Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
The Far Field - cover

The Far Field

Madhuri Vijay

Publisher: Grove Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

•    Madhuri Vijay is a graduate of the Iowa Writers’ Workshop, where she was an Iowa Arts Fellow and the recipient of a Henfield Prize•    Vijay’s writing has received a Pushcart Prize, as well as a 30-Below Prize from Narrative Magazine, and has appeared in Best American Non-Required Reading, Narrative, and Salon, among other publications She is currently a contributor to Departures Magazine•    Praise already in from Anthony Marra, Anna Noyes, and Ben Fountain with more potentially from Moshin Ahmed, Carmen Maria Machado, Merritt Tierce, Curtis Sittenfeld, Michael Ondaatje, Arundhati Roy, Claire Vaye Watkins, Olivia Laing, and Naomi Shihab Nye among others•    A flaneuse novel set in India, The Far Field examines the fierce and encompassing desire of the rootless traveler to inhabit other people’s lives, and the inevitable danger of such desires•    Classic and epic feeling in its scope and politics, Vijay takes a young modern woman trying to unpack her past and places her in the midst of a decades-old conflict in an often underrepresented part of the Indian subcontinent—the conflict-ridden region of Kashmir—from which the narrator is politically and culturally sheltered•    Not only is the novel “equal parts love story, war story, and family intrigue” (Ben Fountain) it also depicts tensions between classes and religions, and idea of the culpability of an individual in a country’s wrongs •   Will appeal to readers of Salman Rushdie, Jhumpa Lahiri, Arundati Roy, Mira Waheed, Anthony Marra, J.M. Coetzee, Moshin Ahmed, Karan Mahajan, Min Jin Lee, and Kiran Desai•    Madhuri is from Bangalore, India, and is married to novelist Alexander Maksik. She has spent significant time in Kashmir

Other books that might interest you

  • Eugenie Grandet - cover

    Eugenie Grandet

    Honoré de Balzac

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    There are houses in certain provincial towns whose aspect inspires melancholy, akin to that called forth by sombre cloisters, dreary moorlands, or the desolation of ruins. Within these houses there is, perhaps, the silence of the cloister, the barrenness of moors, the skeleton of ruins; life and movement are so stagnant there that a stranger might think them uninhabited, were it not that he encounters suddenly the pale, cold glance of a motionless person, whose half-monastic face peers beyond the window-casing at the sound of an unaccustomed step.
    Such elements of sadness formed the physiognomy, as it were, of a dwelling-house in Saumur which stands at the end of the steep street leading to the chateau in the upper part of the town. This street—now little frequented, hot in summer, cold in winter, dark in certain sections—is remarkable for the resonance of its little pebbly pavement, always clean and dry, for the narrowness of its tortuous road-way, for the peaceful stillness of its houses, which belong to the Old town and are over-topped by the ramparts. Houses three centuries old are still solid, though built of wood, and their divers aspects add to the originality which commends this portion of Saumur to the attention of artists and antiquaries.
    Show book
  • The Charlotte and Thomas Pitt Novels Volume Three - Death in the Devil's Acre Cardington Crescent Silence in Hanover Close and Bethlehem Road - cover

    The Charlotte and Thomas Pitt...

    Anne Perry

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Enjoy the “exemplary Victorian company” of this London sleuthing couple with books seven through ten in the long-running New York Times–bestselling series (The New York Times).   “Few mystery writers this side of Arthur Conan Doyle can evoke Victorian London with such relish for detail and mood” (San Francisco Chronicle). Now, in a single volume, readers can enjoy more of Anne Perry’s “unfailingly rewarding” series (The New York Times Book Review).  Death in the Devil’s Acre: A vicious and depraved serial killer is loose in the slums of Devil’s Acre. When Pitt recognizes one of the victims as a blackmailing footman from a case on Callander Square, his investigation reveals a shocking connection between the city’s brothels and Victorian high society. Now Charlotte and her sister Emily, Lady Ashworth, must unveil the dirty secrets of the aristocracy.  Cardington Crescent: When Thomas Pitt’s womanizing brother-in-law is poisoned by his morning coffee, the inspector must exonerate the prime suspect: Lady Ashworth, Charlotte’s sister Emily. With the help of Great-Aunt Vespasia, the couple chip away at a wall of deceit and silence to find the real killer, even after Lord Ashworth’s suspected paramour is strangled—and found by Emily.  Silence in Hanover Close: At the behest of his superior, Pitt reopens a case gone cold. Three years prior, amidst whispered rumors of treason, Robert York, an important member of the British Foreign Office, was murdered in his home in London’s exclusive Hanover Close. When a York family housemaid is found dead shortly after Pitt begins his investigation, he is accused and thrown into prison. Now only Charlotte and her recently widowed sister stand between Thomas Pitt and the gallows.  Bethlehem Road: When members of Parliament are murdered one-by-one crossing Westminster Bridge, Thomas and Charlotte must sift through a wide range of suspects, including anarchists and suffragettes. As more seats open up in Parliament and fear grips London, the couple wonders: Are the killings political or somehow personal?
    Show book
  • The Girl in the Glass - A McCabe and Savage Thriller - cover

