Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Secrets & Lies - cover

Secrets & Lies

L.C. Rooney

Publisher: LongShadow Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

When asked to work on the legal team defending her abusive ex, freelance paralegal Riley Russell must decide whether she's willing to face the truth about her past in order to win the case that can ensure her future. 
 
Riley thought she had put the physical and emotional scars of her two-year relationship with Chris Fiorelli behind her, but the call from Harrington & Malloy threatens to upend her life all over again. A high-profile case like the Victoria Landon murder trial would leapfrog her business to a level that might otherwise take a decade or more to achieve. It would also mean trying to prove the innocence of a man she knows is anything but. 
 
Weaving together the tenuous threads of a reasonable doubt defense takes Riley to the seedy underbelly of Atlantic City and puts her on the radar of organized crime boss Nemo Cardinale. A second murder; a mystery man linked to both victims; and a tangle of loyalties, secrets, and lies threaten to derail her efforts to get to the truth. When she finds her own life in jeopardy, there is but one question left to ask: When nothing is as it seems, who can you trust?

Other books that might interest you

  • The Lies Within - cover

    The Lies Within

    Jane Isaac

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “A well-crafted mystery . . . Crime writing at its best” from the bestselling author of Beneath the Ashes and Before It’s Too Late (David Evans, international bestselling author).  Be under no illusions by her kind face and eloquent manner . . . This woman is guilty of murder . . .   Grace Daniels is distraught after her daughter’s body is found in a Leicestershire country lane. With her family falling apart and the investigation going nowhere, Grace’s only solace is the re-emergence of Faye, an old friend who seems to understand her loss. DI Will Jackman delves into the case, until a family tragedy and a figure from his past threaten to derail him.   When the police discover another victim, the spotlight falls on Grace. Can Jackman find the killer, before Grace is convicted of a crime she didn’t commit?   “Isaac does a superb job of escalating the tension and dread.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review) “Visceral and compelling reading. Another cracker from Jane Isaac.”—Ian Patrick, author of Rubicon “Jane Isaac just gets better with every book. Deeply unsettling and unputdownable.”—Rebecca Bradley, bestselling author of the DI Hannah Robbins series “A perfectly executed police investigation into a horrific act of violence and a moving depiction of buried secrets. My first read from Jane Isaac but definitely not my last.”—Sarah Ward, author of A Deadly Thaw   “An intelligent, convincing thriller with genuine characters and a pacy plot. Jane Isaac writes unmissable quality crime fiction.”—Michael Wood, author of The Murder House   “Gripped from the very first page . . . Mesmerizing and disturbing.”—June Taylor, author of Keep Your Friends Close
    Show book
  • Del Rio - A Novel - cover

    Del Rio - A Novel

    Jane Rosenthal

    • 1
    • 3
    • 1
    Del Rio, California, a once-thriving Central Valley farm town, is now filled with run-down Dollar Stores, llanterias, carnicerias, and shabby mini-marts that sell one-way bus tickets straight to Tijuana on the Flecha Amarilla line. It’s a place you drive through with windows up and doors locked, especially at night—a place the locals call Cartel Country. While it’s no longer the California of postcards, for local District Attorney Callie McCall, her dying hometown is the perfect place to launch a political career and try to make a difference.But when the dismembered body of a migrant teen is found in one of Del Rio’s surrounding citrus groves, Callie faces a career make-or-break case that takes her on a dangerous journey down the violent west coast of Mexico, to a tropical paradise hiding a terrible secret, and finally back home again, where her determination to find the killer pits her against the wealthiest, most politically connected, most ruthless farming family in California: her own.
    Show book
  • Sabotage in the Secret City - cover

    Sabotage in the Secret City

    Diane Fanning

    • 1
    • 7
    • 0
    Research chemist-sleuth Libby Clark must uncover the traitor within in this gripping World War II mystery. 
    
    
    
    May 1945. Harry S. Truman has become president, the Allied Forces are closing in on Berlin and the research scientists at the secret facility in Oak Ridge, Tennessee, are doing their bit to bring the war to as swift a conclusion as possible. But does the end justify the means? Libby Clark has mixed feelings about the horror she and her fellow scientists are labouring to unleash on the citizens of Japan – and it seems she’s not the only one to have doubts.
    
