As many books as you want!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Suzy Has A Secret - cover

Suzy Has A Secret

M. Schmidt, S. Jackson, A. Raymond

Publisher: M. Schmidt Productions

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

This book teaches a child, ages four to eight years-old, about personal safety and body ownership. Children learn how to identify who safe adults are in a child’s life. This book shows in positive and practical ways how parents, and educators, can talk to children about personal safety. Children learn about bad touch and good touch, and how their body belongs to them. Parents and educators can help children learn who the safe people are in their lives, and that they can always tell one of them about anything that may happen, and they aren’t comfortable about. Using little bug fairies and fairy houses, ensures that children aren’t scared when this story is read to them, or they read it on their own. Minimal illustrations used so that younger children don’t become distracted by extraneous elements. 
Reviews 
“Suzy Has A Secret” is a must read book for those with small children or for those that have little ones in their life. Children don't always know when or who to tell. We teach them to respect their elders and be quiet when asked; to behave and not to tattle. This needs to change! “Suzy Has A Secret” explains to children that we must always tell our parents or others when something doesn't feel right. I recommend this book highly. Susan Vance, Author 
  
“Suzy Has a Secret” is a great resource in instructing children about good touch/bad touch. I think it is smartly written and developed, and easy for children to read. This is a difficult subject to tackle, and the authors have done a brilliant job. I would highly recommend this book.  Kristina Ball, Author  
As children, we’ve been taught to listen to our parents and to do everything they tell say us. We know how much they love us and they won’t do anything to hurt us. One of these things concerns tattling on someone else who did something they shouldn’t have done, because doing it wouldn’t be a nice thing to do. 
But what happens when a relative, like Uncle Bob, starts doing something he shouldn’t and tell us to keep it a secret even from our parents. This is what Suzy has to deal with in this brief story when he starts touching her in places she somehow feels is wrong; she becomes scared and doesn’t want to get in trouble for tattling on her uncle to her parents. 
This creates a conflict in her young mind since her parents had also taught her that if something is bothering her she should come to them. When she tells her friend Lucy what’s happening, Lucy’s older brother tells Suzy to tell her parents and that she wouldn’t get into trouble. Suzy follows his advice, tells her parents who respond by sitting down and talking to her about what Uncle Bob did to her. 
Inappropriate touching is a sensitive, everyday occurring issue which parents need to discuss with their young child, and this book serves as marvelous beginning from which this discuss can begin. The book then gives parents ideas as to how to go about doing this. For trying to help parents, especially first-time young parents, in dealing with this important, sensitive issue, there’s no way I can’t give Ms. Jackson 5 STARS for her endeavor here. Mrs. D., Author 
Awards 
2016 Reader's Favorite Five Stars 
2017 Silver Second Place Medal Literary Titan 
 

Other books that might interest you

  • Warriors: Omen of the Stars #2: Fading Echoes - cover

    Warriors: Omen of the Stars #2:...

    Erin Hunter

    • 2
    • 21
    • 0
    After the sharp-eyed Jay and the roaring Lion, peace will come on Dove's gentle wing. 
    Three ThunderClan cats, Jayfeather, Lionblaze, and Dovepaw, are prophesied to hold the power of the stars in their paws. Now they must work together to unravel the meaning behind the ancient words of the prophecy.  
    As Jayfeather tackles his new responsibilities as the Clan's sole medicine cat and Lionblaze trains his apprentice in the ways of the warrior cats, Dovepaw hones her own unique ability and tries to use it for the good of ThunderClan. But the dark shadows that have preyed on the Clan for many moons still lurk just beyond the forest. Soon a mysterious visitor will walk in one cat's dreams, whispering promises of greatness, with results that will change the future of ThunderClan in ways that no cat could have foreseen.
    Show book
  • On the Fence - cover

