Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
A Shot in the Dark - A Constable Twitten Mystery - cover

A Shot in the Dark - A Constable Twitten Mystery

Lynne Truss

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The charming first novel in a new comic crime series from New York Times bestselling author Lynne Truss. 
  
 It's 1957, and Inspector Steine rather enjoys his life as a policeman in the seaside British town of Brighton. As far as he's concerned, the town has no criminals, which means no crime, and no stress.  
 
But much to Steine's irritation, there's a new constable in town-the keen and clever Constable Twitten, who sees patterns in small, meaningless burglaries and insists on the strange notion that perhaps all the crime has not been cleared out quite as effectively as Steine thinks.  
 
Worse yet, some of Constable Twitten's ideas could be correct: when renowned theater critic A. S. Crystal arrives in Brighton to tell the detective the secret he knows about the still-unsolved Aldersgate Stick-Up Case of 1945, he's shot dead in his seat. 
 
With a new murder, a new constable, and a new lead on the decades-old mystery, the Brighton Police Force must scramble to solve this delightfully droll mystery in “the funniest crime novel of 2018” (Wall Street Journal).

Other books that might interest you

  • My (Part-Time) Paris Life - How Running Away Brought Me Home - cover

    My (Part-Time) Paris Life - How...

    Lisa Anselmo

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Lisa Anselmo wraps her entire life around her mother, a strong woman who is a defining force in Lisa's life — maybe too defining. When her mother dies from breast cancer, Lisa realizes she hasn't built a life of her own and struggles to find her purpose. Who is she without her mother — and her mother's expectations?  
    Desperate for answers, she turns to her favorite city — Paris — and impulsively buys a small apartment, refusing to play it safe for the first time. What starts out as an act of survival sets Lisa on a course that reshapes her life in ways she never could have imagined. Suddenly she's living like a local in a city she thought she knew, but her high school French, while fine for buying bread at the corner boulangerie, goes only so far when Paris gives her a strong dose of real life. From dating to homeownership in a foreign country, Lisa quickly learns it's not all picnics on the Seine and starts to doubt herself — and her love of the city. But she came to Paris to be happy, and she can't give up now. Isn't happiness worth fighting for?  
    In the vein of Eat, Pray, Love and Wild, My (Part-time) Paris Life is a story for anyone who's ever felt lost or hopeless but still dreams of something more. This candid memoir explores one woman's search for peace and meaning and how the ups and downs of expat life in Paris taught her to let go of fear, find self-worth, and create real, lasting happiness in the City of Light. A Macmillan Audio production.
    Show book
  • Stealing the Wave - The Epic Struggle Between Ken Bradshaw and Mark Foo - cover

    Stealing the Wave - The Epic...

    Andy Martin

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Like Norman Mailer's The Fight, this gripping page-turner from journalist Andy Martin chronicles a classic duel between two phenomenal and sharply contrasting athletes. In the mid-1980s, Ken Bradshaw and Mark Foo took big-wave surfing's spiritual home, Waimea Bay on Hawaii's legendary North Shore, and turned it into an arena of personal combat. Bradshaw was in pole-position. The muscular, square-jawed Texan already commanded respect through a combination of strength, gritty determination, and infamous temper - he was known to bite chunks out of fellow surfers' boards whenever he felt disrespected in the water. Mark Foo was the new kid on the block, and his polar opposite. The icon of the next generation, openly challenging the old guard, this slim Chinese-American wowed Waimea's winter crowds with his prowess, speed, moves, looks, and thirst for the biggest waves. But Foo's talent for self-marketing was anathema to surfing veterans and purists, and above all to Bradshaw. Foo was driving surfing in a new, commercial direction, while Bradshaw saw himself as the heir and guardian of a great tradition. And then one fine day Foo stole a wave from right under Bradshaw's nose, arousing his wrath, and firing up a feud that would span a decade.  
    Their unforgiving rivalry would ultimately evolve into a grudging mutual admiration which was, however, doomed to end in death on a giant swell at Maverick's, just south of San Francisco, on Christmas Eve of 1994. Stealing the Wave is the intimate history of the conflict between two remarkable men that gets to the heart of what it means to compete, and examines what happens when competition, passion and belief go too far.
    Show book
  • Laugh Yourself Silly - cover

    Laugh Yourself Silly

    James M. Spears

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    52 of the Funniest Stories in the World! Stories that'll keep you laughing all day!!
    Show book
  • Almonds - Recipes History Culture - cover

    Almonds - Recipes History Culture

    Barbara Bryant, Betsy Fentress,...

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A treasury of information and “simple and creative” recipes that make the most of this delicious, nutritious nut (Daniel Boulud, chef and restaurateur). From the anatomy of a nut to the history of the almond in world culture, the cultivation of almond orchards in California, and nutrition provided by a favorite nut, this book provide a wealth of information about the versatile, high-protein, diet-friendly almond—along with numerous recipes that incorporate this scrumptious ingredient in snacks, starters, salads, pasta dishes, entrees, and desserts. Try over 50 recipes including Soba Noodles with Spicy Almond Butter Sauce · Almond-Crusted Pork Chops with Sweet-and-Sour Apricot Glaze • Lamb Tagine with Apricots, Almonds and Honey • Almond Florentine Cookies • Chocolate-Amaretto Torte • Moroccan Rice Pudding • Chocolate-Almond Bark • and moreIncludes photos
    Show book
  • British Railways in Transition - The Corporate Blue and Grey Period 1964–1997 - cover

    British Railways in Transition -...

    Jim Blake

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This is a book about the transition from steam to diesel and electric traction on British Railways, covering a period from 1960–1970. The author Jim Blake, took a huge number of pictures during this period, covering all aspects of the railway and its operations, both in the London area, where he lived and also around the country. This book looks at the railway scene in decline, trying to come to terms with the post Beeching, post steam era, before a change of political will, that has seen much rail investment in recent times. The volume, not only looks at locomotives and trains, but also the overall railway scene of that decade of great change the 1960s.
    Show book
  • Nature Near Home and Other Papers - cover

    Nature Near Home and Other Papers

    John Burroughs

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Nature Near Home is one of many books on natural history by John Burroughs. It is full of simple observations about rural scenes and charming stories about animals, plants, and even people! Burroughs loves the creatures around him and derives great pleasure from his walks and studies in nature’s scenes. (Summary by Edith Phern)
    Show book