Read as much as you want at your own pace!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Jonesbridge - Echoes of Hinterland - cover

Jonesbridge - Echoes of Hinterland

M. E. Parker

Publisher: Diversion Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

"...Jonesbridge isn’t just a dystopia of geography, but that of the human condition, ravaged by history... M.E. Parker is a cartographer of the spirit, navigating us through his powerful prose that is unflinchingly honest…” —Peter Tieryas Liu, author of UNITED STATES OF JAPAN

In this world-building series, perfect for fans of Ray Bradbury’s FAHRENHEIT 451 and Hugh Howey’s WOOL, to survive a grim island prison a young man and woman must work for the Complex. To escape it, they will need to destroy it.

Myron enters the Jonesbridge Industrial Complex as a worker, a prisoner, commanded to harvest the scant resources that enable the powers that be to continue waging an unwinnable war. When Sindra—a fellow prisoner and a spirited fighter—joins him at the salvage line, he finds a new reason to live, and to escape. Even though any attempt to leave will lead to execution, Myron and Sindra plan a daring escape.

 But when a guard is found murdered and Myron is blamed for the crime, it appears that they will not even get a chance to attempt to fly over the gorge that separates Jonesbridge from the rest of the world. It will take everything that Myron and Sindra have to merely survive their brutal overlords. It will take even more to set them both free. As their world changes, Myron and Sindra work through the Jonesbridge underground, meeting a mesmerizing cast of characters—dangerous survivors bent on destroying Jonesbridge once and for all.

Other books that might interest you

  • Single White Vampire - cover

    Single White Vampire

    Lynsay Sands

    • 4
    • 22
    • 0
    “[Sands’s] trademark humor and genuine characters…keep her series fresh and her readers hooked.”—Publishers Weekly The third book in her phenomenal Argeneau vampire series, Single White Vampire by the incomparable Lynsay Sands is an unadulterated delight! This paranormal romance classic follows the romantic adventures of a dark and handsome immortal who writes paranormal romances, and who’d love to sink his teeth into his sexy new editor. When it comes to red hot vampire love stories, New York Times and USA Today bestseller Lynsay Sands is Queen of the Night!
    Show book
  • One Lucky Vampire - An Argeneau Novel - cover

    One Lucky Vampire - An Argeneau...

    Lynsay Sands

    • 7
    • 20
    • 0
    No one does wickedly funny and irresistibly steamy like New York Times bestselling author Lynsay Sands—especially in this red-hot romance between a reluctant vampire and the beauty who needs his help. 
    Luck be a vampire tonight . . . 
    When Nicole Phillips agreed to hire a housekeeper, she pictured someone a little frumpy and almost certainly female. Instead, she gets gorgeous, unmistakably male Jake Colson. The man is proving indispensable in the kitchen—and everywhere else. Except Jake might not be a mortal man at all. 
    . . . and every night 
    Who wouldn't want to be a tall, dark, powerful vampire?Jake, for one. He's barely had time to adjust to his newstate before he's roped into a family favor. Still, secretly playing bodyguard to sweet, sexy Nicole is turning out to be the wildest ride of his life. First, he'll put a stop to whoever's targeting her. Then he'll prove that this kind of love, and luck, happens only once in an eternity.
    Show book
  • Tall Dark & Hungry - cover

    Tall Dark & Hungry

    Lynsay Sands

    • 5
    • 21
    • 0
    “Take a bite into fresh, fun vampire comedy…read Lynsay Sands.”—Carly Phillips Nobody does vampire romance quite like Lynsay Sands! Tall, Dark & Hungry is the fourth book in her insanely popular Argeneau vampire series—and she brilliantly blends laughter with steamy passion in this story about a British lass who falls hard for a tasty immortal in-law she meets when she crosses the ocean to attend a cousin’s New York wedding. Paranormal romance is hot, hot, hot! And Lynsay Sands is not only one of the pioneer authors of this subgenre…she’s one of the very best!
    Show book
  • Black Valley - cover

    Black Valley

    Dewi Griffiths, John Washbourne

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Black Valley is The Wicker Man meets Silent Hill: a dark fantasy novel drawing on ancient Celtic Myth and grounded in post-industrial North Wales.
     
    1918: The Manager of a Welsh slate quarry at Cwm Du (Black Valley) pushes ahead with plans to open up a new slate face in a natural cavern in the mountains, despite the protests of his workers and the wise woman of the village, the Druidess Myfanwy. The resulting explosion not only unleashes underground water to flood the quarry killing hundreds of quarrymen, it also brings with it the ancient race from the Otherworld below: Gwyllion.  
     
    To save the world from the wrath of the Gwyllion and the pestilence they carry, Myfanwy seals Cwm Du from the outside world: Cwm Du becomes a forgotten lost valley shrouded in myth, guarded by her daughter, Becca, the new Druidess.
     
    2020: a hundred years later: Becca's only female descendant, Laura, is bequeathed a cottage in the village of Cwm Du, beside the now flooded quarry. Laura travels to the cottage with her boyfriend Jimmy. 
     
    Laura and Jimmy enter Cwm Du to find a place where the Gwyllion are suddenly returning, threatening the inhabitants and the outside world. Laura's unexpected role is to become the next Druidess, but can she do so and save the world when the Gwyllion are at her door? 
     
    "Nothing can hold back the Otherworld: Except You"
    Show book
  • Spaceside - cover

    Spaceside

    Michael Mammay

    • 0
    • 7
    • 1
    From the author of Planetside, a Best Book of 2018 (Library Journal)  
    A military legend is caught in the web between alien intrigue and human subterfuge… 
    Following his mission on Cappa, Colonel Carl Butler returns to a mixed reception. To some he is a do-or-die war hero. To the other half of the galaxy he’s a pariah. Forced into retirement, he has resettled on Talca Four where he’s now Deputy VP of Corporate Security, protecting a high-tech military company on the corporate battlefield—at least, that’s what the job description says. Really, he’s just there to impress clients and investors. It’s all relatively low risk—until he’s entrusted with new orders. A breach of a competitor’s computer network has Butler’s superiors feeling every bit as vulnerable. They need Butler to find who did it, how, and why no one’s taken credit for the ingenious attack. 
    As accustomed as Butler is to the reality of wargames—virtual and otherwise—this one screams something louder than a simple hack. Because no sooner does he start digging when his first contact is murdered, the death somehow kept secret from the media. As a prime suspect, he can’t shake the sensation he’s being watched…or finally succumbing to the stress of his past. Paranoid delusion or dangerous reality, Butler might be onto something much deeper than anyone imagined. But that’s where Butler thrives. 
    If he hasn’t signed his own death warrant. 
     
    Show book
  • Under a Vampire Moon - An Argeneau Novel - cover

    Under a Vampire Moon - An...

    Lynsay Sands

    • 5
    • 36
    • 0
    “Lynsay Sands writes books that keep readers coming back for more.”—Katie MacAlister, USA Today bestselling author of Sex, Lies, and Vampires 
    Lynsay Sands, the nationally bestselling author of the Argeneau/Rogue Hunter vampire series, is one of the superstars of paranormal romance. Her latest Argeneau novel, Under a Vampire Moon, features a recently single, romantically-wary mortal who encounters a gorgeous vampire male waiting for her on a pristine Caribbean beach. Under a Vampire Moon is a treat for fans of Charlaine Harris and her Sookie Stackhouse novels—for anyone, in fact, who appreciates a good island romance between a hot blooded human and a love-hungry immortal.
    Show book