If you like reading, you will LOVE reading without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Jonesbridge - Echoes of Hinterland - cover

Jonesbridge - Echoes of Hinterland

M. E. Parker

Publisher: Diversion Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A dystopian steampunk novel of a young man and woman desperate to escape—and destroy—the complex that has imprisoned them. From the author of The Nethers.   In this world-building series, perfect for fans of Ray Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451 and Hugh Howey’s Wool, there are those who resist the grim future forced upon them . . .   Myron enters the Jonesbridge Industrial Complex as a worker, a prisoner, commanded to harvest the scant resources that enable the powers that be to continue waging an unwinnable war. When Sindra—a fellow prisoner and a spirited fighter—joins him at the salvage line, he finds a new reason to live. Even though any attempt to leave will lead to execution, Myron and Sindra plan a daring escape.   But when a guard is found murdered and Myron is blamed for the crime, it appears that they will not even get a chance to attempt to fly over the gorge that separates Jonesbridge from the rest of the world. It will take everything that Myron and Sindra have to merely survive their brutal overlords. It will take even more to set them both free. As their world changes, Myron and Sindra work through the Jonesbridge underground, meeting a mesmerizing cast of characters—dangerous survivors bent on destroying Jonesbridge once and for all.   “Jonesbridge isn’t just a dystopia of geography, but that of the human condition, ravaged by history . . . M.E. Parker is a cartographer of the spirit, navigating us through his powerful prose that is unflinchingly honest.” —Peter Tieryas Liu, author of United States of Japan

Other books that might interest you

  • The Tales of Aylfenhame Compendium - Books 1-3 - cover

    The Tales of Aylfenhame...

    Charlotte E. English

    • 1
    • 12
    • 0
    Fairytale fantasy meets romance meets the English Regency in these three dreamy tales.
     
    Miss Landon and Aubranael: When impoverished Miss Sophia Landon crosses over into Faerie, she meets Aubranael, an Aylir with a warm heart and a ruined face. Armed with the temporary gift of beauty, Aubranael sets out to win Sophy’s heart: and so begins an adventure that could change his life, and Sophy’s, forever.
     
    Miss Ellerby and the Ferryman: Miss Isabel Ellerby is a dutiful daughter with a well-ordered life. But when an impulsive promise to the mysterious Ferryman of the fae realm turns her life upside down, Isabel is forced to choose: will she marry the man her parents have chosen for her, or follow her heart and her destiny to Aylfenhame?
     
    Bessie Bell and the Goblin King: When housemaid Bessie Bell is thrown out into a cold October night, her prospects could scarcely seem worse. How will she survive? But on the road she meets a mysterious gentleman, and her fortunes take an immediate turn for the… strange. For they say the Goblin King wanders the hills of Lincolnshire sometimes, in the guise of a mortal man...
     
    Three courageous heroines. Three fairytale heroes. Three tales of love, magic and adventure.
    Show book
  • Chaotic - A Novella - cover

    Chaotic - A Novella

    Kelley Armstrong

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    Previously published in the print anthology Dates From Hell. 
    Kelley Armstrong returns to the Otherworld with "Chaotic," where a half-demon tabloid journalist's boring date is saved...by a supernatural explosion? She's off to save the day—if only her less-than-stellar date wouldn't tag along! Luckily, the intriguing, infuriating, and just plain sexy werewolf/jewel thief Karl Marsten also appears.
    Show book
  • Remnants - cover

    Remnants

    Honor Raconteur

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Finally over with the wedding, managed to escape the parents, signed up with the MISD, yay! Got assigned a permanent team with Chi, Vee, and Maksohm, double yay! Toh’sellor has been stolen.
     
    Yeah, this is not going to be fun.  
     
    It is, in fact, anti-fun.
     
    Oh, and monkeys. Poor Chi.
    Show book
  • Under a Vampire Moon - An Argeneau Novel - cover

    Under a Vampire Moon - An...

    Lynsay Sands

    • 5
    • 29
    • 0
    “Lynsay Sands writes books that keep readers coming back for more.”—Katie MacAlister, USA Today bestselling author of Sex, Lies, and Vampires 
    Lynsay Sands, the nationally bestselling author of the Argeneau/Rogue Hunter vampire series, is one of the superstars of paranormal romance. Her latest Argeneau novel, Under a Vampire Moon, features a recently single, romantically-wary mortal who encounters a gorgeous vampire male waiting for her on a pristine Caribbean beach. Under a Vampire Moon is a treat for fans of Charlaine Harris and her Sookie Stackhouse novels—for anyone, in fact, who appreciates a good island romance between a hot blooded human and a love-hungry immortal.
    Show book
  • The Fae Lord's Mistress - A Dark Fantasy Romance - cover

    The Fae Lord's Mistress - A Dark...

    Lisa Kumar

    • 1
    • 21
    • 0
    Ever since the day a fae raid stole away my parents, poverty and scavenging have been my life. I live in the human slums of Chimra, though it was once known as the great city of Chicago. The fae rule over New Earth and humanity with a neglectful and ruthless fist. But everything changes when Gabreon, the fae lord who led that raid six years ago, finds me in the forbidden dumping grounds and claims me as his own. His actions lead to anger, confusion, and heartache—on my side and his. Lina. The human Gabreon couldn’t forget. When he sees her in the dumping grounds, he no longer can ignore the pull between them. Though claiming her goes against everything he was brought up to believe, he takes her as his companion. During the day, she holds herself away from him, but at night, she sparks to life in his arms. As a human revolution ferments, his growing relationship with Lina becomes even more perilous. Earning her forgiveness will be hard, but keeping them both alive in the meantime might prove impossible. ~~Lina and Gabreon's tale spans several books. Though this story can function as a standalone, it is better read as part of a series~~~~The Fae Lord's Mistress is a dark fantasy romance that deals with sensitive issues and is for 18-year-olds and above. Sexual content also inside. If you dislike any of those things, then this fantasy romance likely isn't for you~~~~Serialized on Tapas in the Premium Program as The Sidhe Lord's Mistress~~
    Show book
  • Coexistence - Pipettes & Plows 1 - cover

    Coexistence - Pipettes & Plows 1

    Shree C. Aier

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Her secrets can set us free
     
    After a disastrous laboratory accident, exobotanist Dr. ShaylaRam Gomez is desperate to redeem herself in the eyes of the scientific community, and more importantly, her beloved father. But now, with her carefully nurtured study of new black bean seeds in tatters, Shayla is banished to a dishonorable tour of the Obsidian Rim worlds with the man responsible for destroying her reputation – the brawny farmer from some backwater planetoid, Dr. Rahim Xie.
     
    The people who freed Rahim from a lifetime of slavery are struggling under crushing debt to the Earth’s Conservatory, and Rahim has vowed to save these destitute Prithvi and Rim farmers. He’ll even steal classified research on sustainable crops from his irascible mentor Grumpy Gomez. When he discovers that meticulous Shayla has a hidden maverick streak, Rahim is tempted to enlist her aid. He needs more than her secrets; he needs her and her brilliant mind to help his cause. But how can he ask Shayla to join a revolution that will pit her against her own father – a man known for his political ruthlessness?
     
    Forced together with their dogbot and humanoid companions, they'll travel to the edges of a decaying galaxy to fight the corporate greed that is slowly starving the worlds of the Rim. Are these scientists planting the seeds of their own destruction -- or will their reluctant collaboration blossom into something beyond mere coexistence?
    Show book