Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Beyond Belief - My Secret Life Inside Scientology and My Harrowing Escape - cover

Beyond Belief - My Secret Life Inside Scientology and My Harrowing Escape

Lisa Pulitzer, Jenna Miscavige Hill

Publisher: William Morrow

  • 0
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

Jenna Miscavige Hill, niece of Church of Scientology leader David Miscavige, was raised as a Scientologist but left the controversial religion in 2005. In Beyond Belief, she shares her true story of life inside the upper ranks of the sect, details her experiences as a member Sea Org—the church's highest ministry, speaks of her "disconnection" from family outside of the organization, and tells the story of her ultimate escape.In this tell-all memoir, complete with family photographs from her time in the Church, Jenna Miscavige Hill, a prominent critic of Scientology who now helps others leave the organization, offers an insider's profile of the beliefs, rituals, and secrets of the religion that has captured the fascination of millions, including some of Hollywood's brightest stars such as Tom Cruise and John Travolta.

Other books that might interest you

  • Her Majesty - Queen Elizabeth II and Her Court - cover

    Her Majesty - Queen Elizabeth II...

    Robert Hardman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Perfect for fans of The Crown, this “intimate portrait” of England’s longest-reigning queen takes you behind the scenes of a thoroughly modern monarchy (BBC Entertainment). History knows no monarch like her. She has traveled farther than all her predecessors combined, lived the longest of any of them, and known more historic figures—from Winston Churchill to Nelson Mandela, Charles de Gaulle to Barack Obama—than anyone alive. Now, distinguished royal writer Robert Hardman has been granted special access to the world of Queen Elizabeth II in order to produce an unparalleled portrait of one of the most popular public figures on earth. Arguably Britain’s best-known observer of the royal family, Hardman follows Elizabeth’s journey through her country’s transformation from an imperial power to a multicultural nation; details a twenty-five-year period in which she steered the monarchy through more reforms than in the previous century; and interviews those closest to her, including her grandson Prince William, Duke of Cambridge. Written in celebration of Elizabeth’s Diamond Jubilee, Her Majesty celebrates the head of an ancient institution that remains simultaneously popular, regal, inclusive, and relevant in a twenty-first-century world. “At long last, we have the definitive portrait of Queen Elizabeth’s world today,” raves Andrew Roberts, author of The Royal House of Windsor. “Robert Hardman knows the true story and tells it superbly.”
    Show book
  • Tutankhamun - Egypt’s Boy Pharaoh - cover

    Tutankhamun - Egypt’s Boy Pharaoh

    50MINUTES.COM

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Keen to learn but short on time? Get to grips with the life and legacy of Tutankhamun in next to no time with this concise guide.50Minutes.com provides a clear and engaging analysis of the life and legacy of Tutankhamun, Egypt’s boy pharaoh. In spite of a brief reign that was cut short when the young sovereign died at the age of just 20, Tutankhamun is now one of the most famous pharaohs of all time and has captivated the popular imagination. His enduring impact stems from the discovery of his tomb and the opulent treasure within by the Egyptologist Howard Carter in 1922, as well as from the mysterious curse that allegedly resulted in the untimely deaths of several members of the expedition. Modern scientific techniques have allowed researchers to piece together information about his life and death, giving us a better understanding than ever before of this ancient Egyptian sovereign.In just 50 minutes you will:•	Learn about Tutankhamun’s main actions during his brief reign and their impact•	Find out about the discovery of his tomb in 1922 and the information it has given us about ancient Egypt•	Understand the mysterious deaths linked to Tutankhamun’s tomb and the science behind themABOUT 50MINUTES.COM | History & Culture50MINUTES.COM will enable you to quickly understand the main events, people, conflicts and discoveries from world history that have shaped the world we live in today. Our publications present the key information on a wide variety of topics in a quick and accessible way that is guaranteed to save you time on your journey of discovery.
    Show book
  • Mary Queen of Scots - cover

    Mary Queen of Scots

    Jacob Abbott

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Sorry, we have no synopsis for this book right now. Sign in to read it on 24symbols.com
    Show book
  • The Children of Castletown House - cover

    The Children of Castletown House

    Sarah Conolly-Carew

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Castletown House, Ireland's largest and earliest Palladian-style house, was built between 1722 and 1729 for William Conolly, Speaker of the Irish House of Commons and the wealthiest commoner in Ireland. In 1967, the house was bought by the Hon. Desmond Guinness, founder of the Irish Georgian Society and opened to the public. In 1994, ownership of the house was transferred to the State, and it is now managed by the Office of Public Works.
    
    Castletown House, a history, is the story of that house, written by the children who grew up there, Baroness Diana Wrangle Conolly Carew, the Hon. Sarah McPherson & their brother, the Hon. Gerald Edward Ian Maitland-Carew.
    
    In this fascinating history, the character of the house is brought to life through its former residents, together with stories of their Olympic medals, the chance survival of the house through the Civil War, and tales of visiting royalty to the greatest of Ireland’s great houses.
    Show book
  • Generation Robot - A Century of Science Fiction Fact and Speculation - cover

    Generation Robot - A Century of...

    Terri Favro

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    A history of robotics and technology told from Terri Favro's experiences growing up with robots on TV to today's technological reality. 
    
    
    
    
    For fans of Mary Roach and Jon Ronson, written from the point of view of the late-boomer generation known as Generation Jones (born 1954 to 1962). 
    
    
    
    
    Covers a century of science fiction, fact, and speculation –– from the 1950 publication of Isaac Asimov’s I, Robot, to the release of Tesla’s self driving car, to the 2050 Singularity when artificial and human intelligence is predicted to merge. 
    
    
    
    
    Generation Robot addresses hard science, technological innovation, and pop-culture in a fun and accessible voice that will appeal to a wider readership, not just for serious scientific readers . 
    
    
    
    
    Terri Favro has published several works of science fiction in Canada, this is her non-fiction debut
    Show book
  • Silver Diaspora - A Journey up from Hudson Aristocracy - cover

    Silver Diaspora - A Journey up...

    Christopher T. Rand

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    At the outset, the members of author Christopher T. Rands family lived in a world of great wealth. They were among the richest people in the United States. But they then faced a dilemma: compelled to choose between staying on in their ancestral world or keeping up with the times in the nation around them and integrating themselves into the American mainstream. With each generation, the pressure on these individuals to choose between escape or immersion into the society became more and more intense. 
     
    
    In Silver Diaspora, Rand examines his familys roots in the northeastern United States and chronicles his journey through these times, against the backdrop of the family history. Embarking on a search of a better new world, Rands parents leave the East Coast and land in California. From here, this memoir follows Rand through college at Berkeley, travels abroad, work in the petroleum industry and his experiences as a writer. 
    
    
    Describing the people, places and experiences that impacted Rands life, Silver Diaspora provides one mans insight into the world in the latter two-thirds of the last century.
    Show book