Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Hounded To Death - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 500,000 other books you can enjoy!

Hounded To Death

Laurien Berenson

Publisher: Kensington Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A prominent dog-show judge falls victim to a hot-tub homicide in a mystery “absorbing enough to delight even cat lovers” (Publishers Weekly).    As the dog days of summer turn to the playful nip of autumn’s chill, Melanie Travis is ready for a little relaxation. Her Aunt Peg has the perfect solution: a five-day symposium for dog show judges in Pennsylvania’s idyllic Pocono Mountains. While Peg and Melanie’s sister-in-law Bertie welcome the opportunity to socialize with the dog world’s elite, the very pregnant Melanie embraces the chance to simply unwind. But when renowned judge Charles Evans delivers a keynote address that irritates many of the attendees, the symposium’s agenda takes a deadly turn. For later that evening, Charles is found floating facedown in the outdoor hot tub. With few clues to go on, the police are baffled. But Melanie decides to take matters into her own hands, suspecting that a cold-blooded murderer may lurk among her fellow dog lovers...   “[An] always charming and clever series.”—Earlene Fowler, Agatha Award-winning author of the Benni Harper Mysteries

Other books that might interest you

  • The Lost Girls - A Gripping Mystery Thriller - cover

    The Lost Girls - A Gripping...

    Helen Pryke

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this dark thriller series debut, an English reporter investigates a missing persons case gone cold while getting dangerously closer to a madman. Four years ago, two teenage girls were abducted. Also four years ago, a ten-year-old boy was murdered. Both cases remain unsolved. Desperate to find their missing sisters, Michael and Chloe ask investigative journalist Maggie Turner to help them. And what starts as a simple investigation, soon turns into a frantic race against time. The kidnapper took the girls to replace his sisters; sisters who died seventeen years earlier. Forced to face traumatic events from the past, Maggie finds herself in the middle of a nightmare that can only get worse . . .Tense, fast-paced, and gritty, The Lost Girls is the perfect read for fans of authors like Angela Marsons, Carol Wyer, and Helen Fields.
    Show book
  • Epitaph - A Gripping Murder Mystery - cover

    Epitaph - A Gripping Murder Mystery

    Anita Waller

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    An English pensioner and PI is drawn into a baffling case that strikes close to home in this cozy mystery by the author of the Kat and Mouse series. 
     
    Doris Lester has taken a well-deserved break from work. She’s planned a holiday with her best friend Wendy on a journey across the Yorkshire and Derbyshire Dales. But before they depart, a letter arrives that stirs up trouble and memories of the past. Soon Doris and Wendy are drawn into the mystery surrounding a troubled family, a missing person and gruesome murder. 
     
    When Doris and Wendy join the investigation, intriguing revelations about Doris’s life come to the surface, which shock even those closest to her. Step by step they uncover secrets that could tear a family even further apart. Can Wendy and Doris solve the mystery? And if they do, will their lives ever be the same again?
    Show book
  • Gamble - A Gripping Psychological Thriller - cover

    Gamble - A Gripping...

    Anita Waller

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The murder of best friends sparks a sinister chain of events in this thriller from the internationally bestselling author of the Kat and Mouse mysteries. 
     
    Would you risk everything to protect your family? Carla Andrews and Lorraine West are work colleagues and best friends. They socialise together, they work in the same bookmakers and they support each other as only best friends can. 
     
    Then they are murdered together. 
     
    When DI Tom Fowler is handed the case, he discovers a journal that Carla has left and must unpick the secrets Lorraine has kept hidden. 
     
    Soon Carla’s and Lorraine’s husbands become the main suspects. It’s usually the spouse who is responsible, isn’t it? 
     
    The investigation progresses until Lorraine’s sixteen-year-old son disappears. Will the truth ever emerge? And is knowing the truth always worth the sacrifice? 
     
    Praise for the thrillers of Anita Waller 
     
    “Once again Anita Waller brings the reader a masterfully written, first class mystery thriller with a jaw dropping twist that will leave you speechless.” —Once Upon a Time Book Reviews 
     
    “I always anticipate getting my hands on the latest Anita Waller thriller because I know I will not be able to put it down and I will be thoroughly surprised and entertained.” —Avonna Loves Genres 
     
    “A must-read for crime thriller readers.” —Bookstormer 
     
    “A really well written, gripping book with plenty of twists for me!” —Donna’s Book Blog 
     
    “A tense, drama-packed read. I was literally biting my nails by the end.” —On the Shelf Reviews
    Show book
  • Blame - A Completely Gripping Psychological Suspense - cover

    Blame - A Completely Gripping...

