Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Tiny Crimes - Very Short Tales of Mystery and Murder - cover

Tiny Crimes - Very Short Tales of Mystery and Murder

Lincoln Michel, Nadxieli Nieto

Publisher: Black Balloon Publishing

  • 0
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

Immensely fun to read, Tiny Crimes is a playful mashup of crime genres (noir, sci-fi, cozy, absurdist, humor, international, and more); the collection is also a "who's who" of literature today:  Carmen Maria Machado, J. Robert Lennon and Amelia Gray, Laura van den Berg and Brian Evenson, Yuri Herrera and Amber Sparks, to name just a few
Perfect gift for the fans of True Detective, Fargo, and Westworld; quickly digestible stories make it great read for commuting and short attention spans
The reader can begin anywhere she likes, with each story a stellar entry point into the collection's immersive, punchy, and cinematic tone
Includes stories in translation by Yuri Herrera (Spanish), Fuminori Nakamura (Japanese), Fabien Clouette & Quentin Leclerc (French), with both the English version and the original appearing sequentially in the collection, and featuring celebrated translators including Lisa Dillman, Allison Powell, and Jeffrey Zuckerman
Featuring several comics among the stories in the collection
For readers who loved My Mother She Killed Me, My Father He Ate Me: Forty New Fairy Tales, and the Akashic City Noir series
Contributors located in Berkeley, CA; Blagoevgrad, Bulgaria; Brooklyn, NY; Cambridge, MA; Chicago, IL; Columbia, SC; Decatur, GA; Denver, CO; Irvine, CA; Ithaca, NY; Lincolnville, ME; Los Angeles, CA; Madison, WI; Merida, Mexico; New Orleans, LA; New York, NY; Minneapolis, MN; Oswego, NY;  Philadelphia, PA; Rennes, France; Salt Lake City, UT; Tokyo, Japan; Toronto, Canada; Washington, D.C. 
List of every contributor's favorite independent bookstore available on request
Physical ARCs will include endorsements from independent booksellers, and digital ARC available on Edelweiss

Bookseller Praise for Tiny Crimes
"I picked up this book for two primary reasons: (1) Elizabeth Hand. 'Nuff said. (2) I really liked a previous Catapult anthology called Watchlist. Well, I was not disappointed. As with any multi-author anthology, some stories were more to my taste than others. But the editors have put together a wonderful array of voices, each of whom brings a different perspective to the overall crime theme. I also loved that the translated stories included the original text on facing pages. Tiny Crimes has definitely given me a list of new authors to check out, which, as far as I'm concerned, means an anthology has done its job!" —Rebecca, Kramerbooks (Washington, D.C.)

 
"Tiny Crimes is a flash fiction redefinition of the crime genre, encompassing a wide array of stunningly original voices. Asking 'What is criminal in this moment?,' the collection is imbued with a wild sense of wrongness. It’s haunted by the ghosts of murdered prairie dogs, held hostage by loneliness. The tiny crimes within are everyday offenses, cheeky explorations, and heinous acts (the index, perhaps the greatest delight, includes such entries as: PENIS—glowing faintly in the dark, DOG—eaten down to spine, and TURNSTILE—hopped by nun). Ultimately, it places a mirror before the reader. It demands an interrogation of one’s own understanding of criminality and personal culpability." —Elizabeth Willis, Avid Bookshop (Athens, GA)

Other books that might interest you

  • The Phoenix of Florence - Mystery and murder in medieval Italy - cover

    The Phoenix of Florence -...

    Philip Kazan

    • 0
    • 8
    • 0
    'Stunningly, unputdownably good' Diane Setterfield, author of Once Upon a River 
    Deep in the Tuscan countryside, a long-held feud between two aristocratic families ends in tragedy, leaving only one young girl alive. 
    Years later, amidst the winding streets and majestic facades of Florence, two murders are not all they seem. As Onorio Celavini, commander of the Medici police force, investigates, he is horrified to find a personal connection to the crimes, and a conspiracy lurking beyond. 
    Poignant and compelling, The Phoenix of Florence is a richly told and cleverly crafted tale of a struggle for identity and a battle for justice in an Italy besieged by war. 
    'A beautifully written tale of the Florentine underworld' The Times
    Show book
  • Bleeding Darkness - A Stonechild and Rouleau Mystery - cover

    Bleeding Darkness - A Stonechild...

    Brenda Chapman

    • 1
    • 10
    • 0
    Two murders, fourteen years apart, both shrouded in secrets. 
    
     
    
    David McKenna lies dying in a Kingston hospital, his children gathered from across the country to say a final goodbye. But the family reunion opens old wounds. David’s only daughter, Lauren, never recovered from the unsolved murder of her high school best friend fourteen years earlier — or the suspicion that her brother, Tristan, was behind it. 
     
    
    Before David breathes his last, Tristan’s pregnant wife disappears and the Major Crimes Unit is called in to help find her. With Kala Stonechild struggling to reconnect with her foster niece and Zach Woodhouse making trouble for Staff Sergeant Jacques Rouleau, tensions are running high on the team, but they must put their personal problems aside when a woman’s  strangled body is found frozen on the Rideau Trail. 
     
    
    With a winter storm sweeping the shores of Lake Ontario, the team uncovers unspeakable betrayals that give more than one suspect a reason to kill …
    Show book
  • Name Withheld - A JP Beaumont Mystery - cover

    Name Withheld - A JP Beaumont...

