Did you know that reading reduces stress?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
American Politics - A Graphic History - cover

American Politics - A Graphic History

Laura Locker

Publisher: Icon Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Following in the footsteps of the highly successful Queer: A Graphic History, illustrator Jules Scheele teams up with Dr Laura Locker in this comic-book introduction to the political history of the Land of Opportunity.
How did
a political outsider like Trump win the 2016 presidential election? Why do some
Americans feel so strongly about gun rights? Is there a role for more than two
political parties in the system?
Politics
isn’t something that just occurs in the West Wing or the gleaming Capitol
building – it comes from the interaction between state and society, the
American people living their daily lives. In this unique graphic guide, we
follow modern citizens as they explore everything from the United States’
political culture, the Constitution and the balance of power, to social
movements, the role of the media, and tensions over race, immigration, and LGBT
rights.
Step
right up, and see what lies beneath the pageantry and headlines of this great
nation.

Other books that might interest you

  • Compu-MECH Quarterly - Dead Undead! - cover

    Compu-MECH Quarterly - Dead Undead!

    Theodore Raymond Riddle

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Monolith Comics Presents Compu-M.E.C.H.. Our hero encounters his fiirst arch enamy, The Death Shroud.
     
    Death Shroud is the rebirth of  the scientist, Johnathan Pitt. He was working on the cure for Covid-19. Just before he makes it home to save a loved one, who has the virus, he crashes his car and passes away. How will this drama wrok out?
     
    Then Tommy Chase is flashed back in time to the prehistoric age of mammals in a freak accident. Tommy is caught in a catatonic state. Can Dr. Jason Green and Lesa Mace bring him back before he is killed?
    Show book
  • Stories of the Scholar Mohammad Amin Sheikho - Part Five - His Life His Deeds His Way to Al'lah - cover

    Stories of the Scholar Mohammad...

    Mohammad Amin Sheikho, A. K....

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Mohammad Amin Sheikho
    Birth: 1890 A.D.
    Death: 1964 A.D.
    Precept: Interpretation of the Holy Qur'an
    
    CONTENTS
    - Introduction - Stories of the Scholar – Part 5
    - The Dignity of a Believing Officer.
    - His Enemies Confessed to His Excellence.
    - The Officer, a Repentant Criminal and a Chicken Coop.
    - Danger Overcome on the Al-Qaboon Highway.
    - Obsequious Behaviour Is not Tolerated.
    - Superior Intelligence Resolves a Difficult Situation.
    - The False Penitent Will Never Succeed.
    - The Minister of War Yusuf Al- 'Azma and the Battle of Maysalun.
    - The Tale of a Good Butcher and a Bad Butcher.
    - The French Woman Learns the Reason for the Veil.
    - Defending the Sheikh against a Murderous Mob.
    - The Governor of the Castle Ensures Stability within Its Walls.
    - Occasional Marital Privacy for Prisoners.
    - The Irreverent Grocer Is Foiled.
    - Prisoner in the Castle or Guest of Honour?
    - A Complex Story of Punishment, Rebellion and Mercy.
    Show book
  • Last Kiss: Surviving the Big Three—Holidays Family and Zombies - cover

    Last Kiss: Surviving the Big...

    John Lustig

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The holidays are always fun—if you discount nosy relatives, stressful family gatherings, and the inevitable question “Were you naughty or nice this year?” Well, most people would say they were nice, but John Lustig’s Last Kiss shines a light on the absurdity of such a question. Using art from the classic 50s- and 60s-era comic strip First Kiss, Lustig adds his own witty observations on the futility of family functions, and the hilarity that comes along with the holiday seasons in his new e-book original collection. Of course, it wouldn’t be the end of the world, as we know it, without a few zombies thrown in for good measure.
    Show book
  • Big Nate Out Loud - cover

    Big Nate Out Loud

    Lincoln Peirce

    • 5
    • 118
    • 1
    Eleven-year-old Nate Wright is living OUT LOUD and he wouldn't have it any other way!Even though his friends won't let him be the lead singer in their band, Nate continues to rock. He's a superstar of the comics pages and of the best-selling series of Big Nate books and he's a big hit with kids everywhere. This collection features daily and Sunday strips that originally appeared in newspapers.Now in full-color with poster!
    Show book
  • Invisible Emmie - cover

    Invisible Emmie

    Terri Libenson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Jennifer L. Holm, Invisible Emmie is a humorous and surprising debut novel by Terri Libenson, creator of the internationally syndicated, Reuben Award-winning comic strip The Pajama Diaries.  
    This is the story of two totally different girls- 
    quiet, shy, artistic Emmie 
    popular, outgoing, athletic Katie 
    -and how their lives unexpectedly intersect one day, when an embarrassing note falls into the wrong hands. . . . 
     
    All the crushes, humiliations, boredom, and drama of middle school are compressed into one surprising day in this extraordinary novel.
    Show book
  • High-Tech Highways and Super Skyways - The Next 100 Years of Transportation - cover

    High-Tech Highways and Super...

    Nikole Brooks Bethea

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    From self-driving cars to manetic trains, the future of transportation is full of exciting possibilities. Hit the fast lane to see what the next 100 years of transportation may have in store for the human race.
    Show book