Today could be the day that you start a whole year of unlimited reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Chasing Innovation - Making Entrepreneurial Citizens in Modern India - cover

Chasing Innovation - Making Entrepreneurial Citizens in Modern India

Lilly Irani

Publisher: Princeton University Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A vivid look at how India has developed the idea of entrepreneurial citizens as leaders mobilizing society and how people try to live that promise 
Can entrepreneurs develop a nation, serve the poor, and pursue creative freedom, all while generating economic value? In Chasing Innovation, Lilly Irani shows the contradictions that arise as designers, engineers, and businesspeople frame development and governance as opportunities to innovate. Irani documents the rise of “entrepreneurial citizenship” in India over the past seventy years, demonstrating how a global ethos of development through design has come to shape state policy, economic investment, and the middle class in one of the world’s fastest-growing nations. 
Drawing on her own professional experience as a Silicon Valley designer and nearly a decade of fieldwork following a Delhi design studio, Irani vividly chronicles the practices and mindsets that hold up professional design as the answer to the challenges of a country of more than one billion people, most of whom are poor. While discussions of entrepreneurial citizenship promise that Indian children can grow up to lead a nation aspiring to uplift the poor, in reality, social, economic, and political structures constrain whose enterprise, which hopes, and which needs can be seen as worthy of investment. In the process, Irani warns, powerful investors, philanthropies, and companies exploit citizens’ social relations, empathy, and political hope in the quest to generate economic value. Irani argues that the move to recast social change as innovation, with innovators as heroes, frames others—craftspeople, workers, and activists—as of lower value, or even dangers to entrepreneurial forms of development. 
With meticulous historical context and compelling stories, Chasing Innovation lays bare how long-standing power hierarchies such as class, caste, language, and colonialism continue to shape opportunity in a world where good ideas supposedly rule all.

Other books that might interest you

  • Interview Questions - How to ask and answer tough questions in a job interview - Get That Job Fill That Role #3 - cover

    Interview Questions - How to ask...

    AMANDA DEAR

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    How to ask and answer tough questions in a job interview 
    This book will guide you through the tough questions that you can expect at a job interview. It covers why they are asked, and how to answer them to your best advantage. Don't be stuck for an answer, get inside the mind of the interviewer and give them the information that they need to hire you. 
    Equally, this book is of interest to the interviewer. If you have been landed the job of recruiting, but it's not a part of your day-to-day role, you might feel stuck for questions to ask. Or, you might be handed a list of standard questions, without understanding why you are asking them. This handy guide will show you how to ask great questions to bring out the best in candidates - and allow you to select the right person for the job. 
    Drawing on many years of experience, Amanda Deal writes simply, and shares some of the real-life catastophes that have befallen her clients. Responsible for placing hundeds of people, she has the experience to share with you the right, and the wrong, ways to answer tough interview questions.
    Show book
  • Impressive Answers to Job Interview Questions - cover

    Impressive Answers to Job...

    Binay Srivastava

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Impressive Answers to Job Interview Questions
    
     
    Who needs this book? It is for all entry-level job seekers & experienced candidates. Interviewers ask you a variety of questions… but what they actually want to know is, why should they hire you? If you have ever felt that you: • Do not know how to explain why you're the person they need to hire… • Can't positively "sell yourself" for the job… • Fumble over your answers because you don't know what they really want to hear…. • Want to be more confident during the interview…This is the book will show you how to polish your answers to get the job:
    
    
    	Shows you what they intend to discover in your answer
    	Gives you strategies for answering unexpected questions
    	Gives you "How To" tips for answering tough questions:
    
    
     
    A. Tell me about yourself
    
     
    B. What's your greatest weakness?
    
     
    C. What salary are you looking for?
    
     
    D. Why do you want to join this company?
    
     
    E. Why should we hire you?
    
     
    F. Why do you have a gap in your employment history?
    
     
    G. Describe a time when your work was criticized and how you handled it
    
     
    H. What's your greatest strength?
    Show book
  • The Richest Man in Babylon - cover

    The Richest Man in Babylon

    George S. Clason

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From the importance of savings to the essentials on how to become wealthy, this collection of famous Babylonian parables imparts timeless financial wisdom. It offers insights on how to become wealthy and how to attract good luck and discusses the Five Laws of Gold. Acclaimed as a modern-day classic, this celebrated bestseller offers an understanding of—and a solution to—your personal financial problems that will guide you through a lifetime. It's entertaining and easy to read.
    Show book
  • Escape Velocity - Free Your Company's Future from the Pull of the Past - cover

    Escape Velocity - Free Your...

