Pimp your reading experience and read without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
netwars - The Code - Compilation One - Thriller - cover

netwars - The Code - Compilation One - Thriller

M. Sean Coleman

Publisher: Bastei Entertainment

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

netwars: The Code - Compilation, for the first time all six episodes of the serial cyber thriller appear in one collection. 

-- Hackers. Cyber warfare. Terrorism. Forget Edward Snowden and the NSA. Do you really know who's monitoring your data? 

-- Welcome to the Deep Web. Those parts of the internet no search engine explores. The place where you can buy anything. Drugs, children, weapons. Anyone can do it. And get away free. 

-- It all starts with a plane crash. Anthony Prince, head of PrinceSec, a firm that provides high-tech security for the government and major corporations, dies in an airplane accident when crossing the English Channel. Responsible for Prince's death is a hacker named Strider, whose real name is Scott Mitchell. During his day job at the National Cyber Crime Unit (NCCU) Mitchell uses legitimate means to get the bad guys. As Strider, he pushes the boundaries of the law to punish them. On the night of Anthony Prince's death, PrinceSec suffers a cyber-attack. Passwords, secrets, security measures to high profile targets are stolen. When the NCCU is called to assess the damage, they find a link between Prince and a criminal hacker group called Black Flag. 

The race is on for Mitchell to protect his identity as Strider and to stop Black Flag before the next attack. 

-- netwars: The Code is part of a transmedia project based on real facts and cyber-attack scenarios. The project spans multiple story platforms including a fact-based website (www.netwars-project.com) and the interactive graphic novel app "netwars: The Butterfly Attack." For fans of Dave Eggers, THE CIRCLE; Daniel Suarez, DARKNET; the movie ENEMY OF THE STATE, and espionage and high-tech thrillers. 

-- About the Author: M. Sean Coleman launched his career as one of the original writers on Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy Online. He has since written and produced original, award-winning shows for MSN, O2, Sony Pictures, Fox, the BBC, and Channel 4. He continues to write novels, graphic novels and tv scripts from his home in London.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Inglorious Arts - An Alec Brno Novel - cover

    The Inglorious Arts - An Alec...

    Alan Hruska

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Seasoned New York lawyer Alec Brno, first introduced in Pardon the Ravens, is tested again by overlapping personal and professional crises. Early on, he’s asked to rescue his firm’s oldest client, who is being sued vindictively by a giant public utility, as well as the firm’s largest client, embroiled in a politically motivated suit before a lunatic federal judge. To avoid crippling results, and the loss of more than 200,000 jobs, Alec must somehow get rid of both cases almost immediately and stop thousands of others from suing.  This seemingly impossible assignment arrives as Alec’s adopted sixteen-year-old daughter, the inheritor of a Mafia fortune, is targeted in a sex-slave scheme by her uncle, the capo famiglia. Distractions only intensify when Alec’s beautiful sister-in-law, who arrives from Dublin, looking and acting so much like his deceased wife, becomes a board piece in the Mob game. The Inglorious Arts follows Alec’s heroics as he deals with corporate intrigues, political maneuvering, two high-stakes courtroom battles, Mob terror, and the frantic race to save the lives of the women he loves.
    Show book
  • Trust Me I'm Dead - cover

    Trust Me I'm Dead

    Sherryl Clark

    • 5
    • 32
    • 1
    SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2018 CWA DEBUT DAGGER FOR UNPUBLISHED FIRST NOVEL
     
    She hasn't seen her brother in years. Now, he's dead.
     
    When Judi Westerholme finds out her estranged brother has been murdered, she assumes it's connected to his long term drug addiction. Returning home, she is shocked to discover he had been clean for years, had a wife – now missing – a child and led a respectable life. But if he had turned his life around, why was he killed in a drug deal shooting? And where is his wife?
     
    Desperate to know what really happened, Judi sets out to uncover the truth, even though it means confronting her own traumatic past. But she's not the only one looking for answers...
     
    With a gutsy, unapologetic protagonist, Trust Me, I'm Dead is a gritty and bold crime thriller that explores the sacrifices people will make for their families.
     
    'Gripping and disturbing, Clark delves into dark places close to home. Trust Me, I’m Dead will linger in your mind after you have read it' - Leigh Russell, author of the bestselling Geraldine Steel series
    Show book
  • Dead on Course - A contemporary horse racing mystery - cover

    Dead on Course - A contemporary...

