Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
A Series of Unfortunate Events #3: The Wide Window - cover

A Series of Unfortunate Events #3: The Wide Window

Lemony Snicket

Publisher: HarperCollins

  • 4
  • 41
  • 0

Summary

NOWA NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES 
Dear Reader, 
If you have not read anything about the Baudelaire orphans, then before you read even one more sentence, you should know this: Violet, Klaus, and Sunny are kindhearted and quick-witted, but their lives, I am sorry to say, are filled with bad luck and misery. All of the stories about these three children are unhappy and wretched, and this one may be the worst of them all.If you haven't got the stomach for a story that includes a hurricane, a signalling device, hungry leeches, cold cucumber soup, a horrible villain, and a doll named Pretty Penny, then this book will probably fill you with despair.I will continue to record these tragic tales, for that is what I do. You, however, should decide for yourself whether you can possibly endure this miserable story. 
With all due respect, 
Lemony Snicket

Who read this book also read:

  • The Awakening - The Legend of Oescienne #3 - cover

    The Awakening - The Legend of...

    Jenna Elizabeth Johnson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Growing up is never easy, but for Jahrra, seventeen years has brought its own unique share of hardships. She’s made both friends and enemies; has felt both joy and sorrow. Yet she has persevered through it all and has finally learned to know and accept who she is. Unfortunately, her trials and tribulations are only just beginning . . .  
     
    An inconceivable tragedy and the revelation of a secret kept from her since birth has turned her perfect world on its end. Jahrra isn’t the poor Nesnan she thought she was, but human, one promised by Ethöes in a prophecy from long ago. Now, without her guardian, she must accept the help of the one she mistrusts the most as they flee Oescienne before the Tyrant’s minions have a chance to close in.  
     
    With her enemies at her heels and the terrifying truth looming before her, Jahrra will seek shelter with the dragon Raejaaxorix in the faraway city of Lidien, a place of hope and enlightenment. But when the City of Light proves to entertain its own dangers, Jahrra and Jaax find their safety threatened once again. But this time the threat may be coming from those they trust the most . . .
    Show book
  • Survivors #1: The Empty City - cover

    Survivors #1: The Empty City

    Erin Hunter

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    From the #1 nationally bestselling author of Warriors comes an action-packed animal fantasy series that shows readers the world through the eyes of dogs. Survivors is full of “wild and wonderful adventure” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review) that will thrill fans of Spirit Animals and Wings of Fire. 
    The Empty City begins with the Big Growl, a devastating earthquake that changes Lucky's world forever. Lucky has always been a Lone Dog, but now he needs a Pack in order to stay alive, so he teams up with a group of Leashed Dogs who have been separated from their owners. 
    Lucky's vivid point of view and the pulse-pounding action make for the start of an addictive series. The time has come for dogs to rule the wild! 
    Correlates to the Common Core State Standards in English Language Arts
    Show book
  • Survivors #4: The Broken Path - cover

    Survivors #4: The Broken Path

    Erin Hunter

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From Erin Hunter, #1 nationally bestselling author of the Warriors series, comes the fourth book in the action-packed Survivors animal fantasy series. Full of “wild and wonderful adventure” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review), Survivors will thrill fans of Spirit Animals and Wings of Fire. 
    Lucky and Alpha have reached a shaky truce, but tensions within the newly united Pack are still running high. As the dogs search for a home far away from the Fierce Dog camp, they discover that no territory is truly safe—and encounter a terrifying new Pack.
    Show book
  • Welcome to The Haven - The Monster Files #3 - cover

    Welcome to The Haven - The...

    Cate Dean

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The exciting conclusion of the action packed YA paranormal series! 
    Alex has recovered from her deadly battle with the woman who took Sam. Now she is helping run the underground haven, and learning to live with the inhuman residents. 
    When one of the residents is murdered, suspicion falls on Sam. And her greatest fear starts happening again – that she’ll lose him. This time for good. 
    As the body count goes up, Alex is determined to find the real killer, no matter what the cost. 
    For her, the cost may end up being her life. 
    *Includes an excerpt of Once Fallen, Book One of The Remarkable Life of Zach Wiche Continued, now available. 
    The Monster Files: 
    Book 1 - Alex Finch: Monster Hunter 
    Book 2 - Truth and Consequences 
    Book 3 - Welcome to The Haven 
    Book 3.5 - A Monster Files Wedding 
    The Monster Files Box Set (includes A Monster Files Wedding) 
     
    Connected books: 
     
    The Remarkable Life of Zach Wiche Continued: 
    Book One - Once Fallen 
    Book Two - Finding Grace 
     
    Zach joins Alex and her friends in Book 2 of The Monster Files - Truth and Consequences. Once Fallen takes place right after the events in Book 2. 
     
    The ideal reading sequence is: 
     
    Alex Finch: Monster Hunter 
    Truth and Consequences 
    Once Fallen 
    Welcome to The Haven 
    Finding Grace 
    A Monster Files Wedding 
     
    And if you can't get enough of Zach, he is introduced in Book 3 of The Claire Wiche Chronicles.
    Show book
  • A Series of Unfortunate Events #6: The Ersatz Elevator - cover

    A Series of Unfortunate Events...

    Lemony Snicket

    • 1
    • 19
    • 0
    NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES 
    In their most daring misadventure, the Baudelaire orphans are adopted by very, very rich people, whose penthouse apartment is located mysteriously close to the place where all their misfortune began. Even though their new home in the city is fancy, and the children are clever and charming, I'm sorry to say that still, the unlucky orphans will encounter more disaster and woe. In fact, in this sixth book in A Series of Unfortunate Events, the children will experience a darkened staircase, a red herring, an auction, parsley soda, some friends in a dire situation, a secret passageway, and pinstripe suits. 
    Both literary and irreverent, hilarious and deftly crafted, A Series of Unfortunate Events offers an exquisitely dark comedy in the tradition of Edward Gorey and Roald Dahl. Lemon Snicket's uproariously unhappy books continue to win readers, despite all his warnings.
    Show book
  • A Series of Unfortunate Events #9: The Carnivorous Carnival - cover

    A Series of Unfortunate Events...

    Lemony Snicket

    • 1
    • 10
    • 0
    NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES 
    Everybody loves a carnival! Who can fail to delight in the colourful people, the unworldly spectacle, the fabulous freaks? 
    A carnival is a place for good family fun—as long as one has a family, that is. For the Baudelaire orphans, their time at the carnival turns out to be yet another episode in a now unbearable series of unfortunate events. In fact, in this appalling ninth installment in Lemony Snicket's serial, the siblings must confront a terrible lie, a caravan, and Chabo the wolf baby. With millions of readers worldwide, and the Baudelaire's fate turning from unpleasant to unseemly, it is clear that Lemony Snicket has taken nearly all the fun out of children's books.
    Show book