Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The True Women Influencers of the Past - The Inspiring Heroines in Real Life and Fiction - cover

The True Women Influencers of the Past - The Inspiring Heroines in Real Life and Fiction

Willa Cather, Edith Wharton, Fanny Burney, Mary Wollstonecraft, Jane Austen, Charlotte Brontë, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Rebecca Harding Davis, Louisa May Alcott, Henry James, Leo Tolstoy, Thomas Hardy, Elizabeth Gaskell, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, Henrik Ibsen, Kate Chopin, Grant Allen, Ethel Sybil Turner, Elizabeth Burgoyne Corbett, H. G. Wells, Gene Stratton-Porter, Theodore Dreiser, Ada Cambridge, Mary Johnston, Marietta Holley, Elia Wilkinson Peattie, Virginia Woolf, Christopher Morley, Zona Gale, Elizabeth von Arnim, Edna Ferber, Margaret Fuller, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Raden Adjeng Kartini, Emma Goldman, Julia Ward Howe, Emmeline Pankhurst, Mother Jones, Helen Wright, Helen Keller, Catherine H. Birney, Rebecca Deming Moore, D. H. Lawrence, Margaret Oliphant, Harriet Martineau, Margaret Sanger, Sinclair Lewis, Sarah H. Bradford, Kate Stephens

Translator Alfred Edward Chamot

Publisher: Musaicum Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Musaicum Books presents to you the world's iconic women characters in fiction and the real-life heroines in this power-packed meticulously edited and formatted collection:
Fiction:
Camilla (Fanny Burney)
Maria; Or, The Wrongs of Woman (Mary Wollstonecraft)
Pride and Prejudice (Jane Austen)
Jane Eyre (Charlotte Brontë)
The Scarlet Letter (Nathaniel Hawthorne)
Lady Macbeth of the Mzinsk District (Nikolai Leskov)
Hester (Margaret Oliphant)
Life in the Iron Mills (Rebecca Davis)
Little Women (Louisa May Alcott)
The Portrait of a Lady (Henry James)
Anna Karenina (Leo Tolstoy)
Tess of the d'Urbervilles (Thomas Hardy)
Wives and Daughter (Elizabeth Gaskell)
The Yellow Wallpaper (Charlotte Perkins Gilman)
A Doll's House (Henrik Ibsen)
The Awakening (Kate Chopin)
The Woman Who Did (Grant Allen)
Miss Cayley's Adventures (Grant Allen)
The Story of a Baby (Ethel Sybil Turner)
New Amazonia (Elizabeth Corbett)
A Daughter of the Land (Gene Stratton-Porter)
The Iron Woman (Margaret Deland)
My Ántonia (Willa Cather)
The Song of the Lark (Willa Cather)
The House of Mirth (Edith Wharton)
Sister Carrie (Theodore Dreiser)
Sisters (Ada Cambridge)
Hagar (Mary Johnston)
Samantha on the Woman Question (Marietta Holley)
The Precipice (Elia Wilkinson Peattie)
Voyage Out (Virginia Woolf)
Parnassus on Wheels (Christopher Morley)
The Job (Sinclair Lewis)
Miss Lulu Bett (Zona Gale)
The Rainbow (D. H. Lawrence)
The Enchanted April (Elizabeth von Arnim)
Fanny Herself (Edna Ferber)
So Big (Edna Ferber)...
Memoirs:
Madame Vigée Lebrun
Jane Austen
Caroline Herschel
Mrs. Seacole
Elizabeth Cady Stanton
My Own Story (Emmeline Pankhurst)
Mother Jones
Margaret Sanger
Helen Keller
Biographies:
Lucretia
Sappho
Aspasia of Cyrus
Portia
Octavia
Cleopatra
Mariamne
Julia Domna
Zenobia
Valeria
Hypatia
The Lady Rowena
Roswitha the Nun
Marie de France
Laura de Sade
Joan of Arc
Catharine of Arragon
Anne Boleyn
Margaret Roper
Mary, Queen of Scots
The Pocahontas
Queen Anne
Maria Theresa
Marie Antoinette
Florence Nightingale
Maria Mitchell
Harriet Tubman
Madame de Stael…
Available since: 05/07/2021.
Print length: 19661 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Cold Heart - cover

    Cold Heart

    Jane Heafield

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    “What a fantastic book! I was gripped from the start and read late into the night.” —Goodreads reviewer, five starsA series of bizarre crimes across the English city of Sheffield brings a police detective and a PI together in an increasingly dangerous game . . . Liam Bennet has just quit the force to become a private detective—and to his frustration, his first case is a weird petty crime while his good friend acting DCI Liz Miller is assigned a murder. Two murders, in fact—one recent, the other involving a skeletonized body, but both linked by pictures of dice at the scenes. After Liz is attacked on the job, Liam visits her in hospital and they discover another odd connection: both Liam and the police are looking into teachers who’ve been victimised. Meanwhile, more dice keep turning up—though the crimes connected to them seem utterly random, ranging from the serious to the bizarre. As the two close in on the mystery, will they be able to identify a pattern—or is their luck about to run out?
    Show book
  • A Herb for Happiness - cover

