Don't put off till tomorrow the book you can read today!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Baseball Joe of the Silver Stars - The Rivals of Riverside - cover

Baseball Joe of the Silver Stars - The Rivals of Riverside

Lester Chadwick

Publisher: First Inning Presss

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

“No cellphones. No Google. Just pluck and wit.”
 
That’s the way one modern critic describes these exciting tales from the early twentieth century, written for boys of the time. But really, they are universal tales of setting goals, overcoming adversity, and achieving what at some points seems impossible. 
 
Joe Matson is just an ordinary kid in a typical Midwestern town. He loves to play baseball and wants to make it onto the local nine, but his every step finds obstacles in the way. Joe wants to pitch, but the team has a star pitcher already who is reluctant – to say the least – to give up his position to this fresh-faced newcomer. But Joe perseveres, occasionally getting a lucky break, but more often having to rely on his own resources to reach his goal.
 
As he reaches one goal, he then tackles the next one – making it to Yale and playing for the college team, then becoming a professional, later getting into the big leagues, and finally making it to the top of the baseball world.
 
It is what they used to call “pluck.”
 
Joe has plenty of that as he gradually becomes Baseball Joe. In this volume Joe is just beginning, trying to get onto the local sandlot team. He’s honing his skills, knowing that he has what it takes but understanding that it’s all not going to happen at once.
 
You can follow Baseball Joe’s progress as he ascends the heights of his baseball glory with exciting and surprising adventures along the way. First Inning Press is proud to introduce these new editions of Baseball Joe’s exploits in a ten-volume set. Once you read one of them, you will want to read them all.
 
For the boy in your life – maybe that boy is you – these are the perfect companions – simple tales that are accessible and easy-to-read. Give the gift of reading to the person you care about today.
 
First Inning Press has done minimal editing to the text, believing it should be preserved as it was a century ago. We have added a substantial number of illustrations, however, that we hope will enhance the reading experience of all, young and old, who open these pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Beastly - cover

    Beastly

    Alex Flinn

    • 1
    • 24
    • 0
    With a new Beauty and the Beast movie hitting theaters in spring 2017, it’s time to catch up on all things Beastly. Find out what it was like for the beast in Alex Flinn’s contemporary retelling of the classic tale.  
    I am a beast. 
    A beast. Not quite wolf or bear, gorilla or dog but a horrible new creature who walks upright—a creature with fangs and claws and hair springing from every pore. I am a monster. 
    You think I'm talking fairy tales? No way. The place is New York City. The time is now. It's no deformity, no disease. And I'll stay this way forever—ruined—unless I can break the spell. 
    Yes, the spell, the one the witch in my English class cast on me. Why did she turn me into a beast who hides by day and prowls by night? I'll tell you. I'll tell you how I used to be Kyle Kingsbury, the guy you wished you were, with money, perfect looks, and the perfect life. And then, I'll tell you how I became perfectly . . . beastly.
    Show book
  • The Crown - cover

    The Crown

    Kiera Cass

    • 19
    • 528
    • 0
    Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series has captured the hearts of readers from its very first page. Now the end of the journey is here. Prepare to be swept off your feet by The Crown—the eagerly awaited, wonderfully romantic fifth and final book in the Selection series. 
    In The Heir, a new era dawned in the world of The Selection. Twenty years have passed since America Singer and Prince Maxon fell in love, and their daughter is the first princess to hold a Selection of her own. 
    Eadlyn didn’t think she would find a real partner among the Selection’s thirty-five suitors, let alone true love. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you…and now Eadlyn must make a choice that feels more difficult—and more important—than she ever expected.
    Show book
  • The Rising - cover

    The Rising

    Kelley Armstrong

    • 2
    • 9
    • 0
    The race for survival comes to a thrilling conclusion in the heart-stopping finale to the Darkness Rising trilogy, from #1 New York Times bestselling author Kelley Armstrong. 
    Things are getting desperate for Maya and her friends. Hunted by the powerful St. Clouds and now a rival Cabal as well, they're quickly running out of places to hide. 
    All they have is the name and number of someone who might be able to give them a few answers. Answers to why they're so valuable, and why their supernatural powers are getting more and more out of control. But Maya is unprepared for the truths that await her. And like it or not, she'll have to face down some demons from her past if she ever hopes to move on with her life. Because Maya can't keep running forever. 
    With all the twists, thrills, and romance that have made Kelley Armstrong an international bestseller, plus the surprising return of some fan-favorite characters, The Rising will hold you under its spell long after its breathtaking end.
    Show book
  • Violet's Story - (Creepy Hollow Books 1 2 & 3) - cover

    Violet's Story - (Creepy Hollow...