    Glenis Wilson

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    A fast-paced mystery set in the cut-throat world of horse-racing: second in the new Harry Radcliffe series.Back in the saddle and race riding again after weeks recuperating from a serious accident, champion jockey Harry Radcliffe reckons his life is back on course. That’s before local gangster Jake Smith, newly released from gaol, makes contact. Knowing of Harry’s success in finding out who killed his brother, Jake now wants him to discover who murdered his sister, Jo-Jo. Refusing to accept the official verdict of accidental death, Jake is prepared to use whatever violence necessary to uncover the truth. He’s determined that somebody pays the price for his sister’s death – and if Harry doesn’t find out who’s responsible, it’ll be him.Once again forced to turn detective, Harry is about to enter a world of greed, corruption and treachery in order to unmask a ruthless killer.
    Show book
  • A Cop Story - cover

    A Cop Story

    Donahue Silvis

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Frankie, Phil, and Carlo grow up in a poor Italian neighborhood in Newark, New Jersey. It was during the depression and WWII. Times were bad and for them stealing was a way of life. The brothers, Frankie and Phil Fasino become wise guys working for the Family. Carlo Cardoni becomes a policeman to get away from the criminal element, or so he thought. Using the problems of his everyday life as an excuse, Carlo accepts favors from his past friends, Frankie, Phil, and their capo-regime. Favors he knows he must someday repay. Does Carlo renege on his commitments? Are Frankie and Phil ordered to hit their old friend, Carlo? Or, does Carlo give-up being a cop and join his Mafia friends?
    Show book
  • Dragon Teeth - A Novel - cover

    Dragon Teeth - A Novel

    Michael Crichton

    • 1
    • 8
    • 0
    Michael Crichton, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Jurassic Park, returns to the world of paleontology in this recently discovered novel—a thrilling adventure set in the Wild West during the golden age of fossil hunting. 
    The year is 1876. Warring Indian tribes still populate America’s western territories even as lawless gold-rush towns begin to mark the landscape. In much of the country it is still illegal to espouse evolution. Against this backdrop two monomaniacal paleontologists pillage the Wild West, hunting for dinosaur fossils, while surveilling, deceiving and sabotaging each other in a rivalry that will come to be known as the Bone Wars. 
    Into this treacherous territory plunges the arrogant and entitled William Johnson, a Yale student with more privilege than sense. Determined to survive a summer in the west to win a bet against his arch-rival, William has joined world-renowned paleontologist Othniel Charles Marsh on his latest expedition.  But when the paranoid and secretive Marsh becomes convinced that William is spying for his nemesis, Edwin Drinker Cope, he abandons him in Cheyenne, Wyoming, a locus of crime and vice. William is forced to join forces with Cope and soon stumbles upon a discovery of historic proportions.  With this extraordinary treasure, however, comes exceptional danger, and William’s newfound resilience will be tested in his struggle to protect his cache, which pits him against some of the West’s most notorious characters. 
    A page-turner that draws on both meticulously researched history and an exuberant imagination, Dragon Teeth is based on the rivalry between real-life paleontologists Cope and Marsh; in William Johnson readers will find an inspiring hero only Michael Crichton could have imagined. Perfectly paced and brilliantly plotted, this enormously winning adventure is destined to become another Crichton classic. 
    Show book
  • Empire of Lies - cover

    Empire of Lies

    Andrew Klavan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A pious family man is pulled back into his sordid past—and into a race to stop a terrorist plot—in this thriller by an Edgar Award–winning author. Sustained by a deep religious faith, Jason Harrow has built a stable family and become a pillar of principle and patriotism. Then the phone rings, and his past is on the other end of the line. A woman with whom he once shared a life of violence and desire claims her daughter is missing—and Jason is the one man who can find her.   Returning to New York City from the Midwest, Jason finds himself entangled in a murderous conspiracy that bizarrely links his private passions to the turmoil of a world at war. Hunted by terrorists and the police, Jason has only hours to unravel an ex-lover’s lies and face the unbearable truth: In order to prevent a savage attack on his country, he’s going to have to risk his decency, his sanity—and his life.   “The most original novelist of crime and suspense since Cornell Woolrich.” —Stephen King   “Klavan’s writing is masterful, and his characters superbly drawn.” —Forbes   “A wickedly satiric thriller with political overtones . . . [that] builds to an explosive climax.” —Publishers Weekly
    Show book