Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
And When She Was Good - A Novel - cover

And When She Was Good - A Novel

Laura Lippman

Publisher: William Morrow

  • 1
  • 4
  • 0

Summary

Already praised as “a writing powerhouse” (USA Today) and “among the select group of novelists who have invigorated the crime fiction arena with smart, innovative, and exciting work” (George Pelecanos), New York Times bestseller Laura Lippman is constantly sending reviewers back to their thesauruses in search of new and greater accolades. 
Her brilliant stand-alone novel, And When She Was Good, only reinforces the fact that she stands tall among today’s bestselling elite—including Kate Atkinson, Tana French, Jodi Picoult, and Harlan Coben (who raves, “I love her books!”) Based on her acclaimed, multi-award-nominated short story "Scratch a Woman," And When She Was Good is the powerfully gripping, intensely emotional story of a suburban madam, a convicted murderer whose sentence is about to be overturned, and the child they will both do anything to keep. 
Lippman has already won virtually every prize the mystery genre has to offer—the Edgar®, Anthony, Agatha, and Nero Wolfe Awards, to name but a few. They’ll now have to invent a few new awards just to keep up with her.

Other books that might interest you

  • Hopscotch - cover

    Hopscotch

    Brian Garfield

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Edgar Award winner: Bored with retirement, an ex-spy challenges his old agency to a game  Miles Kendig is one of the CIA’s top deep-cover agents, until an injury ruins him for active duty. Rather than take a desk job, he retires. But the tawdry thrills of civilian life—gambling, drinking, sex—offer none of the pleasures of the intelligence game. Even a Russian agent’s offer to go to work against his old employers seems dull. Without the thrill of unpredictable conflict, Kendig skulks through Paris like the walking dead. To revive himself, he begins writing a tell-all memoir, divulging every secret he accumulated in his long career. Neither CIA nor KGB can afford to have it in print, and so he challenges them both: Until they catch him, a chapter will go to the publisher every week. Kendig’s life is fun again, with survival on the line.
    Show book
  • Sliphammer - cover

    Sliphammer

    Brian Garfield

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    An Arizona sheriff takes an impossible job: arresting Wyatt EarpWyatt Earp rides the train to Tucson alongside his brother Morgan, who makes the trip in the comfort of a wooden casket. Earp comes from Tombstone, along with his two surviving brothers and Doc Holliday, on a mission of vengeance for his murdered kin. They suspect Frank Stillwell of being the shooter, and are not interested in the bandit’s denials. Earp is hardly off the train before he kills Stillwell, and he’s on his way north before the body is cold. Unfortunately for the Earp gang, Stillwell had friends in high places. The governor issues warrants for their arrest, and sends a pair of lawmen north to Colorado to apprehend them. Jeremiah Tree, a sheriff nicknamed “Sliphammer” for his choice of pistol, is given the unenviable task of arresting Wyatt and his brother Warren. It’s a suicide mission, but Sliphammer is too cool to fear any gunman, legendary or not.
    Show book
  • Deadly Inheritance - An Ursula Grandison Mystery - cover

    Deadly Inheritance - An Ursula...

    Janet Laurence

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Accompanying American heiress Belle Seldon on a visit to her ancestral family home in Somerset, Ursula Grandison soon discovers that the decaying stately Mountstanton House and its inhabitants has many secrets, including a crumbling marriage and a missing dowry. When Ursula discovers the drowned body of the nurserymaid, she is determined to reveal the killer and, in doing so, reveals a tangled web of deception and adultery that threatens the reputation of the house of Mountstanton.
    Show book
  • The Stars Shine Down - cover

    The Stars Shine Down

    Sidney Sheldon

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    Lara Cameron, an insecure, ruthless, and beautiful self-made billionaire finds that everything she has ever desired and won has become swiftly imperiled.
    Show book
  • Freedom- A Dane and Bones Origin Story - Dane Maddock Origins #1 - cover

    Freedom- A Dane and Bones Origin...

    David Wood

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    What dark secret did the Founding Fathers of America hide, and who will stop at nothing to uncover it? 
    Navy SEALs in-training, Dane Maddock and Bones Bonebrake can’t be in the same room without trying to kill each other, but soon find themselves caught up in a race with a secret society to solve a mystery that dates back to the founding of America. Find out how it all began in the action-packed first Dane and Bones Origins novella… Freedom! 
    Praise for Freedom! 
    “Freedom rocks! David Wood and Sean Sweeney serve up a great story of how it all began. Dane and Bones are in perfect form as they unravel a devilishly clever historical mystery that traces back to the early days of the nation.”—Sean Ellis, author of Fortune Favors
    Show book
  • Whisper the Dead - A Cotsworld village mystery - cover

    Whisper the Dead - A Cotsworld...

    Cameron Stella

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    With plot twists galore and an array of credible suspects, this traditional village mystery series will appeal to fans of M.C. Beaton and Midsomer Murders
    When Alex Duggins comes across a terrifying scene at the site of a new housing development, once again she is drawn into a case of brutal murder. A new year arrives and winter holds Britain’s Cotswold Hills in its icy grip once more. But it’s the construction of a new housing development that’s causing the residents of Folly-on-Weir most concern. As she passes the site late one afternoon, pub owner Alex Duggins is confronted by the terrifying scene of a construction trailer on fire and a man desperately trying to break the door down.Her efforts to help – and the subsequent findings of the police forensic pathologist – draw Alex and her friend Tony Harrison into a major murder investigation whose tentacles will reach right to the heart of the tight-knit Folly community – and into Alex’s own past … Will appeal to fans of M.C. Beaton and Midsomer Murders.
    Show book