Instant satisfaction for your thirst for knowledge!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Real Monsters - cover

Real Monsters

Liam Brown

Publisher: Legend Press

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

'From the scorched desert to the marital bedroom, Real Monsters is a memorable and moving portrait of the futility of 21st century conflict.' --Benjamin Myers, author of Pig Iron and Beastings 
We are surrounded by monsters. The lines are now so blurred, no one knows who the real enemy is anymore. 
Reeling from the terrorist attack that killed her father, Lorna lurches through an inebriated adolescence until she finds redemption in a young soldier called Danny. However, her dream of a stable life is shattered when Danny is called to serve in war overseas. 
Danny is lost in the desert. Most of his unit is dead – victims, it would seem, of a brutal ambush. With their equipment destroyed and food running out, the small band of men stumble through the sand and shadows, desperate to find salvation. As their hope fades, they begin to turn on each other, until finally it becomes clear that only the truly monstrous will survive. 
Brown creates a compelling and gripping experience alternating between the soldier and home narrative. Cleverly employing letters and unique voices we are drawn completely into the raw desert while being left with a thought-provoking and graphic view of modern warfare. 
What Reviewers and Readers Say: 
'Beautifully written, smart and punchy'. Sam Mills, author of The Quiddity of Will Self 
'A memorable and moving portrait of the futility of 21st century conflict'. Benjamin Myers, author of Pig Iron and Beastings

Other books that might interest you

  • The Killer in the Choir - cover

    The Killer in the Choir

    Simon Brett

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    Although she hadn’t known Leonard Mallett very well, nor liked him particularly, Carole Seddon feels duty bound to attend her fellow committee member’s funeral. As she suspected, the hymns, readings and sermon are all very predictable – not unlike Leonard himself. What she couldn’t have predicted was that the deceased’s daughter would use the occasion to publicly accuse her stepmother of murder.
    Did Heather Mallett really kill her husband, as many Fethering residents believe? Deciding to get to the heart of the matter, Carole’s neighbour Jude joins the new community choir – and discovers that amidst the clashing egos and petty resentments lurk some decidedly false notes. At least one chorister would appear to be hiding a deadly secret – and it’s up to Carole and Jude to unearth the truth.
    Show book
  • Hit List - cover

    Hit List

    Jack McSporran

    • 5
    • 77
    • 0
    A major security breach. Blackmail. A list of names with deadly consequences.When her old agency is hacked by an elusive crime syndicate, ex-secret agent Maggie Black is enjoying the carefree life of a civilian. Then she learns the names of the agency’s agents, past and present, are being leaked by the hackers, one-by-one, until their notorious boss is released from prison.
     
    With the government refusing to negotiate with the blackmailers, Maggie is forced out of retirement and dragged back into the perilous life of espionage she swore to leave behind. Her name is on that list, as well as those she cares about most.
     
    As the bodies of agents begin to pile up, Maggie risks it all to hunt down the hackers. From the war-torn streets of Somalia to the seedy red-light district of Amsterdam, Maggie must race against time before her dark past ruins any chance at a future.HIT LIST is the second exhilarating adventure in the Maggie Black thriller series, and the perfect read for fans of Lee Child and James Patterson.
     
    Get your copy of HIT LIST today and delve into the sequel of the binge-worthy series everyone is talking about.
    Show book
  • Cullen and Cobb Mysteries 4-Book Bundle - None So Deadly Last Song Sung Dead Air Serpents Rising - cover

    Cullen and Cobb Mysteries 4-Book...

    David A. Poulsen

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    A private investigator and a journalist team up in Calgary to fight for justice. Read all four books in the exciting western crime series. 
     
    
    
    Serpents Rising — book #1 
    
    Private investigator Mike Cobb and journalist Adam Cullen take on twin investigations that take them onto Calgary’s meanest streets on the trail of a runaway and a killer. 
     
    
    
    Dead Air — book #2 
    
    Someone is killing big name right-wing media personalities. When ex-cop Mike Cobb is hired as a bodyguard for a conservative radio superstar, he and his partner, crime journalist Adam Cullen, are thrust into the line of fire. 
     
