Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
As Seen on TV - Provocations - cover

As Seen on TV - Provocations

Lucy Grealy

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Whether she is contemplating promiscuity or The New Testament, lamenting about what she should have said to Oprah, or learning to tango, Grealy seduces and surprises the reader at every turn. With the sheer brilliance of her imagination, Grealy leads us on delightful journeys with her wit, unflinching honesty and peerless intelligence. A completely original thinker and a remarkable writer, the author leaves the reader with plenty to ponder. As Seen On TV breaks the mould of the essay, and is destined, like the memoir that preceded it, to become a modern classic. 
 
'[Grealy is]. . . unforgettable.' -New York Times  
 
'[Grealy writes]-with exquisite prose and steely strength.' -USA Today 
 
'Lucy Grealy manages to convince an amazing array of people that she is speaking directly to them.' -Baltimore Sun 
 
'[Grealy] overcomes-with wit, intelligence and an unconquerable spirit.' Mademoiselle

Who read this book also read:

  • Don't Try This at Home - cover

    Don't Try This at Home

    Neil Strauss, Dave Navarro

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Step into the booth. Check your judgments at the curtain. Close your eyes. Listen: you can hear the voices of the visitors who sat here before you: some of the most twisted, drug-addled, deviant, lonely, lost, brilliant characters ever to be caught on film. What do you have to offer the booth?
    Show book
  • Gilliamesque - cover

    Gilliamesque

    Terry Gilliam

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    This is probably as good a time as any for me to make a full confession . . .
    Show book
  • The Good Nurse - A True Story of Medicine Madness and Murder - cover

    The Good Nurse - A True Story of...

    Charles Graeber

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    '...aside from the murders , Charles Cullen might have been a pretty good nurse...'The true story of the most prolific serial killer in US history, The Good Nurse is 'a stunning book... that should and does bring to mind In Cold Blood'  New York TimesAfter his December 2003 arrest, registered nurse Charlie Cullen was  quickly  dubbed 'The Angel of Death' by the media. But Cullen was no  mercy killer, nor  was he a simple monster. He was a favourite son,  husband, beloved father, best  friend, and celebrated caregiver.  Implicated in the deaths of as many as 300  patients, he was also  perhaps the most prolific serial killer in American  history.  Cullen's  murderous career in the world's most trusted profession spanned  sixteen  years and nine hospitals across New Jersey and Pennsylvania.  
      Investigative journalist Charles Graeber's portrait of Cullen depicts a  surprisingly intelligent and  complicated young man whose promising  career was overwhelmed by his compulsion  to kill, and whose shy  demeanor masked a twisted interior life hidden even to  his family and  friends. Were it not for the hardboiled, unrelenting work of two  former  Newark homicide detectives racing to put together the pieces of  Cullen's  professional past, and a fellow nurse willing to put  everything at risk,  including her job and the safety of her children,  there's no telling how many  more lives could have been lost. 
     In the tradition of In Cold Blood, The Good Nurse  does more than  chronicle Cullen's deadly career and the breathless  efforts to stop him; it  paints an incredibly vivid portrait of madness  and offers an urgent, terrifying tale of murder, friendship and  betrayal.
    Show book
  • As Bad as They Say? - Three Decades of Teaching in the Bronx - cover

    As Bad as They Say? - Three...

    Janet Mayer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Rundown, vermin-infested buildings. Rigid, slow-to-react bureaucratic systems. Children from broken homes and declining communities. How can a teacher succeed? How does a student not only survive but also come to thrive? It can happen, and As Bad as They Say? tells the heroic stories of Janet Mayer’s students during her 33-year tenure as a Bronx high school teacher.
    
    In 1995, Janet Mayer’s students began a pen-pal exchange with South African teenagers who, under apartheid, had been denied an education; almost uniformly, the South Africans asked, “Is the Bronx as bad as they say?” This dedicated teacher promised those students and all future ones that she would write a book to help change the stereotypical image of Bronx students and show that, in spite of overwhelming obstacles, they are outstanding young people, capable of the highest achievements.
    
    She walks the reader through the decrepit school building, describing in graphic detail the deplorable physical conditions that students and faculty navigate daily. Then, in eight chapters we meet eight amazing young people, a small sample of the more than 14,000 students the writer has felt honored to teach.
    
    She describes her own Bronx roots and the powerful influences that made her such a determined teacher. Finally, the veteran teacher sounds the alarm to stop the corruption and degradation of public education in the guise of what are euphemistically labeled “reforms” (No Child Left Behind and Race to the Top). She also expresses optimism that public education and our democracy can still be saved, urgently calling on all to become involved and help save our schools.
    Show book
  • Elizabeth - England's Slandered Queen - cover

    Elizabeth - England's Slandered...

    Arlene Okerlund

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Elizabeth Wydeville, Queen consort to Edward IV, has traditionally been portrayed as a scheming opportunist. But was she a cunning vixen or a tragic wife and mother? As this extraordinary biography shows, the first queen to bear the name Elizabeth lived a tragedy, love, and loss that no other queen has since endured. This shocking revelation about the survival of one woman through vilification and adversity shows Elizabeth as a beautiful and adored wife, distraught mother of the two lost Princes in the Tower, and an innocent queen slandered by politicians.
    Show book
  • Marlborough: His Life and Times Volume I - cover

    Marlborough: His Life and Times...

    Winston S. Churchill

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    In the first volume of an ambitious and stunningly-written four-volume biography, Sir Winston Churchill discusses the early career and stratospheric rise to fortune of his illustrious ancestor. John Churchill, the Duke of Marlborough, may have been eclipsed in history by his more well-known descendant. But in his time, Marlborough was considered one of England’s foremost military leaders. 
    The first installment pays particular attention to personal details of Marlborough’s life, and the important role several women played in his success—including his sister, his wife, the Duchess of Cleveland, and Queen Anne herself. Sir Winston Churchill breathes life into these personal connections in an attempt to showcase Marlborough not only as a luminary figure in British history, but also to bring him to life once again in the mind of the reader.
    Show book