"There is more treasure in books than in all the pirates' loot on Treasure Island." - Walt Disney
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Book of the Little Axe - cover

Book of the Little Axe

Lauren Francis-Sharma

Publisher: Atlantic Monthly Press

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Lauren is the author of a well-received debut novel, ‘Til the Well Runs Dry, which was reviewed in the New York Times, O, the Oprah Magazine, Essence Magazine, the New York Post, Bustle, People, and Ebony and praised by writers from Sonia Sanchez and Tiphanie Yanique to Henry Louis Gates, Jr., and Cheryl Lu-Lien Tan. Since we acquired Book of the Little Axe, Lauren has become assistant director of the Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference, which means that she is constantly networking with fellow writers and publishing folk and sharing work with them. In short, she’s connected. There is a hunger now for historical fiction that un-does the whitewashing of the past, and Lauren’s book—based in part on a real person, and the product of deep research—is perfect for that market and also for coverage of how the way such fiction is written and written about is changing.  We’ve already received glowing blurbs from Peter Ho Davis, Elizabeth Nunez, and Laila Lalami. Drawing on historical records and artifacts, Francis-Sharma builds an entire world around real-life black American guide, Edward Rose.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Girl in the Pink Raincoat - A gripping World War 2 saga perfect for fans of Dilly Court - cover

    The Girl in the Pink Raincoat -...

    Alrene Hughes

    • 3
    • 54
    • 0
    In wartime it takes courage to follow your heart. 
     
    Manchester, 1939. 
     
    Everyone hated the heat and the deafening noise, but for Gracie the worst thing was the smell of chemicals that turned her stomach every morning when she arrived at the Rosenberg Raincoats factory. 
     
    Gracie is a girl on the factory floor. Jacob is the boss's charismatic nephew. When they fall in love, it seems as if the whole world is against them – especially Charlie Nuttall, who also works at the factory and has always wanted Gracie for himself. 
     
    But worse is to come when Jacob disappears and Gracie is devastated, vowing to find him. Can she solve the mystery of his whereabouts? Gracie will need all her strength and courage to find a happy ending.
    Show book
  • The Lost Girls - a gripping historical fiction page turner - cover

    The Lost Girls - a gripping...

    Jennifer Wells

    • 1
    • 43
    • 2
    Everyone remembers the day the girls went missing. 
     
    May Day 1912, a day that haunts Missensham. The day two girls disappeared. The day the girls were murdered. 
     
    Iris Caldwell and Nell Ryland were never meant to be friends. From two very different backgrounds, one the heir to the Caldwell estate, the other a humble vicar's daughter. Both have their secrets, both have their pasts, but they each find solace with one another and soon their futures become irrevocably intertwined. 
     
    Now, many years later, old footage has emerged which shows that Iris Caldwell may not have died on that spring morning. The village must work out what happened the day the girls went missing...
    Show book
  • This Side of Hell - cover

    This Side of Hell

    Brett Cogburn

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    THE WIDOWMAKER MEETS POKER ALICE.The most famous lady gambler of the Old West teams up with the Widowmaker Jones in a doomed search for lost treasure, a deadly trek through the desert—and a dangerous alliance with the greatest gunslingers in history . . .IT’S A MATCH MADE IN HELL. Card player extraordinaire Poker Alice knows when hold ‘em, when to fold ‘em, and when to team up with master gunman Newt “Widowmaker” Jones. She’s betting on Jones to protect her—and her money—on a treasure hunt in the California desert. Legend has it that a shipwreck is buried in the Salton sands. Some say it’s a Spanish galleon that got stuck when the sea ran dry. Other says it’s a Chinese junk full of pearls or a Viking ship filled with Aztec treasure. Either way, a lot of very mean and dangerously violent folks would kill to find it. Which is why Poker Annie needs the Widowmaker. In this game, it’s winner takes all. Losers die . . .Praise for Spur Award winner Brett Cogburn  “Fans of frontier arcana will revel in Cogburn’s readable prose and lively characters.”—Publishers Weekly on Rooster  “Cogburn amazes and astounds.” —Booklist  
    Show book