Don't put off till tomorrow the book you can read today!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Far Field - cover

The Far Field

Madhuri Vijay

Publisher: Grove Press

  • 1
  • 8
  • 0

Summary

•    Madhuri Vijay is a graduate of the Iowa Writers’ Workshop, where she was an Iowa Arts Fellow and the recipient of a Henfield Prize•    Vijay’s writing has received a Pushcart Prize, as well as a 30-Below Prize from Narrative Magazine, and has appeared in Best American Non-Required Reading, Narrative, and Salon, among other publications She is currently a contributor to Departures Magazine•    Praise already in from Anthony Marra, Anna Noyes, and Ben Fountain with more potentially from Moshin Ahmed, Carmen Maria Machado, Merritt Tierce, Curtis Sittenfeld, Michael Ondaatje, Arundhati Roy, Claire Vaye Watkins, Olivia Laing, and Naomi Shihab Nye among others•    A flaneuse novel set in India, The Far Field examines the fierce and encompassing desire of the rootless traveler to inhabit other people’s lives, and the inevitable danger of such desires•    Classic and epic feeling in its scope and politics, Vijay takes a young modern woman trying to unpack her past and places her in the midst of a decades-old conflict in an often underrepresented part of the Indian subcontinent—the conflict-ridden region of Kashmir—from which the narrator is politically and culturally sheltered•    Not only is the novel “equal parts love story, war story, and family intrigue” (Ben Fountain) it also depicts tensions between classes and religions, and idea of the culpability of an individual in a country’s wrongs •   Will appeal to readers of Salman Rushdie, Jhumpa Lahiri, Arundati Roy, Mira Waheed, Anthony Marra, J.M. Coetzee, Moshin Ahmed, Karan Mahajan, Min Jin Lee, and Kiran Desai•    Madhuri is from Bangalore, India, and is married to novelist Alexander Maksik. She has spent significant time in Kashmir

Other books that might interest you

  • Devil Sent the Rain - A Mystery - cover

    Devil Sent the Rain - A Mystery

    Lisa Turner

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Edgar Award nominee and bestselling author Lisa Turner’s hard-boiled Detective Billy Able returns in this dark Southern mystery about the murder of a dazzling Memphis socialite—and the scandals revealed in the wake of her death 
    The heart can be an assassin. Detective Billy Able knows that from experience.  
    Fresh from solving Memphis’ most sensational murder case, Homicide Detective Billy Able and his ambitious new partner Frankie Malone are called to a bizarre crime scene on the outskirts of town. A high society attorney has been murdered while dressed in a wedding gown. Billy is shocked to discover he has a very personal connection to the victim. When the attorney’s death exposes illegal practices at her family’s prestigious law firm, the scandal is enough to rock the southern city’s social world.  
    In a tale of the remnants of Old South aristocracy and entitlement, twisted by greed and vengeance, Billy must confront the secrets of his own past to have any chance at solving the murder of the girl he once knew. But as he seeks the truth, he’s drawn closer to an embittered killer bent on revenge—and eliminating the threat Billy poses. 
     
    Show book
  • Open Your Eyes - cover

    Open Your Eyes

    Paula Daly

    • 1
    • 28
    • 0
    From acclaimed novelist and “master of psychological thrillers” (Library Journal) Paula Daly, Open Your Eyes follows a bestselling crime novelist’s tragic turn from fictional perpetrator into real-life victim.
     
    Jane Campbell avoids confrontation at any costs. Given the choice, she’ll always let her husband, Leon—a bestselling crime writer—take the lead, while she focuses on her two precious young children and her job as a creative writing teacher. After she receives another rejection for her novel, Leon urges Jane to put her hobby to rest. And why shouldn’t she, when through Jane’s rose-tinted glasses, they appear to have the perfect house and the perfect life?
     
    But then Leon is brutally attacked in their driveway while their children wait quietly in the car, and suddenly, their perfect life becomes the stuff of nightmares. Who would commit such a hateful offense in broad daylight? With her husband in a coma, Jane must open her eyes to the problems in her life, as well as the secrets that have been kept from her. Although she might not like what she sees, if she’s committed to discovering who hurt her husband—and why—Jane must take matters into her own hands.
     
