Today could be the day that you start a whole year of unlimited reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
The Far Field - cover

The Far Field

Madhuri Vijay

Publisher: Grove Press

  • 1
  • 8
  • 0

Summary

•    Madhuri Vijay is a graduate of the Iowa Writers’ Workshop, where she was an Iowa Arts Fellow and the recipient of a Henfield Prize•    Vijay’s writing has received a Pushcart Prize, as well as a 30-Below Prize from Narrative Magazine, and has appeared in Best American Non-Required Reading, Narrative, and Salon, among other publications She is currently a contributor to Departures Magazine•    Praise already in from Anthony Marra, Anna Noyes, and Ben Fountain with more potentially from Moshin Ahmed, Carmen Maria Machado, Merritt Tierce, Curtis Sittenfeld, Michael Ondaatje, Arundhati Roy, Claire Vaye Watkins, Olivia Laing, and Naomi Shihab Nye among others•    A flaneuse novel set in India, The Far Field examines the fierce and encompassing desire of the rootless traveler to inhabit other people’s lives, and the inevitable danger of such desires•    Classic and epic feeling in its scope and politics, Vijay takes a young modern woman trying to unpack her past and places her in the midst of a decades-old conflict in an often underrepresented part of the Indian subcontinent—the conflict-ridden region of Kashmir—from which the narrator is politically and culturally sheltered•    Not only is the novel “equal parts love story, war story, and family intrigue” (Ben Fountain) it also depicts tensions between classes and religions, and idea of the culpability of an individual in a country’s wrongs •   Will appeal to readers of Salman Rushdie, Jhumpa Lahiri, Arundati Roy, Mira Waheed, Anthony Marra, J.M. Coetzee, Moshin Ahmed, Karan Mahajan, Min Jin Lee, and Kiran Desai•    Madhuri is from Bangalore, India, and is married to novelist Alexander Maksik. She has spent significant time in Kashmir

Other books that might interest you

  • Vespasian 1-3 - Tribune of Rome Rome's Executioner False God of Rome - cover

    Vespasian 1-3 - Tribune of Rome...

    Robert Fabbri

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Tribune of RomeAD 26: Sixteen-year-old Vespasian leaves his family farm for Rome. However, he soon finds himself out of his depth, making dangerous enemies (and dangerous friends - like the young Caligula) and becomes ensnared in a conspiracy against Tiberius. Vespasian flees the city to take up his position as tribune in an unfashionable legion on the Balkan frontier. Unblooded and inexperienced, he must lead his men in savage battle with hostile mountain tribes... 
    Rome's ExecutionerThracia, AD 30: Even after four years military service at the edge of the Roman world, Vespasian can't escape the tumultuous politics of an Empire on the brink of disintegration. His patrons in Rome charge him with the clandestine extraction of an old enemy from a fortress on the banks of the Danube before it falls to the Roman legion besieging it.  Vespasian's mission is the key move in a deadly struggle for the right to rule the Roman Empire... False God of RomeRome, AD 34: Vespasian is serving as a military officer on the outskirts of the Empire. But political events in Rome draw him back to the city. The new emperor Caligula forms an extravagant project to bridge the bay of Neapolis and ride over it wearing Alexander's breastplate. And it falls to Vespasian to travel to Alexandria and steal it from Alexander's mausoleum. Vespasian's mission will lead to violence, mayhem and theft - and in the end, to a betrayal so great it will echo through the ages... 
    BOOKS 1-3 IN THE VESPASIAN SERIES
    Show book
  • Mort - A Novel of Discworld - cover

    Mort - A Novel of Discworld

    Terry Pratchett

    • 2
    • 6
    • 0
    Terry Pratchett's profoundly irreverent novels are consistent number one bestseller in England, where they have catapulted him into the highest echelons of parody next to Mark Twain, Kurt Vonnegut, Douglas Adams, and Carl Hiaasen. 
    In this Discworld installment, Death comes to Mort with an offer he can't refuse -- especially since being, well, dead isn't compulsory.As Death's apprentice, he'll have free board and lodging, use of the company horse, and he won't need time off for family funerals.  The position is everything Mort thought he'd ever wanted, until he discovers that this perfect job can be a killer on his love life.
    Show book
  • Unchained: Blood Bond: Parts 1 2 & 3 (Volume 1) - cover

    Unchained: Blood Bond: Parts 1 2...