    
    
    Last Song Sung — book #3 
    
    Cullen and Cobb are back to investigate the 1965 disappearance of a folk singer. Kidnapped from the alley behind a folk club, her bandmates shot and killed, Ellie Foster’s whereabouts have remained a mystery for fifty years. Hired by Ellie’s granddaughter, Cullen and Cobb travel into the past to unearth long-buried secrets. 
     
    
    
    None So Deadly — book #4 
    
    The brutal killing of a police investigator obsessed with Faith Unruh’s murder has put the ex-cop–private eye and former crime writing journalist back on the killer’s trail — and directly in the line of fire.
    Show book
  • Sail Away - cover

    Sail Away

    Celia Imrie

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    The deliciously effervescent new novel from Celia Imrie, beloved character actress and author of Not Quite Nice, follows the exploits of two women on a cruise ship. 
      
    The phone hasn't rung for months. Suzy Marshall is discovering that work can be sluggish for an actress over sixty--even for the star of a wildly popular 1980s TV series. So when her agent offers her the plum role of Lady Bracknell in The Importance of Being Earnest in Zurich, it seems like a godsend. Until, that is, the play is abruptly cancelled under suspicious circumstances and Suzy is forced to take a job on a cruise ship to get home. 
     
    Meanwhile Amanda Herbert finds herself homeless in rainy Clapham. The purchase of her new apartment has fallen through, and her children are absorbed in their own dramas. Then she spots an advertisement for an Atlantic cruise and realizes that a few weeks onboard would tide her over and save her money until her housing situation is resolved. 
     
    As the two women set sail on a new adventure, neither can possibly predict the questionable characters and strange dealings they will encounter, nor the unexpected rewards they will reap. Vividly evoking the old-world glamour of a cruise ship--and the complex politics of its staff quarters--Sail Away is at once a hilarious romp and a thrilling adventure.
    Show book
  • Blood on the Rocks - cover

    Blood on the Rocks

    Priscilla Masters

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    DI Joanna Piercy is irritated at what she perceives to be an attempt to wrap her up in cotton wool during her pregnancy when she is asked to take on the case of Zachary Foster, a missing ninety-six-year-old man suffering from dementia. Zachary has vanished from his residential care home on the edge of Leek during the night with his beloved old teddy bear. He can’t have gone far, surely, but how did a frail, elderly man manage to abscond from a secure house at night? As Joanna investigates, it soon becomes clear that this apparently minor case is far more sinister than it first appears. Could her own life, and that of her unborn child, be at risk?
    Show book
  • Cobra - A Novel - cover

    Cobra - A Novel

    Deon Meyer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A riveting thriller from the acclaimed “King of South African crime” and the author of Blood Safari: “Deon Meyer is one of the unsung masters” (Michael Connelly).   Deon Meyer is a world-class writer whose page-turning thrillers probe the social and racial complexities of his native country. In Cobra, a famous English mathematician is kidnapped and his two bodyguards are killed at a guest house in the beautiful wine country outside Cape Town. It’s clearly a professional hit, and the spent shell cases offer a chilling clue: Each is engraved with the head of a spitting cobra.   Meanwhile, in the city, a skilled thief is using his talents to put his sister through college. But he picks the wrong pocket, grabbing the wallet of a young American woman delivering something very valuable and dangerous to South Africa. The thief not only becomes the target of the deadly hit man known as the Cobra, but unwittingly holds the key to stopping a deadly international threat. It’s up to Captain Benny Griessel and his elite investigation team to find the pickpocket and track down the Cobra as the novel hurtles toward a brilliant, heart-stopping finale on the suburban commuter trains.   “Mr. Meyer, the leading thriller writer in his native country, traffics in crime-novel situations familiar the world over: drunken cops, charming robbers, dangerous murderers, sudden violence—and sometimes, issues of race.” —The Wall Street Journal  
    Show book