Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The 12 Dares of Christmas - cover

The 12 Dares of Christmas

Leigh W. Stuart

Publisher: City Owl Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

“A cheerful, lighthearted romp…cleverly mixes in a seductive game of alternating dares that morphs into more than just a holiday hookup…[a] joyous tale.”—Publishers Weekly Lauren Hall has one wish for Christmas this year—raise money to build a new, no-kill animal shelter for the little Virginia town of Sycamore Cove. And she is prepared to do anything to make it happen. Even dare a man she just met to perform a strip tease for the local knitting society. Gabe Nicholson has one wish too—obtain the job of a lifetime to launch his career. But his wishes get snowballed when his best friend's little sister hands him a pair of stripper pants and a bottle of eggnog-flavored body oil. It’s all sugar plums and mistletoe until a scandal caused by Lauren’s fundraiser threatens to ruin everything. With Gabe's work opportunities disappearing before his eyes and Lauren's fundraising efforts tanking, their game of dares stands to burn them both. Unless it ignites a spark of Christmas magic…

Other books that might interest you

  • The Last Season - cover

    The Last Season

    Jenny Judson, Danielle Mahfood

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    A Zibby Owens for Katie Couric’s Katie’s Picks Fall Must Read
     
    Set in Victorian England, The Last Season is a story of social upheaval, changing fortunes, and an unlikely romance that develops between a well-to-do heiress and a stable boy.
     
    When they meet as adolescents at Drayton Manor, the well-to-do Cassandra Drayton and the manor's stable boy, Crispin St. John, seem destined for very different futures. Yet, the two strike up a secret and forbidden friendship. Once discovered, they are forced apart, with Cassandra staying locked in her father's world and Crispin traveling to India to make his own way.
     
    Years later, when Cassandra's high-society London lifestyle is shattered by her father's spectacular fall from grace, she is surprised to reunite with her childhood friend, no longer a penniless boy but an enterprising young man who has risen through the ranks of the Indian cotton trade. As they navigate changing circumstances, fickle friendships, and social upheaval, Cassandra and Crispin find that the bond they developed as children is a lasting one.
     
    Praise for The Last Season
     
    “Old school historical romance is not typically my genre, but this sweeping, expertly-written narrative by two friends from St. Paul’s boarding school who split ways to go to Harvard and Yale is like a smart dose of Downton Abbey. Set in Victorian England, this story about a wealthy young woman and the stable boy at her “manor” as their fortunes rise and fall over the years has all the saucy ingredients for an epic escapist read.” —Zibby Owens for Katie Couric’s Katie’s Picks
     
    “Judson and Mahfood immerse readers in British high society...blending Regency romance with Dickensian themes of reinvention, unrequited love, and unexpected benevolence...”—Booklist
     
    “If you love a juicy, Victorian-era story of forbidden love, then The Last Season by Jenny Judson and Danielle Mahfood deserves to be at the top of your TBR pile.” —PopSugar
    Show book
  • Courting Mr Emerson - cover

    Courting Mr Emerson

    Melody Carlson

    • 5
    • 29
    • 0
    When the fun-loving and spontaneous artist Willow West meets buttoned-up, retired English teacher George Emerson, it's not exactly love at first sight. Though she does find the obsessive-compulsive man intriguing. Making it her mission to get him to loosen up and embrace life, she embarks on what seems like a lost cause--and finds herself falling for him in the process.A confirmed bachelor, George vacillates between irritation and attraction whenever Willow is around--which to him seems like all too often. He's not interested in expanding his horizons or making new friends; it just hurts too much when you lose them.But as the summer progresses, George feels his defenses crumbling. The question is, will his change of heart be too late for Willow?With her signature heart and touches of humor, fan favorite Melody Carlson pens a story of two delightfully eccentric characters who get a second chance at life and love.
    Show book
  • No Greater Love - cover

    No Greater Love

    Katherine Kingsley

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A marriage of convenience turns passionate for an exiled heir and a beautiful seamstress in this charming regency romance in the Pascal trilogy.   Exiled to India by his uncle for his scandalous behavior, Nicholas Daventry of Ravenswalk is a devastatingly handsome man of dangerous passions. Now, Nicholas has returned to England to claim his birthright—and exact vengeance on those who have wronged him.   Young seamstress Georgia Wells has been warned to stay away from Lady Raven’s unpredictable nephew. Despite her mistress’s warnings, Georgia is inexplicably drawn to the man who will soon turn her life upside down.   Both know that their marriage is merely a convenience, but as Georgia gets to know the man behind the rumors, she begins to see in Nicholas the kind of man she could truly love . . .
    Show book
  • Trusting Grace (Virtues and Vices of the Old West Book #3) - A Novel - cover

    Trusting Grace (Virtues and...

    Maggie Brendan

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    All of her life, Grace Bidwell has longed for a loving husband and children, but now the chances of her dreams coming true are looking slim. Widowed and caring for her elderly father, she struggles to maintain her late husband's ranch, until she places an ad for a hired hand.Robert Frasier arrives in town with three pitiful, bedraggled children who have nothing but the tattered clothes on their backs and a load of hurt, pride, and anger. Believing this is divine intervention in her life, Grace welcomes them with open arms. As feelings grow between her and Robert, Grace will have to convince him that she is a woman who can be trusted with his heart.Readers will be swept away into 1860s Montana's lush Gallatin Valley, nestled among towering mountains and proud pines, in this emotional conclusion to the Virtues and Vices of the Old West series.
    Show book
  • The Endearing Young Charms Series - cover

    The Endearing Young Charms Series

    M. C. Beaton, Marion Chesney

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    New York Times–Bestselling Author: Seven lighthearted love stories in one volume from “the best of the Regency writers” (Kirkus Reviews). 
     
    Taking us from the English countryside to the social circles of London, the novels in this sparkling collection feature a botched marriage, a drugged bride, a witty governess, an unexpected inheritance, and many other delightful surprises from “a romance writer who deftly blends humor and adventure” (Booklist). 
     
    The Endearing Young Charms Series includes: Duke's Diamonds, The French Affair, Those Endearing Young Charms, To Dream of Love, A Marriage of Inconvenience, A Governess of Distinction and The Glitter and the Gold.
    Show book
  • Fortune Favors the Duke - cover

    Fortune Favors the Duke

    Kristin Vayden

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    For fans of Ella Quinn, Amelia Grey, and Bridgerton comes the first in a new historical romance series with all your favorite tropes:Friends to lovers romanceForbidden romanceReluctant dukesTight-knit family saga 
    The new Duke has a proper scandal brewing.
     
    Quinton Errington is perfectly happy teaching at Cambridge, with his elder brother carrying the duties of being the Duke of Wesley. But when a trip to celebrate Wesley's last week of bachelorhood ends in tragedy, Quinton, who becomes the Duke, would give anything to have his brother back.
     
    Wesley's would-be bride, Catherine Greatheart, is left heartbroken and alone. Her grandmother has fallen ill, and Catherine has nowhere left to turn but to the family she was so close to being part of. The new Duke is kind, and she could use a friend.
     
    Between learning how to be the head of his family, mourning his brother, and trying not to fall in love with his late-brother's fiancée, Quinton will need some help—and it's a good thing he's not alone.
     
    "Flawless storytelling! Vayden is a new Regency powerhouse."—Rachel Van Dyken, #1 New York Times bestselling author
    Show book