Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
The Sicilian Woman's Daughter - Four generations of mafia women - cover

The Sicilian Woman's Daughter - Four generations of mafia women

Linda Lo Scuro

Publisher: Sparkling Books

  • 3
  • 8
  • 0

Summary

Most victims of the mafia are the Sicilians themselves. The role of women both as perpetrators and victims has been grossly overlooked. Until now.
 
As the daughter of Sicilian immigrants, in her teens Maria turns her back on her origins and fully embraces the English way of life. Notwithstanding her troubled and humble childhood in London, and backed up by her intelligence, beauty and sheer determination, she triumphantly works her way up to join the upper middle-class of British society. There she becomes a bastion of civility.
 
But a minor incident wakes up feelings of revenge in her like those lurking in Maria's Sicilian origins. As she delves deeper into her mother's family history a murky past unravels, drawing Maria more and more into a mire of vendetta.
 
Reviews
 
“The charm of reading this book is that: always, and I mean always, the reader is satisfied with the result.” - Manuela Iordache
 
“Wow – this is a great story!” - Phil Rowan
 
"An enthralling read on many levels.” - Book Trail
 
“It’s a must-read for mystery lovers.” - Carolyn Bowen
 
“A cracking good read” - Ann Gough
 
“This is an addictive read from page one to last and thoroughly enjoyable!” - Janet Cousineau
 
“Insightful, well written and I found the pace just right” - Dawn D’auvin 
 
“Certainly exciting and riveting reading.” - Emma B Books
 
“I enjoyed it very much!” - Mary Weimer
 
“I really enjoyed the book.” - Pamela Lewis
 
**
 
About the Author 
 
Linda Lo Scuro lives in London. This is her first novel.

Other books that might interest you

  • Deadlock - cover

    Deadlock

    Graham Ison

    • 3
    • 7
    • 0
    Detective Chef Inspector Harry Brock is called to Richmond Park in south-west London, where the body of a young woman has been found, and further bodies follow. With the help of Detective Superintendent Dave Poole and the rest of his team, it’s not long before Harry uncovers a dark web of lies, betrayal, desire and deceit . . .
    Show book
  • Shadow of a Dark Queen - cover

    Shadow of a Dark Queen

    Raymond E. Feist

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    “An epic reading experience.”—San Diego Union-Tribune Acclaimed, New York Times bestselling fantasist Raymond E. Feist gets his masterful Serpentwar Saga off to a spectacular start with Shadow of a Dark Queen. Feist’s classic epic fantasy adventure returns readers to ever-imperiled Midkemia, a breathtaking, richly imagined realm of magic and intrigue, where two unlikely heroes must rally the forces of the land to stand firm against a malevolent race of monsters intent upon conquest and annihilation. Locus magazine calls Shadow of a Dark Queen, “the place to start for those yet to discover Feist’s fantasy worlds.” For fans of Terry Goodkind, George R. R. Martin, and Terry Brooks—and for anyone not already in the  thrall of this astonishing author’s literary magic—that is excellent advice indeed.
    Show book
  • Reborn: The Red Ledger 1 2 & 3 (Volume One) - cover

    Reborn: The Red Ledger 1 2 & 3...

    Meredith Wild

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    He’s death for hire…
     
    Some people measure life in hours. Days. Weeks. I measure mine in kills. A covert military mission gone wrong robbed me of my memory and any link to my past. This is my existence now. I execute and survive. Nothing more, nothing less. I was ready to write Isabel Foster’s name in my ledger of unfortunate souls until she uttered the one word that could stop the bullet meant for her. My name.
     
    She knows my face. She knows me. She’s the key to the memories I’m not sure I want back. Now nothing is simple. I still have a job to do, and my soul isn’t worth saving. I’m not the man she thinks I am. I can’t love her. And sparing her life puts us both in the crosshairs.
    Show book
  • Miss Marple: The Complete Short Stories - A Miss Marple Collection - cover

    Miss Marple: The Complete Short...

    Agatha Christie

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Miss Marple: The Complete Short Stories gathers together in one magnificent volume all of Agatha Christie’s short stories featuring her beloved intrepid investigator, Miss Marple. It’s an unparalleled compendium of murder, mayhem, mystery, and detection that represents some of the finest short form fiction in the crime fiction field, and is an essential omnibus for Christie fans.Described by her friend Dolly Bantry as “the typical old maid of fiction,” Miss Marple has lived almost her entire life in the sleepy hamlet of St. Mary Mead. Yet, by observing village life she has gained an unparalleled insight into human nature—and used it to devastating effect. As her friend Sir Henry Clithering, the ex-Commissioner of Scotland Yard, has been heard to say: “She’s just the finest detective God ever made”—and many Agatha Christie fans would agree.
    Show book
  • Inside the Echo - The Flint K-9 Search and Rescue Mysteries #2 - cover

    Inside the Echo - The Flint K-9...

    Jen Blood

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    K-9 handler Jamie Flint and her team – both human and canine – search for a group that’s mysteriously vanished during a dog sledding expedition for battered women in Maine’s Mahoosuc Mountains. When the authorities learn that a rogue gunman was at the heart of the disappearance, the question turns to which abusive partner is behind the violence. Jamie Flint, herself a survivor of domestic abuse, is haunted by memories of her own experiences as she and her dog, Phantom, fight to find the missing women before the shooter does.
    Show book
  • The Breakdown: A Novel - cover

    The Breakdown: A Novel

    B. A. Paris

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    If you can’t trust yourself, who can you trust?
    
    Cass is having a hard time since the night she saw the car in the woods. It was on the winding rural road, in the middle of a downpour, and a woman was sitting inside—the woman who was killed. She’s been trying to put the crime out of her mind; what could she have done, really? It’s a dangerous road to be on in the middle of a storm, and she probably would have been hurt herself if she’d stopped. Not only that, her husband would be furious if he knew she’d broken her promise not to take that shortcut home.
    
    But since then, she’s been forgetting every little thing. Where she left the car; if she took her pills; even the alarm code.
    
    The only thing she can’t forget is that woman, the woman she might have saved, and the terrible nagging guilt.
    
    And the silent calls she’s receiving, or the feeling that someone’s watching her…
    Show book