    Helen Hardt

    • 1
    • 38
    • 0
    Dante Gabriel is starving. What he craves is red gold—human blood. After being held captive as a blood slave to a female vampire for years, he has finally escaped. Unchained at last, he follows his nose to the nearest blood bank to sate his hunger.
     
    ER nurse Erin Hamilton expects just another busy night shift…until she finds a gorgeous stranger vandalizing the hospital blood bank. Though her logic tells her to turn him in, she’s pulled by stronger and unfamiliar emotions to protect the man who seems oddly infatuated with her scent. Chemistry sizzles between them, but Dante, plagued by nightmares of his time in captivity, fears he won’t be able to control himself…especially when he discovers a secret she doesn’t even know she’s hiding.
    Show book
  • The Society for the Preservation of CJ Henderson - cover

    The Society for the Preservation...

    CJ Henderson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    On July 4th, 2014 the world lost CJ Henderson, an iconic author and all-around great guy. He lost his battle with cancer, but he did not go quietly and he will not be forgotten. His work is immortalized in over 70 novels and works of non-fiction, and at least as many collections, anthologies, and magazines. In fact, new works by CJ Henderson will publish for years to come thanks to his heroic efforts to finish and find homes for those projects as-yet unpublished at the time of his illness, two of which are printed here.
    
    CJ always did what he could to give other authors a boost. Encouraging them, mentoring them, sending opportunities their way. With that in mind those of us who called him friend feel there is no better tribute we can raise in his memory than an anthology filled with people he has helped over the years, writing stories inspired by CJ or his work.
    
    We hope you enjoy these tales of fantasy, science fiction and horror, and that they might inspire you as well.
    
    Featuring stories by: John L. French, Jean Rabe, Patrick Thomas, David Boop, Danielle Ackley-McPhail, Jeff Young, Leona Wisoker Robert M. Price, Leona Wisoker, James Chambers, and, as always, CJ Henderson.
    Show book
  • Safe Haven - cover

    Safe Haven

    Patricia MacDonald

    • 1
    • 14
    • 1
    A heavily pregnant young woman returns to her small hometown to discover it’s not the safe haven she had first supposed…
    
    Following a whirlwind romance with an old acquaintance she bumped into at a high school reunion, heavily pregnant Dena Russell has moved back to her small hometown to start a new life with horse breeder Brian Riley.  But something isn’t right. As Brian’s behaviour grows increasingly disturbing, Dena flees her new home, finding refuge with an old schoolfriend.
    
    Then the bloodstained, battered body is found, and Dena is forced to think the unthinkable: could the father of her unborn child be a coldblooded killer? And, if so, how can she and her baby escape his clutches…?
    Show book
  • Empty World - Empty Bodies #7 - cover

    Empty World - Empty Bodies #7

    Zach Bohannon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A lone woman. A mysterious drifter. An Empty World. 
     
    Thirty years after The Fall killed millions of people and turned them into walking corpses, twenty-three-year-old Shell Langford is the last inhabitant of Yazoo City, a small town in the Mississippi Delta. After spending five years on her own, a gang of bandits discovers her barren town, and a solitary drifter helps her escape into the post-apocalyptic wasteland filled with the living dead. Can Shell survive in the Empty World? 
     
    Empty World takes place 30 years after the events of Zach Bohannon's bestselling series, Empty Bodies. Both new and old fans alike will enjoy this new zombie thriller set in a post-apocalyptic world.
    Show book