Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
The Orphan Girl - A gritty saga of triumph over adversity - cover

The Orphan Girl - A gritty saga of triumph over adversity

Lindsey Hutchinson

Publisher: Aria

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Beloved author Lindsey Hutchinson is back with another novel of triumph over adversity set in the heart of a Black Country community. Perfect for fans of Josephine Cox and Lyn Andrews. 
 
Taken into service, orphan Lily Rae has heard all the stories about what entitled masters think their pretty maid's duties include. But when the very worst happens to her, she knows scrubbing the scullery floors of Ryder House no longer provide refuge from the sadistic Sebastian Ryder... Cold and alone, Lily makes for the town of Wednesbury, knowing she has only herself to rely on... 
 
Tilley Green has nothing to her name except a fine figure her worn, patched-up clothes can't disguise, and the voice of an angel. Destined to be a chorus-hall star Tilley must first escape the clutches of her opportunistic and violent manager, a certain Seb Ryder... 
 
Life has been a long tough struggle for both Lily and for Tilley, but the town of Wednesbury just could be where they can find their own glimmer of happiness...

Other books that might interest you

  • The Banner Of The Bull - cover

    The Banner Of The Bull

    Raphael Sabatini

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    With all the pomp and ceremony of medieval Italy as a colourful backdrop, Sabatini masterfully recreates the political intrigue and misguided loyalties that reigned as the ‘Banner of the Bull’ waved victoriously over the land. Weaving deft descriptions and spirited characterisations into historical events, this is the remarkable story of the notorious Cesare Borgia form the point of view of 'The Urbinian; The Peruguian; and The Venetian'.
    Show book
  • The Bride Price - cover

    The Bride Price

    Anne Mallory

    • 2
    • 32
    • 0
    Winner take all . . .  
    Sebastien Deville, the debauched, dangerously handsome illegitimate son of the Duke of Grandien, has waited his whole life for revenge—and suddenly it is there for the taking. A competition sponsored by the ing has all the ton talking. The winner will receive an immense fortune, a newly created title, sponsorship, and a well-born bride—everything Sebastien needs to reclaim his mother's stolen lands and to wield the colossal power itching beneath his fingertips. His victory is all but assured . . . until he meets Caroline. 
    Caroline Martin knows all about Sebastien, the legendary heartbreaker who leaves women weeping in his wake, and she is determined not to see him win the competition in which he would claim her friend as his bride. Yet sabotage is so very hard to concentrate on when the target's searing glances promise incredible pleasure and his skillful hands vow unimaginable desire. She knows the danger he presents, the temptation he offers, yet she is willing to risk everything for all she holds dear. 
    But Sebastien Deville will do anything to win . . . and Caroline's heart may become the ultimate prize.
    Show book
  • Into the Woods - cover

    Into the Woods

    David Wood

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From the author of the bestselling Dane Maddock Adventures comes a thrilling historical adventure!  
    Set against the backdrop of colonial America, Into the Woods is the story of pioneer and patriot Jonathan Wood. Straining against the bonds of Tidewater society, and tempted by an ancient legend, Jonathan’s sense of adventure leads him “Over the Mountains” of southwest Virginia. Perils abound for this brave pioneer, who must face threats from the native tribes, the British, and even more sinister enemies, while fighting for the woman he loves and the land that will not let go of his heart. Based on a true story, Into the Woods is a tale of adventure, danger, love, loss, and the triumph of the human spirit.
    
    “David Wood has crafted a gem of a story laced with action, villainy, revenge and reconciliation." Terry W. Ervin II, author of Relic Tech
    
    "Into the Woods is an amazing historical adventure, and a compelling testament to the power of family." Sean Ellis, author of The Mira Raiden Adventures
    Show book
  • Dragon's Winter - cover

    Dragon's Winter

    Elizabeth A. Lynn

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    An “utterly engrossing” novel of shapeshifting, sorcery, and two brothers at war by a World Fantasy Award–winning author (Publishers Weekly). Born to the shape-shifting dragon king of Ippa, twin brothers Karadur and Tenjiro share an ancestry, but not a bloodline. Only Karadur carries dragon blood, destined to one day become a dragon and rule the kingdom. In an act of jealous betrayal, Tenjiro steals the talisman that would allow Karadur to take his true dragon form and flees to a distant, icy realm. Now, years later, Tenjiro has reappeared as the evil sorcerer Ankoku. His frozen stronghold threatens to destroy Dragon Keep, and Karadur must lead his shape-shifting warriors on a journey to defeat his brother and reclaim his destiny. With Dragon’s Winter, World Fantasy Award–winning author Elizabeth A. Lynn returns with the kind of richly drawn characters and intricate worlds her fans, both old and new, will love.
    Show book
  • Trapper White - cover

    Trapper White

    J.P. Lucas

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Nature had infused the woods this day, with a mind boggling display of plumage.  The forest was clamoring with the screech of blue jays, chattering sparrows, and trilling robins.  Catbirds meowed along the creek and orioles sat in rows along split rail fences.   Huge obsidian crows caw cawing to, or at each other.  Cowbirds hopped along in front of and behind the riders, flashing their iridescent blue-black wings in sporadic pseudo-flights every few feet along the road.  Wild canaries in flashing flocks of brilliant lemon yellow dipped and flowed into sight across the meadows under a lovely pale blue sky. The beautiful, soft, haunting coo coo coos of the doves, or rain crows, as the people here called them, came from deep within the trees.
    They came from under the trees, out of the brush and weeds, by the side of the road, in the late evening twilight, as quickly and unexpectedly as copperheads, their movements masked by the increased darkness of the overhanging trees and the sound of the rushing water in the creek.  Armed with pistols and knives, one grabbed the reins of the frightened saddle-horse as the two other men fastened hold of the rider.
    Like famed author Louis LAmour, Lucas presents rough and tumble protagonists, often in a historical context, who overcome mounting odds.  Lucas characters also present an alternative to modern day role models.
    Show book
  • Deadly Inheritance - An Ursula Grandison Mystery - cover

    Deadly Inheritance - An Ursula...

    Janet Laurence

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Accompanying American heiress Belle Seldon on a visit to her ancestral family home in Somerset, Ursula Grandison soon discovers that the decaying stately Mountstanton House and its inhabitants has many secrets, including a crumbling marriage and a missing dowry. When Ursula discovers the drowned body of the nurserymaid, she is determined to reveal the killer and, in doing so, reveals a tangled web of deception and adultery that threatens the reputation of the house of Mountstanton.
    Show book