    A Herb for Happiness

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Poor Wade. Not only does he have to cope with his immense wealth, a Social standing outranked only by Royalty and the devastating looks that have beauties falling at his feet… now he has inherited the Dukedom of Mortlyn. It is all so boring!Worse still, his staff expect him to waste time accommodating some pretty Rector’s daughter. Why? he demands – and to his amusement and scorn he is told the villagers believe she is a ‘White Witch’ who cures them of all ills. But, when he meets the wise, mysterious and beautiful Selma, his scepticism dissolves.Now and forever, he is utterly spellbound.
    Show book
  • Outsider - cover

    Outsider

    Rob Sinclair

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    James Ryker stumbles into a chilling conspiracy in a small Norwegian town . . . Travelling through frozen north Norway, Ryker isn’t looking for trouble, but he has a habit of finding it. After a near miss on the road with a young moped driver, a local policeman assists the teenager and encourages Ryker on his way. But when Ryker travels to the nearby small town of Blodstein—only to be warded off by the locals when he asks questions about the boy he nearly killed—his instincts as a longtime intelligence agent fire. Ryker is determined to find out who the boy is, and where he has gone, but soon finds himself pulling at the edges of a conspiracy that threatens to erupt with blood and violence. Unless he can determine the truth and put an end to it all. But as the outsider, is there anyone he can trust?Praise for Rob Sinclair’s thrillers: “A must read for fans of Lee Child and Robert Ludlum.” —Chelle’s Book Reviews “Twists you just don’t see coming.” —David’s Book Blurg “A real page-turner, impossible to put down.” —Publishers Weekly
    Show book
  • Something Worth Doing - A Novel of an Early Suffragist - cover

    Something Worth Doing - A Novel...

    Jane Kirkpatrick

    • 2
    • 6
    • 2
    In 1853, Abigail Scott was a 19-year-old school teacher in Oregon Territory when she married Ben Duniway. Marriage meant giving up on teaching, but Abigail always believed she was meant to be more than a good wife and mother. When financial mistakes and an injury force Ben to stop working, Abigail becomes the primary breadwinner for her growing family. What she sees as a working woman appalls her, and she devotes her life to fighting for the rights of women, including their right to vote. 
     
    Following Abigail as she bears six children, runs a millinery and a private school, helps on the farm, writes novels, gives speeches, and eventually runs a newspaper supporting women's suffrage, Something Worth Doing explores issues that will resonate strongly with modern women: the pull between career and family, finding one's place in the public sphere, and dealing with frustrations and prejudices women encounter when they compete in male-dominated spaces. Based on a true story of a pioneer for women's rights from award-winning author Jane Kirkpatrick will inspire you to believe that some things are worth doing--even when the cost is great.
    Show book
  • The Marquis of Carabas - cover

    The Marquis of Carabas

    Rafael Sabatini

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A master swordsman travels to dangerous, Revolution-era France to claim his inheritance, in this swashbuckling adventure by the author Captain Blood.The French Revolution is well underway. Countless French nobles are escaping from the horrible violence and traveling to England for refuge. Meanwhile, Quentin de Morlaix, master swordsman, runs a popular fencing school in London. He may have been raised in England since he was a baby, but his French blood gives him some sympathy for these emigrés. His concern for France ends there, until he receives a surprise from a lawyer. Quentin is a noble and he has six months to claim a sizable inheritance from a brother he never knew about. To claim his fortune, however, Quentin must travel into the heart of the French Revolution, a land of chaos, mystery, suspense, and certain death.
    Show book
  • The Deception - cover

    The Deception

    Gillian Jackson

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    “I absolutely loved this book. It had me gripped from the very first chapter . . . unputdownable! A real page turner.” —Goodreads reviewer, five starsMurders past and present will unite a couple against their enemies—or tear them apart forever—in this suspenseful thriller from the author of The Victim. Rosie Cantrell has a past that even her husband knows nothing of. Born Samantha Ashby, she abandoned her old life when her  twin sister was murdered and their trust fund was stolen. Journalist Frank Stokes knows Rosie’s story, and, nearly ten years later, he intends to write a book about the sisters. Tracing Rosie, he visits Thursdale, the village where she now lives with Mike and their baby son, Noah. Compelled to reveal her past to Mike, Rosie tells him of the man she dated who later killed her sister—and who was subsequently killed while in prison awaiting trial. To this day, there is no sign of the two-million-pound trust fund. When Stokes goes missing, the police question Rosie and Mike—and when Stokes’s body is found close to their cottage, they become persons of interest. Soon, the investigation uncovers even more secrets, and threatens to destroy both their marriage and their lives . . .
    Show book