Turn 2021 into a year of reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Life in a Fishbowl - cover

Life in a Fishbowl

Len Vlahos

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens

  • 0
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

Fifteen-year-old Jackie Stone's father is dying. 
 
When Jackie discovers that her father has been diagnosed with a terminal brain tumor, her whole world starts to crumble. She can't imagine how she'll live without him . . .  
 
Then, in a desperate act to secure his family's future, Jackie's father does the unthinkable--he puts his life up for auction on eBay. Jackie can do nothing but watch and wait as an odd assortment of bidders, some with nefarious intentions, drive the price up higher. The fate of her entire family hangs in the balance. 
 
But no one can predict how the auction will finally end, or any of the very public fallout that ensues. Life as Jackie knows it is about to change forever . . . 
 
In this brilliantly written tragicomedy told through multiple points of view--including Jackie's dad's tumor--acclaimed author Len Vlahos deftly explores what it really means to live. 
 
"A weird, sardonic delight with the shape of an allegory and the heart of a joyful song." 
--Brenna Yovanoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Replacement 
 
"Surprising, original, political, and deeply affecting . . . It is one of those rare works of art that keeps you guessing up to the very last page." 
--Leila Sales, author of This Song Will Save Your Life 
 
"It will tear you apart, and yet it's an absolute joy." 
--Adi Alsaid, author of Let's Get Lost and Never, Always, Sometimes

Other books that might interest you

  • Roxbury Park Dog Club #4: All Paws on Deck - cover

    Roxbury Park Dog Club #4: All...

    Daphne Maple

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    What’s better than being best friends? Being best friends who volunteer together at the Roxbury Park Dog Shelter! With a focus on friendship, family, and cute canines, Roxbury Park Dog Club is perfect for tween readers who snap up books from series like Cupcake Diaries and Candy Apple, or for anyone who loves dogs. 
    In this fourth book, Kim has to face the fact that while understanding dogs is easy, keeping up in class can be hard. Her parents are talking about sending her to a different school if she doesn’t improve her grades—which would mean leaving the Dog Club! To get through this crisis, Kim will need a helping hand (or paw) from all her friends.
    Show book
  • A Curse So Dark and Lonely - cover

    A Curse So Dark and Lonely

    Brigid Kemmerer

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    A New York Times bestseller! 
    "Has everything you'd want in a retelling of a classic fairy tale." - Jodi Picoult 
     
    In a lush, contemporary fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast,  Brigid Kemmerer gives readers another compulsively readable romance  perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer. 
     
    Fall in love, break the curse. 
     
    It once seemed so easy to Prince Rhen, the heir to Emberfall. Cursed by a powerful enchantress to repeat the autumn of his eighteenth year over and over, he knew he could be saved if a girl fell for him. But that was before he learned that at the end of each autumn, he would turn into a vicious beast hell-bent on destruction. That was before he destroyed his castle, his family, and every last shred of hope. 
     
    Nothing has ever been easy for Harper. With her father long gone, her mother dying, and her brother barely holding their family together while constantly underestimating her because of her cerebral palsy, she learned to be tough enough to survive. But when she tries to save someone else on the streets of Washington, DC, she's instead somehow sucked into Rhen's cursed world. 
     
    Break the curse, save the kingdom. 
     
    A prince? A monster? A curse? Harper doesn't know where she is or what to believe. But as she spends time with Rhen in this enchanted land, she begins to understand what's at stake. And as Rhen realizes Harper is not just another girl to charm, his hope comes flooding back. But powerful forces are standing against Emberfall . . . and it will take more than a broken curse to save Harper, Rhen, and his people from utter ruin.
    Show book
  • Wild and Crooked - cover

    Wild and Crooked

    Leah Thomas

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Critically-acclaimed author Leah Thomas blends a small-town setting with the secrets of a long-ago crime, in a compelling novel about breaking free from the past. 
     
    In Samsboro, Kentucky, Kalyn Spence's name is inseparable from the brutal murder her father committed when he was a teenager. Forced to return to town, Kalyn must attend school under a pseudonym . . . or face the lingering anger of Samsboro's citizens, who refuse to forget the crime. 
      