    Rachel Morgan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    She's a faerie. He's a human. He should never have followed her into the fae realm… Binge-read the complete series now!
     
    Seventeen-year-old Violet has one job: protect humans from dangerous magical creatures. It's a job she's good at—until her latest assignment, the cute human guy whose life she just saved, follows her into the fae realm.Now she's broken faerie law, risking her future at the Guild of Guardians. She needs to get Nate home and make him forget everything he's discovered—but it won't be nearly as easy as she hopes.Someone has been waiting for Nate, and now that he's entered the fae realm, a dangerous plot is set in motion. Vi is about to find herself fighting for both Nate's life and her own as the two of them are pulled deeper and deeper into the darker side of the fae world.The world is at stake in this bestselling YA fantasy series filled with dazzling magic, page-turning action, family secrets, and swoon-worthy romance. Grab your copy today to be swept away into this enchanting world! 
     
    **Together, these three books have 4900+ 5-star Goodreads ratings!**
     
     
     
    Includes the following THREE Creepy Hollow books:
     
    The Faerie Guardian (2014 Readers' Favorite GOLD MEDAL WINNER in YA Fantasy)
     
    The Faerie Prince
     
    The Faerie War
     
     
     
    ____________________
     
    THE COMPLETE CREEPY HOLLOW SERIES CONSISTS OF THE FOLLOWING BOOKS:
     
    Violet's Story
     
    1. The Faerie Guardian
     
    2. The Faerie Prince
     
    3. The Faerie War
     
    Calla's Story
     
    4. A Faerie's Secret
     
    5. A Faerie's Revenge
     
    6. A Faerie's Curse
     
    Emerson's Story
     
    7. Glass Faerie
     
    8. Shadow Faerie
     
    9. Rebel Faerie
    Show book
  • The Season of You & Me - cover

    The Season of You & Me

    Robin Constantine

    • 2
    • 30
    • 0
    From Robin Constantine, author of The Promise of Amazing and The Secrets of Attraction, comes a funny and heartfelt summer romance set in New Jersey. Perfect for fans of Sarah Mlynowski, Jenny Han, and Morgan Matson. 
    Cassidy Emmerich is reeling from a sudden, humiliating breakup. The last thing she wants to do is stick around and be reminded of her ex everywhere she goes. On impulse, she decides to spend the summer with her father and his family at their Jersey Shore bed-and-breakfast. A different scene and a new job working as a camp counselor seem like the perfect recipe for forgetting Gavin as quickly as possible—not to mention for avoiding him until he leaves for college.  
    Bryan Lakewood is sick of nevers. You’ll never walk. You’ll never surf. You’ll never slow dance with a girl and have her put her head on your shoulder. Last year he made one false move—now he’s paralyzed and needs to use a wheelchair. But this summer, he’s back at his camp job and is determined to reclaim his independence—and his confidence. 
    Cass is expecting two months of healing her broken heart. 
    Bryan is expecting a summer of tough adjustments. 
    Neither is expecting to fall in love.
    Show book
  • Dreamless - cover

    Dreamless

    Josephine Angelini

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    StarHearts, as fans of Josephine Angelini call themselves, will stay up all night reading Dreamless, the second book in the bestselling Starcrossed series. The saga mixes mythology, romance, action, and intrigue in a completely original way. Dreamless continues the story of Helen Hamilton, a shy girl living on Nantucket Island whose desire for an ordinary life was thwarted when she discovered she is a Scion, a descendant of a Greek god and a mortal. Each Scion has a power, and Helen’s is the ability to travel to Hades. Helen is determined to use her talent to stop a war amongst the gods and change her destiny, which is to live a life patterned after that of the tragic Helen of Troy. But her quest may cost her Lucas Delios, the boy she loves.
    Show book