    On the Fence

    Kasie West

    • 7
    • 107
    • 0
    She's a tomboy. He's the boy next door. 
    With three older brothers, Charlotte Reynolds, aka Charlie, has always been more comfortable calling the shots on a basketball court than flirting with the opposite sex. So when her police officer dad demands she get a summer job to pay for the latest in a long line of speeding tickets, she's more than a little surprised to find herself working at a chichi boutique and going out with a boy who has never seen her tear it up in a pickup game. Charlie seeks late-night refuge in her backyard, talking out her problems with her neighbor and honorary fourth brother, Braden, sitting back-to-back against the fence that separates them. Braden may know her better than anyone. But there's a secret Charlie's keeping that even he hasn't figured out—she's fallen for him. Hard. She knows what it means to go for the win, but if spilling her secret means losing him for good, the stakes just got too high. 
    On the Fence is a sweet and satisfying read about finding yourself and finding love where you least expect it.
    Show book
  • The One - cover

    The One

    Kiera Cass

    • 13
    • 81
    • 0
    The captivating third book in Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series 
    America Singer searches for her happily ever after in this swoon-worthy YA dystopian romance, perfect for readers who loved Veronica Roth’s Divergent, Lauren Oliver’s Delirium, or Renée Ahdieh’s The Wrath & the Dawn. 
    Entering the Selection changed America Singer's life in ways she never could have imagined. Since she arrived at the palace, America has struggled with her feelings for her first love, Aspen—and her growing attraction to Prince Maxon. Now she's made her choice . . . and she's prepared to fight for the future she wants. 
     Don’t miss The Betrothed, a glittering royal romance sure to captivate Kiera Cass’s legion of loyal readers and lovers of courtly intrigue alike!
    Show book
  • Lies - cover

    Lies

    Michael Grant

    • 3
    • 32
    • 0
    The third book in Michael Grant's New York Times bestselling Gone series, Lies is another heart-in-your-throat page-turner, both chilling and thought-provoking. 
    It's been seven months since all the adults disappeared. Gone. 
    It happens in one night. A girl who died now walks among the living; Zil and the Human Crew set fire to Perdido Beach, and amid the flames and smoke, Sam sees the figure of the boy he fears the most: Drake. But Drake is dead. Sam and Caine defeated him along with the Darkness—or so they thought. 
    As Perdido Beach burns, battles rage: Astrid against the Town Council; the Human Crew versus the mutants; and Sam against Drake, who is back from the dead and ready to finish where he and Sam left off. And all the while deadly rumors are raging like the fire itself, spread by the prophetess Orsay and her companion, Nerezza. They say that death is a way to escape the FAYZ. Conditions are worse than ever and kids are desperate to get out. But are they desperate enough to believe that death will set them free? 
    “Disturbing, brilliantly plotted, and boasting a balanced mix of action and scheming.” —ALA Booklist 
    Read the entire series:GoneHungerLiesPlagueFearLightMonsterVillainHero
    Show book
  • C Is for Camping - cover

    C Is for Camping

    Greg Paprocki

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    An engaging collection of 26 illustrations featuring campground favorites from Campfires and Hammocks to S’mores and Wildlife. Illustrator Greg Paprocki’s popular BabyLit alphabet board books feature his classically retro midcentury art style. Discover new details in each illustration with every successive reading.
    Show book
  • Storybound - cover

    Storybound

    Marissa Burt

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    When Una Fairchild stumbles upon a mysterious book buried deep in the basement of her school library, she thinks nothing of opening the cover and diving in. But instead of paging through a regular novel, Una suddenly finds herself Written In to the land of Story—a world filled with Heroes and Villains and fairy-tale characters. 
    But not everything in Story is as magical as it seems. Una must figure out why she has been Written In—and fast—before anyone else discovers her secret. Together with her new friend Peter and a talking cat named Sam, Una digs deep into Story's shadowy past. She quickly realizes that she is tied to the world in ways she never could have imagined—and it might be up to her to save it.
    Show book