Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
I Am Not a Number - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books to choose from, so you can read without limits!

I Am Not a Number

Lisa Heathfield

Publisher: Electric Monkey

  • 6
  • 17
  • 0

Summary

The powerful and heart-wrenching new novel from Lisa Heathfield, award-winning author of Seed and Paper Butterflies. Perfect for fans of Sarah Crossan, Louise O'Neill and Lisa Williamson. 
 
Ever since the Traditional party came into power, 15-year-old Ruby’s life has changed for the worse. Everything Ruby and her family and friends celebrate – equal rights for women, freedom of movement, individual expression – are forbidden. And things are getting worse . . . 
 
Soon Ruby and her family find themselves taken to a prison camp far from home with no possessions, food or rights. Each person is allocated a number – Ruby is number 276. Forced into hard labour, starving and with friends and family going missing every day, Ruby knows she has to escape and let the world know what is happening. She has to somehow cling on to her identity, and fight back. The future depends on it.
 
Lisa Heathfield's other books: 
 
Seed 9781405275385Paper Butterflies 9781405275392Flight of Starling 9781405285902

Other books that might interest you

  • Butterfly Wishes 4: Spring Shine Sparkles - cover

    Butterfly Wishes 4: Spring Shine...

    Jennifer Castle

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Sisters Addie and Clara have just moved to a new house in the country, where they discover that their backyard is a gateway to the enchanted realm of magical butterflies called Wishing Wings. These special butterflies have the power to make wishes come true!  
    Addie is so excited to get a special visitor for the weekend, but things don't go quite as she's planned. Meanwhile, a new butterfly, Spring Shine, has come out of her chrysalis and somehow believes she's missing her magic-even though there's nothing wrong with her at all! It must be the magical curse at work, once again. When Spring Shine disappears, Addie must find her, and figure out a way to raise her spirits. Will she be able to help her friend, and discover who's responsible for this mess, before another butterfly gets hurt? 
    Perfect for readers of Rainbow Magic and Princess Ponies, this magical chapter book series is a dream come true!
    Show book
  • The Dark King - cover

    The Dark King

    C.J. Abedi

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Darkness descends over Roanoke Island in the sequel to the young adult bestseller, FAE. Devilyn Reilly has crossed over to the sinister world of The Dark Fae, reigning over the realm as its King. He is to fulfill a prophecy—to unite the Light and Dark Fae once and for all, but those who love him now fear that he will never be the same again, that he can no longer be trusted, that every trace of the Light he once had is gone forever. Caroline Ellis, the final heir of the Light Fae, must learn to survive without the protection of her one true love. She must come to embrace her own strength to evade those in the Dark court who seek her destruction—for the power is within Caroline to use Light to change Fate itself... Caroline and Devilyn's chemistry is undeniable. Their destiny together inevitable if only they have the will to overcome The Darkness and The Fates. THE DARK KING, the second installment of the stunning Fae trilogy, propels readers into the mystical and magical world of the Light and Dark Fae, where star-crossed love ignites a battle between two powerful kingdoms, one that can consume everything that stands in its path.
    Show book
  • The School for Good and Evil #5: A Crystal of Time - cover

    The School for Good and Evil #5:...

    Soman Chainani

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    In this fifth installment in Soman Chainani’s New York Times bestselling School for Good and Evil fantasy series, the past will come back to haunt the present. This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 7 to 8, especially during homeschooling. It’s a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom. 
    A false king has seized Camelot’s throne, sentencing Tedros, the true king, to death. While Agatha, narrowly escapes the same fate, Sophie is caught in King Rhian’s trap. With her wedding to Rhian approaching, she’s forced to play a dangerous game as her friends’ lives hang in the balance. 
    All the while, King Rhian’s dark plans for Camelot are taking shape. Now the students of the School for Good and Evil must find a way to restore Tedros to the throne before their stories—and the future of the Endless Woods—are rewritten . . . forever. 
    Don't miss the thrilling conclusion to the beloved series, The School for Good and Evil #6: One True King, available June 2020!
    Show book
  • The Selection - cover

    The Selection

    Kiera Cass

    • 25
    • 196
    • 0
    Fall in love—from the very beginning. Discover the first book in the captivating, #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series. 
    This ebook edition contains an excerpt of Kiera Cass's newest novel, The Betrothed, a glittering royal romance sure to captivate Kiera Cass’s legion of loyal readers and lovers of courtly intrigue alike! 
     
    Prepare to be swept into a world of breathless fairy-tale romance, swoonworthy characters, glittering gowns, and fierce intrigue perfect for readers who loved Divergent, Delirium, or The Wrath & the Dawn. 
    For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape a rigid caste system, live in a palace, and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon. But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her, and competing for a crown she doesn’t want. 
    Then America meets Prince Maxon—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined. 
    Don’t miss The Betrothed, a glittering royal romance sure to captivate Kiera Cass’s legion of loyal readers and lovers of courtly intrigue alike!
    Show book
  • A Faerie's Revenge - cover

    A Faerie's Revenge

    Rachel Morgan

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Plot twists, action and excitement will keep you turning the pages of this bestselling YA fantasy!
     
    Still reeling from a shocking revelation, guardian trainee Calla Larkenwood finds the threads of her world unraveling further when she's accused of a horrifying crime she didn't commit: A deadly magical disease has entered the Guild, threatening to wipe out every guardian--and someone is intent on framing Calla for it.
     
    With the Guild Council focusing their investigation on her instead of searching for the real criminal, Calla watches her dream of becoming a guardian rapidly slipping away.
     
    Time is running out. As the lines between good and bad, right and wrong, begin to blur, whom can she turn to for help?
     
     
     
    Perfect for fans of The Mortal Instruments, The Iron Fey, and Graceling.
    Show book
  • Warriors #2: Fire and Ice - cover

    Warriors #2: Fire and Ice

    Erin Hunter

    • 1
    • 19
    • 0
    The second book in Erin Hunter’s #1 nationally bestselling Warriors series 
    Join the legion of fans who have made Erin Hunter’s Warriors series a bestselling phenomenon. More thrilling adventures, epic action, and fierce warrior cats await in Warriors #2: Fire and Ice. 
    Deep in the heart of the forest, four Clans of warrior cats coexist in uneasy harmony—but uncertain times are upon them, and dangers threaten the precarious balance of the forest. 
    Fireheart is a ThunderClan warrior now, but his troubles are far from over. The cats of rival RiverClan grow restless, while WindClan is weak and faces threats from all sides. Now Fireheart faces not only imminent battle, but betrayal from within his own Clan.
    Show book