Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
As Seen on TV - Provocations - cover

As Seen on TV - Provocations

Lucy Grealy

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Whether she is contemplating promiscuity or The New Testament, lamenting about what she should have said to Oprah, or learning to tango, Grealy seduces and surprises the reader at every turn. With the sheer brilliance of her imagination, Grealy leads us on delightful journeys with her wit, unflinching honesty and peerless intelligence. A completely original thinker and a remarkable writer, the author leaves the reader with plenty to ponder. As Seen On TV breaks the mould of the essay, and is destined, like the memoir that preceded it, to become a modern classic.  '[Grealy is]. . . unforgettable.' -New York Times   '[Grealy writes]-with exquisite prose and steely strength.' -USA Today  'Lucy Grealy manages to convince an amazing array of people that she is speaking directly to them.' -Baltimore Sun  '[Grealy] overcomes-with wit, intelligence and an unconquerable spirit.' Mademoiselle

Who read this book also read:

  • Unlocked - A Love Story - cover

    Unlocked - A Love Story

    Karen Kingsbury

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Before You Take a Stand … You Got to Take a Chance. Holden Harris is an eighteen-year-old locked in a prison of autism. Despite his quiet ways and quirky behaviors, Holden is very happy and socially normal—on the inside, in a private world all his own. In reality, he is bullied at school by kids who only see that he is very different. Ella Reynolds is part of the “in” crowd. A cheerleader and star of the high school drama production, her life seems perfect. When she catches Holden listening to her rehearse for the school play, she is drawn to him … the way he is drawn to the music. Then, Ella makes a dramatic discovery—she and Holden were best friends as children. Frustrated by the way Holden is bullied, and horrified at the indifference of her peers, Ella decides to take a stand against the most privileged and popular kids at school. Including her boyfriend, Jake. Ella believes miracles can happen in the unlikeliest places, and that just maybe an entire community might celebrate from the sidelines. But will Holden’s praying mother and the efforts of Ella and a cast of theater kids be enough to unlock the prison that contains Holden? This time, friendship, faith, and the power of a song must be strong enough to open the doors to the miracle Holden needs.
    Show book
  • Searching for Mercy Street - My Journey Back to My Mother Anne Sexton - cover

    Searching for Mercy Street - My...

    Linda Gray Sexton

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Linda Gray Sexton’s critically acclaimed memoir is an honest, unsparing account of the anguish and fierce love that bound a brilliant, difficult mother and the daughter she left behind. Linda Sexton was twenty-one when her mother killed herself, and now she looks back, remembers, and tries to come to terms with her mother’s life.Life with Anne was a wild mixture of suicidal depression and manic happiness, inappropriate behavior, and midnight trips to the psychiatric ward. Anne taught Linda how to write, how to see, how to imagine—and only Linda could have written a book that captures so vividly the intimate details and lingering emotions of their life together. Searching for Mercy Street speaks to everyone who admires Anne Sexton and to every daughter or son who knows the pain of an imperfect childhood. This beautiful new trade paperback edition includes a new introduction by the author.
    Show book
  • The Journal of Joyce Carol Oates - cover

    The Journal of Joyce Carol Oates

    Joyce Carol Oates

    • 2
    • 2
    • 0
    The Journal of Joyce Carol Oates, edited by Greg Johnson, offers a rare glimpse into the private thoughts of this extraordinary writer, focusing on excerpts written during one of the most productive decades of Oates's long career. Far more than just a daily account of a writer's writing life, these intimate, unrevised pages candidly explore her friendship with other writers, including John Updike, Donald Barthelme, Susan Sontag, Gail Godwin, and Philip Roth. It presents a fascinating portrait of the artist as a young woman, fully engaged with her world and her culture, on her way to becoming one of the most respected, honored, discussed, and controversial figures in American letters.
    Show book
  • Brady and Hindley - Genesis of the Moors Murders - cover

    Brady and Hindley - Genesis of...

    Fred Harrison

    • 2
    • 2
    • 0
    The shocking true crime story of child murderers Ian Brady and Myra Hindley, Great Britain’s most horrific serial killers. During the early 1960s, just as Beatlemania was exploding throughout the United Kingdom, a pair of psychopathic British killers began preying on the very young, innocent, and helpless of Greater Manchester. Between 1963 and 1965, Ian Brady and his lover and partner, Myra Hindley, were responsible for the abduction, rape, torture, and murder of five young victims, ranging in age from ten to seventeen years old. The English press dubbed the grisly series of homicides “the Moors Murders,” named for the desolate landscape where three of the corpses were eventually discovered.   Based in part on the author’s face-to-face prison interviews with the killers, Fred Harrison’s fascinating and disturbing true crime masterwork digs deeply into Brady and Hindley’s personal histories to examine the factors that led to their mutual attraction and their evolution into the UK’s most notorious pair of human monsters. It was during these interviews that new details about the killers’ terrible crimes surfaced, compelling the police to reopen what was arguably the most shocking and sensational homicide case in the annuls of twentieth-century British crime.   With a new introduction by the author, meticulously researched and compellingly written, Brady and Hindley is the definitive account of Britain’s most hated serial killers.  
    Show book
  • Paranormal - My Life in Pursuit of the Afterlife - cover

    Paranormal - My Life in Pursuit...

    Raymond Moody, Paul Perry

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    The bestselling author of Life After Life, Raymond Moody, offers a stunning, myth-busting memoir of everything he has learned in a lifetime studying “the other side” and our connection to it. The grandfather of the NDE (near death experience) movement, Raymond Moody has, in the words of Dr. Larry Dossey, author of The Power of Premonitions, “radically changed the way modern humans think about the afterlife.” Paranormal, essential reading for fans of Dannion Brinkley and Jeffrey Long, is “a thrilling and inspiring literary experience. Anyone who is not grateful for Moody’s immense contribution to human welfare ought to check his pulse.”
    Show book
  • Pablo Escobar: The History of the Biggest Narco - cover

    Pablo Escobar: The History of...

    My Ebook Publishing House

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Pablo Escobar
     
    Murderer, philanthropist, drug dealer, politician, devil, saint: many words have been used to describe Pablo Escobar, but one is irrefutable - legend. For the poor of Colombia, he was their Robin Hood, a man whose greatness lay not in his crimes, but in his charity; for the Colombian rich he was just a bloodthirsty gangster, a Bogie Man used to scare children in their beds; for the rest of the world flush with his imported cocaine, he was public enemy number one. When talking about Colombia, there is usually one thing that instantly comes to mind –cocaine. While this stereotype is not completely true, it is difficult not to associate the country with drugs. Naturally, the name Pablo Escobar will come up when reading about the emergence of the drug industry in the country. Escobar and his Medellin cartel once led the drug trade in Colombia, trafficking around 80% of the world’s cocaine supply. During his period of influence, Escobar amassed an estimated net worth of $25 billion.
     
    Here Is A Preview Of What You'll Learn...Early Years of Pablo Escobar Escobar and his Rise to Power Pablo’s FamilyWas Pablo Escobar Like Robin Hood? Prison of La Catedral The End of EscobarMuch, much more!
     
    Download your copy today!
    Show book