Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
To Tell You the Truth - Exploring Truth and Deception in a Post-Victorian Society - cover

To Tell You the Truth - Exploring Truth and Deception in a Post-Victorian Society

Leonard Merrick

Publisher: Good Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Leonard Merrick's 'To Tell You the Truth' is a captivating novel that delves into the complexities of truth and deception. Written in a straightforward and sincere literary style, the book explores the nuanced moral decisions faced by its characters in a post-Victorian society. Merrick's attention to detail and depth of characterization provide a rich tapestry for readers to immerse themselves in. The narrative unfolds with a sense of realism and psychological depth, making it a compelling read for those interested in character-driven fiction. With its exploration of themes such as honesty, integrity, and the consequences of deceit, 'To Tell You the Truth' offers a thought-provoking look into the human condition. Leonard Merrick, a prolific British author known for his keen insights into human nature, draws upon his own observations of society to craft a narrative that is both engaging and impactful. His storytelling skills and ability to create authentic characters lend a sense of authenticity to the novel, making it a standout work in his illustrious career. I highly recommend 'To Tell You the Truth' to readers who appreciate thought-provoking literature that challenges conventional notions of morality and truth.
Available since: 12/11/2019.
Print length: 157 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Miner's Lady - cover

    The Miner's Lady

    Tracie Peterson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Tracie Peterson Delivers Romance and Adventure When Chantel Panetta's younger sister claims to be in love with Orlando Vittorio, Chantel knows there is no hope. The Panettas and Vittorios have been sworn enemies for decades, and young love cannot heal the deep wounds between the two iron-mining families. Yet, unable to resist Isabella's pleas, Chantel agrees to help her sister spend time with Orlando...only to have a run-in with Dante, Orlando's brother. The older, more handsome one. Chantel can't deny the attraction that flares when she's with Dante. But when a tragedy occurs at the mine, is there any hope that the hatred that has simmered between these two families might be resolved? Or will Chantel's hope for love be buried amidst decades of misunderstanding?
    Show book
  • If Rome Hadn't Fallen - How the Survival of Rome Might Have Changed World History - cover

    If Rome Hadn't Fallen - How the...

    Timothy Venning

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This is a fascinating exploration of how the history of Europe, and indeed the world, might have been different if the Western Roman Empire had survived the crises that pulled it apart in the 4th and 5th centuries. Dr. Timothy Venning starts by showing how that survival and recovery might plausibly have happened if several relatively minor things had been different. He then moves on to discuss a series of scenarios which might have altered the course of subsequent history dramatically. Would the survival of a strong Western Empire have assisted the Eastern (Byzantine) Empire in halting the expansion of Islam in the Middle East and North Africa? How would the Western Roman Empire have handled the Viking threat? Could they even have exploited the Viking discovery of America and established successful colonies there? While necessarily speculative, all the scenarios are discussed within the framework of a deep understanding of the major driving forces, tensions and trends that shaped European history and help to shed light upon them. In so doing they help the reader to understand why things panned out as they did, as well as what might have been.
    Show book
  • The Chant of Jimmie Blacksmith - A Novel - cover

    The Chant of Jimmie Blacksmith -...

    Thomas Keneally

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A tormented and humiliated mixed-race Australian man reaches his breaking point and takes terrifying revenge on his abusers in this critically acclaimed novel based on actual events In Australia at the turn of the twentieth century, Jimmie Blacksmith is desperate to figure out where he belongs. Half-Anglo and half-Aboriginal, he feels out of place in both cultures. Schooled in the ways of white society by a Protestant missionary, Jimmie forsakes tribal customs, adopts the white man’s religion, marries a white woman, and seeks a life of honest labor in a world Aborigines are normally barred from entering. But he will always be seen as less than human by the employers who cheat and exploit him, the fellow workers who deride him, and the wife who betrays him—and a man can only take so much. Driven by hopelessness, rage, and despair, Jimmie commits a series of savage and terrible acts of vengeance and becomes something he never thought he’d be: a murderer, a fugitive, and, ultimately, a legend.   Based on shocking real-life events, The Chant of Jimmie Blacksmith is a powerful tale of racism, identity, intolerance, and murder from the celebrated bestselling author of Schindler’s List, Thomas Keneally. This magnificent historical novel remains a stunning, provocative, and profoundly affecting reading experience.
    Show book
  • Dark Night in Big Rock - cover

    Dark Night in Big Rock

    William W. Johnstone, J. A....

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Johnstone Country. Guns and Money. And Sometimes, Lawyers.The long-awaited return of Smoke Jensen's son ignites a powder keg of problems for the town of Big Rock, Colorado. This time, it's personal—and definitely fatal . . .DARK NIGHT IN BIG ROCKSmoke Jensen is mighty proud of his son Louis for finishing law school. But he can't help being a little disappointed that Louis isn't returning to the Sugarloaf Ranch. Instead, he's setting up his own law practice in nearby Big Rock—a career choice that turns out to be every bit as dangerous as fending off cattle rustlers. The boy's first case lands him smack in the middle of a heated dispute between two riled-up ranchers over water rights. If Louis can't settle them down, the whole thing could blow up into a bloody range war. Then a scheming con man shows up in town to stir up trouble—and ends up dead. Now Louis has to defend his sister's boyfriend on murder charges. What's worse, the real killer is still out there. And he's ready to slaughter again . . .Smoke Jensen's son may be a lawyer now. But if there's one thing he learned from his daddy, it's that in places like Big Rock, men live and die by one law alone: the law of the gun . . .
    Show book
  • The Mapmaker's Daughter - A Novel - cover

    The Mapmaker's Daughter - A Novel

    Katherine Nouri Hughes

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A novel of the Venetian girl who became the most powerful woman in the Ottoman Empire—perfect for fans of Netflix’s Magnificent Century.   The Ottoman Empire was at the height of its power during the sixteenth century when Cecilia Baffo Veniero was kidnapped from her Venetian birthplace and chosen to be the wife of Selim II, successor to Sultan Suleiman the Magnificent. She would be known as Nurbanu.  The Mapmaker’s Daughter vividly imagines the confession of Nurbanu as she lies on her sickbed narrating the spectacular story of her rise to the pinnacle of imperial power, determined to understand how her extraordinary destiny was shaped. With unflinching candor, Nurbanu reviews the desires and motives that have both propelled and harmed her, as she considers her role as a devoted yet manipulative mother, helping to orchestrate her son’s succession to the throne. Serving as the appointed enforcer of one of the empire’s most crucial and shocking laws, Nurbanu confronts the consequences of her loves and her choices—right up to one last shattering revelation.
    Show book
  • The Loyalists - cover

    The Loyalists

    Vivian Stuart

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The twenty-second book in the dramatic and intriguing story about the colonisation of Australia: a country made of blood, passion, and dreams.
     
    Australia is back to fighting with the British against the Boers in South Africa.
     
    Sloan Shannon are amongst those fighting against the Boers. He is wounded and captured, but finds himself saved by a Boar nurse. Suddenly, he must flee with her to her people – those people that he thought was his enemies.
    Show book