Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Avignon Quintet - Monsieur Livia Constance Sebastian and Quinx - cover

The Avignon Quintet - Monsieur Livia Constance Sebastian and Quinx

Lawrence Durrell

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

 From the visionary author of the Alexandria Quartet comes a landmark five-part series hailed by the Sunday Times as “one of the great novels of our time.” One of the most celebrated English writers ever, Lawrence Durrell was a bestselling author whose vivid metafictions pushed the boundaries of modern literature. The cosmopolitan provocateur transcended borders, ideologies, and time in his work, and he’s at the height of his powers in the Avignon Quintet.   More formally daring than the Alexandria Quartet, these sweeping and stylish novels set before, during, and after World War II loosely center on the race to uncover a treasure buried by the Knights Templar. Each reveals a seemingly disparate piece of the puzzle. In Monsieur, it’s the bittersweet return to southern France by a British doctor; in Livia, it’s two sisters driven apart by the rise of Nazism in Europe. In Constance, a Freudian analyst struggles for clarity in a world on fire; in Sebastian, she reconnects with the charismatic cult leader she knew in the deserts of Egypt. And in Quinx, long-buried plots reemerge as the past and future are funneled into the present.   Durrell himself described the Avignon Quintet as a “quincunx,” a series of novels “roped together like climbers on a rockface, but all independent.” Together they form a powerful meditation on the search for meaning in a world of chaos and brutality.  

Other books that might interest you

  • Jirel of Joiry - cover

    Jirel of Joiry

    C.L. Moore

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    For fans of Red Sonja and Xena the Warrior Princess, a collection of five fantasy stories starring a mighty and powerful female warrior. The 1930s heralded the arrival of C.L. Moore, one of the pioneering women writers of speculative fiction, and the appearance of fantasy’s landmark female hero: Jirel of Joiry. With her red hair flowing, her yellow eyes glinting like embers, and her face streaked with blood, Jirel is strong, fearless, and driven by honor. Her legendary debut, Black God’s Kiss, begins as her castle, Joiry, is overrun by invaders, but knowing that this is one battle she cannot fight, she summons her courage and cunning and descends into the castle’s hidden reaches, where she crosses through a doorway into Hell itself…Jirel of Joiry collects the classic tales of blood and vengeance that secured C.L. Moore’s place among legendary authors of sword and sorcery like Robert E. Howard and Edgar Rice Burroughs. Originally published in the magazine Weird Tales, Moore’s fantastic tales of warriors, gods, and magic are defined by a fierce, romantic vision that helped define the genre, earning her the title of Grand Master for lifetime achievement by the World Fantasy Convention.Includes “Black God’s Kiss,” “Black God’s Shadow,” “Jirel Meets Magic,” “The Dark Land,” and “Hellsgarde.”“One of the best authors of her era.... The stories are engaging and well written, and the central character, who is headstrong and passionate, is more than compelling…. Fans of eldritch horror and sinister gods…will find much to enjoy here.”—Alan Brown, Tor.com
    Show book
  • The Blue Sequin - cover

    The Blue Sequin

    R. Austin Freeman

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Richard Austin Freeman (1862 – 1943) was a British writer of detective stories, many featuring the investigator Dr. Thorndyke who uses a mixture of medical and forensic techniques to solve the most baffling crimes. In "The Blue Sequin" a beautiful young woman as been found alone, dead in a railway carriage, with a peculiar combination of head injuries inflicted with great force by a sharp round implement. Suspicion immediately falls on her former lover, an artist, with whom she had quarrelled earlier, and who is in posession of her locket and a stout umbrella with a pointed end. But Dr. Thordyke is not convinced of the artist's guilt and sets out to investigate....
    Show book
  • Storm in a Teacup - cover

    Storm in a Teacup

    William Shakespeare, Edith Nesbit

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Shakespeare instructed by delighting. His comedies and tragedies contain more actual wisdom than the whole body of English learning. He is the teacher of all good—pity, generosity, true courage, love. His bright wit is cut out into little stars. 
    This collection of Shakespeare tales includes The Tempest, Much Ado About Nothing and Cymbeline. These timeless stories are retold in modern English, retaining all key elements of Shakespeare's original story line, characters and wisdom. Read in English, unabridged.
    Show book
  • The Merchant of Venice - cover

    The Merchant of Venice

    William Shakespeare

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Hugh Griffin, Harry Andrews, Ian Holm and Roy Dotrice perform Shakespeare's tragic comedy.
    Show book
  • The Man in the Iron Cage - From Lord Halifax's Ghost Book - cover

    The Man in the Iron Cage - From...

    Lord Halifax

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Charles Lindley Wood, 2nd Viscount Halifax, was a collector of ghost stories. He assembled an extensive compilation of firsthand accounts of encounters with ghosts from all around the British Isles and abroad. The Man in the Iron Cage was one of Lord Halifax's favorites. It tells the story, from several sources, of a haunted house in Lille, France, with a gruesome secret in the attic.
    Show book
  • Star Born - cover

    Star Born

    Andre Norton

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    "The two voyagers were neither of the same race nor of the same species, yet they worked together without words, as if they had established some bond which gave them a rapport transcending the need for speech."When Raf Kurbi's spaceship from Earth burst into unexplored skies of the far planet Astra, it was made welcome by the natives of a once-mighty metropolis. But Kurbi was unaware of three vital things: (1) that Astra already harbored an Earth colony - descended from refugees from the world of the previous century; (2) that these men and women were facing the greatest danger of their existence from a new outburst of the inhuman fiends who had once tyrannized Astra; and (3) that the natives who were buying Kurbi's science know-how were those very fiends - and their intentions were implacably deadly for all humans, whether Earth born or star born!Much of the planet's hopes lie with young Dalgard Nordis and his companion, Sssuri, a telepathic native of this alien world. If they fail, their planet will be subjugated and enslaved by that inhuman race.Here is a top-notch planetary adventure novel by science fiction grand master Andre Norton.
    Show book