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    An explosive novel of betrayal and blood vengeance featuring Seattle detective J.P. Beaumont. 
    There are those who don’t deserve to live—and the corpse floating in Elliott Bay may have been one of those people. Not surprisingly, many individuals, too many in fact, are eager to take responsibility for the brutal slaying of the hated biotech executive whose alleged crimes ranged from the illegal trading of industrial secrets to rape. For Seattle Detective J.P. Beaumont—who’s drowning in his own life-shattering problems—a case of seemingly justifiable homicide has sinister undertones, drawing the haunted policeman into a corporate nightmare world of double deals, savage jealousies, and real blood spilled far too easily, as it leads him closer to a killer he’s not sure he wants to find.
    Show book
  • The Shape Shifter - cover

    The Shape Shifter

    Tony Hillerman

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Retirement has never sat well with former Navajo Tribal Police Lieutenant Joe Leaphorn. Now the ghosts of a still-unsolved case are returning to haunt him, reawakened by a photograph in a magazine spread of a one-of-a-kind Navajo rug, a priceless work of woven art that was supposedly destroyed in a suspicious fire many years earlier. The rug, commemorating one of the darkest and most terrible chapters in American history, was always said to be cursed, and now the friend who brought it to Leaphorn's attention has mysteriously gone missing. 
    With newly wedded officers Jim Chee and Bernie Manuelito just back from their honeymoon, the legendary ex-lawman is on his own to pick up the threads of a crime he'd once thought impossible to untangle. And they're leading him back into a world of lethal greed, shifting truths, and changing faces, where a cold-blooded killer still resides.
    Show book
  • Quietly in Their Sleep - cover

    Quietly in Their Sleep

    Donna Leon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A nun has left her convent after a series of suspicious deaths: “Leon’s novels are always a pleasure.” —The Washington Post   In Venice, Italy, Commissario Guido Brunetti comes to the aid of a young Catholic sister, who has left her convent after five of her nursing home patients died unexpectedly. In the course of his inquiries, Brunetti encounters an unusual cast of characters, but discovers nothing that seems criminal. The police detective must determine whether the nun is simply creating a smoke screen to justify abandoning her vocation—or if she has stumbled onto something very real and very sinister that places her own life in imminent danger.   “Leon’s books shimmer in the grace of their setting and are warmed by the charm of their characters.” —The New York Times Book Review  Also published under the title The Death of Faith
    Show book
  • All His Pretty Girls - An absolutely gripping detective novel with a jaw-dropping killer twist - cover

    All His Pretty Girls - An...

    Charly Cox

    • 2
    • 16
    • 0
    ‘a fast-paced, breathtaking read…This will definitely be making my list of favourite books of 2019’ Go Buy The Book
     
    Detective Alyssa Wyatt is hunting a serial killer.
     
    She doesn’t know that he’s hunting her.
     
    A woman is found naked, badly beaten and barely alive in the New Mexico mountains. The shocking discovery plunges Albuquerque Detective Alyssa Wyatt into a case that will test her to the limit.
     
    It appears that Callie McCormick is the latest plaything of a shadowy psychopath that leaves a long shadow on the streets of New Mexico – an individual linked to a string of deaths but leaving no evidence.
     
    But when Alyssa makes a breakthrough that just might reveal the killer, she unknowingly puts herself in the crosshairs of a brutal maniac – one with an old score to settle.
     
    Because the killer knows Alyssa very well, even if she doesn’t know him. And he’s determined that she’ll know his name – even if he has to extract his deadly revenge on her and everything she loves.
     
    The launch of a dark, gripping, completely unputdownable crime thriller series, All His Pretty Girls introduces New Mexico detective Alyssa Wyatt. Fans of Kendra Elliot, Melinda Leigh and Angela Marsons will be utterly engrossed.
     
    Reviewers are hooked on All His Pretty Girls:
     
    ‘Oh boy, was I swiped off my feet as what was already a totally gripping read escalated into my top five for this year…It felt like my heart was beating in the back of my throat!’ Books From Dusk Till Dawn
     
    ‘I raced through this book!...one of the most exciting crime books I’ve read in a long while!’ Alternative-Read.com
     
    ‘A serial killer chiller where the action never flags, the suspense is red-hot and the twists and turns jaw-droppingly brilliant, fans of the genre need to add Charly Cox to their list of must-buys.’ Bookish Jottings
     
    ‘Sharply plotted, and full of tense twists, this is extremely well written…An extremely confident, exciting and chilling new entry on to the crime thriller scene’ Alex J Book Reviews
     
    ‘a compelling thriller that I could not put down! The killer was insane, the story was addictive and the writing was fantastic. This is everything I want when I pick up a police procedural!’ Jessica Belmont 
     
    ‘some real heart in the mouth moments…It flows so easily, with a fast pace and really is unputdownable.’ The Bookwormery
     
    ‘like being on a scary and unpredictable rollercoaster ride with several twists and turns…had me totally gripped and I was on the edge of my seat throughout.’ Ginger Book Geek
     
    ‘This is one of the best debut novels I’ve read in a while’ Cheeky Pee Reads and Reviews
     
    ‘Wow did All His Pretty Girls pack a punch! I was shocked when I found out this was a debut…a heart in your mouth read that will have you racing through those pages.’ On The Shelf Reviews
     
    ‘I don’t think I took even a single deep breath while reading this…Each chapter raised my tension and I couldn’t stop tapping my ereader’ Shalini’s Books and Reviews
    Show book