If you like reading, you will LOVE reading without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Jonesbridge - Echoes of Hinterland - cover

Jonesbridge - Echoes of Hinterland

M. E. Parker

Publisher: Diversion Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

"...Jonesbridge isn’t just a dystopia of geography, but that of the human condition, ravaged by history... M.E. Parker is a cartographer of the spirit, navigating us through his powerful prose that is unflinchingly honest…” —Peter Tieryas Liu, author of UNITED STATES OF JAPAN

In this world-building series, perfect for fans of Ray Bradbury’s FAHRENHEIT 451 and Hugh Howey’s WOOL, to survive a grim island prison a young man and woman must work for the Complex. To escape it, they will need to destroy it.

Myron enters the Jonesbridge Industrial Complex as a worker, a prisoner, commanded to harvest the scant resources that enable the powers that be to continue waging an unwinnable war. When Sindra—a fellow prisoner and a spirited fighter—joins him at the salvage line, he finds a new reason to live, and to escape. Even though any attempt to leave will lead to execution, Myron and Sindra plan a daring escape.

 But when a guard is found murdered and Myron is blamed for the crime, it appears that they will not even get a chance to attempt to fly over the gorge that separates Jonesbridge from the rest of the world. It will take everything that Myron and Sindra have to merely survive their brutal overlords. It will take even more to set them both free. As their world changes, Myron and Sindra work through the Jonesbridge underground, meeting a mesmerizing cast of characters—dangerous survivors bent on destroying Jonesbridge once and for all.

Other books that might interest you

  • Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell - cover

    Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell

    Susanna Clarke

    • 0
    • 8
    • 0
    INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER 
     
    In the Hugo-award winning, epic New York Times Bestseller and basis for the BBC miniseries, two men change England's history when they bring magic back into the world.  
     
    In the midst of the Napoleonic Wars in 1806, most people believe magic to have long since disappeared from England - until the reclusive Mr. Norrell reveals his powers and becomes an overnight celebrity.  
     
    Another practicing magician then emerges: the young and daring Jonathan Strange. He becomes Norrell's pupil, and the two join forces in the war against France.  
     
    But Strange is increasingly drawn to the wild, most perilous forms of magic, and he soon risks sacrificing his partnership with Norrell and everything else he holds dear.  
     
    Susanna Clarke's brilliant first novel is an utterly compelling epic tale of nineteenth-century England and the two magicians who, first as teacher and pupil and then as rivals, emerge to change its history. 
     
     
    Time #1 Book of the Year 
    Book Sense Book of the Year 
    People Top Ten Books of the Year  
    Winner of the Hugo Award 
    New York Times Notable Book of the Year 
    Salon.com Top Ten of 2004 
    Winner of the World Fantasy Award  
    Nancy Pearl's Top 12 Books of 2004  
    Washington Post Book World's Best of 2004  
    Christian Science Monitor Best Fiction 2004  
    San Francisco Chronicle Best Books of 2004  
    Winner of the Locus Award for Best First Novel  
    Chicago Tribune Best of 2004  
    Seattle Times 25 Best Books of 2004  
    Atlanta Journal-Constitution Top 12 Books of 2004  
    Village Voice "Top Shelf"  
    Raleigh News & Observer Best of 2004  
    Rocky Mountain News critics' favorites of 2004
    Show book
  • The Registry - cover

    The Registry

    Shannon Stoker

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Welcome to a safe and secure new world, where beauty is bought and sold, and freedom is the ultimate crime 
    The Registry saved the country from collapse, but stability has come at a price. In this patriotic new America, girls are raised to be brides, sold at auction to the highest bidder. Boys are raised to be soldiers, trained to fight and never question orders. 
    Nearly eighteen, beautiful Mia Morrissey excitedly awaits the beginning of her auction year. But a warning from her married older sister raises dangerous questions. Now, instead of going up on the block, Mia is going to escape to Mexico—and the promise of freedom. 
    All Mia wants is to control her own destiny—a brave and daring choice that will transform her into an enemy of the state, pursued by powerful government agents, ruthless bounty hunters, and a cunning man determined to own her . . . a man who will stop at nothing to get her back.
    Show book
  • The Werewolf Queen - cover

