Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Your Beautiful Lies - cover

Your Beautiful Lies

Louise Douglas

Publisher: Boldwood Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

‘The explosive ending took my breath away.' C.L. Taylor 
The trouble with secrets is that they never stay secret for long… 
Annie Howarth is living an anxious life in an anxious town. Her mining community in South Yorkshire is feeling the pinch and tensions are running high. Then a murdered girl is found on the moors and the agitation in the community is pushed to a dangerous breaking point.  
As the wife of the chief of police, Annie should feel safe – her husband William can be secretive, but she’s sure whatever he's hiding is for her own good, isn’t it? 
But Annie is keeping her own secrets. Ten years ago, the man she loved was ripped from her life in a scandal that still haunts them both, and now his return will put her family, her marriage, even her life, at risk.  
Bestselling author of House by the Sea Louise Douglas returns with a heart-racing novel full of suspense, desire and desperate secrets. Perfect for fans of Barbara O’Neal, Lucinda Riley and Rachel Hore.  
Praise for Louise Douglas: 
‘Kept me guessing until the last few pages and the explosive ending took my breath away.' C.L. Taylor, author of The Accident on Your Beautiful Lies 
‘Beautifully written, chillingly atmospheric and utterly compelling, The Secret by the Lake is Louise Douglas at her brilliant best’ Tammy Cohen, author of The Broken 
‘A master of her craft, Louise Douglas ratchets up the tension in this haunting and exquisitely written tale of buried secrets and past tragedy.’ Amanda Jennings, author of Sworn Secret‘A clammy, atmospheric and suspenseful novel, it builds in tension all the way through to the startling final pages.’ Sunday Express, S Magazine

Other books that might interest you

  • The Classic Horror Collection - cover

    The Classic Horror Collection

    H. P. Lovecraft

    • 3
    • 14
    • 0
    Spanning the extraordinary breadth of the genre, these terrifying stories are sure to leave you sleeping with the light on for many nights to come. Whether the threat comes from accursed artefacts, supernatural villains, or deadly rituals, there is always some unknowable evil lurking around the corner waiting to pounce.Ranging from the efforts of classic literary writers like Mary Shelley and Robert Louis Stevenson to pulp icon H. P. Lovecraft, these masters of the dark arts knew how to create suspense and an impending sense of dread.Horror fiction found its first connoisseurs amongst the Victorian public. This collection features several of its most accomplished pioneers.Short stories from Mary Shelley, the author of Frankenstein, Bram Stoker, the author of Dracula, and Robert Louis Stevenson, the author of The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde, show that some of the 19th century's most revered horror novelists could provide equally terrifying experiences in a shorter form.Other authors such as H. P. Lovecraft, William Hope Hodgson, Pearl Norton Swet, and M. P. Shiel established themselves in the emerging pulp magazines of America in the early 20th century. There, they mastered their craft and provided terrifying thrills for an audience eager for a new type of fiction. Meanwhile, in the United Kingdom and Ireland, writers like Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu, E. F. Benson, and M. R. James mastered the classic ghost story.And who can forget Edgar Allan Poe? He devoted himself almost entirely to his poetry and his short stories, and his lyrical style and ability to evoke an atmosphere are unparalleled.This collection includes stories by:Edward Frederic BensonAmbrose BierceFrancis Marion CrawfordGeorge Allan EnglandWilliam Hope HodgsonW. W. JacobsM. R. JamesVernon LeeJoseph Sheridan Le FanuH. P. LovecraftArthur MachenGuy de MaupassantEdgar Allan PoeCharlotte RiddellMary ShelleyM. P. ShielRobert Louis StevensonBram StokerPearl Norton Swet
    Show book
  • Blood & Darkness Box Set - cover

    Blood & Darkness Box Set

    Melissa Sercia

    • 2
    • 10
    • 0
    Now in one ebook volume: Blood and Magic, Flesh and Bone, Gods and Demons, and a bonus preview of Smoke and Ritual, the first Beautiful Dark Beasts book.   Enter the paranormal Underworld with the Dhampir Gray as your guide . . .  Blood and Magic (Book 1)  With supernatural powers and an insatiable need for blood, her existence is cursed.    After four hundred years, Gray, a reluctant Dhampir, still yearns for her humanity—and vengeance against those who stole it from her. To stop the Consilium from doing this to anyone else, she must wield a power she swore never to use—blood magic.  Flesh and Bone (Book 2)  With the dark power rising within her, she risks losing everything.   When Gray’s partner Aldric mysteriously disappears, she seeks allies in the Hall of Secrets. During her search, she discovers a mysterious cult, an ancient curse, and a family secret that is darker than she could ever imagine . . .  Gods and Demons (Book 3)  Will Gray send the demons back to the Underworld or watch her world burn to the ground?   Demons have escaped the Underworld and descended upon New Orleans. Gray tries to unite the covens as they gear up for the fight of their lives. But when one of her closest allies abandons her, Gray is forced to make a life altering choice that threatens everyone she loves . . .  Series praise   “Keeps you on the edge of your seat . . . action packed and full of emotional depth.”—Sydney Ashcroft, coauthor of Chasing Destiny   “Rich world building and [a] unique interpretation of gothic literature.”—Samantha Huewagen, author of the Starless Series
    Show book