    Geoffrey A. Moore

    • 0
    • 3
    • 1
    “Readthis book to learn how to create a company as powerful as Apple.”—Guy Kawasaki,former chief evangelist of Apple 
    InEscape Velocity Geoffrey A. Moore, author of the marketing masterwork Crossingthe Chasm, teaches twenty-first century enterprises how to overcome thepull of the past and reorient their organizations to meet a new era ofcompetition. The world’s leading high-tech business strategist, Moore connectsthe dots between bold strategies and effective execution, with an action planthat elucidates the link between senior executives and every other branch of acompany. For readers of Larry Bossidy’s Execution,Clay Christensen’s Innovator’s Solution, and Gary Vaynerchuck’sCrush It!, and for anyone aiming for the pinnacle of business success, EscapeVelocity is an irreplaceable roadmap to the top.
    Show book
  • The Murder of Lehman Brothers an Insider's Look at the Global Meltdown - cover

    The Murder of Lehman Brothers an...

    Joseph Tibman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The aftershocks of the 2008 financial crisis still appear in the headlines most recently the government's quest to crush Moodys and S&P for failure to rate securities correctly given the risk. Were these agencies the only responsible parties? 
    
    “To me, as a multi-decade, veteran Lehman investment banker, the breathtaking death of my firm appeared impossible as little as three days ahead of the bankruptcy filing.  Not only did I consider our ‘master of the universe’ firm invincible, but, like my colleagues, when it became clear we were in deep trouble, it was unfathomable that the US government could misstep so foolishly as to let any bulge bracket investment bank simply fail. The worst case seemed to be the Bear Stearns route.”
    
    For the first time, Joe Tibman pulls back the kimono to share intriguing information and detail about Lehman Brothers and the economic meltdown that has never before been revealed:
    
    • How Lehman Brothers almost went under 10 years earlier but was, in a lucky turn of events, rescued from the brink of disaster when the U.S. government bailed out Mexico before it defaulted on billions of dollars in bonds?
    
    • How, in the most detailed and intimate account of Lehman after the September 11, 2001 terrorist attack, when the firm and its people were ripped from their home, Fuld’s “One Firm” strategy finally took root, sweeping away the vestiges of internal war inside Lehman’s own halls, turning tragedy to triumph for a newly united firm where survival and success meant much more than a payday?
    
    • What role did Paulson play?  Cox?  Bernanke? Greenspan?  Geithner?  Clinton? Phil Gramm?  Congress? Summers? 
    
    • No reporter has ever been able to uncover why the rating agencies rated subprime securities so high.  These agencies have never come clean with a clear statement on this issue.  They just fired subprime analysts.  For the first time in this book, Tibman discloses the key facts behind the subprime rating disaster.
    Show book
  • Cracking the New Job Market - The 7 Rules for Getting Hired in Any Economy - cover

    Cracking the New Job Market -...

    R. Holland

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The rules for finding professional work once seemed clear and unwavering: capture career highlights in a resume, practice answers to standard interview questions, and do lots of face-to-face networking. Cracking the New Job Market shows how these rules have changed and delivers new job-hunting strategies that actually work. The key, rather than to emphasize past accomplishments, is to sell your self on the value you can create for an employer. This new approach to getting hired requires new skills. Author R. William Holland, a human resources insider, shows job seekers how to: * Gather information on what a prospective employer finds important * Emphasize those skills, accomplishments, and qualities in tailored resumes and interview answers * Identify the intersection between personal talents and what the marketplace needs * Unlock the networking power of social media * Negotiate the best possible offer Enlightening and practical, this myth-busting book delivers seven powerful rules for landing a great job-even in a difficult economy.
    Show book