    The Werewolf Queen

    Brandi Elledge

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    I always wished I had supernatural powers. Now I wish I didn’t.Sadie’s a dud, a failure–the only one in high school who doesn’t have any kind of supernatural powers. Her psychic bff, Jo, knows something about Sadie’s future, but just won’t tell. And what the heck is going on when one of her teachers starts looking at her while he’s going on about powerful lost keys, portals of madness, and destinies?Then it all starts.On her 18th birthday, Sadie starts to feel weird. And when werewolves, vampires, and demons all turn up to spoil her party, the weirdness really ramps up.Leaving her best friend, her family, and the only town she’s ever known, Sadie must find safety. But while the king of the werewolves can offer her somewhere to hide while she’s learning about her new powers, he can’t stop his psycho witch fiancée from finding new ways to try and kill her. Of course, the murderous tendencies of this psycho witch only get worse when she realises the Werewolf King is, um… attracted to Sadie.And all that’s before Sadie sets off to try and find one of the lost keys. Before she visits hell. Before she picks up a pet ogre.And before she realizes just how powerful she can become.But if it really is her destiny to collect one of the lost keys, will she be able control her newfound power and help save the world and all the people in it she loves? Or will she buckle under the pressure?She’s about to find out. A mansion surrounded by demons and full of vampires and witches intent on her destruction awaits. Oh, and that psycho-witch fiancée of the Werewolf King. What could possibly go wrong?
    Show book
  • Chaotic - A Novella - cover

    Chaotic - A Novella

    Kelley Armstrong

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    Previously published in the print anthology Dates From Hell. 
    Kelley Armstrong returns to the Otherworld with "Chaotic," where a half-demon tabloid journalist's boring date is saved...by a supernatural explosion? She's off to save the day—if only her less-than-stellar date wouldn't tag along! Luckily, the intriguing, infuriating, and just plain sexy werewolf/jewel thief Karl Marsten also appears.
    Show book
  • The Collection - A Registry Novel - cover

    The Collection - A Registry Novel

    Shannon Stoker

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    How far would you go to control your own destiny? 
    Mia Morrissey has escaped: from America, from the Registry, from the role she was raised to play—a perfect bride auctioned to the highest bidder. She's enemy number one to the world's largest power, and there's no turning back now. 
    From the moment she and her friends Andrew and Carter cross the border into Mexico, it's clear their troubles are only beginning. Mexico may have laws to protect runaway brides, but as U.S. Army deserters, Andrew and Carter face deportation or worse. The young men are immediately picked up by a violent and omnipotent militia—the Collection—and it's Mia's turn to rescue them. 
    With time running out, her ex-fiancé's henchman on her trail, and a dangerous tide shifting back in America, Mia will do whatever she has to. Even if that means risking everything and putting herself back on an auction block. The price of freedom is never too high . . . but what if the cost is her life?
    Show book
  • The K'Terrian Affair - cover

    The K'Terrian Affair

    Timothy Best

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The K’Terrian Affair is an uplifting but emotional love story about the first-ever human/alien love affair.
     
    Alex Tucker’s mother abandoned him when he was nine-years-old. Twenty years later, she’s a major with the U.S. Army overseeing a high security post on Dune Island, a remote community in the middle of Lake Michigan. So, Alex leaves a promising career at the FBI to become Chief of Police on Dune Island and, hopefully, get to know her.
     
    Once there, he meets and is attracted to the mysterious Eleanor Engle. She and her father are scientists that do research for the army. But as their relationship develops, Alex discovers the Engles are really the last two surviving members of Earth’s first alien delegation from another planet. A delegation his mother is sworn to protect.
     
    When it’s discovered an organization called the Consortium is out to kidnap the Engles for their advanced technology, things quickly escalate to a heart-pounding climax. The K’Terrian Affair is, like all Timothy Best novels, deep romance and high adventure rolled into one unforgettable story.
    Show book