Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Ronaldo - The Obsession for Perfection - cover

Ronaldo - The Obsession for Perfection

Luca Caioli

Publisher: Icon Books

  • 4
  • 110
  • 1

Summary

From the author of the bestselling Torres and Messi, a revealing new biography of Real Madrid’s Cristiano Ronaldo. When a young Portuguese player with sublime abilities arrived at Manchester United in 2003, Alex Ferguson put the no. 7 shirt – once worn by Best, Cantona and Beckham – on his back without hesitation. The expectation was clear, and Cristiano Ronaldo didn’t disappoint. Ronaldo won the FIFA World Footballer of the Year in 2008, the first Premier League player ever to do so. Since his record-breaking £80m move to Real Madrid, his goal-scoring flair has continued and made his on-going rivalry with Barcelona’s Lionel Messi even more intense. Luca Caioli tells the inside story of this global superstar both on and off the pitch, unveiling the life of one of modern football’s great players as never before.

Other books that might interest you

  • The 50-Year Secret - cover

    The 50-Year Secret

    Julie MacNeil

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    “A beautiful journey with a powerful message.” —Andy Chaleff, author of The Last Letter 
    Julie MacNeil is 6’4”, and although she is neither a WNBA athlete nor a famous model, she has a remarkable story to tell. As an adopted child, she always wondered about the parents who gave her up. After overcoming a challenging childhood and surviving two tumultuous marriages, a chance DNA test revealed an incredibly rare and life-threatening liver-lung disease. Julie then embarked on a difficult journey to find her birth family. Her goal was to warn them about the disease, which is highly genetic and often undiagnosed. What followed was a miraculous sequence of events and a remarkable homecoming.
    Show book
  • A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man - cover

    A Portrait of the Artist as a...

    Joe Joyce

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Set in Joyce's native Ireland, the story follows life of a young man Stephen and his transformation from child to artist. In five chapters, we are taken through Stephen's early childhood in Ireland and confinement at boarding school, his dalliances with theatre and hiring prostitutes, his retreat from sensory excess into religious devotion, his retreat from religious devotion into aesthetic, ascetic excess, and, ultimately, his retreat from Ireland and fellowship in favour of destiny.
    Show book
  • My Kid Is an Asshole and So Is My Dog - cover

    My Kid Is an Asshole and So Is...

    Diana Stefano

    • 1
    • 7
    • 0
    My Kid Is an Asshole, and So Is My Dog 
    -- a comedic look at the drama of raising a teenage girl 
    I just returned from the mall after school shopping with my soon-to-be sophomore and her friend. I now understand why fathers opt to go camping, roll around in elk urine, and shit in a hole rather than go to the mall three days before school starts. As if the crowds weren't bad enough, my girl decided to wear a flannel that hung lower than her shorts, making it appear that she was walking around naked from the waist down.  
    She was flocked by sales people, who, I am sure, were calculating their commissions in their heads.  I mean, why not? Everybody wants to help the girl who arrives pant-less.  Obviously, she needs clothes. 
    We're not home half an hour and the vodka I poured for myself is only half gone when she yells down from her room, "Mom, have you seen my push up bra? Maybe we need to go back to the mall." 
    It's the moments like these where I'm convinced raising a teen is bullshit, and I wonder if we'll ever come out on the other side even speaking to one another. Pass the vodka. 
    There aren't enough warnings in the world for raising teenage girls. Although my mom swears my daughter takes after me, so it's karma. 
    Is it karma that I've got two barking dogs? It must be. Have you ever heard a shiu-tzu bark?  I have.  Over and over.  They think they're coyotes.  I swear.  And right now, they're wrestling over some stuffed animal, which is surely about to fling open, so I can pick up little beads all over the carpet while drinking my vodka.  No wait.  They stopped.  One of them had to drag its ass across the floor. Epic. 
    It's in the little moments where I earn my parenting badges—the faded stretch marks. 
    Ruff, ruff! 
    If this is my karma for being such an asshole to my mom, maybe we can get through this too. And if she pays attention in English, instead of scouting for a prom date, she can learn to write her own book—the sequel to this: My Mom Is an Asshole, but Not My Dog.
    Show book
  • The Baltimore Book of the Dead - cover