    
    
    A campaign of small acts of sabotage convinces Libby that one of their number is deliberately trying to delay the mission. But when the pranks turn deadly, Libby is forced once again to turn undercover sleuth in order to unmask the traitor within, prevent further deaths and keep the focus on ending World War II.
    Show book
  • Every City Is Every Other City - A Gordon Stewart Mystery - cover

    Every City Is Every Other City -...

    John McFetridge

    • 0
    • 3
    • 1
    Behind the scenes, nothing is what it seems.
    		 
    Gord Stewart, 40 years old, single, moved back into his sub­urban childhood home to care for his widowed father. But his father no longer needs care and Gord is stuck in limbo. He’s been working in the movie business as a location scout for years, and when there isn’t much filming, as a private eye for a security company run by ex-cops, OBC. When a fellow crew member asks him to find her missing uncle, Gord reluctantly takes the job. The police say the uncle walked into some dense woods in Northern Ontario and shot himself, but the man’s wife thinks he’s still alive.
    		 
    With the help of his movie business and OBC connections, Gord finds a little evidence that the uncle may be alive. Now Gord has two problems: what to do when he finds a man who doesn’t want to be found, and admitting that he’s getting invested in this job. For the first time in his life, Gord Stewart is going to have to leave the sidelines and get into the game. Even if it might get him killed.
    Show book
  • Hush Little Baby - the electrifying new domestic crime thriller - cover

    Hush Little Baby - the...

    Jane Isaac

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    'Gripping subjects, brilliantly drawn characters and a twisty turny journey from beginning to end. A tense, thrilling read and definitely 5 humongous ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ from me' Angela Marsons. 
     
    Someone stole a baby... 
     
    One sunny day in July, someone took three-month-old Alicia Owen from her pram outside a supermarket. Her mother, Marie, was inside. No one saw who took Alicia. And no one could find her. 
     
    They silenced her cry... 
     
    Fifteen years later, a teenager on a construction site sees a tiny hand in the ground. When the police investigate, they find a baby buried and preserved in concrete. Could it be Alicia? 
     
    But the truth will always out. 
     
    When Alicia disappeared, the papers accused Marie of detachment and neglect. The Owens never got over the grief of their child's disappearance and divorced not long after. By reopening the case, DC Beth Chamberlain must reopen old wounds. But the killer may be closer than anyone ever suspected... 
     
    The latest crime thriller featuring Family Liaison Officer DC Beth Chamberlain, Hush Little Baby is tightly plotted, fraught with tension and impossible to put down. Perfect for fans of Cara Hunter and K.L. Slater. 
     
    Praise for Jane Isaac: 
     
    'Jane Isaac knows how to tell a good yarn. Expertly plotted and true to life' Mel Sherratt on For Better, For Worse. 
     
    'Isaac does a superb job of escalating the tension and dread' Publishers Weekly. 
     
    'Move over La Plante...' Susan May, Suspense Magazine. 
     
    'Tense, dark and gritty: perfect combination' Ian Patrick, author of Rubicon. 
     
    'Crime writing at its best' David Evans, CWA Debut Dagger-shortlisted author of Torment. 
     
    'Jane Isaac just gets better with every book. Deeply unsettling and unputdownable' Rebecca Bradley, bestselling author of the DI Hannah Robbins series. 
     
    'Jane Isaac writes unmissable quality crime fiction' Michael Wood, author of For Reasons Unknown. 
     
    'Gripped from the very first page ... and just when you think it's over, it's really only the beginning' June Taylor, author of Losing Juliet. 
     
    'Brilliantly and intricately plotted, Jane Isaac has produced a terrific page-turner' Lizzie Sirett, Mystery People.
    Show book
  • Courting Justice - cover

    Courting Justice

    R. L. Sommer

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    "Anything by R.L. Sommer, or his alter-ego, Ron Goldfarb, is a MUST read!" –Kitty Kelley, author of Oprah: A Biography
     
    Jake Lehman and his wife, Sydney, have left Washington D.C. for a fresh start in San Francisco.
     
    Their legal careers are on the rise, but so are tensions between them as they continually find themselves on opposing sides of cases concerning judicial ethics and gender equality. Their conflicting views―coupled with growing career obligations, social pressures, and constant travel―come to a head when both Jake and Sydney are recommended for a Supreme Court seat.
     
    With rising pressure threatening to divide the Lehmans, an innocent encounter is misconstrued by prying eyes and puts their relationship and Jake's career in jeopardy. Can Jake and Sydney's relationship withstand the intricacies of these cases and the complications of their careers?
    Show book