The perfect plan for booklovers!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
They Don't Represent Us - Reclaiming Our Democracy - cover

They Don't Represent Us - Reclaiming Our Democracy

Lawrence Lessig

Publisher: Dey Street Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

WITH A NEW FOREWORD ABOUT THE 2020 ELECTION 
“This urgent book offers not only a clear-eyed explanation of the forces that broke our politics, but a thoughtful and, yes, patriotic vision of how we create a government that’s truly by and for the people.”—DAVID DALEY, bestselling author of Ratf**ked and Unrigged 
 
In the vein of On Tyranny and How Democracies Die, the bestselling author of Republic, Lost argues with insight and urgency that our democracy no longer represents us and shows that reform is both necessary and possible.  
 
America’s democracy is in crisis. Along many dimensions, a single flaw—unrepresentativeness—has detached our government from the people. And as a people, our fractured partisanship and ignorance on critical issues drive our leaders to stake out ever more extreme positions.  
In They Don’t Represent Us, Harvard law professor Lawrence Lessig charts the way in which the fundamental institutions of our democracy, including our media, respond to narrow interests rather than to the needs and wishes of the nation’s citizenry. But the blame does not only lie with “them”—Washington’s politicians and power brokers, Lessig argues. The problem is also “us.” “We the people” are increasingly uninformed about the issues, while ubiquitous political polling exacerbates the problem, reflecting and normalizing our ignorance and feeding it back into the system as representative of our will. 
What we need, Lessig contends, is a series of reforms, from governmental institutions to the public itself, including:A move immediately to public campaign funding, leading to more representative candidatesA reformed Electoral College, that gives the President a reason to represent America as a wholeA federal standard to end partisan gerrymandering in the states A radically reformed SenateA federal penalty on states that don’t secure to their people an equal freedom to voteInstitutions that empower the people to speak in an informed and deliberative way 
A soul-searching and incisive examination of our failing political culture, this nonpartisan call to arms speaks to every citizen, offering a far-reaching platform for reform that could save our democracy and make it work for all of us.

Other books that might interest you

  • Sowing the Wind - The Mississippi Constitutional Convention of 1890 - cover

    Sowing the Wind - The...

    Dorothy Overstreet Pratt

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In 1890, Mississippi called a convention to rewrite its constitution. That convention became the singular event that marked the state's transition from the nineteenth century to the twentieth and set the path for the state for decades to come. The primary purpose of the convention was to disfranchise African American voters as well as some poor whites. The result was a document that transformed the state for the next century. In Sowing the Wind, Dorothy Overstreet Pratt traces the decision to call that convention, examines the delegates" decisions, and analyzes the impact of their new constitution.Pratt argues the constitution produced a new social structure, which pivoted the state's culture from a class-based system to one centered upon race. Though state leaders had not anticipated this change, they were savvy in their manipulation of the issues. The new constitution effectively filled the goal of disfranchisement. Moreover, unlike the constitutions of many other southern states, it held up against attack for over seventy years. It also hindered the state socially and economically well into the twentieth century.
    Show book
  • Digital Government - Technology and Public Sector Performance - cover

    Digital Government - Technology...

    Darrell M. West

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Few developments have had broader consequences for the public sector than the introduction of the Internet and digital technology. In this book, Darrell West discusses how new technology is altering governmental performance, the political process, and democracy itself by improving government responsiveness and increasing information available to citizens. 
     Using multiple methods--case studies, content analysis of over 17,000 government Web sites, public and bureaucrat opinion survey data, an e-mail responsiveness test, budget data, and aggregate analysis--the author presents the most comprehensive study of electronic government ever undertaken. Among other topics, he looks at how much change has taken place in the public sector, what determines the speed and breadth of e-government adoption, and what the consequences of digital technology are for the public sector. 
     Written in a clear and analytical manner, this book outlines the variety of factors that have restricted the ability of policy makers to make effective use of new technology. Although digital government offers the potential for revolutionary change, social, political, and economic forces constrain the scope of transformation and prevent government officials from realizing the full benefits of interactive technology.
    Show book
  • State of Emergency - The Third World Invasion and Conquest of America - cover

    State of Emergency - The Third...