    The Baltimore Book of the Dead

    Marion Winik

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Author is a prolific and well-connected literary critic; formerly an NPR All Things Considered commentator, Winik is an NBCC board member and reviews for People magazine, among many other prestigious media outlets. She has appeared on television including the Today Show and Oprah, and is a confident speaker with many contacts
    For fans of Abigail Thomas' SAFEKEEPING, Jeannie Vanasco's THE GLASS EYE, or Maggie Nelson's JANE: A MURDER
    The Baltimore Book of the Dead is a sequel, or a companion volume to The Glen Rock Book of the Dead (which Counterpoint published in 2009). The books contain brief portraits of people Winik knew, or somehow crossed paths with, who have died. The Baltimore Book of the Dead builds on the themes from the first book, and differs in that it focuses on a significant number of Baltimore-based portraits, and that the public events and famous dead people included will reflect the decade immediately past. It also features a substantial introductory essay on the subject of mourning and memory.
    Intimacy and humor are manifest in the economy of each piece in The Baltimore Book of the Dead, none of which exceeds 400 words, each of which conjures and celebrates a life.
    
    Praise from Librarians and Booksellers
    “It is all too easy to hesitate before reading this book. After all, it is a collection of obituaries. One could be forgiven for thinking it will be too depressing, too grim. And yet it is luminous and kind, told with gentleness and understanding. People famous and unknown get the same treatment, their lives equal in their humanity and loss.” —Anton Bogomazov, Politics and Prose (Washington, DC)
    Show book
  • A Stolen Life - Searching for Richard Pierpoint - cover

    A Stolen Life - Searching for...

    David Meyler, Peter Meyler

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Richard Pierpoint or Captain Dick, as he was commonly known, emerges from the shadows of history in A Stolen Life: Searching for Richard Pierpoint. An African warrior who was captured at about age 16, Pierpoint lived his remaining years in exile. From his birth in Bundu (now part of Senegal) around 1744 until his death in rural Ontario in 1837, Pierpoint's life allows us to glimpse the activity of an African involved in some of the world's great events. 
    "We are indebted to the authors for breathing life into this man, who though taken from his home early in his life still was able to make a significant contribution to the early history of Upper Canada. He fought, farmed and became a griot to the Black community. We thank you for a wonderful story of this often forgotten segment of Canadian history." 
    — Wilma Morrison, Norval Johnson Heritage Library, Niagara Falls 
    "Everybody knows about the Underground Railroad and the great many Black souls who emigrated to Canada via this route, but very few people know the brave Black men and women who put their lives on the line in defence of this country." 
    - Ivor Christopher, Re-enactor, Runchey's Company of Coloured Men  
    "A well-researched and highly readable chronicle of Richard Pierpoint's life in Africa and North America -- as a slave, a soldier, and as a pioneer in Upper Canada's wilderness. ... a vitally important contribution to Canadian Black history." 
    - Linda Brown-Kubisch, Author, Missouri
    Show book
  • Vietnam: Remembrances of a War: With Commentary By Nelson DeMille - cover

    Vietnam: Remembrances of a War:...

    Chuck Mansfield

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    After viewing the 2017 PBS documentary “The Vietnam War” by Ken Burns and Lynn Novick, the author recognized that Americans hold widely varying opinions about the effects and significance of the conflict. Immediately, he anticipated an opportunity to write about an historic event of which he not only knew something but in which he had also participated. Vietnam and what transpired there for millions of Americans, both at home and “in-country,” are distant and increasingly fading memories. The content herein comes from Vietnam War veterans and others, many of whose observations have never before appeared in print, and do not necessarily focus on the Burns-Novick documentary. In addition to new commentary, the author has recycled several earlier writings about his own service in the Marines and Vietnam.
    Show book