Turn 2021 into a year of reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Hunting Party - A Novel - cover

The Hunting Party - A Novel

Lucy Foley

Publisher: William Morrow

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER 
“My favorite kind of whodunit, kept me guessing all the way through, and reminiscent of Agatha Christie at her best -- with an extra dose of acid.” -- Alex Michaelides, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller The Silent Patient  
 
Everyone's invited...everyone's a suspect... 
During the languid days of the Christmas break, a group of thirtysomething friends from Oxford meet to welcome in the New Year together, a tradition they began as students ten years ago. For this vacation, they’ve chosen an idyllic and isolated estate in the Scottish Highlands—the perfect place to get away and unwind by themselves.  
The trip begins innocently enough: admiring the stunning if foreboding scenery, champagne in front of a crackling fire, and reminiscences about the past. But after a decade, the weight of secret resentments has grown too heavy for the group’s tenuous nostalgia to bear. Amid the boisterous revelry of New Year’s Eve, the cord holding them together snaps, just as a historic blizzard seals the lodge off from the outside world. 
Two days later, on New Year’s Day, one of them is dead. . . and another of them did it.  
Keep your friends close, the old adage says. But how close is too close? 
DON'T BE LEFT OUT. JOIN THE PARTY NOW.

Other books that might interest you

  • Know Your Own Darkness - cover

    Know Your Own Darkness

    Howard Robinson

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    It’s been thirty years since they witnessed the accidental drowning of their friend.
     
    Those who were present – now parents themselves – have begun to receive messages claiming to be from the boy who died.
     
    The troubling notes become more alarming when a child disappears.
     
    Time is running out for Detective Inspector Jack Munday as he balances the sensitive case alongside personal problems and a demanding new superior officer.
     
    In the maelstrom of head-versus-heart, one thing is certain; whoever is sending the messages wants revenge.
    Show book
  • Sierra - cover

    Sierra

    RA Anderson

    • 2
    • 4
    • 0
    Even in the wilderness, trouble seems to find Karl Bergman. Years after his run-in with a serial killer on the Appalachian Trail, Bergman sets out on a thru-hike of the Pacific Crest Trail with his dog, Blazer, with hopes of returning home a better man. But the discovery of a dead body on the outskirts of the Anza-Borrego Desert threatens to embroil Bergman in another violent chain of events with even higher stakes than his previous ordeal. This time his adversary is not just one man as the dead body appears to be linked to a drug cartel using mules to move product from Mexico to Canada. An uneasy alliance with a San Diego narcotics officer makes things more difficult, but when Bergman reconnects with his estranged son Kenny, a sophomore at UCLA, he puts both of them in grave danger that can only be escaped by bringing down the cartel's operation.
    Show book
  • Finished Business - A Marcus Corvinus Mystery set in Ancient Rome - cover

    Finished Business - A Marcus...

    David Wishart

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Ancient Roman sleuth Marcus Corvinus uncovers a treasonous plot in this witty and intriguing new mysteryNovember, AD 40.  When a wealthy consul’s wife asks Corvinus to investigate the death of her uncle, killed by a block of falling masonry during renovations on his estate in the Vatican Hills, a sceptical Corvinus is inclined to agree with the general verdict of accidental death. But his investigations reveal clear evidence of foul play, as well as unearthing several skeletons among the closets of this well-to-do but highly dysfunctional family. Who could have wanted Lucius Surdinus dead? His vengeful ex-wife? His ambitious mistress? His disillusioned elder, or his estranged younger, son?  Or does the key to the mystery lie in the dead man’s political past? But when Corvinus’s investigations draw him to the attention of the emperor, a dangerously unpredictable Caligula, his prospects of surviving long enough to solve the mystery look slim to say the least.
    Show book
  • Dancing With Death - cover

    Dancing With Death

    Amy Myers

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Introducing chef-sleuth Nell Drury in the first of a delightful series of 1920’s traditional country house mysteries. 
    
    1925. The fashionable Bright Young Things from London have descended on Wychbourne Court, the Kentish stately home of Lord and Lady Ansley, for an extravagant fancy dress ball followed by a midnight Ghost Hunt – and Chef Nell Drury knows she’s in for a busy weekend.  What she doesn’t expect to encounter is sudden, violent death.
    
