Enjoy 2020 without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Shadow and the Star - cover

The Shadow and the Star

Laura Kinsale

Publisher: HarperCollins e-books

  • 4
  • 28
  • 0

Summary

From nationally acclaimed bestselling author Laura Kinsale comes a boldly original, breathlessly unforgettable tale of honour, adventure and undying love.  
 The Shadow is wealthy, powerful and majestically handsome, he is a man of dark secrets - a master of the ancient martial arts of an exotic distant land. Scarred by a childhood of shocking degradation, he has sworn to love chastely ... but burns with the fires of unfulfilled passion. 
 The Star is lovely, innocent and nearly destitute, and drawn to him by a fevered yearning she could never deny - following her enigmatic ′shadow warrior′ into a dangerous world of desire and righteous retribution.

Other books that might interest you

  • Flowers from the Storm - cover

    Flowers from the Storm

    Laura Kinsale

    • 4
    • 132
    • 0
    The Duke of Jervaulx was brilliant and dangerous. Considered dissolute, reckless, and extravagant, he was transparently referred to as the ′D of J′ in scandal sheets, where he and his various exploits featured with frequency. But sometimes the most womanising rake can be irresistible, and even his most casual attentions fascinated the sheltered Maddy Timms, quiet daughter of a simple mathematician.
    Show book
  • Lyon's Bride and The Scottish Witch with Bonus Material - cover

    Lyon's Bride and The Scottish...

    Cathy Maxwell

    • 4
    • 15
    • 0
    Two great full-length novels in The Chattan Curse series together in one set from NY Times bestselling author Cathy Maxwell. Includes never before seen "behind the book" info, photos from the author, and a sneak peek to her next series The Brides of Wishmore. 
    Fans of Karen Hawkins, Sabrina Jeffries, and Eloisa James will enjoy these utterly romantic and unforgettable books set in Regency England and Scotland. 
    Lyon's Bride 
    They call him Lord Lyon…proud, determined and cursed. He is in need of a bride, but if he falls in love it's is said he will die. So he seeks a woman to marry without love, hoping to break the curse of the Chattans forever. Enter beautiful Thea Martin—a duke's headstrong, errant daughter and society's most brilliant matchmaker. Years ago, she and Lyon were inseparable, until he disappeared without a word. Now she is charged with finding him his bride—a woman he must not love, for a man Thea could love all too well. 
    The Scottish Witch 
    Portia Maclean believes she is beyond love and marriage. Then, one moonlit night, she finds herself swept off her feet by a powerful stranger. But what will he do once he discovers she's betrayed him?   Harry Chattan is fighting for his family…he's come to Scotland on the hunt for a witch to break the Chattan curse. Instead, he finds himself bewitched by Portia.  Harry has vowed to fight the demons torturing him, but will that battle destroy her as well?
    Show book
  • Lady Adelia’s Four Knights - A Reverse Harem Romance - cover

    Lady Adelia’s Four Knights - A...

    Chera Zade, Darcey Gainsborough

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    Four bold knights. One innocent lady. A deadly enemy they must fight together.
     
    Lady Adelia arrives at castle Perran to claim her late husband's estate – but she also inherits a deadly feud with cunning neighbour Lord Braskil.
     
    The castle is manned by four brave and chivalrous knights: battle-scarred Victor, musical Lyrikos, sensitive Hugo and dutiful Edgar.
     
    They vow to guard Adelia with their lives. Yet they realise she needs much more from them. They must heal their frail lady's broken heart and nurture her confidence so she can become the leader that her people need.
     
    The knights tell their beautiful lady she may take them all to bed. Adelia must decide if she can commit to a passionate relationship with her four lusty knights. And find a way for everyone to work together and defeat Lord Braskil's evil plans.
     
    Lady Adelia's Four Knights is a standalone, full-length reverse harem romance novel with an HEA, no cliffhanger, no cheating and very steamy scenes.
    Show book
  • Eleven Scandals to Start to Win a Duke's Heart - cover

    Eleven Scandals to Start to Win...

    Sarah MacLean

    • 5
    • 39
    • 0
    She lives for passion. 
    Bold, impulsive, and a magnet for trouble, Juliana Fiori is no simpering English miss. She refuses to play by society's rules: she speaks her mind, cares nothing for the approval of the ton, and can throw a punch with remarkable accuracy. Her scandalous nature makes her a favorite subject of London's most practiced gossips . . . and precisely the kind of woman The Duke of Leighton wants far far away from him. 
    He swears by reputation. 
    Scandal is the last thing Simon Pearson has room for in his well-ordered world. The Duke of Disdain is too focused on keeping his title untainted and his secrets unknown. But when he discovers Juliana hiding in his carriage late one evening—risking everything he holds dear—he swears to teach the reckless beauty a lesson in propriety. She has other plans, however; she wants two weeks to prove that even an unflappable duke is not above passion.
    Show book
  • Nine Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake - cover

    Nine Rules to Break When...

    Sarah MacLean

    • 4
    • 42
    • 0
    A wonderfully talented new author joins the Avon Romance family—Sarah MacLean, who fans of Eloisa James and Julia Quinn will immediately take into their hearts! Sarah’s delectable debut, Nine Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake, is the Regency Era romp readers have been waiting for—fresh, fun, and wonderfully romantic—placing her solidly in the company of Elizabeth Hoyt, Sophie Jordan, and others of the new generation of exciting up-and-comers.
    Show book
  • The Match of the Century - Marrying the Duke - cover

    The Match of the Century -...

    Cathy Maxwell

    • 2
    • 28
    • 0
    In New York Times bestselling author Cathy Maxwell's glittering new series, wedding bells are ringing… until the return of a rake throws a bride's plans— and heart—into a tailspin 
    Every debutante aspires to snag a duke. Elin Morris just happens to have had one reserved since birth. But postponements of her marriage to London's most powerful peer give Elin time to wonder how she will marry Gavin Baynton when she cannot forget his brother, Benedict. 
    Already exasperated at being yanked from the military to meet "family obligations," now Ben must suffer watching his arrogant sibling squire the only woman he has ever loved. Joining the army saved Ben from sinking into bitterness, but seeing Elin again takes him back to the day they surrendered to their intoxicating desire. 
    As the wedding draws near, Elin tries to push Ben far from her thoughts. When danger brings them together, there is no denying their feelings. But can Elin choose love over duty...?
    Show book