    A surprising and gripping thriller of pride, ambition, and envy, Open Your Eyes is an unsettling whodunit about the illusions of a perfect marriage that confirms Paula Daly as a writer at the forefront of domestic suspense.
    Show book
  • Bark M For Murder - cover

    Bark M For Murder

    J. A. Jance, Virginia Lanier,...

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Evildoers beware! Four of mystery fiction's top storytellers are setting the hounds on your trail -- in an incomparable quartet of crime stories with a canine edge. Man's (and woman's) best friends take the lead in this phenomenal collection of tales tense and surprising, humorous and thrilling. 
    New York Times bestselling author J.A. Jance's spellbinding saga of a scam-busting septuagenarian and her two golden retrievers; Anthony Award winner Virginia Lanier's pureblood thriller featuring bloodhounds and bloody murder; Chassie West's suspenseful stunner about a life-saving German shepherd and a ghastly forgotten crime; rising star Lee Charles Kelley's edge-of-your-seat yarn that pits an ex-cop/kennel owner and a yappy toy poodle against a craven killer.
    Show book
  • Hit List - cover

    Hit List

    Jack McSporran

    • 5
    • 67
    • 0
    A major security breach. Blackmail. A list of names with deadly consequences.When her old agency is hacked by an elusive crime syndicate, ex-secret agent Maggie Black is enjoying the carefree life of a civilian. Then she learns the names of the agency’s agents, past and present, are being leaked by the hackers, one-by-one, until their notorious boss is released from prison.
     
    With the government refusing to negotiate with the blackmailers, Maggie is forced out of retirement and dragged back into the perilous life of espionage she swore to leave behind. Her name is on that list, as well as those she cares about most.
     
    As the bodies of agents begin to pile up, Maggie risks it all to hunt down the hackers. From the war-torn streets of Somalia to the seedy red-light district of Amsterdam, Maggie must race against time before her dark past ruins any chance at a future.HIT LIST is the second exhilarating adventure in the Maggie Black thriller series, and the perfect read for fans of Lee Child and James Patterson.
     
    Get your copy of HIT LIST today and delve into the sequel of the binge-worthy series everyone is talking about.
    Show book
  • Murder in Georgetown - cover

    Murder in Georgetown

    Margaret Truman

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    The author of Murdered at the FBI delivers a political thriller that “ends with several bangs. It may be deemed the best of Truman’s bestsellers” (Publishers Weekly).   When the corpse of a young woman is found floating down Washington’s C&O Canal, everyone is shocked to learn the victim is none other than Valerie Frolich—a senator’s daughter, Georgetown graduate, and a rising star in the cutthroat world of investigative journalism.  Washington Post reporter Joe Potamos is good at unearthing the skeletons in the nation’s capital, so when he’s assigned the Frolich story, he immediately senses this case is rife with secrets. As he digs further to uncover the truth about Valerie’s death, it soon becomes apparent someone wanted the young, beautiful reporter dead.   And when Joe’s search reveals an evil labyrinth of intrigue involving murder, bribery, kidnapping, and even international espionage, he’ll have to race to find Valerie’s killer—before his own life is snuffed out. “Truman[’s] . . . murder mysteries . . . evoke brilliantly the Washington she knows so well.” —The Houston Post   “Truman does it again!” —United Press International  
    Show book
  • The Little Ball O' Fire; or the Life and ures of John Marston Hall - cover

    The Little Ball O' Fire; or the...

    G. P. R. James

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    My father was a gentleman of small estate in Lincolnshire, whose family possessions, under a race of generous ancestors, had dwindled from splendid lordships to bare competence. His blood, which was derived from as noble a source as that of any in the land, had come down to him pure through a number of knights and nobles, who, though they were little scrupulous as to the means of spending their riches, were very careful not to augment them by cultivating any but the somewhat barren field of war. He made a love match with a daughter of the second Lord Wilmerton; and, in order that his wife might not draw unpleasant comparisons between the station of her husband and that of her father, he frequented the court, and lived beyond his means. He was already in difficulties when I was born; but, like a brave man, he resolved to meet them boldly, and, after some solicitation, obtained a small military appointment, which increased his revenue without adding to his expenses. Loyalty with him was a passion, which, like love in other men, prevented him from seeing any faults in its object; and, of course, as the court well knew that no benefits could make him more loyal than he already was, it showered its favours upon persons whose affection was to be gained, leaving him to struggle on without further notice...
    Show book