Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
50 Feminist Classics in One Volume - cover

50 Feminist Classics in One Volume

Louisa May Alcott, Kate Chopin, Fanny Burney, Mary Wollstonecraft, Jane Austen, Charlotte Brontë, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Rebecca Harding Davis, Henry James, Leo Tolstoy, Thomas Hardy, Elizabeth Gaskell, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, Henrik Ibsen, Grant Allen, Ethel Sybil Turner, Elizabeth Burgoyne Corbett, H. G. Wells, Gene Stratton-Porter, Willa Cather, Edith Wharton, Theodore Dreiser, Ada Cambridge, Mary Johnston, Marietta Holley, Elia Wilkinson Peattie, Virginia Woolf, Christopher Morley, Zona Gale, Elizabeth Von Arnim, Edna Ferber, Rebecca Deming Moore, D. H. Lawrence, Margaret Oliphant, Sinclair Lewis, Margaret Deland, Nikolai Leskov

Translator Alfred Edward Chamot

Publisher: Musaicum Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Musaicum Books presents to you this meticulously edited collection of world's greatest classics with the most influential female protagonists in literature:
Camilla (Fanny Burney)
Maria; Or, The Wrongs of Woman (Mary Wollstonecraft)
Pride and Prejudice (Jane Austen)
Jane Eyre (Charlotte Brontë)
The Scarlet Letter (Nathaniel Hawthorne)
Lady Macbeth of the Mzinsk District (Nikolai Leskov)
Hester (Margaret Oliphant)
Life in the Iron Mills (Rebecca Harding Davis)
Little Women (Louisa May Alcott)
Behind a Mask (Louisa May Alcott)
The Portrait of a Lady (Henry James)
Daisy Miller (Henry James)
The Bostonians (Henry James)
Anna Karenina (Leo Tolstoy)
Tess of the d'Urbervilles (Thomas Hardy)
North and South (Elizabeth Gaskell)
Wives and Daughter (Elizabeth Gaskell)
The Yellow Wallpaper (Charlotte Perkins Gilman)
Herland (Charlotte Perkins Gilman)
A Doll's House (Henrik Ibsen)
Hedda Gabler (Henrik Ibsen)
The Awakening (Kate Chopin)
The Woman Who Did (Grant Allen)
Miss Cayley's Adventures (Grant Allen)
The Story of a Baby (Ethel Sybil Turner)
New Amazonia (Elizabeth Burgoyne Corbett)
Ann Veronica (H. G. Wells)
A Girl of the Limberlost (Gene Stratton-Porter)
A Daughter of the Land (Gene Stratton-Porter)
The Iron Woman (Margaret Deland)
O Pioneers! (Willa Cather)
My Ántonia (Willa Cather)
The Song of the Lark (Willa Cather)
The House of Mirth (Edith Wharton)
Summer (Edith Wharton)
Sister Carrie (Theodore Dreiser)
Jennie Gerhardt (Theodore Dreiser)
Sisters (Ada Cambridge)
Hagar (Mary Johnston)
Samantha on the Woman Question (Marietta Holley)
The Precipice (Elia Wilkinson Peattie)
Voyage Out (Virginia Woolf)
Parnassus on Wheels (Christopher Morley)
The Job (Sinclair Lewis)
Miss Lulu Bett (Zona Gale)
The Rainbow (D. H. Lawrence)
The Lost Girl (D. H. Lawrence)
The Enchanted April (Elizabeth von Arnim)
Fanny Herself (Edna Ferber)
So Big (Edna Ferber)

Other books that might interest you

  • People of Abandoned Character - cover

    People of Abandoned Character

    Clare Whitfield

    • 3
    • 10
    • 2
    What if you thought your husband was Jack the Ripper?
     
    London, 1888. Susannah rushes into marriage to a young and wealthy surgeon. After a passionate honeymoon, she returns home with her new husband wrapped around her little finger. But then everything changes. His behaviour becomes increasingly volatile and violent. He stays out all night, returning home bloodied and full of secrets.
     
    Lonely and frustrated, Susannah starts following the gruesome reports of a spate of murders in Whitechapel. But as the killings continue, her mind takes her down the darkest path imaginable. Every time he stays out late, another victim is found dead. Is it coincidence? Or is her husband the man the papers call Jack the Ripper?
     
    Reviews for People of Abandoned Character:'A mistreated wife suspects her husband might be the Whitechapel killer ... Compelling' Sunday Times'An astonishing book' M.W. Craven'A gripping and original take on the world's most notorious serial killer. A perfectly thrilling read for those long winter nights' Adam Hamdy'This impressive debut builds up pace, pathos and intrigue superbly, with plenty of twists and turns' Woman's Weekly
    Show book
  • The Earl Escapes - cover

    The Earl Escapes

    Barbara Cartland

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    Beautiful young Valencia Hadley lives a quietly contented life as the daughter of the Chaplin to the estate of Dolphin Priory.
     
    And she loves the Big House as much as the pretty little house by the Chapel where she and her father have lived since she was a little girl.
     
    Since Hue, the Earl of Dolphinston, spends all his time with the Beau Monde in London, Valencia enjoys the run of the big house, so when the Earl finally arrives with a retinue of Society types, she is a little dismayed.
     