     Gus Peake has never had the luxury of redefining himself. A Samsboro native, he's either known as the "disabled kid" because of his cerebral palsy, or as the kid whose dad was murdered. Gus just wants to be known as himself. 
      
     When Gus meets Kalyn, her frankness is refreshing, and they form a deep friendship. Until their families' pasts emerge. And when the accepted version of the truth is questioned, Kalyn and Gus are caught in the center of a national uproar. Can they break free from a legacy of inherited lies and chart their own paths forward?
    Show book
  • A Court of Wings and Ruin - cover

    A Court of Wings and Ruin

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 10
    • 32
    • 0
    The epic third novel in the #1 New York Times bestselling Court of Thorns and Roses series by Sarah J. Maas. 
     
    Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin's actions and learn what she can about the invading king threatening to bring her land to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit. One slip could bring doom not only for Feyre, but for everything-and everyone-she holds dear. 
     
    As war bears down upon them all, Feyre endeavors to take her place amongst the High Fae of the land, balancing her struggle to master her powers-both magical and political-and her love for her court and family. Amidst these struggles, Feyre and Rhysand must decide whom to trust amongst the cunning and lethal High Lords, and hunt for allies in unexpected places.  
     
    In this thrilling third book in the #1 New York Times bestselling series from Sarah J. Maas, the fate of Feyre's world is at stake as armies grapple for power over the one thing that could destroy it.
    Show book
  • The School for Good and Evil #4: Quests for Glory - cover

    The School for Good and Evil #4:...

    Soman Chainani

    • 3
    • 39
    • 0
    Soon to be a major motion picture from Netflix! 
    With every end comes a new beginning in the fourth installment of Soman Chainani’s New York Times bestselling School for Good and Evil series, Quests for Glory. 
     
    If Good and Evil can’t find a way to work together, neither side will survive... 
    Join Sophie, Agatha, Tedros, and the other students as they begin a new era in the Endless Woods—The Camelot Years—where Evers and Nevers alike must move beyond the bounds of school and into the biggest, boldest adventures of their lives.  
    The students at the School for Good and Evil thought they had found their final Ever After when they vanquished the malevolent School Master. Now, on their required fourth-year quests, the students face obstacles both dangerous and unpredictable, and the stakes are high: success brings eternal adoration, and failure means obscurity forever. 
    For their quests, Agatha and Tedros are trying to return Camelot to its former splendor as queen and king. For her quest, Dean Sophie seeks to mold Evil in her own image. But soon they all feel themselves growing more isolated and alone. 
    When their classmates’ quests plunge into chaos, however, someone must lead the charge to save them... 
    Don't miss the thrilling conclusion to the beloved series, The School for Good and Evil #6: One True King, available June 2020!
    Show book
  • Finding Orion - cover

    Finding Orion

    John David Anderson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The acclaimed author of Ms. Bixby’s Last Day and Posted returns with an unforgettable tale of love and laughter, of fathers and sons, of what family truly means, and of the ways in which we sometimes need to lose something in order to find ourselves. Celebrate dads and Father's Day year-round with this warm and witty novel for tweens. 
    Rion Kwirk comes from a rather odd family. His mother named him and his sisters after her favorite constellations, and his father makes funky-flavored jellybeans for a living. One sister acts as if she’s always on stage, and the other is a walking dictionary. But no one in the family is more odd than Rion’s grandfather, Papa Kwirk. 
     
    He’s the kind of guy who shows up on his motorcycle only on holidays handing out crossbows and stuffed squirrels as presents. Rion has always been fascinated by Papa Kwirk, especially as his son—Rion’s father—is the complete opposite. Where Dad is predictable, nerdy, and reassuringly boring, Papa Kwirk is mysterious, dangerous, and cool. 
    Which is why, when Rion and his family learn of Papa Kwirk’s death and pile into the car to attend his funeral and pay their respects, Rion can’t help but feel that that’s not the end of his story. That there’s so much more to Papa Kwirk to discover. 
    He doesn’t know how right he is.
    Show book