Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Asylum - cover

Asylum

Madeleine Roux

Publisher: HarperCollins

  • 4
  • 86
  • 0

Summary

Madeleine Roux's New York Times bestselling Asylum is a thrilling and creepy photo-illustrated novel that Publishers Weekly called "a strong YA debut that reveals the enduring impact of buried trauma on a place." 
Featuring found photographs from real asylums and filled with chilling mystery and page-turning suspense, Asylum is a horror story that treads the line between genius and insanity, perfect for fans of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children. 
For sixteen-year-old Dan Crawford, the New Hampshire College Prep program is the chance of a lifetime. Except that when Dan arrives, he finds that the usual summer housing has been closed, forcing students to stay in the crumbling Brookline Dorm—formerly a psychiatric hospital. As Dan and his new friends Abby and Jordan start exploring Brookline's twisty halls and hidden basement, they uncover disturbing secrets about what really went on here . . . secrets that link Dan and his friends to the asylum's dark past. Because Brookline was no ordinary mental hospital, and there are some secrets that refuse to stay buried. 
Don't miss Madeleine Roux's all-new shivery fantasy series, House of Furies.

Other books that might interest you

  • Mortal Coils (Serapis Classics) - cover

    Mortal Coils (Serapis Classics)

    Aldous Huxley

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Mortal Coils is a collection of five short fictional pieces written by Aldous Huxley in 1921. The title uses a phrase from Hamlet, Act 3, Scene 1: ... To die, to sleep, To sleep, perchance to dream; aye, there's the rub, For in that sleep of death, what dreams may come, When we have shuffled off this mortal coil, Must give us pause ... The stories all concern themselves with some sort of trouble, normally of an amorous nature, and often ending with disappointment.
    Show book
  • The Distance Between Us - cover

    The Distance Between Us

    Kasie West

    • 4
    • 59
    • 0
    Money can't buy a good first impression. 
    Seventeen-year-old Caymen Meyers learned early that the rich are not to be trusted. And after years of studying them from behind the cash register of her mom's porcelain-doll shop, she has seen nothing to prove otherwise. Enter Xander Spence—he's tall, handsome, and oozing rich. Despite his charming ways and the fact that he seems to be one of the first people who actually gets her, she's smart enough to know his interest won't last. Because if there's one thing she's learned from her mother's warnings, it's that the rich have a short attention span. But just when Xander's loyalty and attentiveness are about to convince Caymen that being rich isn't a character flaw, she finds out that money is a much bigger part of their relationship than she'd ever realized. With so many obstacles standing in their way, can she close the distance between them?
    Show book
  • Jokes4Kids - cover

    Jokes4Kids

    Paul Gwilliam

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    One of the funniest Joke Books available for Kids. Jokes4Kids has hundreds of funny jokes for kids of all ages. Children love Joke Books, so buy them one of the best.
    Jokes4Kids with keep your children entertained for hours.
    Show book
  • The Season of You & Me - cover

    The Season of You & Me

    Robin Constantine

    • 2
    • 23
    • 0
    From Robin Constantine, author of The Promise of Amazing and The Secrets of Attraction, comes a funny and heartfelt summer romance set in New Jersey. Perfect for fans of Sarah Mlynowski, Jenny Han, and Morgan Matson. 
    Cassidy Emmerich is reeling from a sudden, humiliating breakup. The last thing she wants to do is stick around and be reminded of her ex everywhere she goes. On impulse, she decides to spend the summer with her father and his family at their Jersey Shore bed-and-breakfast. A different scene and a new job working as a camp counselor seem like the perfect recipe for forgetting Gavin as quickly as possible—not to mention for avoiding him until he leaves for college.  
    Bryan Lakewood is sick of nevers. You’ll never walk. You’ll never surf. You’ll never slow dance with a girl and have her put her head on your shoulder. Last year he made one false move—now he’s paralyzed and needs to use a wheelchair. But this summer, he’s back at his camp job and is determined to reclaim his independence—and his confidence. 
    Cass is expecting two months of healing her broken heart. 
    Bryan is expecting a summer of tough adjustments. 
    Neither is expecting to fall in love.
    Show book
  • Ready or Not - cover

    Ready or Not

    Meg Cabot

    • 0
    • 35
    • 0
    Top ten things Samantha Madison isn't ready for 
    10. Spending Thanksgiving at Camp David9. With her boyfriend, the president's son8. Who wants to take things to the Next Level7. Which Sam inadvertently announces live on MTV6. While discussing the president's dubious policies on families, morals, and, yes, sex5. Juggling her new after-school job at Potomac Video4. Even though she's already the (unpaid) teen ambassador to the UN 3. Getting accosted because she's "the redheaded girl who saved the president's life," despite her new ebony tresses2. Dealing with her popular sister Lucy, who for once can't get the guy she wants 
    And the number-one thing Sam isn't ready for? 
    1. Finding out the hard way that in art class, "life drawing" means "naked people"
    Show book
  • The Elite - cover

    The Elite

    Kiera Cass

    • 7
    • 53
    • 0
    The second book in Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series 
    With even more glamour, intrigue, and swoon-worthy romance, this sparkling sequel to The Selection will captivate readers who loved Veronica Roth’s Divergent, Lauren Oliver’s Delirium, or Renée Ahdieh’s The Wrath & the Dawn. 
    Thirty-five girls came to the palace to compete in the Selection, and to win Prince Maxon’s heart. Now six girls remain, and the competition is fiercer than ever—but America Singer is still struggling to decide where her heart truly lies. Is it Prince Maxon—and life as the queen—that she wants? Or is it still Aspen, her first love? 
     
    Show book