    She is even more dismayed when she overhears the glamorous beauty Lady Hester Stansfield and her brother Edward Ward in the Chapel plotting to drug the Earl and to dupe her father into marrying him to Hester so that they can get their greedy hands on The Priory and the family riches.
     
    Enlisting the help of Ben, a strong estate worker, Valencia spirits away the drugged and unconscious Earl and hides him in an ancient Priest’s Hole behind the Altar of the Chapel.
     
    Next a desperate Edward tries to force the Earl to marry Hester at gunpoint – and again he is foiled by Valencia’s brave intervention.
     
    There is only one way now for the Earl to rid himself of Lady Hester for good is to marry Valencia!
     
    By now Valencia has realised that she is passionately in love with him.
     
    But how can she possibly marry him if he does not love her too?
    Show book
  • Ilsa - A Novel - cover

    Ilsa - A Novel

    Madeleine L'Engle

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    Long out of print, the second novel by the bestselling author of A Wrinkle in Time looks at the darker side of love in a Southern town. From the moment Henry Porcher first sees Ilsa Brandes, he worships her. Despite controversy surrounding the young girl, Henry is drawn to her, a fascination that turns into a lifelong infatuation.   As the years pass, Ilsa’s memory never leaves him, not until the day he returns to their sleepy Southern hometown and renews their childhood friendship. Henry watches as she becomes a wife, then a mother, then a widow, irrevocably changed by tragedy.   Out of print for nearly six decades, this rare and sought-after novel is a portrait of a remarkable woman bound by both the stifling conventions of her time and place, and her own sense of honor and purpose.   A departure from L’Engle’s later works, Ilsa is a dark, intriguing novel about passion, fixation, and the real price of unrequited love by an author renowned for her children’s classics as well as her candid personal memoirs.  This ebook features an illustrated biography of Madeleine L’Engle including rare images from the author’s estate.  
    Show book
  • Love Rules - cover

    Love Rules

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    When her father orders her to marry a cousin of the Russian Czar, whom she does not even know, let alone love, Princess Margarita of Altauss is horrified. Forced to travel to St. Petersburg, she demands that her English friend, Paulina Handley, daughter of a British Diplomat, goes along with her as her Lady in Waiting.Very experienced in the ways of the world and of love, her father, Sir Christopher Handley, urges Paulina to beware Russian aristocrats and Royalty, who would make effusive declarations of love, but would never actually be allowed to marry a commoner.However, no sooner than she has arrived in St. Petersburg with his words still ringing in her ears, Paulina falls head over heels in love with the Princess’s brother, the handsome Prince Maximus – and he with her. To her chagrin though, the Prince must return to the Caucasus, scene of his recent heroism in battle and, anyway, how can she, a commoner, ever marry a Prince? So, before it even begins, their love seems to be doomed.
    Show book
  • The Raven Room - cover

    The Raven Room

    Ana Medeiros

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A searing erotic thriller perfect for those tantalized by A. R. Torre’s Deanna Madden series . . .   Anything you can imagine. Everything you crave. For the members of The Raven Room, it’s every fantasy fulfilled. But for some, that desire is a matter of life and death.   Drawn by a need he cannot control, Julian ventures to The Raven Room, a secret and exclusive sex club in the underbelly of Chicago. It goes beyond sex. It goes beyond kink. The Raven Room is the only place where Julian finds release from the dangerous urges that threaten to destroy the successful life he’s worked so hard to build.   Meredith’s body can’t get enough of Julian. He has opened her sexual horizons to tempting new possibilities. But out of bed she’s an aspiring journalist, and The Raven Room is the story she’s been looking for. By writing an exposé on the club and its elite clientele, she plans to launch her career.   But when the police link The Raven Room to the death of a young woman, it threatens to expose a number of powerful people—people who would kill to stay anonymous. And Meredith must decide how much she can trust the man who has laid bare her erotic nature—and how much she will sacrifice in order to protect him . . .   “The Raven Room will have everything you could possibly want and more.” —San Francisco Book Review   “With a cliffhanger ending, The Raven Room will leave readers wondering what will happen next.” —RT Book Reviews
    Show book
  • Piranesi - cover

    Piranesi

    Susanna Clarke

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    New York Times Bestseller 
    Winner of the Women's Prize for Fiction 
    World Fantasy Awards Finalist 
     
    From the New York Times bestselling author of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, an intoxicating, hypnotic new novel set in a dreamlike alternative reality. 
      
     Piranesi's house is no ordinary building: its rooms are infinite, its corridors endless, its walls are lined with thousands upon thousands of statues, each one different from all the others. Within the labyrinth of halls an ocean is imprisoned; waves thunder up staircases, rooms are flooded in an instant. But Piranesi is not afraid; he understands the tides as he understands the pattern of the labyrinth itself. He lives to explore the house. 
     
    There is one other person in the house-a man called The Other, who visits Piranesi twice a week and asks for help with research into A Great and Secret Knowledge. But as Piranesi explores, evidence emerges of another person, and a terrible truth begins to unravel, revealing a world beyond the one Piranesi has always known. 
     
     For readers of Neil Gaiman's The Ocean at the End of the Lane and fans of Madeline Miller's Circe, Piranesi introduces an astonishing new world, an infinite labyrinth, full of startling images and surreal beauty, haunted by the tides and the clouds.
    Show book