightening tale of assassins in the dark and a brief vision of horror. Then the killers strike again, and, as the secret hidden within the walls of Ely Abbey claims more victims, Lassair is forced to face a challenge that she fears is far beyond her . . .
    Show book