Don't put off till tomorrow the book you can read today!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
China Dream - cover

China Dream

Ma Jian

Translator Flora Drew

Publisher: Counterpoint

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A biting and humane novel of stunning concision in which buried dreams and past betrayals erupt into the present moment;  a feverish and darkly funny vision of contemporary Chinese society
Bleakly funny, incisive, stinging and – in its most destabilising passages – gut-wrenching, CHINA DREAM, brilliantly translated by Flora Drew, is set at a time when reality and dystopia have begun to bleed into one another.
 2019 marks the 30th anniversary of the Tiananmen Square Massacre and the 50th anniversary of the cultural revolution, and the author intended his novel's publication to time in direct juxtaposition to those two important anniversaries
For more than thirty years, Ma Jian (often a noted contender for the Nobel Prize for Literature, although a writer who has yet to break out to American readers) has written in his native Chinese but has seen every one of his books banned in China. In his latest novel, CHINA DREAM, he uses humor, satire, and pointed observations to point out the erosions of freedoms in modern day China. 
Already a much-anticipated novel after the author's recent tumultuous appearance at a Hong Kong literary festival, CHINA DREAM will be published in the US at a time when Olga Tokarczuk's FLIGHTS and FEVER DREAM by Samanta Schweblin have proven how enthusiastic readers are for electric literary fiction in translation. 
UK edition named one of the Best Books of the Year by The Financial Times 
The cover is an original piece of art by acclaimed Chinese contemporary artist and activist Ai Weiwei, who created it specifically for the novel

Other books that might interest you

  • Choose Your Own Misery: The Holidays - The Holidays - cover

    Choose Your Own Misery: The...

    Mike MacDonald

    • 0
    • 1
    • 1
    “Bah! Humbug! An ideal choice for holiday haters and readers who enjoy David Sedaris’s hysterically funny take, Holidays on Ice” (Library Journal).   From two alumni of The Onion, this is part of the hilarious series “for former Choose Your Own Adventure fans and devotees of dark, dark humor” (Publishers Weekly).   This is the year you’re going to do it: you’re going to avoid Christmas completely!   . . . or you were, until your island getaway got washed out by a hurricane. Now you have to choose: should you spend the holiday with your shrewish sister and her Europhile husband, or endure your new girlfriend’s family for a week? Help chop down a tree even though it might throw out your back, or endure the icy judgment of a woman who thinks only children and pussies help bake cookies? Jet off to the glamorous slums of Kingston, Jamaica, or accept the offer of a ride from a man who never stops smiling . . . and is probably going to turn you into a skin suit?   From the writers who brought you the hilarious parody Choose Your Own Misery: The Office comes a second helping of misery with a festive twist. Christmas is full of fun surprises for kids, but for adults, it’s just an endless series of aggressive crowds, overwhelming credit card debt, and pretending to like the people you’re forced to spend it with.   Once you unwrap all the holiday misery hiding in these pages, the blackness of your heart will rival any lump of coal.   “I played this book thirty times and the happiest ending I got was one where I got to eat turkey with a badly burned hand. Seems about right. Hilarious every time.” —Ryan North, New York Times–bestselling author of Romeo And/Or Juliet  
    Show book
  • The Picture of Dorian Gray - cover

    The Picture of Dorian Gray

    Oscar Wilde

    • 2
    • 2
    • 0
    Dorian is a cultured, wealthy, and impossibly beautiful young man. He becomes a disciple of the new Hedonism and proposes to live a life dedicated to the pursuit of pleasure. Lord Henry gives Dorian a book that describes the wicked exploits of a nineteenth-century Frenchman; it becomes Dorian’s bible as he sinks ever deeper into a life of sin and corruption. Dorian’s reputation suffers in circles of polite London society, where rumours spread regarding his scandalous exploits. His peers nevertheless continue to accept him because he remains young and beautiful.
    Show book
  • Twenty-One Stories - cover

    Twenty-One Stories

    Graham Greene

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    These wide-ranging tales of menace, tragedy, and comedy offer ample proof that “in the short story, as well as the novel, Graham Greene is the master” (The New York Times).   Written between 1929 and 1954, here are twenty-one stories by a “master storyteller” (Newsweek). Whatever the crime, whatever the pursuit, whatever the mood—from the tragic and horrifying to the ribald and bittersweet, Graham Greene is “the ultimate chronicler of twentieth-century man’s consciousness and anxiety” (William Golding).   In “The End of the Party,” a game of hide-and-seek takes a terrifying turn in the dark. In “The Innocent,” a romantic gets a rude awakening when he finds a hidden keepsake from a childhood crush. A husband’s sexual indiscretion is revealed in a most public and embarrassing way in “The Blue Film.” A rebellious teen’s flight from her petit bourgeois life includes a bad boy, a gun, and a plan in “A Drive in the Country.” In “A Little Place off the Edgware Road,” a suicidal man’s encounter with a stranger in a grubby cinema seals his fate. A young boy is ushered into a dark world when he discovers the secrets adults hide in “The Basement Room.” And in “When Greek Meets Greek,” a clever con between two scoundrels carries an unexpected sting. In these and more than a dozen other stories, Greene confronts his usual themes of betrayal and vengeance, love and hate, faith and doubt, guilt and grief, and pity and pursuit.  
    Show book
  • Choose Your Own Misery: The Office Adventure - cover

    Choose Your Own Misery: The...

