Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The True Women Influencers of the Past - The Inspiring Heroines in Real Life and Fiction - cover

The True Women Influencers of the Past - The Inspiring Heroines in Real Life and Fiction

Willa Cather, Edith Wharton, Fanny Burney, Mary Wollstonecraft, Jane Austen, Charlotte Brontë, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Rebecca Harding Davis, Louisa May Alcott, Henry James, Leo Tolstoy, Thomas Hardy, Elizabeth Gaskell, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, Henrik Ibsen, Kate Chopin, Grant Allen, Ethel Sybil Turner, Elizabeth Burgoyne Corbett, H. G. Wells, Gene Stratton-Porter, Theodore Dreiser, Ada Cambridge, Mary Johnston, Marietta Holley, Elia Wilkinson Peattie, Virginia Woolf, Christopher Morley, Zona Gale, Elizabeth Von Arnim, Edna Ferber, Margaret Fuller, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Raden Adjeng Kartini, Emma Goldman, Julia Ward Howe, Emmeline Pankhurst, Mother Jones, Helen Wright, Helen Keller, Catherine H. Birney, Rebecca Deming Moore, D. H. Lawrence, Margaret Oliphant, Harriet Martineau, Margaret Sanger, Sinclair Lewis, Sarah H. Bradford, Kate Stephens

Translator Alfred Edward Chamot

Publisher: Musaicum Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Musaicum Books presents to you the world's iconic women characters in fiction and the real-life heroines in this power-packed meticulously edited and formatted collection:
Fiction:
Camilla (Fanny Burney)
Maria; Or, The Wrongs of Woman (Mary Wollstonecraft)
Pride and Prejudice (Jane Austen)
Jane Eyre (Charlotte Brontë)
The Scarlet Letter (Nathaniel Hawthorne)
Lady Macbeth of the Mzinsk District (Nikolai Leskov)
Hester (Margaret Oliphant)
Life in the Iron Mills (Rebecca Davis)
Little Women (Louisa May Alcott)
The Portrait of a Lady (Henry James)
Anna Karenina (Leo Tolstoy)
Tess of the d'Urbervilles (Thomas Hardy)
Wives and Daughter (Elizabeth Gaskell)
The Yellow Wallpaper (Charlotte Perkins Gilman)
A Doll's House (Henrik Ibsen)
The Awakening (Kate Chopin)
The Woman Who Did (Grant Allen)
Miss Cayley's Adventures (Grant Allen)
The Story of a Baby (Ethel Sybil Turner)
New Amazonia (Elizabeth Corbett)
A Daughter of the Land (Gene Stratton-Porter)
The Iron Woman (Margaret Deland)
My Ántonia (Willa Cather)
The Song of the Lark (Willa Cather)
The House of Mirth (Edith Wharton)
Sister Carrie (Theodore Dreiser)
Sisters (Ada Cambridge)
Hagar (Mary Johnston)
Samantha on the Woman Question (Marietta Holley)
The Precipice (Elia Wilkinson Peattie)
Voyage Out (Virginia Woolf)
Parnassus on Wheels (Christopher Morley)
The Job (Sinclair Lewis)
Miss Lulu Bett (Zona Gale)
The Rainbow (D. H. Lawrence)
The Enchanted April (Elizabeth von Arnim)
Fanny Herself (Edna Ferber)
So Big (Edna Ferber)...
Memoirs:
Madame Vigée Lebrun
Jane Austen
Caroline Herschel
Mrs. Seacole
Elizabeth Cady Stanton
My Own Story (Emmeline Pankhurst)
Mother Jones
Margaret Sanger
Helen Keller
Biographies:
Lucretia
Sappho
Aspasia of Cyrus
Portia
Octavia
Cleopatra
Mariamne
Julia Domna
Zenobia
Valeria
Hypatia
The Lady Rowena
Roswitha the Nun
Marie de France
Laura de Sade
Joan of Arc
Catharine of Arragon
Anne Boleyn
Margaret Roper
Mary, Queen of Scots
The Pocahontas
Queen Anne
Maria Theresa
Marie Antoinette
Florence Nightingale
Maria Mitchell
Harriet Tubman
Madame de Stael…

