"There is more treasure in books than in all the pirates' loot on Treasure Island." - Walt Disney
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Stopgap - cover

Stopgap

Liam Card

Publisher: Dundurn

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

A recently deceased grieving spirit decides to rid the world of violent crime, and becomes the most notorious killer in history.

For Luke Stevenson, an otherwise simple afterlife has become catastrophic. He’s been paired to mentor Safia, an angry teenage girl who recently died a violent death. Safia can not only affect the living — unheard of among ghosts like them — but can actually end human lives. With the best intentions, Luke becomes ensnared in her operation to rid the world of all violent crime.

With Luke’s help, Safia prevents acts of violence before they occur, leaving the world in a state of joy, shock, panic, and looking for answers as the body count rises. Perhaps Safia has made the world a safer place. However, when her plan begins a terrifying evolution, Luke must find a way to derail it, as billions of lives hang in the balance.

Other books that might interest you

  • It's a Stupid Game; It'll Never Amount to Anything - The Golf Cartoons of Joseph Farris - cover

    It's a Stupid Game; It'll Never...

    Joseph Farris

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In his illustrious career as a cartoonist for the New Yorker and other publications, Joseph Farris has created dozens of hilarious cartoons about “the best game in the world at which to be bad.”A.A. Milne had it right, and Farris’s cartoons get to the heart of the game’s wonderful contradiction: over the course of eighteen holes, golf has the capacity to bring great joy and drive you crazy.Farris treats us to the sight of a blissfully happily newlywed with “Just Married” emblazoned on the back of his golf cart; of an archaeologist who discovers a hieroglyph featuring an annoyed-looking pharaoh breaking a golf club over his knee; and a TV-watching husband who rebuffs his naked wife’s amorous advances in no uncertain terms: “Not now, I’m watching Tiger Woods.”It’s been said that real golfers don’t cry.  That may or may not be true.   Joseph Farris’s cartoons are sure to make any golfer laugh.
    Show book
  • Gonzo Girl - A Novel - cover

    Gonzo Girl - A Novel

    Cheryl Della Pietra

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Inspired by the author's experiences working with Hunter S. Thompson, an exhilarating, full-speed-ahead roman à clef about an ambitious young writer who takes a job as an assistant to an unmotivated, drug-addled literary icon and helps him finish his long-awaited novel-by any means necessary. 
    Alley Russo is a recent Ivy League grad desperately trying to make it in New York publishing. She has no connections, even less money, and slings drinks at a Bleecker Street dive bar while slogging through an unpaid internship at Beat magazine. It's there that she hears that the infamous Walker Reade is looking for an assistant-after eight others have recently come and gone-to help him finish his next novel. Hungry for a chance to transcend her working-class roots, not to mention score an experienced editor's eyes on the manuscript she's poured her heart into, Alley takes the job. 
    After surviving an absurd three-day "trial period" involving a .44 magnum, purple-pyramid acid, violent verbal outbursts, brushes with fame and the law, a bevy of peacocks, and a whole lot of cocaine, she's invited to stay. Over the ensuing months, as Alley attempts to coax the novel out of Walker one long page at a time, the endless procrastinating, vampiric schedule, Herculean substance abuse, Walker's mounting debt, and his casual gunplay will exact a toll on Alley's psyche. By the time she fully grasps the reality of her situation-that she's alone in the Colorado Rockies at the mercy of a drug-addicted icon whose literary powers are waning-her fate may already be sealed.
    Show book
  • 101 Amazing Knock Knock Jokes - 3452% Hilarious - cover

    101 Amazing Knock Knock Jokes -...

    Jack Goldstein, Jimmy Russell

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This side-splitting collection of 101 of the funniest knock-knock jokes you have ever heard is dangerously funny! All of the jokes have been organised into categories so that budding comedians can make their friends laugh at any occasion.Knock Knock. Who's there? Kent Harris. Kent Harris who? No, that's actually the narrator's name! Never mind, on with the jokes....©2017 Jack Goldstein Books (P)2017 Jack Goldstein Books
    Show book
  • The Outcasts - A Novel - cover

    The Outcasts - A Novel

    Stephen Becker

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    An American engineer journeys to the tropics to build a bridge and reclaim his manhood in this brilliant tragicomedy written during the height of the Cold War Fleeing two bad marriages and the sneaking suspicion that failure is his destiny, Bernard Morrison boards a flight bound for a freshly liberated country in desperate need of infrastructure. When the plane finally touches down, the pilot has happy news: The airport and the capital are not under attack. So far, so good, thinks Morrison as he heads for the jungle.   The bridge he has been sent to build may be in the middle of nowhere, but the work requires discipline and fortitude—qualities long missing from Morrison’s routine—and his interactions with the native laborers and their bosses are refreshingly out of the ordinary. When he discovers a primitive tribe living near the construction site, Morrison revels in their freedom and lack of inhibition. He vows to protect the innocent tribespeople, not realizing that it’s too late—the bridge to the future has already been built.   Part farce, part tragedy, The Outcasts is a powerful morality tale in the tradition of Joseph Conrad and Graham Greene.
    Show book
  • The Nether World - cover

    The Nether World

    George Gissing

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This sad social novel revolves around the problematic issue of money. Michael returns from Australia to London a rich man. However, he hides this fact from everybody and spends money only on the things he really needs. He contemplates leaving his money to his granddaughter Jane, under the condition that she donate at least most of it to charity. However, Jane is not sure she can do it. This novel tells much about working class life in 19th century London.(Summary by Stav Nisser)
    Show book
  • A Little Bit of Football Wit - Quips and Quotes for the Football Fanatic - cover

    A Little Bit of Football Wit -...

    Tom Hay

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    ‘Football is a game with 22 players, two linesmen and 20,000 referees.’
     
    Bob Monkhouse
     
    Treat your mates to a hearty half-time chuckle with this mini-collection of football humour – the very best quips and quotes for lovers of the beautiful game.
    Show book