What's better than reading? Reading withour limits :D
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
A Series of Unfortunate Events #6: The Ersatz Elevator - cover

A Series of Unfortunate Events #6: The Ersatz Elevator

Lemony Snicket

Publisher: HarperCollins

  • 6
  • 85
  • 0

Summary

NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES 
In their most daring misadventure, the Baudelaire orphans are adopted by very, very rich people, whose penthouse apartment is located mysteriously close to the place where all their misfortune began. Even though their new home in the city is fancy, and the children are clever and charming, I'm sorry to say that still, the unlucky orphans will encounter more disaster and woe. 
In fact, in this sixth book in A Series of Unfortunate Events, the children will experience a darkened staircase, a red herring, an auction, parsley soda, some friends in a dire situation, a secret passageway, and pinstripe suits. 
Both literary and irreverent, hilarious and deftly crafted, A Series of Unfortunate Events offers an exquisitely dark comedy in the tradition of Edward Gorey and Roald Dahl. Lemon Snicket's uproariously unhappy books continue to win readers, despite all his warnings.

Other books that might interest you

  • It’s Raining Cats! It’s Raining Dogs! It’s Raining Bats! And Pollywogs! - cover

    It’s Raining Cats! It’s Raining...

    Sherry West

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Provides illustrated fictional poetry
    Created by an experienced educator for her own children as a fun, enjoyable, captivating method for acquiring English language skills
    Use of bright color palette is proven to engage and captivate young and elementary readers
    Hilarious, creative, fun illustrations capture and hold child’s interest
    Promotes parent-child interacting and bonding through highly enjoyable reading time
    Easily and effortlessly teaches children reading vocabulary and grammar acquisition through hilarious rhyming text and ridiculous animal illustrations 
    Silly animal illustrations and “musical” rhyming text engages very young pre-reading children, as well as older children
    Excellent, enjoyable teaching tool for educators and librarians to teach language acquisition to elementary-age children as well as English as a Second Language speakers
    Easy to memorize for children since they can easily figure out and learn vocabulary, spelling, grammar in text due to effortless memorization and internalization of musically rhythmic rhyming text
    Show book
  • Be the Star You Are! for Teens - Simple Gifts for Living Loving Laughing Learning and Leading - cover

    Be the Star You Are! for Teens -...

    Cynthia Brian

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    It's tough being a teen in the 21st century. With so many restrictions, requirements, and reality television obsessed with cultural messages focused on fame, fortune, beauty, and sex, it's no wonder teens feel helpless, hopeless, and stressed out. Well, you are in luck because help is here! Be the Star You Are! for TEENS is a refreshing escape from sermons and rules. Instead you'll read real life stories with real issue tools. Each easy to read short chapter is jam packed with simple strategies that you can implement immediately to survive and thrive. Written by teens, for teens, and about teens, Be the Star You Are! for TEENS encourages you to embrace your individuality, find your passion, and ignite the flame that burns brightly within.
    Show book
  • The Eighth Day - cover

    The Eighth Day

    Dianne K. Salerni

    • 0
    • 75
    • 0
    Fans of Percy Jackson will devour this first book in Dianne K. Salerni's time-bending series that combines exciting magic and pulse-pounding suspense. In this riveting fantasy adventure, thirteen-year-old Jax Aubrey discovers a secret eighth day with roots tracing back to Arthurian legend.  
    When Jax wakes up to a world without any people in it, he assumes it's the zombie apocalypse. But when he runs into his eighteen-year-old guardian, Riley Pendare, he learns that he's really in the eighth day—an extra day sandwiched between Wednesday and Thursday. Some people—like Jax and Riley—are Transitioners, able to live in all eight days, while others, including Evangeline, the elusive teenage girl who's been hiding in the house next door, exist only on this special day.  
    And there's a reason Evangeline's hiding. She is a descendant of the powerful wizard Merlin, and there is a group of people who wish to use her in order to destroy the normal seven-day world and all who live in it. Torn between protecting his new friend and saving the entire human race from complete destruction, Jax is faced with an impossible choice. Even with an eighth day, time is running out.  
    Stay tuned for The Inquisitor's Mark, the spellbinding second novel in the Eighth Day series!
    Show book
  • The Ultimate Girls' Body Book - Not-So-Silly Questions About Your Body - cover

    The Ultimate Girls' Body Book -...

    MD Larimore, MD Wohlever

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Because Growing Up Shouldn’t Be a Mystery 
    Girls’ bodies do the craziest things! They can kick soccer balls and spin perfect pirouettes, or they can trip up the stairs and break out in zits. As you grow and your body goes through some pretty wild changes, you might be wondering things like: Why don’t I look like her? I have to use that? Is this normal? And, Why is this happening to me? 
    The Ultimate Body Book for Girls answers all those awkward questions you’d rather not ask your mom—at least out loud. Mixing fun with great advice, you’ll learn about bras, boys, periods, pimples, and so much more. Most importantly, you’ll learn that God made you exactly the way he wants you—no matter how weird growing up can be.
    Show book
  • Warriors: The Ultimate Guide - cover

    Warriors: The Ultimate Guide

    Erin Hunter

    • 1
    • 12
    • 0
    The ultimate companion to Erin Hunter’s #1 bestselling Warriors series 
    Full of never-before-seen stories, full-color artwork, and captivating details about the warrior Cat clans, Warriors: The Ultimate Guide is a must-have addition to any Warriors collection. This gorgeous digital edition includes:Full-color illustrations and in-depth biographies of important characters from the series, including all the content from Warriors: Cats of the ClansNever-before-seen art and detailed backstories for forty more catsMaps of each territory featured in the Warriors novelsAn in-depth look at each of the five warrior Clans 
    This field guide is a fantastic introduction to the Warriors world for new readers, and an indispensable resource for longtime fans. 
     
    Show book
  • Howl's Moving Castle - cover

    Howl's Moving Castle

    Diana Wynne Jones

    • 10
    • 207
    • 0
    Sophie has the great misfortune of being the eldest of three daughters, destined to fail miserably should she ever leave home to seek her fate. But when she unwittingly attracts the ire of the Witch of the Waste, Sophie finds herself under a horrid spell that transforms her into an old lady. Her only chance at breaking it lies in the ever-moving castle in the hills: the Wizard Howl's castle. To untangle the enchantment, Sophie must handle the heartless Howl, strike a bargain with a fire demon, and meet the Witch of the Waste head-on. Along the way, she discovers that there's far more to Howl—and herself—than first meets the eye.
    Show book