Turn 2021 into a year of reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
So You Want To … Be a Fashion Designer - Here’s the Info You Need - cover

So You Want To … Be a Fashion Designer - Here’s the Info You Need

Lisa McGinnes

Publisher: Atlantic Publishing Group Inc.

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Becoming a fashion designer is the dream of many young people. As of 2014, there is even an award for this young talent called the LVMH Prize for Young Fashion Designers. If you aren’t living in the heart of New York City or Tokyo, how do you go about beginning your dream of starting a fashion design career? 
 
This book is the definitive source for the young adult audience. Teeming with interviews from successful designers as well as captivating images of example designs, this book has everything the young audience needs. You will learn how to pursue education, how to determine your specialty, patternmaking, bookkeeping, and everything in-between — all explained simply.
 
The young adult audience will come away from this book with not only all the up-to-date information on fashion design, but also a keen sense of how to create a business plan as well as how to advertise online. 
 
If you want to know everything there is to know about how to be a fashion designer (before you make the mistakes this book teaches you how to fix), then this is the perfect read for you.

Other books that might interest you

  • Trapper's Grounding - cover

    Trapper's Grounding

    Dawn Chevoya

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Brennon Trapper isn’t sure who he really is since there are two Brennons ticking inside his head. At school, he does whatever he must do to be liked, but at home inside his trailer, he crawls back inside himself, wishing he could disappear. His father likely wouldn’t even notice if he did. 
    
    
    Then, something too incredible to believe happens on his family’s wooded property, and Brennon and his younger brother vow to keep it from their parents rather than risk ridicule again. Seriously, who would believe that a beaver gave them a tesserapod that could develop into a “lodge of sorts” in 200 days if grounded correctly? But when an epic blizzard destroys the roof of their trailer, Brennon finally comes clean about the woods and what he thinks may be a place of shelter. His father’s anger and disbelief jolts Brennon to overcome his fear. In the morning, Brennon is gone—he believes he can make it to the “lodge of sorts.” As Brennon strives to make it to the “lodge of sorts,” reality and fantasy mingle in this fantastical tale of a boy just searching for connection… and finding it in unexpected places.
    Show book
  • aka genius - cover

    aka genius

    Marilee Haynes

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Thirteen-year-old Gabe Carpenter is just like any other middle-school boy at St. Jude Academy… well, except for the fact that he is a genius who can’t even open his own locker or talk to his crush. 
    Themes include: self-acceptance, giftedness and humor.
    Show book
  • On the Rocks - cover

    On the Rocks

    Eric Walters

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Fourteen-year-old Dylan is sent to live with his estranged grandfather, Angus. Basically strangers, the two avoid each other as best they can. One day Dylan discovers a young orca stranded high up on the rocky beach. Dylan runs to tell his grandfather. There’s nothing that can be done, says Angus. The sun is coming up, and soon the orca will die of exposure.
    
    But Dylan knows he has to try to save the whale. He collects towels to cover the delicate skin of the orca and begins transporting buckets of water from the ocean below to keep it hydrated. It’s grueling work, and it will be hours before the tide comes back in and the water is high enough for the orca to swim free. Angus is moved by his grandson’s determination and helps as best he can. They both desperately hope that soon the orca will be able to join its family, who have been calling out to it just offshore.
    
    On the Rocks is an inspiring story about the ups and downs of family.
    Show book
  • Ellie's New Home - cover

    Ellie's New Home

    Becky Citra

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Ellie and her little brother Max find themselves moving from their grandmother's comfortable home in England to Upper Canada. Their mother is dead, Father wants to start over again, and in 1835 there are many opportunities for settlers in British North America. Despite the strangeness of this vast new world, Ellie is sure things will turn out all right, as long as the family stays together. But once they are in Upper Canada, Father leaves Ellie and Max with strangers on an isolated homestead, while he goes on ahead to find land and build a cabin. Although the mother and father are kind to her, Ellie makes an enemy of their daughter Mary, who is insulted by the newcomer's distant manners, fine clothes and talk of her London home. Ellie's loneliness and discomfort, however, gradually turns into a growing fear. Where is Father? Why hasn't he come back to them? A gripping story for young readers that explored the world of early settlers.
    Show book
  • Skylarks - cover

    Skylarks

    Karen Gregory

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Karen Gregory's heartfelt, thought-provoking second novel about love against the odds is perfect for readers of Lisa Williamson, Sara Barnard and Sarah Crossan.  
     
    'We watch the bird as it flies high above us, singing like it's the only thing in the world that matters. And I feel it – that life can be beautiful. That there are possibilities.' 
     
    Keep your head down and don't borrow trouble is the motto Joni lives by, and so far it's seen her family through some tough times. It's not as if she has the power to change anything important anyway. Like Dad's bad back, or the threat of losing their house. 
     
    So when Annabel breezes into her life, Joni's sure they're destined to clash. Pretty, poised, privileged – the daughter of the richest family in town must have it easy.  
     
    But sometimes you find a matching spirit where you least expect it. Sometimes love can defy difference. And sometimes life asks you to be bigger and braver … 
     
     
     
     
    Praise for Karen Gregory's debut, Countless:   
    'A heartbreaking, hopeful and highly unusual debut' – Metro 
     
    'Proving that human resilience may wilt, but it will never die' – United by Pop
    Show book
  • Little House in the Big Woods - cover

    Little House in the Big Woods

    Laura Ingalls Wilder

    • 0
    • 12
    • 0
    The first book in Laura Ingalls Wilder’s treasured Little House series—now available as an ebook! This digital version features Garth Williams’s classic illustrations, which appear in vibrant full color on a full-color device and in rich black-and-white on all other devices. 
    This beloved story of a pioneer girl and her family begins in 1871 in a log cabin on the edge of the Big Woods of Wisconsin. Four-year-old Laura lives in the little house with her Pa, her Ma, her sisters Mary and Carrie, and their dog, Jack. Pioneer life is sometimes hard for the family, but it is also exciting as they celebrate Christmas with homemade toys and treats, do the spring planting, bring in the harvest, and make their first trip into town. And every night Laura and her family are safe and warm in their little house, with the happy sound of Pa’s fiddle to send them off to sleep. 
    The nine Little House books are inspired by Laura’s own childhood and have been cherished by generations of readers as both a unique glimpse into America’s frontier history and as heartwarming, unforgettable stories.
    Show book