Did you know that reading reduces stress?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Balance Keepers Book 1: The Fires of Calderon - cover

Balance Keepers Book 1: The Fires of Calderon

Lindsay Cummings

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

  • 1
  • 11
  • 0

Summary

The Fires of Calderon is Book One in #1 New York Times bestselling author Lindsay Cummings’s epic Balance Keepers series. These exciting fantasy-adventure books are full of magic, mystery, friendship, and humor, and are perfect for fans of books like Brandon Mull’s The Candy Shop War or the Unwanteds series by Lisa McMann. 
Bestselling author of the Skeleton Creek series Patrick Carman describes The Fires of Calderon as “fast paced and packed with adventure,” and Peter Lerangis, bestselling author of the Seven Wonders series, says, “Wow!” 
With themes of friendship, self-discovery, and courage; both boy and girl main characters; fierce creatures to battle; a mystery to solve; and a boarding school that could be described as Hogwarts Underground, there’s something for every reader to enjoy in this contemporary—and fantastically imaginative—spin on the classic A Journey to the Centre of the Earth. 
When eleven-year-old Albert Flynn follows a mysterious map deep into the woods, and then under the woods, he discovers he’s a Balance Keeper—someone with special magical skills for keeping harmony in fantastical underground worlds. Together with his teammates Leroy and Birdie, Albert must master his magical talents in time to stop the fires in the Calderon Realm from destroying New York City above.

Other books that might interest you

  • Piecing Me Together - cover

    Piecing Me Together

    Renée Watson

    • 5
    • 188
    • 0
    Newbery Honor and Coretta Scott King Author Award Winner 
    New York Times bestseller 
     
    "Timely and timeless." --Jacqueline Woodson 
     
    "Important and deeply moving." --John Green 
     
    Acclaimed author Renee Watson offers a powerful story about a girl striving for success in a  world that too often seems like it's trying to break her. 
     
    Jade believes she must get out of her poor neighborhood if she's ever going to succeed. Her mother tells her to take advantage of every opportunity that comes her way. And Jade has: every day she rides the bus away from her friends and to the private school where she feels like an outsider, but where she has plenty of opportunities. But some opportunities she doesn't really welcome, like an invitation to join Women to Women, a mentorship program for "at-risk" girls. Just because her mentor is black and graduated from the same high school doesn't mean she understands where Jade is coming from. She's tired of being singled out as someone who needs help, someone people want to fix. Jade wants to speak, to create, to express her joys and sorrows, her pain and her hope. Maybe there are some things she could show other women about understanding the world and finding ways to be real, to make a difference. 
     
    NPR's Best Books of 2017 
    A 2017 New York Public Library Best Teen Book of the Year 
    Chicago Public Library's Best Books of 2017 
    A School Library Journal Best Book of 2017 
    Kirkus Reviews' Best Teen Books of 2017 
    2018 Josette Frank Award Winner
    Show book
  • The Assassin's Blade - The Throne of Glass Novellas - cover

    The Assassin's Blade - The...

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 3
    • 23
    • 0
    Celaena Sardothien is her kingdom's most feared assassin. Though she  works for the powerful and ruthless Assassin's Guild, Celaena yields to  no one and trusts only her fellow killer for hire, Sam. 
     
    When  Celaena's scheming master, Arobynn Hamel, dispatches her on missions  that take her from remote islands to hostile deserts, she finds herself  acting independently of his wishes-and questioning her own allegiance.  Along the way, she makes friends and enemies alike, and discovers that  she feels far more for Sam than just friendship. But by defying  Arobynn's orders, Celaena risks unimaginable punishment, and with Sam by  her side, he is in danger, too. They will have to risk it all if they  hope to escape Arobynn's clutches-and if they fail, they'll lose not  just a chance at freedom, but their lives . . . 
     
    A prequel to  Throne of Glass, this collection of five novellas offers readers a  deeper look into the history of this cunning assassin and her  enthralling-and deadly-world. 
     