    The Girl in the Glass - A McCabe...

    James Hayman

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    New York Times Bestseller! 
    Two identical women.  
    Two identical murders. Two lives brutally cut short  
    108 years apart 
    June 1904. 
    Aimée Garnier Whitby, a beautiful French artist and wife of one of Maine's richest and most powerful men, is found near death on the Whitby family's private summer island, the letter "A" mysteriously carved into her chest. 
    June 2012. 
    Veronica Aimée Whitby, the eighteen-year-old descendant and virtual double of the first Aimée, becomes the victim of a near perfect copycat murder. With another beautiful, promising young Whitby woman slain, the media begin to swarm and pressure builds for Mike McCabe and Maggie Savage to bring the killer quickly to justice. But the key to solving Aimée's death just might have been buried with her beautiful ancestor. 
    The latest McCabe and Savage thriller from USA Today bestselling author James Hayman is a crackling, twisty novel of suspense, perfect for fans of J.A. Jance and John Sandford.
    Show book
  • A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man - cover

    A Portrait of the Artist as a...

    Joe Joyce

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Set in Joyce's native Ireland, the story follows life of a young man Stephen and his transformation from child to artist. In five chapters, we are taken through Stephen's early childhood in Ireland and confinement at boarding school, his dalliances with theatre and hiring prostitutes, his retreat from sensory excess into religious devotion, his retreat from religious devotion into aesthetic, ascetic excess, and, ultimately, his retreat from Ireland and fellowship in favour of destiny.
    Show book
  • Aiding the Dragon - Stonefire Dragons #9 - cover

    Aiding the Dragon - Stonefire...

    Jessie Donovan

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Teagan O'Shea is a rare female dragon-shifter leader. While her Irish clan has a tradition of female leaders, they have had to hide behind a public male face for centuries to keep the other clans from viewing them as weaker and attacking. When the truth leaks, Teagan is faced with a choice—hand over the leadership to a male or invite the challengers to a leadership trial and earn her place. Out to prove having a penis isn't required to be a leader, she picks the latter. 
    Aaron Caruso is sent to Ireland under the guise of repairing relations between two clans on the isle of Ireland. However, upon arrival he learns the truth. Determined to secure Teagan's place so he can escape her alluring eyes and addicting personality, he busies himself with helping her any way he can. A female used him once and he's not about to go through that again, no matter how much the Irish female tempts him. 
    As the pair work together on preparations for the leadership trial, both Aaron and Teagan start to see each other in a new light. Both have their own self-imposed loneliness and yearn for something they can't have. Can Aaron and Teagan not only change tradition but also open their hearts? Or will they each be doomed to live alone to fight their inner battles?
    Show book
  • Christmas Past - cover

    Christmas Past

    Skylar McKinzie, Rita Delude,...

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    It's not about the presents. 
    It's not about the menu. 
    It's not the trimmings either. 
    It's about the spirit of the holiday. 
    Or it was. 
    Once upon a time, there were holiday seasons that weren't about blue-light specials and jumping up from Thanksgiving meals for fifty-percent off deals. 
    Sometimes, to find what's missing, you have to step back… 
    Christmas Past will take you back to when things were much simpler and a spirit lived between the lights and holiday glitz. 
    With stories in as many genres as Saint Nick can fit in his bag, Christmas Past offers something for every reader. 
    It's as simple as that.
    Show book