    When a body is discovered in the minstrels’ gallery during the Ghost Hunt, Nell finds herself caught up in the police investigation which follows.  As the darker side of the Roaring Twenties emerges and it becomes increasingly clear that at least one person present that night has a sinister secret to hide, Nell determines to unmask the killer among them. Could the Wychbourne Ghosts hold the key to the mystery?
    Show book
  • No Exit - A Novel - cover

    No Exit - A Novel

    Taylor Adams

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “What a box of tricks! This full-throttle thriller, dark and driving, rivals Agatha Christie for sheer ingenuity and James Patterson for flat-out speed. Swift, sharp, and relentless.”  — A. J. Finn, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in the Window 
     
    A brilliant, edgy thriller about four strangers, a blizzard, a kidnapped child, and a determined young woman desperate to unmask and outwit a vicious psychopath. 
     
    A kidnapped little girl locked in a stranger’s van. No help for miles. What would you do? 
    On her way to Utah to see her dying mother, college student Darby Thorne gets caught in a fierce blizzard in the mountains of Colorado. With the roads impassable, she’s forced to wait out the storm at a remote highway rest stop. Inside are some vending machines, a coffee maker, and four complete strangers.  
    Desperate to find a signal to call home, Darby goes back out into the storm . . . and makes a horrifying discovery. In the back of the van parked next to her car, a little girl is locked in an animal crate.  
    Who is the child? Why has she been taken? And how can Darby save her? 
    There is no cell phone reception, no telephone, and no way out. One of her fellow travelers is a kidnapper. But which one?  
    Trapped in an increasingly dangerous situation, with a child’s life and her own on the line, Darby must find a way to break the girl out of the van and escape.  
    But who can she trust?  
    With exquisitely controlled pacing, Taylor Adams diabolically ratchets up the tension with every page. Full of terrifying twists and hairpin turns, No Exit will have you on the edge of your seat and leave you breathless.
    Show book
  • All His Pretty Girls - An absolutely gripping detective novel with a jaw-dropping killer twist - cover

    All His Pretty Girls - An...

    Charly Cox

    • 2
    • 35
    • 0
    ‘a fast-paced, breathtaking read…This will definitely be making my list of favourite books of 2019’ Go Buy The Book
     
    Detective Alyssa Wyatt is hunting a serial killer.
     
    She doesn’t know that he’s hunting her.
     
    A woman is found naked, badly beaten and barely alive in the New Mexico mountains. The shocking discovery plunges Albuquerque Detective Alyssa Wyatt into a case that will test her to the limit.
     
    It appears that Callie McCormick is the latest plaything of a shadowy psychopath that leaves a long shadow on the streets of New Mexico – an individual linked to a string of deaths but leaving no evidence.
     
    But when Alyssa makes a breakthrough that just might reveal the killer, she unknowingly puts herself in the crosshairs of a brutal maniac – one with an old score to settle.
     
    Because the killer knows Alyssa very well, even if she doesn’t know him. And he’s determined that she’ll know his name – even if he has to extract his deadly revenge on her and everything she loves.
     
    The launch of a dark, gripping, completely unputdownable crime thriller series, All His Pretty Girls introduces New Mexico detective Alyssa Wyatt. Fans of Kendra Elliot, Melinda Leigh and Angela Marsons will be utterly engrossed.
     
    Reviewers are hooked on All His Pretty Girls:
     
    ‘Oh boy, was I swiped off my feet as what was already a totally gripping read escalated into my top five for this year…It felt like my heart was beating in the back of my throat!’ Books From Dusk Till Dawn
     
    ‘I raced through this book!...one of the most exciting crime books I’ve read in a long while!’ Alternative-Read.com
     
    ‘A serial killer chiller where the action never flags, the suspense is red-hot and the twists and turns jaw-droppingly brilliant, fans of the genre need to add Charly Cox to their list of must-buys.’ Bookish Jottings
     
    ‘Sharply plotted, and full of tense twists, this is extremely well written…An extremely confident, exciting and chilling new entry on to the crime thriller scene’ Alex J Book Reviews
     
    ‘a compelling thriller that I could not put down! The killer was insane, the story was addictive and the writing was fantastic. This is everything I want when I pick up a police procedural!’ Jessica Belmont 
     
    ‘some real heart in the mouth moments…It flows so easily, with a fast pace and really is unputdownable.’ The Bookwormery
     
    ‘like being on a scary and unpredictable rollercoaster ride with several twists and turns…had me totally gripped and I was on the edge of my seat throughout.’ Ginger Book Geek
     
    ‘This is one of the best debut novels I’ve read in a while’ Cheeky Pee Reads and Reviews
     
    ‘Wow did All His Pretty Girls pack a punch! I was shocked when I found out this was a debut…a heart in your mouth read that will have you racing through those pages.’ On The Shelf Reviews
     
    ‘I don’t think I took even a single deep breath while reading this…Each chapter raised my tension and I couldn’t stop tapping my ereader’ Shalini’s Books and Reviews
    Show book