    Included in this volume: 
      The Assassin and the Pirate Lord 
      The Assassin and the Healer 
      The Assassin and the Desert 
      The Assassin and the Underworld 
      The Assassin and the Empire
    Show book
  • The Keepers #2: The Harp and the Ravenvine - cover

    The Keepers #2: The Harp and the...

    Ted Sanders

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Horace F. Andrews and his friend Chloe are Keepers of magical objects of extraordinary power.  But as the presence of a new Keeper is made known, they are drawn into a struggle to find out who she is and where her loyalties lie. A gripping sequel to The Box and the Dragonfly, the first book in Ted Sanders’s Keepers series, hailed by the New York Times Book Review as a “satisfying and original quest tale.”  
    As Horace and Chloe adjust to their newfound talents—Horace can see the future and Chloe can walk through walls—a girl called April is drawn toward the Keeper stronghold, the Warren. She comes with a Tan’ji of her own, though it is damaged and there is no telling what will happen if it cannot be made whole again. Accompanied by a mysterious woman with a power of her own and the young boy leading them in the right direction, April is being pursued by a pack of sinister hunters. Will she reach the Warren in time, and will it offer safety or only more danger? 
    Ted Sanders’s series has the feel of classic fantasy with a science fiction twist, and this second book, The Harp and the Ravenvine, will thrill readers with adventure, intrigue, and the unexpected at every turn.
    Show book
  • The Elite - cover

    The Elite

    Kiera Cass

    • 15
    • 118
    • 0
    The second book in Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series 
    With even more glamour, intrigue, and swoon-worthy romance, this sparkling sequel to The Selection will captivate readers who loved Veronica Roth’s Divergent, Lauren Oliver’s Delirium, or Renée Ahdieh’s The Wrath & the Dawn. 
    Thirty-five girls came to the palace to compete in the Selection, and to win Prince Maxon’s heart. Now six girls remain, and the competition is fiercer than ever—but America Singer is still struggling to decide where her heart truly lies. Is it Prince Maxon—and life as the queen—that she wants? Or is it still Aspen, her first love? 
     Don’t miss The Betrothed, a glittering royal romance sure to captivate Kiera Cass’s legion of loyal readers and lovers of courtly intrigue alike!
    Show book
  • The Keepers: The Box and the Dragonfly - cover

    The Keepers: The Box and the...

    Ted Sanders

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Experience the fantastic adventure filled with magical objects, secret sects, and life as we know it on the line! Mixing magic and physics, Ted Sanders has created an epic story that has the feel of classic fantasy but twists it into something new and innovative.  
    From the moment Horace F. Andrews sees the sign from the bus—a sign with his own name on it—everything changes. The sighting leads him underground, to the House of Answers, a hidden warehouse full of mysterious objects. But there, he finds only questions. What is this curious place? Who are the strange, secretive people who entrust him with a rare and immensely powerful gift? And what is he to do with it? 
    When Horace finds the Box of Promises in the curio shop, he quickly discovers that ordinary-looking objects can hold extraordinary power. From the enormous, sinister man shadowing him to the gradual mastery of his newfound abilities to his encounters with Chloe—a girl who has an astonishing talent of her own—Horace follows a path that puts the pair in the middle of a centuries-old conflict between two warring factions in which every decision they make could have disastrous consequences. 
    Show book
  • Queen of Shadows - cover

    Queen of Shadows

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 7
    • 25
    • 1
    Sarah J. Maas's New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series reaches new heights in this sweeping fourth volume. 
     
    Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she's at last returned to the empire-for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past... 
     
    She has embraced her identity as Aelin Galathynius, Queen of Terrasen. But before she can reclaim her throne, she must fight.  
     
    She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die just to see her again. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen's triumphant return. 
     
    Celaena's epic journey has captured the hearts and imaginations of millions across the globe. This fourth volume will hold readers rapt as Celaena's story builds to a passionate, agonizing crescendo that might just shatter her world.
    Show book