Other books that might interest you

  • Ilsa - A Novel - cover

    Ilsa - A Novel

    Madeleine L'Engle

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    Long out of print, the second novel by the bestselling author of A Wrinkle in Time looks at the darker side of love in a Southern town. From the moment Henry Porcher first sees Ilsa Brandes, he worships her. Despite controversy surrounding the young girl, Henry is drawn to her, a fascination that turns into a lifelong infatuation.   As the years pass, Ilsa’s memory never leaves him, not until the day he returns to their sleepy Southern hometown and renews their childhood friendship. Henry watches as she becomes a wife, then a mother, then a widow, irrevocably changed by tragedy.   Out of print for nearly six decades, this rare and sought-after novel is a portrait of a remarkable woman bound by both the stifling conventions of her time and place, and her own sense of honor and purpose.   A departure from L’Engle’s later works, Ilsa is a dark, intriguing novel about passion, fixation, and the real price of unrequited love by an author renowned for her children’s classics as well as her candid personal memoirs.  This ebook features an illustrated biography of Madeleine L’Engle including rare images from the author’s estate.  
    Show book
  • Piranesi - cover

    Piranesi

    Susanna Clarke

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    New York Times Bestseller 
    Winner of the Women's Prize for Fiction 
    World Fantasy Awards Finalist 
     
    From the New York Times bestselling author of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, an intoxicating, hypnotic new novel set in a dreamlike alternative reality. 
      
     Piranesi's house is no ordinary building: its rooms are infinite, its corridors endless, its walls are lined with thousands upon thousands of statues, each one different from all the others. Within the labyrinth of halls an ocean is imprisoned; waves thunder up staircases, rooms are flooded in an instant. But Piranesi is not afraid; he understands the tides as he understands the pattern of the labyrinth itself. He lives to explore the house. 
     
    There is one other person in the house-a man called The Other, who visits Piranesi twice a week and asks for help with research into A Great and Secret Knowledge. But as Piranesi explores, evidence emerges of another person, and a terrible truth begins to unravel, revealing a world beyond the one Piranesi has always known. 
     
     For readers of Neil Gaiman's The Ocean at the End of the Lane and fans of Madeline Miller's Circe, Piranesi introduces an astonishing new world, an infinite labyrinth, full of startling images and surreal beauty, haunted by the tides and the clouds.
    Show book
  • Murder on the Island - A Gripping Murder Mystery - cover

    Murder on the Island - A...

    Daisy White

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Death visits the island of Bermuda. “A solid start to this cozy mystery series with a wonderful tropical setting.” —On the Shelf Reviews When recently divorced Chloe Canton is gifted her grandmother’s house in Bermuda in her will, it seems a perfect time for a fresh start. Her chance at paradise comes with unprofitable horse stables, a neighbor who is putting pressure on her to sell up for development, and another who quickly makes herself comfortable in Chloe’s house. If that wasn’t enough, Chloe discovers a dead body on the local riding trail soon after she arrives and finds herself dragged into a murder investigation. With tensions rising and island gossip to contend with, as well as a murderer in their midst, has Chloe bitten off more than she can chew? Will Chloe stick it out and help solve the case or will paradise turn out to be too hot to handle?“It’s definitely a pleasant ride along the way . . . her descriptions are so lush and vivid, this book is like a vacation between covers.” —Crime Fiction Lover “I enjoyed this escapist cozy mystery . . . The author does a wonderful job of bringing Chloe and the island to life.” —Avonna Loves Genres
    Show book
  • The Raven Room - cover

