Reading without limits, the perfect plan for #stayhome
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
A Series of Unfortunate Events #6: The Ersatz Elevator - cover

A Series of Unfortunate Events #6: The Ersatz Elevator

Lemony Snicket

Publisher: HarperCollins

  • 6
  • 93
  • 0

Summary

NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES 
In their most daring misadventure, the Baudelaire orphans are adopted by very, very rich people, whose penthouse apartment is located mysteriously close to the place where all their misfortune began. Even though their new home in the city is fancy, and the children are clever and charming, I'm sorry to say that still, the unlucky orphans will encounter more disaster and woe. 
In fact, in this sixth book in A Series of Unfortunate Events, the children will experience a darkened staircase, a red herring, an auction, parsley soda, some friends in a dire situation, a secret passageway, and pinstripe suits. 
Both literary and irreverent, hilarious and deftly crafted, A Series of Unfortunate Events offers an exquisitely dark comedy in the tradition of Edward Gorey and Roald Dahl. Lemon Snicket's uproariously unhappy books continue to win readers, despite all his warnings.

Other books that might interest you

  • The One - cover

    The One

    Kiera Cass

    • 11
    • 69
    • 0
    The captivating third book in Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series 
    America Singer searches for her happily ever after in this swoon-worthy YA dystopian romance, perfect for readers who loved Veronica Roth’s Divergent, Lauren Oliver’s Delirium, or Renée Ahdieh’s The Wrath & the Dawn. 
    Entering the Selection changed America Singer's life in ways she never could have imagined. Since she arrived at the palace, America has struggled with her feelings for her first love, Aspen—and her growing attraction to Prince Maxon. Now she's made her choice . . . and she's prepared to fight for the future she wants. 
     
    Show book
  • Body Swap - cover

    Body Swap

    Sylvia McNicoll

    • 2
    • 15
    • 0
    A darkly comic YA story, where the generation gap challenges the two protagonists, told with morbid humour
    Focuses on empathy between two very different characters forced to trade lives
    A strong theme of corporate responsibility and justice
    Author has written over thirty novels, including Silver Birch Award–winner Bringing Up Beauty
    Author's recent children's title The Best Mistake Mystery sold over 3,200 copies in the US and Canada
    Show book
  • The Thief - cover

    The Thief

    Megan Whalen Turner

    • 2
    • 25
    • 0
    Discover the world of the Queen’s Thief 
    New York Times-bestselling author Megan Whalen Turner’s entrancing and award-winning Queen’s Thief novels bring to life the world of the epics and feature one of the most charismatic and incorrigible characters of fiction, Eugenides the thief. Megan Whalen Turner’s Queen’s Thief novels are rich with political machinations and intrigue, battles lost and won, dangerous journeys, divine intervention, power, passion, revenge, and deception. Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Marie Lu, Patrick Rothfuss, and George R. R. Martin. 
    Eugenides, the queen’s thief, can steal anything—or so he says. When his boasting lands him in prison and the king’s magus invites him on a quest to steal a legendary object, he’s in no position to refuse. The magus thinks he has the right tool for the job, but Gen has plans of his own. The Queen’s Thief novels have been praised by writers, critics, reviewers, and fans, and have been honored with glowing reviews, “best of” citations, and numerous awards, including the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, a Newbery Honor, the Andre Norton Award shortlist, and the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award. Discover and rediscover the stand-alone companions, The Queen of Attolia, The King of Attolia, and A Conspiracy of Kings, all epic novels set in the world of the Queen’s Thief. 
    This edition of The Thief includes an exclusive piece by Megan Whalen Turner about her inspiration for the setting of the story, an introduction to the characters from the world of the Queen's Thief, and a map of the world of the Queen's Thief.   
    A Newbery Honor Book 
    An ALA Notable Book 
    A YALSA Best Book for Young Adults 
    A Horn Book Fanfare Book 
    A New York Public Library Book for the Teen Age 
    A Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books Blue Ribbon Book 
    A Junior Library Guild Selection 
    “The Queen’s Thief books awe and inspire me. They have the feel of a secret, discovered history of real but forgotten lands. The plot-craft is peerless, the revelations stunning, and the characters flawed, cunning, heartbreaking, exceptional. Megan Whalen Turner’s books have a permanent spot on my favorites shelf, with space waiting for more books to come.”—Laini Taylor, New York Times-bestselling author of the Daughter of Smoke and Bone novels and Strange the Dreamer 
    "Unforgettable characters, plot twists that will make your head spin, a world rendered in elegant detail—you will fall in love with every page of these stories. Megan Whalen Turner writes vivid, immersive, heartbreaking fantasy that will leave you desperate to return to Attolia again and again.”—Leigh Bardugo, New York Times-bestselling author of the The Grisha Trilogy and Six of Crows 
    “Trust me. Just read it. Then read it again, because it will not be the same river twice.”—Lois McMaster Bujold, acclaimed and Hugo Award-winning author of the Vorkosigan Saga, the Chalion Series, and the Sharing Knife series 
    "In addition to its charismatic hero, this story possesses one of the most valuable treasures of all—a twinkling jewel of a surprise ending." —Publishers Weekly (starred review) 
    “To miss this thief’s story would be a crime.”—Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books (starred review) 
    “A literary journey that enriches both its characters and readers before it is over.”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review) 
    “A tantalizing, suspenseful, exceptionally clever novel.”—The Horn Book (starred review)
    Show book
  • Big Nate: Silent But Deadly - cover

    Big Nate: Silent But Deadly

    Lincoln Peirce

    • 8
    • 215
    • 0
    NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR!Everyone’s favorite sixth grader is back for more misadventures, and Big Nate: Silent But Deadly smells like a winner! Whether he’s showing the ropes to a detention rookie, campaigning for the Student of the Month Award, or writing hilarious movie reviews for The Weekly Bugle, Nate Wright never fails to make his mark at P.S. 38. But middle school’s no bed of roses. In fact, sometimes it just plain stinks. Just ask the Great Nose-ini! Nate’s alter ego with a sense for scents can smell trouble a mile away . . . or at the very next desk. Was that you, Gina?Join Nate and the gang for nonstop laughs in this latest collection of Big Nate comics! 
    Show book
  • Fairy Lies - cover

    Fairy Lies

    E.D. Baker

    • 0
    • 8
    • 0
    In this funny and romantic sequel to WINGS, the half-human half-fairy princess Tamisin is kidnapped by Oberon, the king of the fairies. Forced to leave her boyfriend, Jak, behind in the human world, Tamisin feels completely lost. In the land of the fey, Oberon tells her that her mother, Titania had been lying when she'd said Tamisin was half fairy, half human. Who is telling the truth? And how can she get home again? Oberon doesn't have much time to explain. And Dasras, the odd blue boy who's meant to look after her, doesn't have the answers either. Tamisin must rely on her own sense of right and wrong, of truth and lies, and most importantly, of friendship and love, to sort out who she really is.
    Show book
  • A Court of Wings and Ruin - cover

    A Court of Wings and Ruin

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 8
    • 21
    • 0
    Looming war threatens all Feyre holds dear in the third volume of the #1 New York Times bestselling A Court of Thorns and Roses series. 
     
    Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin's maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit-and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well. 
     
    As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords-and hunt for allies in unexpected places.  
     
    In this thrilling third book in the #1 New York Times bestselling series from Sarah J. Maas, the earth will be painted red as mighty armies grapple for power over the one thing that could destroy them all.
    Show book