Instant satisfaction for your thirst for knowledge!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
A Series of Unfortunate Events #6: The Ersatz Elevator - cover

A Series of Unfortunate Events #6: The Ersatz Elevator

Lemony Snicket

Publisher: HarperCollins

  • 6
  • 84
  • 0

Summary

NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES 
In their most daring misadventure, the Baudelaire orphans are adopted by very, very rich people, whose penthouse apartment is located mysteriously close to the place where all their misfortune began. Even though their new home in the city is fancy, and the children are clever and charming, I'm sorry to say that still, the unlucky orphans will encounter more disaster and woe. 
In fact, in this sixth book in A Series of Unfortunate Events, the children will experience a darkened staircase, a red herring, an auction, parsley soda, some friends in a dire situation, a secret passageway, and pinstripe suits. 
Both literary and irreverent, hilarious and deftly crafted, A Series of Unfortunate Events offers an exquisitely dark comedy in the tradition of Edward Gorey and Roald Dahl. Lemon Snicket's uproariously unhappy books continue to win readers, despite all his warnings.

Other books that might interest you

  • Baby Bear - cover

    Baby Bear

    Yu-hsuan Huang

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Meet Baby Bear! What does Baby Bear eat when he's hungry? Where does he curl up to go to sleep? Follow along with this cute baby animal as it experiences its world, from playtime to bedtime. Warm illustrations plus a comforting story about the rhythms of a baby bear's day make this perfect for the very youngest readers.
    Show book
  • Busy Bunny Days - In the Town On the Farm & At the Port - cover

    Busy Bunny Days - In the Town On...

    Britta Teckentrup

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Join the Bunny Family for a busy day in their home town, on a fun-filled farm adventure, and at the port for an exciting outing in this seek-and-find book where there is always something to discover. From the time they wake up until the time they go to sleep, there is so much to see and do. Don't forget to keep an eye out for that pesky Benny Badger—he is always up to no good! With a fresh and adorable illustration style, and so many details on every page, this picture book begs to be read again and again.
    Show book
  • Warriors #5: A Dangerous Path - cover

    Warriors #5: A Dangerous Path

    Erin Hunter

    • 0
    • 8
    • 0
    The fifth book in Erin Hunter’s #1 nationally bestselling Warriors series 
    Join the legion of fans who have made Erin Hunter’s Warriors series a bestselling phenomenon. More thrilling adventures, epic action, and fierce warrior cats await in Warriors #5: A Dangerous Path. 
    ShadowClan has chosen Tigerclaw as their new leader, and Fireheart fears that this old enemy still harbors dark plans for vengeance on his former Clan. A mysterious threat has invaded the forest, placing every cat’s life in peril. And ThunderClan’s beloved leader has turned her back on their warrior ancestors. Fireheart can’t help but wonder if she’s right—has StarClan abandoned them forever?
    Show book
  • City of Shadows - A London Fae Novel - cover

    City of Shadows - A London Fae...

    Pippa DaCosta

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Alina knows she is not real – the fae queen spun an evil web to create her – but she wants more than to spend her days feeding off humans' energy to survive. She isn't content to lose herself in the dangerously attractive Reign. She wants a life of her own making.  
      
     Desperate to help the man who saved her life, Alina vows to find his missing sister. Alina is convinced that the general of the Fae Authority plays a part in her disappearance. She infiltrates the organisation and gets close to their strongest fighter. But while Samuel's tormented soul and masterful touch stirs in Alina a feeling of being human again, her loyalty to Reign makes her Samuel's enemy. Who should she trust?  
      
     This New Adult urban fantasy is packed with action and suspense and will have you yearning for more forbidden fae romance.
    Show book
  • The Magician's Nephew - cover

    The Magician's Nephew

    C. S. Lewis

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Don’t miss one of America’s top 100 most-loved novels, selected by PBS’s The Great American Read.  
    Narnia . . . a land frozen in eternal winter . . . a country waiting to be set free 
    Witness the creation of a magical land in The Magician's Nephew, the first title in C. S. Lewis's classic fantasy series, which has captivated readers of all ages for over sixty years  
    On a daring quest to save a life, two friends are hurled into another world, where an evil sorceress seeks to enslave them. But then the lion Aslan's song weaves itself into the fabric of a new land, a land that will be known as Narnia. And in Narnia, all things are possible. 
    This ebook contains the complete text and art. Illustrations in this ebook appear in vibrant full color on a full-color ebook device and in rich black-and-white on all other devices. 
    This is a stand-alone novel, but if you want to journey back to Narnia, read The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, the second book in The Chronicles of Narnia.
    Show book
  • Warriors #4: Rising Storm - cover

    Warriors #4: Rising Storm

    Erin Hunter

    • 4
    • 65
    • 0
    The fourth book in Erin Hunter’s #1 nationally bestselling Warriors series 
    Join the legion of fans who have made Erin Hunter’s Warriors series a bestselling phenomenon. More thrilling adventures, epic action, and fierce warrior cats await in Warriors #4: Rising Storm. 
    Fireheart’s traitorous enemy Tigerclaw has been vanquished and exiled from ThunderClan—but Fireheart can’t shake the feeling that he is lurking in the forest, waiting for a chance to strike. 
    In the heat of a blazing summer, Fireheart struggles to handle sinister omens, an apprentice with a shocking secret, and a devastated Clan leader who is a shell of her former self. And as the forest gets hotter and hotter, every cat braces for the coming storm….
    Show book