    Patricia Dixon

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “A compelling exploration of the human psyche . . . stands out as an excellent piece of psychological fiction” from the bestselling author of #MeToo (Book Rant Reviews).What if the past came knocking? Frankie is running away from her past and the repercussions of a night that changed her life forever. Hoping for a fresh start she unexpectedly falls in love. Unbeknown to Frankie, the wheels of fate are set in motion when Herbert Dunne, a convicted murderer, is released from prison. When he moves in with Margaret, a woman he has formed an unlikely relationship with, their dark sides gradually emerge allowing their inner demons to blossom. News of Herbert’s release once again rocks the small village of Elkdale, as the locals remember the young woman he murdered. But what is Herbert hoping to achieve by stirring up the past? And who is behind the new spate of murders? One thing is clear—someone is out for revenge. Someone who thinks Frankie and her friends are to blame . . .“With settings I could get lost in, characters that inspired even my dark little heart and the thrill of bad meeting bad, I thoroughly recommend this.” —Melanie’s Reads
    Show book
  • The Return of Sherlock Holmes - Further Extraordinary Tales of the Famous Sleuth - cover

    The Return of Sherlock Holmes -...

    Maxim Jakubowski

    • 1
    • 12
    • 1
    Fifteen brand-new stories about the British super sleuth by an assortment of talented tale-tellers!   Sherlock Holmes and Watson have been household names for generations. In this new anthology from Maxim Jakubowski, you can read all about the dynamic duo in a new light and revisit the legacy of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. From brand new stories to deeper looks into famous Sherlock Holmes cases, fans have a new chance to delve into the world of Holmes, Watson, and their crime-solving capers.   “One highlight is Paul A. Freeman’s imaginative ‘Sherlock Holmes and a Case of Humbug,’ in which the detective doubts Ebenezer Scrooge’s change of heart resulted from ghostly visitations and uncovers a violent crime. Another is Eric Brown’s eerie ‘The Curse of Carmody Grange,’ in which Holmes investigates a disappearance from a sealed room attributed to a centuries-old curse.” —Publishers Weekly   “I have been a fan of Maxim Jakubowski for years. There just is no finer mystery writer and editor anywhere.” ―Alexander Algren, author of Out in a Flash: Murder Mystery Flash Fiction
    Show book
  • The Anita Waller Collection - Malignant Game Players and Captor - cover

    The Anita Waller Collection -...

    Anita Waller

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In one ebook volume: three chilling psychological thrillers for all fans of crime fiction from the bestselling author of the Kat and Mouse Mysteries. 
     
    Malignant 
     
    After leaving their husbands, Heather is more than willing to care for her friend Claudia when’s she diagnosed with a terminal illness. But when a meeting with Claudia’s ex-husband results in someone dying, the two women’s new life begins to unravel even further. The solution to their problem becomes frighteningly clear . . . it’s murder. 
     
    Game Players 
     
    When a gang of six children playing in their den in the woods spot a man burying drugs nearby, they dig up the stash and take it away. But when the dealer shows up dead, the youngsters are thrown into turmoil. Soon the children and their families become the target of the vicious criminals who will stop at nothing to retrieve their narcotics . . . 
     
    Captor 
     
    Behind closed doors, Liz Chambers is harbouring a secret that could destroy her life. Then the unthinkable happens, and in a frenzied attack, her young son is snatched from the home of the childminder charged with looking after him. As Liz’s life unfolds, it becomes clear that someone is out for revenge . . . 
     
    Praise for the thrillers of Anita Waller 
     
    “Once again Anita Waller brings the reader a masterfully written, first class mystery thriller with a jaw dropping twist that will leave you speechless.” —Once Upon a Time Book Reviews 
     
    “A must-read for crime thriller readers.” —Bookstormer 
     
    “A tense, drama-packed read. I was literally biting my nails by the end.” —On the Shelf Reviews
    Show book