Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
McNally's Secret - cover

McNally's Secret

Lawrence Sanders

Publisher: Open Road Media Mystery & Thriller

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

First in the series starring the sleuthing Palm Beach playboy from the #1 New York Times–bestselling and Edgar Award–winning author.  Inveterate playboy Archy McNally gets paid to make discreet inquiries for Palm Beach’s power elite. But keeping their dirty little secrets buried will take some fancy footwork in McNally’s latest case. A block of priceless 1918 US airmail stamps has gone missing from a high-society matron’s wall safe. Lady Cynthia Horowitz, now on her sixth husband, is a nasty piece of work who lives in a mansion that looks like Gone With the Wind’s Tara transplanted to southern Florida. McNally’s search takes him into a thickening maze of sex, lies, scandal, and blackmail. When passion erupts into murder and McNally must dig even deeper to uncover the truth, he unearths a shocking secret that could expose his own family’s skeletons.   
Available since: 03/12/2013.
Print length: 156 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Cold Heart - cover

    Cold Heart

    Jane Heafield

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    “What a fantastic book! I was gripped from the start and read late into the night.” —Goodreads reviewer, five starsA series of bizarre crimes across the English city of Sheffield brings a police detective and a PI together in an increasingly dangerous game . . . Liam Bennet has just quit the force to become a private detective—and to his frustration, his first case is a weird petty crime while his good friend acting DCI Liz Miller is assigned a murder. Two murders, in fact—one recent, the other involving a skeletonized body, but both linked by pictures of dice at the scenes. After Liz is attacked on the job, Liam visits her in hospital and they discover another odd connection: both Liam and the police are looking into teachers who’ve been victimised. Meanwhile, more dice keep turning up—though the crimes connected to them seem utterly random, ranging from the serious to the bizarre. As the two close in on the mystery, will they be able to identify a pattern—or is their luck about to run out?
    Show book
  • Abduction - cover

    Abduction

    Gillian Jackson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A woman thinks she’s found her long-missing sister, but the discovery only leads to more questions in this wrenching thriller by the author of The Deception. Elise McDonald is sure she has just spotted her sister, Grace, in a department store in Leeds. The last time she saw her was fourteen years ago, at Grace’s third birthday party, when the children scattered during a game of hide and seek—but Grace never returned from her hiding place. When the girl approaches, she introduces herself as Ruth and chats about her father, a doctor, and the village she grew up in. But Elise believes that Ruth is really Grace—even if she doesn’t know it. Elise’s family dismisses her theory, claiming that pregnancy is making her hormonal and irrational. But her aunt, at least, is willing to help her investigate—and eventually Jack Priestly, the original detective on the case, is drawn in as well. Is there any chance they can solve a cold case the police had long given up on—or is Elise deluding herself? And if she’s right, what really happened on that fateful day?
    Show book
  • The Deception - cover

    The Deception

    Gillian Jackson

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    “I absolutely loved this book. It had me gripped from the very first chapter . . . unputdownable! A real page turner.” —Goodreads reviewer, five starsMurders past and present will unite a couple against their enemies—or tear them apart forever—in this suspenseful thriller from the author of The Victim. Rosie Cantrell has a past that even her husband knows nothing of. Born Samantha Ashby, she abandoned her old life when her  twin sister was murdered and their trust fund was stolen. Journalist Frank Stokes knows Rosie’s story, and, nearly ten years later, he intends to write a book about the sisters. Tracing Rosie, he visits Thursdale, the village where she now lives with Mike and their baby son, Noah. Compelled to reveal her past to Mike, Rosie tells him of the man she dated who later killed her sister—and who was subsequently killed while in prison awaiting trial. To this day, there is no sign of the two-million-pound trust fund. When Stokes goes missing, the police question Rosie and Mike—and when Stokes’s body is found close to their cottage, they become persons of interest. Soon, the investigation uncovers even more secrets, and threatens to destroy both their marriage and their lives . . .
    Show book
  • The Marquis of Carabas - cover