    Mike MacDonald, Jilly Gagnon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 1
    You have endless choices...but few real options.
    
    Hungover and stuck at a job you hate, will you show up for your big presentation, or duck out with Debby, the HR rep with an FDR fetish? Play the weird lump on your back for office-wide sympathy, or dive into an internet spiral that can only end in “ten kinds of cancer”? Tell someone about the weird genital-fondling that’s happening at the crystal healer’s, or just accept that this is the best substitute you’ll find for love, today...or maybe ever?
    
    From two comedy writers and former contributors to THE ONION comes a parody of a choose-your-own-adventure tale―the story of your soul-crushing existence. Having choices is great when you’re a kid, but in the adult world, the only options are endless varieties of misery. It’s okay, though. A life of adventure would require so many uncomfortable sleeping situations. Besides, you have dental. Keep reminding yourself about the dental.
    
    “Hell, the only reason for going to work is to goof-off reading Jilly Gagnon's and Mike MacDonald's book, Choose Your Own Misery: The Office!”—E. Jean Carroll, former writer for SNL
    
    “Choose Your Own Misery: The Office [is] the most addictive, clever, and honestly hilarious decision tree you've ever read.”—Zack Bornstein, segment director at Jimmy Kimmel Live
    
    "Sorry, I've been spending every waking hour lost in your maddening madcap narrative labyrinth. I'll try to send a blurb for the book by the deadline!"—Jamie Brew, Associate Editor at Clickhole
    
    "It’s time for you to choose your own miserable adventure, just like you do every day of your miserable life, but now in hilarious book form!”—Nate Dern, Head Writer for Funny or Die
    
    "Oh, how I laughed at this droll little book. Then, slowly but irreversibly, it filled me up with dread."—Jesse Andrews, author of the NY Times Bestselling ME AND EARL AND THE DYING GIRL
    
    “Choose Your Own Misery: The Office is a bittersweet, brutal, and frequently hilarious twist on the childhood classics.”—NERDIST.COM
    
    “[Choose Your Own Misery: The Office] is one of the few books I’ve made sure to bring with me to show others when going out... even though filled with miserable and sometimes darker choices, [it] is definitely one of the funniest books I’ve read lately.”—TECHAERIS
    
    “In their rip-roaringly funny book, Choose Your Own Misery: The Office, the two Onion alums make a dark and decidedly adult play on beloved childhood "choose your own adventure" novels…[Choose Your Own Misery] may be the funniest book released this year.”—NEWSWEEK
    
    This book is a parody. It was not authorized by Chooseco, the publisher of Choose Your Own Adventure. Choose Your Own Adventure is a registered trademark of Chooseco LLC.
    Show book
  • Christmas at Rosie Hopkins' Sweetshop - A Novel - cover

    Christmas at Rosie Hopkins'...

    Jenny Colgan

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Fans of Debbie Macomber and Jojo Moyes will love this warm, funny, moving holiday tale from the New York Times bestselling author of Christmas at the Cupcake Café and Little Beach Street Bakery. 
    It’s a white Christmas in England, and Rosie Hopkins is feeling festive: Her sweetshop is festooned with striped candy canes, luscious chocolate boxes, and happy, sticky children, and she and her boyfriend are eagerly awaiting the arrival of their families. 
    But when a tragedy strikes at the heart of their charming town, all of Rosie's plans for the future seem to be blown apart. Can she and her loved ones see their way through the difficult times? 
    Sweet and soulful, heartbreaking and heartwarming, this is the perfect novel for the holidays (or any time of year).
    Show book
  • An Ideal Husband - cover

    An Ideal Husband

    Oscar Wilde

    • 0
    • 11
    • 0
    Wilde's dramatic masterpiece set in London. Many of the themes of An Ideal Husband were influenced by the situation Oscar Wilde found himself in during the early 1890s. 'Sooner or later we shall all have to pay for what we do. But no one should be entirely judged by their past.' The play opens during a dinner party at the home of Sir Robert Chiltern in London's fashionable Grosvenor Square. Sir Robert, a prestigious member of the House of Commons, and his wife, Lady Chiltern, are hosting a gathering that includes his friend Lord Goring, a dandified bachelor and close friend to the Chilterns, Mabel Chiltern, and other genteel guests.
    Show book