As many books as you want!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Fourteen - A Daughter’s Memoir of Adventure Sailing and Survival - cover

Fourteen - A Daughter’s Memoir of Adventure Sailing and Survival

Leslie Johansen Nack

Publisher: She Writes Press

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

• 41% of marriages end in divorce
• 17% of father’s get full custody of their children
• 34.2 million households had at least one member who boated in the past year
• 624,000 people subscribe to sailing and cruising magazines.

• 1 in 3 girls and 1 in 6 boys will be victims of sexual abuse before their eighteenth birthday.
• There are more than 42 million survivors of sexual abuse in America today.
• One in seventeen adults—about 13.6 million—in America, many of them parents, live with a serious mental illness such as schizophrenia, major depression, or bipolar disorder.

Other books that might interest you

  • Elderhood - Redefining Aging Transforming Medicine Reimagining Life - cover

    Elderhood - Redefining Aging...

    Louise Aronson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Finalist for the Pulitzer Prize in General Nonfiction 
    A New York Times Bestseller 
    Longlisted for the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction 
    Winner of the WSU AOS Bonner Book Award 
     
    As revelatory as Atul Gawande's Being Mortal, physician and award-winning author Louise Aronson's Elderhood is an essential, empathetic look at a vital but often disparaged stage of life. 
      
     For more than 5,000 years, "old" has been defined as beginning between the ages of 60 and 70. That means most people alive today will spend more years in elderhood than in childhood, and many will be elders for 40 years or more. Yet at the very moment that humans are living longer than ever before, we've made old age into a disease, a condition to be dreaded, denigrated, neglected, and denied.  
      
     Reminiscent of Oliver Sacks, noted Harvard-trained geriatrician Louise Aronson uses stories from her quarter century of caring for patients, and draws from history, science, literature, popular culture, and her own life to weave a vision of old age that's neither nightmare nor utopian fantasy--a vision full of joy, wonder, frustration, outrage, and hope about aging, medicine, and humanity itself.  
      
     Elderhood is for anyone who is, in the author's own words, "an aging, i.e., still-breathing human being."
    Show book
  • Moments of Knowing - cover

    Moments of Knowing

    Anne Bridge

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Ann Bridge, besides being a famous author, was also, in her own words, “a person who frequently has, when awake, inexplicable 'knowings' of events taking place at a distance: and, in dreams, am informed, sometimes uncomfortably, of facts of which I can have no knowledge by normal means”.  
     
    In this remarkable book, part memoir, part a personal statement, she wrote of a number of such moments taken from a varied and distinguished career, and ranging from a startling premonition of a cypher-breaking job in the Admiralty during World War I to a somewhat macabre later episode concerned with the Duchess of Windsor. Moments of Knowing can be read for its appealing autobiographical qualities or for the steady and careful light its author throws on areas of experience of which few people may have first-hand knowledge.
    Show book
  • Queens Consort - England's Medieval Queens from Eleanor of Aquitaine to Elizabeth of York - cover

    Queens Consort - England's...

    Lisa Hilton

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “A compelling trek through English history in the company of some remarkable women.” —Kirkus Reviews Though their royal husbands occupy the lion’s share of history books, the queens of early England are fascinating subjects in their own right. Lisa Hilton’s Queens Consort vividly evokes the lives and times of England’s first queens, from Matilda of Flanders and the Norman conquest of England to Elizabeth of York and the beginning of the Tudor dynasty. By profiling twenty different queens, Hilton provides an intricate and dramatic composite of the English monarch: from the ruthless Isabella of France, who violently gained control of England by dispatching Edward II, to the beloved Matilda of Scotland, known for her intelligence and devotion despite her philandering husband, Henry I; and from a girl who was crowned at the age of nine to a commoner who climbed the social ladder at the most opportune moment. Queens Consort dispels many of the myths that have surrounded these women for centuries, while simultaneously illuminating lesser-known facts about their lives. 
    Show book
  • Her Majesty - Queen Elizabeth II and Her Court - cover

    Her Majesty - Queen Elizabeth II...

    Robert Hardman

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Perfect for fans of The Crown, this “intimate portrait” of England’s longest-reigning queen takes you behind the scenes of a thoroughly modern monarchy (BBC Entertainment). History knows no monarch like her. She has traveled farther than all her predecessors combined, lived the longest of any of them, and known more historic figures—from Winston Churchill to Nelson Mandela, Charles de Gaulle to Barack Obama—than anyone alive. Now, distinguished royal writer Robert Hardman has been granted special access to the world of Queen Elizabeth II in order to produce an unparalleled portrait of one of the most popular public figures on earth. Arguably Britain’s best-known observer of the royal family, Hardman follows Elizabeth’s journey through her country’s transformation from an imperial power to a multicultural nation; details a twenty-five-year period in which she steered the monarchy through more reforms than in the previous century; and interviews those closest to her, including her grandson Prince William, Duke of Cambridge. Written in celebration of Elizabeth’s Diamond Jubilee, Her Majesty celebrates the head of an ancient institution that remains simultaneously popular, regal, inclusive, and relevant in a twenty-first-century world. “At long last, we have the definitive portrait of Queen Elizabeth’s world today,” raves Andrew Roberts, author of The Royal House of Windsor. “Robert Hardman knows the true story and tells it superbly.”
    Show book
  • The Complete Works of Margaret Fuller - Woman in the Nineteenth Century Summer on the Lakes in 1843 Essays Memoirs Reviews Narratives Poems & Biography by Julia Ward Howe - cover

    The Complete Works of Margaret...

    Ralph Waldo Emerson, Margaret...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Sarah Margaret Fuller Ossoli (1810-1850) was an American journalist, critic, and women's rights advocate associated with the American transcendentalism movement. She was the first full-time American female book reviewer in journalism. Fuller was an advocate of women's rights and, in particular, women's education and the right to employment. Her book "Woman in the Nineteenth Century" is considered the first major feminist work in the United States.  She encouraged many other reforms in society, including prison reform and the emancipation of slaves in the United States. Many other advocates for women's rights and feminism, including Susan B. Anthony, cite Fuller as a source of inspiration. 
    Contents:
    Woman in the Nineteenth Century
    Summer on the Lakes in 1843
    Memoirs
    Reviews
    Narrative
    Essays
    Poems
    Biography by Julia Ward Howe
    Show book
  • Mikhail Bulgakov - The Life and Times - cover

    Mikhail Bulgakov - The Life and...

    Marietta Chudakova

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Marietta Chudakova is an expert on Soviet literature and on the works of Mikhail Bulgakov in particular. Her biography of Bulgakov was first published in 1988 and remains the most authoritative and comprehensive study of the writer’s life ever produced. It has received acclaim for the journalistic style in which it is written: the author draws on unpublished manuscripts and early drafts of Bulgakov’s novels to bring the writer to life. She also explores archive documents and memoirs written by some of Bulgakov’s contemporaries so as to construct a comprehensive and nuanced portrait of the writer and his life and times. 
     
    Marietta Chudakova casts light on Bulgakov’s life with an unrivalled eye for detail and a huge amount of affection for the writer and his works.
     
    Mikhail Bulgakov: The Life and Times will be of particular interest to international researchers studying Mikhail Bulgakov’s life and works, and is recommended to a broader audience worldwide. 
     
    Translated from the Russian by Huw Davies
     
    Published by arrangement with ELKOST Intl. Literary Agency
     
    Published with the support of the Institute for Literary Translation, Russia
     
    Introduction by J.A.E. Curtis
     
    Proofreading by Kevin Bridge
     
    Publishers Maxim Hodak & Max Mendor
    Show book