Reading without limits, the perfect plan for #stayhome
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Far Field - cover

The Far Field

Madhuri Vijay

Publisher: Grove Press

  • 2
  • 8
  • 0

Summary

•    Madhuri Vijay is a graduate of the Iowa Writers’ Workshop, where she was an Iowa Arts Fellow and the recipient of a Henfield Prize•    Vijay’s writing has received a Pushcart Prize, as well as a 30-Below Prize from Narrative Magazine, and has appeared in Best American Non-Required Reading, Narrative, and Salon, among other publications She is currently a contributor to Departures Magazine•    Praise already in from Anthony Marra, Anna Noyes, and Ben Fountain with more potentially from Moshin Ahmed, Carmen Maria Machado, Merritt Tierce, Curtis Sittenfeld, Michael Ondaatje, Arundhati Roy, Claire Vaye Watkins, Olivia Laing, and Naomi Shihab Nye among others•    A flaneuse novel set in India, The Far Field examines the fierce and encompassing desire of the rootless traveler to inhabit other people’s lives, and the inevitable danger of such desires•    Classic and epic feeling in its scope and politics, Vijay takes a young modern woman trying to unpack her past and places her in the midst of a decades-old conflict in an often underrepresented part of the Indian subcontinent—the conflict-ridden region of Kashmir—from which the narrator is politically and culturally sheltered•    Not only is the novel “equal parts love story, war story, and family intrigue” (Ben Fountain) it also depicts tensions between classes and religions, and idea of the culpability of an individual in a country’s wrongs •   Will appeal to readers of Salman Rushdie, Jhumpa Lahiri, Arundati Roy, Mira Waheed, Anthony Marra, J.M. Coetzee, Moshin Ahmed, Karan Mahajan, Min Jin Lee, and Kiran Desai•    Madhuri is from Bangalore, India, and is married to novelist Alexander Maksik. She has spent significant time in Kashmir

Other books that might interest you

  • Trap Lane - cover

    Trap Lane

    Stella Cameron

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The troubled past of the Black Dog’s manager returns to haunt him in the intriguing new Cotswold village mystery featuring pub owner Alex Duggins.
    Although he has always kept his past carefully hidden, as the ever-reliable manager of her well-stocked pub, The Black Dog, Hugh Rhys has Alex Duggins’ total trust. However the unexpected arrival of two women from his past raises the fury of the usually even-tempered Hugh, threatens his carefully-crafted reputation and sends shockwaves through the village.
    When a battered body is discovered in a deep pond near Hugh’s estate, Alex and her partner Tony are once again pulled into a chilling murder investigation. With Hugh’s odd behaviour ensuring that he becomes the police’s chief suspect, Alex determines to prove his innocence. But she’s about to find herself walking a dangerous line, looking for a killer she may wish she had never found …
    Show book
  • A Circle of Dead Girls - cover

    A Circle of Dead Girls

    Eleanor Kuhns

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A circus arrives in Durham in the 1790s and the whole town is excited… until the body of a Shaker girl is found beaten.
    1790s. The circus has arrived in Durham, Maine. Before weaver Will Rees is able to take in its spectacle, he spots Magistrate Hanson – the man he blames for his family’s having to flee Dugard two years earlier.
    On his journey home he encounters Shaker brothers searching for a girl from their Zion community. Despite women not being allowed inside the circus, Leah had snuck out to visit it. They quickly come across her lifeless body beaten and thrown into a farmer’s field on the road leading to the circus.
    Bored of his household chores, Rees begins investigating at the expense of his home life. He becomes entranced by the lives of the circus performers, including the charismatic horse rider and tightrope walker. Is his longing for his old journeyman’s life causing him to take his eye off the case, and can he stay out of Hanson’s way and keep his family safe?
    Show book
  • Inspector Ghote Caught in Meshes - cover

    Inspector Ghote Caught in Meshes

    H. R. F. Keating

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Inspector Ghote, ‘one of the great creations of detective fiction’ (Alexander McCall Smith), investigates a highway robbery – and finds himself unexpectedly enmeshed in a world of espionage and intrigue.
    When an American visitor to India is killed on the lonely, dusty road between Poona and Bombay, it seems like a classic case of highway robbery. But what Inspector Ghote of the Bombay CID learns from the victim’s brother – the distinguished hydrology professor, Gregory Strongbow – soon makes him suspect that everything is not as it first appeared.
    Professor Strongbow is convinced that his brother, a prominent member of the Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament, was assassinated – and Inspector Ghote is inclined to agree. But convincing his boss, the irritable Deputy Superintendent Samant, is only his first challenge, in a case that quickly enmeshes the good detective in a world of espionage and intrigue. Soon, Ghote finds his own life in danger, as he is faced with a conspiracy that reaches to the very highest level of Indian politics . . .
    Show book
  • Nordic Tales - Folktales from Norway Sweden Finland Iceland and Denmark - cover

    Nordic Tales - Folktales from...

    Books Chronicle

    • 10
    • 58
    • 1
    Trolls haunt the snowy forests, and terrifying monsters roam the open sea.A young woman journeys to the end of the world, and a boy proves he knows no fear.This collection of 16 traditional tales transports readers to the enchanting world of Nordic folklore. Translated and transcribed by folklorists in the 19th century, and presented here unabridged, the stories are by turns magical, hilarious, cozy, and chilling. They offer a fascinating view into Nordic culture and a comforting wintertime read. Ulla Thynell's glowing contemporary illustrations accompany each tale, conjuring dragons, princesses, and the northern lights.
    Show book
  • Inspector Ghote's Good Crusade - cover

    Inspector Ghote's Good Crusade

    H. R. F. Keating

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Inspector Ghote, "one of the great creations of detective fiction" (Alexander McCall Smith), investigates a high-profile murder and finds liars wherever he looks
    When American millionaire and philanthropist Frank Masters dies of arsenic poisoning, Inspector Ganesh Ghote of the Bombay CID takes a moment to picture himself in the papers, triumphantly solving the case. This is no ordinary murder, and he knows it will attract a great deal of attention. 
    But the reality of the situation soon takes over: not only does Inspector Ghote know nothing about arsenic, but the key witnesses all seem deeply unreliable. Who can he trust at the Frank Masters Foundation for the Care of Juvenile Vagrants? The chef who tells him only what he wants to hear? The acerbic Dr Diana and her shifty dispenser? Or  –  least appealingly - two infuriating young boys known only as Edward G. Robinson and Tarzan? 
    The good inspector doggedly investigates, but the more he discovers in this perplexing case, the more he despairs of ever bringing the true killer to justice . . .
    Show book
  • The Red Door - An Inspector Ian Rutledge Mystery - cover

    The Red Door - An Inspector Ian...

    Charles Todd

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    “One of the best historical series being written today.”—Washington Post Book World The accolades keep pouring in for Charles Todd and his New York Times Notable, Edgar® Award-nominated series featuring British police inspector and shell-shocked World War I veteran Ian Rutledge. In The Red Door, a disturbing puzzle surrounding a lie, a disappearance, and a woman’s death ensnares the haunted investigator. Richly atmospheric and unputdownable, The Red Door proves once more that New York Times bestseller Charles Todd belongs in the august company of Ruth Rendell, Anne Perry, Martha Grimes, Ian Ransom, Peter Robinson, P.D. James, and the other contemporary masters of British mystery.
    Show book