    The Raven Room

    Ana Medeiros

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A searing erotic thriller perfect for those tantalized by A. R. Torre’s Deanna Madden series . . .   Anything you can imagine. Everything you crave. For the members of The Raven Room, it’s every fantasy fulfilled. But for some, that desire is a matter of life and death.   Drawn by a need he cannot control, Julian ventures to The Raven Room, a secret and exclusive sex club in the underbelly of Chicago. It goes beyond sex. It goes beyond kink. The Raven Room is the only place where Julian finds release from the dangerous urges that threaten to destroy the successful life he’s worked so hard to build.   Meredith’s body can’t get enough of Julian. He has opened her sexual horizons to tempting new possibilities. But out of bed she’s an aspiring journalist, and The Raven Room is the story she’s been looking for. By writing an exposé on the club and its elite clientele, she plans to launch her career.   But when the police link The Raven Room to the death of a young woman, it threatens to expose a number of powerful people—people who would kill to stay anonymous. And Meredith must decide how much she can trust the man who has laid bare her erotic nature—and how much she will sacrifice in order to protect him . . .   “The Raven Room will have everything you could possibly want and more.” —San Francisco Book Review   “With a cliffhanger ending, The Raven Room will leave readers wondering what will happen next.” —RT Book Reviews
    Show book
  • The Lily Sprayberry Cozy Mystery Series Books 1–3 - Deal Gone Dead; Decluttered and Dead; and Signed Sealed and Dead - cover

    The Lily Sprayberry Cozy Mystery...

    Carolyn Ridder Aspenson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Meet Lily Sprayberry. Selling homes is her career. Solving crimes, her calling. Now get the first three books of the Southern mystery series in one volume!   Deal Gone Dead When Bramblett County, Georgia's number one realtor, Lily Sprayberry, finds her cantankerous older client dead on the kitchen floor, she lands herself smack dab in the middle of a long-running property battle and a one-hundred-year-old rumor.  Decluttered and Dead When a member of Lily’s decluttering and staging class winds up dead, the small-town realtor takes it personally and sets out to find the killer. But the truth isn’t always pretty, and when she discovers a friend from her past may be the murderer, she vows to find out.  Signed, Sealed and Dead As realtor Lily preps for the annual community yard sale fundraiser, she discovers the body of the newly hired lacrosse coach lying in the high school gym. As she searches for answers, she’s dragged deeper into an angry mob of high school sports parents all seeking revenge and gunning for their kids to sign with the most elite schools offering the best scholarships.  Praise for the mysteries of Carolyn Ridder Aspenson  “I love the charming Southern small-town dynamic and all the drama it brings. And the supporting characters are a hoot!” —Caroline Fardig, USA Today–bestselling author   “If you like southern charm and laughter with deadly mysteries, this is your series.” —Wulfwyn Reads Excessively   “Has all the earmarks I look for in an engrossing whodunnit.” —Roxx Is Reading
    Show book
  • Outraged - Why Everyone is Shouting and No One is Talking - cover

    Outraged - Why Everyone is...

    Ashley 'Dotty' Charles

    • 4
    • 4
    • 1
    'The powerful new voice of her generation' 
    The Times 
     
    'Funny, nuanced and wonderful'  
    Jon Ronson 
     
    'A book that had me hollering, nodding and questioning at the same time'  
    Candice Carty-Williams, author of Queenie 
     
    ------- 
     
    A candid exploration of the state of outrage in our culture, and how we can channel it back into the fights that matter, from presenter and DJ Ashley 'Dotty' Charles. 
      
    In this wise and very funny journey into the outrage industry, Ashley 'Dotty' Charles explores how by shouting about everything, we have lost sight of the fights that actually matter - and created a world where our outrage feels with consequence. 
     
    Here's how we can get it back on track. 
     
    ------- 
     
    'Funny, educational, enlightening . . . Way ahead of its time' Chris Evans 
     
    'A smart and timely manifesto for surviving the age of rage' i 
     
    'Everyone with a social media account should read this book' Bella Mackie 
     
    'A swipe at the empty rhetoric of activism' Observer
    Show book