    The Marquis of Carabas

    Rafael Sabatini

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A master swordsman travels to dangerous, Revolution-era France to claim his inheritance, in this swashbuckling adventure by the author Captain Blood.The French Revolution is well underway. Countless French nobles are escaping from the horrible violence and traveling to England for refuge. Meanwhile, Quentin de Morlaix, master swordsman, runs a popular fencing school in London. He may have been raised in England since he was a baby, but his French blood gives him some sympathy for these emigrés. His concern for France ends there, until he receives a surprise from a lawyer. Quentin is a noble and he has six months to claim a sizable inheritance from a brother he never knew about. To claim his fortune, however, Quentin must travel into the heart of the French Revolution, a land of chaos, mystery, suspense, and certain death.
    Show book
  • The Ryker Returns Thrillers Books One to Three - Renegade Assassins and Outsider - cover

    The Ryker Returns Thrillers...

    Rob Sinclair

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    The first three novels in the action-packed series featuring freelance intelligence agent James Ryker—now in one volume.   These three novels from the million-selling author of the Enemy series follow the international adventures of James Ryker as he works for the secretive Joint Intelligence agency on an op-by-op basis:  Renegade When a simple surveillance mission goes awry and the key target is kidnapped in broad daylight in a busy London square, Ryker is tasked with figuring out what went wrong. But when his good friend disappears without a trace, the mission becomes more personal than he could have imagined.  Assassins While in Prague, Ryker hears a news report of a murder in rural England. The problem is that he knows the victim: ten years ago, in Qatar, Ryker led a mission to kill him. He thought they had. So how has a man Ryker thought dead for over a decade suddenly resurfaced? When he realizes his old team members are now under threat from a ruthless female assassin, he knows his problems have only just begun.  Outsider After a near collision with a young moped driver outside a small Norwegian town, Ryker is encouraged by a policeman to be on his way. When the locals give him the cold shoulder, Ryker’s instincts as a longtime intelligence agent start firing. And as he investigates further, he stumbles into a conspiracy that threatens to erupt with blood and violence . . .  Praise for the bestselling novels of Rob Sinclair   “A must read for fans of Lee Child and Robert Ludlum.” —Chelle’s Book Reviews   “This is a real page-turner, impossible to put down.” —Publishers Weekly   “An adrenaline shot right to the heart.” —The Best Thriller Books
    Show book
  • The James Ryker Series Books One to Five - The Red Cobra The Black Hornet The Silver Wolf The Green Viper and The White Scorpion - cover

    The James Ryker Series Books One...

    Rob Sinclair

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Now in one ebook volume: All five thrillers in the internationally bestselling series that is “a must read for fans of Lee Child and Robert Ludlum” (Chelle’s Book Reviews).   The author of the Enemy series, Sleeper 13, and the DI Dani Stephens series delivers fast-paced, globe-trotting thrillers full of breathless action featuring secret agent James Ryker.  The Red Cobra Ryker thought he had started a new life away from the chaos and violence. But when the fingerprints of a murdered woman in Spain match those of an infamous female assassin, he’s drawn back into the game.  The Black Hornet What would you do if the love of your life vanished without a trace? If you’re ex-intelligence agent James Ryker you search for the answers whatever the cost, however much blood and sacrifice it takes . . .  The Silver Wolf Still tormented by the disappearance of his wife, ex-intelligence agent James Ryker sets out on a personal mission of revenge, prepared to go to any lengths in search of the truth. Ryker wants blood, and one way or another he’ll get it.  The Green Viper Ryker receives a coded message through a secret drop point, a means of communication known only to him and one other person. The problem is, that person is his ex-boss, Mackie . . . and he’s already dead.  The White Scorpion Assigned to join a crew of elite security personnel in Africa, Ryker’s mission objective is to protect British interests in the region. To that end, he must infiltrate the close protection team of the government of Chabon, a country with a dark and violent past.
    Show book