    Patrick J. Buchanan

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Pat Buchanan is sounding the alarm. Since 9/11, more than four million illegal immigrants have crossed our borders, and there are more coming every day. Our leaders in Washington lack the political will to uphold the rule of law. The Melting Pot is broken beyond repair, and the future of our nation is at stake.In this important audio-book, Pat Buchanan reveals that, slowly but surely, the great American Southwest is being reconquered by Mexico. These lands are being detached ethnically, linguistically, and culturally from the United States by a deliberate policy of the Mexican regime. Unless the invasion is halted now, Buchanan argues, America will become a country unrecognizable to our parents, what Theodore Roosevelt warned against when he said we must never let America become "a polyglot boardinghouse" for the world.Laying out a sweeping immigration reform and border security plan, State of Emergency is essential listening for all Americans. With an estimated 10 to 15 million "illegals" already here and tens of millions more poised to pour across our borders, few audio-books could be as timely or important.A Macmillan Audio production.
    Show book
  • Seeds of Hate - How Americas Flawed Middle East Policy Ignited the Jihad - cover

    Seeds of Hate - How Americas...

    Lawrence Pintak

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In the aftermath of 9/11, America has been haunted by one question: why do they hate us? 
    
    This book answers that question, tracing the roots of the crisis back to American's involvement in the Middle East, and in particular Lebanon. Journalist Lawrence Pintak was a correspondent for CBS in Beirut in the 1980s, where he witnessed the birth of the current 'terror'. In Seeds of Hate, he explores how America's flawed policy in the Lebanon transformed Muslim perceptions of the US - from impartial peacekeeper to hated enemy of the Lebanese Muslims. 
    
    Pintak explores the links between those who carried out the terror war in Lebanon and the current wave of terror, examining the role played by key figures behind the Beirut bombings. He considers how the template for shaping would-be terrorists is being replicated from Saudi Arabia to Indonesia and speaks with victims of the earlier wave of terror.
    Show book
  • Foodopoly - The Battle Over the Future of Food and Farming in America - cover

    Foodopoly - The Battle Over the...

    Wenonah Hauter

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Wenonah Hauter owns an organic family farm that provides healthy vegetables to hundreds of families as part of the growing nationwide Community Supported Agriculture (CSA) movement. Yet, as one of the nation's leading healthy–food advocates, Hauter believes that the local food movement is not enough to solve America's food crisis and the public health debacle it has created. In Foodopoly, she takes aim at the real culprit: the control of food production by a handful of large corporations—backed by political clout—that prevents farmers from raising healthy crops and limits the choices that people can make in the grocery store.Blending history, reporting, and a deep understanding of American faming and food production, Foodopoly is the shocking and revealing account of the business behind the meat, vegetables, grains, and milk that most Americans eat every day, including some of our favorite and most respected organic and health–conscious brands. Hauter also pulls the curtain back from the little–understood but vital realm of agricultural policy, showing how it has been hijacked by lobbyists, driving out independent farmers and food processors in favor of the likes of Cargill, Tyson, Kraft, and ConAgra. Foodopoly demonstrates how the impacts ripple far and wide, from economic stagnation in rural communities at home to famines overseas. In the end, Hauter argues that solving this crisis will require a complete structural shift—a change that is about politics, not just personal choice.Written with deep insight from one of America's most respected food activists, Foodopoly is today's essential guide for anyone who wants to reform our food system, from seed to table.
    Show book
  • Inside Insurgency - Violence Civilians and Revolutionary Group Behavior - cover

    Inside Insurgency - Violence...

    Claire Metelits

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Once considered nationalists, many insurgent groups are now labeled as terrorists and thought to endanger not just their own people, but the world. As the unprecedented trends in political violence among insurgents have taken shape, and as hundreds of thousands of civilians continue to be displaced, brutalized, and killed, Inside Insurgency provides startling insights that help to explain the nature of insurgent behavior.Claire Metelits draws from over 100 interviews with insurgent soldiers, commanders, government officials, scholars, and civilians in Sudan, Kenya, Colombia, Turkey, and Iraq, offering a new understanding of insurgent group behavior and providing compelling and intimate portraits of the SPLA, FARC, and PKK. The engaging narratives that emerge from her on-the-ground fieldwork provide incredibly valuable and accurate first-hand documentation of the tactics of some of the world’s most notorious insurgent groups. Inside Insurgency offers the reader a timely and intimate understanding of these movements, and explains the changing behavior of insurgent groups toward the civilians they claim to represent.
    Show book