Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
A Series of Unfortunate Events #6: The Ersatz Elevator - cover

A Series of Unfortunate Events #6: The Ersatz Elevator

Lemony Snicket

Publisher: HarperCollins

  • 1
  • 19
  • 0

Summary

NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES 
In their most daring misadventure, the Baudelaire orphans are adopted by very, very rich people, whose penthouse apartment is located mysteriously close to the place where all their misfortune began. Even though their new home in the city is fancy, and the children are clever and charming, I'm sorry to say that still, the unlucky orphans will encounter more disaster and woe. In fact, in this sixth book in A Series of Unfortunate Events, the children will experience a darkened staircase, a red herring, an auction, parsley soda, some friends in a dire situation, a secret passageway, and pinstripe suits. 
Both literary and irreverent, hilarious and deftly crafted, A Series of Unfortunate Events offers an exquisitely dark comedy in the tradition of Edward Gorey and Roald Dahl. Lemon Snicket's uproariously unhappy books continue to win readers, despite all his warnings.

Who read this book also read:

  • The Awakening - The Legend of Oescienne #3 - cover

    The Awakening - The Legend of...

    Jenna Elizabeth Johnson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Growing up is never easy, but for Jahrra, seventeen years has brought its own unique share of hardships. She’s made both friends and enemies; has felt both joy and sorrow. Yet she has persevered through it all and has finally learned to know and accept who she is. Unfortunately, her trials and tribulations are only just beginning . . .  
     
    An inconceivable tragedy and the revelation of a secret kept from her since birth has turned her perfect world on its end. Jahrra isn’t the poor Nesnan she thought she was, but human, one promised by Ethöes in a prophecy from long ago. Now, without her guardian, she must accept the help of the one she mistrusts the most as they flee Oescienne before the Tyrant’s minions have a chance to close in.  
     
    With her enemies at her heels and the terrifying truth looming before her, Jahrra will seek shelter with the dragon Raejaaxorix in the faraway city of Lidien, a place of hope and enlightenment. But when the City of Light proves to entertain its own dangers, Jahrra and Jaax find their safety threatened once again. But this time the threat may be coming from those they trust the most . . .
    Show book
  • The Case of the Hooking Bull - cover

    The Case of the Hooking Bull

    John R. Erickson, Gerald L. Holmes

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Against her better judgment, Sally May leaves the ranch in Slim’s care. While Slim naps, Hank and Little Alfred subject strawberry ice cream to rigorous product testing and then go for a ride in a mysterious spaceship. But, it’s when Slim finally awakens that their adventures really begin. Hank saves Slim from sure death, endures a terrible whipping from the Hooking Bull, and much, much more.
    Show book
  • For the Right to Learn - Malala Yousafzai's Story - cover

    For the Right to Learn - Malala...

    Rebecca Langston-George

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    She grew up in a world where women were supposed to be quiet. But Malala Yousafzai refused to be silent.Discover Malala's story through this powerful narrative telling, and come to see how one brave girl named Malala changed the world.
    Show book
  • Survivors #4: The Broken Path - cover

    Survivors #4: The Broken Path

    Erin Hunter

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From Erin Hunter, #1 nationally bestselling author of the Warriors series, comes the fourth book in the action-packed Survivors animal fantasy series. Full of “wild and wonderful adventure” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review), Survivors will thrill fans of Spirit Animals and Wings of Fire. 
    Lucky and Alpha have reached a shaky truce, but tensions within the newly united Pack are still running high. As the dogs search for a home far away from the Fierce Dog camp, they discover that no territory is truly safe—and encounter a terrifying new Pack.
    Show book
  • Survivors #1: The Empty City - cover

    Survivors #1: The Empty City

    Erin Hunter

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    From the #1 nationally bestselling author of Warriors comes an action-packed animal fantasy series that shows readers the world through the eyes of dogs. Survivors is full of “wild and wonderful adventure” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review) that will thrill fans of Spirit Animals and Wings of Fire. 
    The Empty City begins with the Big Growl, a devastating earthquake that changes Lucky's world forever. Lucky has always been a Lone Dog, but now he needs a Pack in order to stay alive, so he teams up with a group of Leashed Dogs who have been separated from their owners. 
    Lucky's vivid point of view and the pulse-pounding action make for the start of an addictive series. The time has come for dogs to rule the wild! 
    Correlates to the Common Core State Standards in English Language Arts
    Show book
  • The Haunting of Bellamy 4 - cover

    The Haunting of Bellamy 4

    Monica Dickens

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    It is October but, despite cold and rainy weather, life at the Wood Briar Hotel is busy. With school being in full swing and her weekends occupied by helping her parents at the guesthouse, Rose has her hands full. Things get even busier and Rose's life more exciting when a touring theatre group visits the area and decides to stay at the Wood Briar. Rose becomes friends with fascinating actors and dancers and for some time she forgets about the Great Gray Horse and his world. 
      
    But Favour, the splendid ancient horse, summons her again for a new and enthralling mission. Rose must gather all the clues and find out what happened in the mysterious Room 4 of the Bellamy Hospital in order to protect the innocent patients from the spell of the happenings of the past.  
     
    Will Rose be able to solve the terrible mystery? Will she escape the dangers that await her in the magical world? Will her double life go unnoticed at school? 
      
    In The Haunting of Bellamy 4, third part of The Messenger series, Rose's adventures in both magical and everyday world become even more captivating as she learns to overcome some of her fears.
    Show book