Which book are you going to read today?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Shadow and the Star - cover

The Shadow and the Star

Laura Kinsale

Publisher: HarperCollins e-books

  • 4
  • 25
  • 0

Summary

From nationally acclaimed bestselling author Laura Kinsale comes a boldly original, breathlessly unforgettable tale of honour, adventure and undying love.  
 The Shadow is wealthy, powerful and majestically handsome, he is a man of dark secrets - a master of the ancient martial arts of an exotic distant land. Scarred by a childhood of shocking degradation, he has sworn to love chastely ... but burns with the fires of unfulfilled passion. 
 The Star is lovely, innocent and nearly destitute, and drawn to him by a fevered yearning she could never deny - following her enigmatic ′shadow warrior′ into a dangerous world of desire and righteous retribution.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Angels of Lovely Lane - A powerful 1950s nursing saga from the Sunday Times bestseller - cover

    The Angels of Lovely Lane - A...

    Nadine Dorries

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    'As heart-warming as it is heartbreaking, this novel is unputdownable' Sunday Express. 
     
    It is 1953 and five very different girls are arriving at the nurses' home in Lovely Lane, Liverpool, to start their training at St Angelus Hospital. 
     
    Dana has escaped from her family farm on the west coast of Ireland. Victoria is running away from a debt-ridden aristocratic background. Beth is an army brat and throws her lot in with bitchy Celia Forsyth. And Pammy has come from quite the wrong side of the tracks in Liverpool. 
     
    The world in which they now find themselves is complicated and hierarchical, with rules that must be obeyed. Everyone has their place at St Angelus and woe betide anyone who strays from it. 
     
    But when an unknown girl is admitted, after a botched late abortion in a backstreet kitchen, a tragedy begins to unfold which will rock the world of St Angelus to its foundations. 
     
    Can't wait for the next one? THE CHILDREN OF LOVELY LANE is out now! 
     
    What people are saying about THE ANGELS OF LOVELY LANE: 
     
    'Nadine Dorries's writing is sparkling and vibrant, her books are a joy to read' 
     
    'The book was like a dream – difficult to put down' 
     
    'You feel as if you know the characters personally!' 
     
    'Enthralling read, can't wait to read more'
    Show book
  • Bone Rattler - Duncan McCallum #1 - cover

    Bone Rattler - Duncan McCallum #1

    Eliot Pattison

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    "Hauntingly beautiful are the bonds between the cultures of the Scots Highlanders and the Indians" – Historical Novel Society 
     
    Aboard a British convict ship bound for the New World, Duncan McCallum witnesses a series of murders and apparent suicides among his fellow Scottish prisoners. A strange trail of clues leads Duncan into the New World and eventually thrusts him into the bloody maw of the French and Indian War.  
     
    Exploring a frontier world shrouded in danger and defying death in a wilderness populated by European settlers, Indian shamans, and mysterious scalping parties, Duncan, the exiled chief of his near-extinct Scottish clan, finds that sometimes justice cannot be reached unless the cultures and spirits of those involved are appeased. 
     
    Bone Rattler is a powerful historical mystery set against a backdrop of culture clashes, greed, deceit and murder as seen through the eyes of an honest Scot swept up in both the wonder and heartbreak of early colonial America. 
     
     
    "Having already won an Edgar for his Inspector Shan series, Pattison makes a strong bid for another with this outstanding mystery set in colonial America… Pattison's moving characters, intricate plot and masterful evocation of the time, including sensitive depictions of the effects of the European war on Native Americans, set this leagues beyond most historicals." – Publishers Weekly 
     
    ELIOT PATTISON is the author of The Skull Mantra, winner of the Edgar Award and finalist for the Gold Dagger, Water Touching Stone, and Bone Mountain. Pattison resides in rural Pennsylvania with his wife, three children, two horses, and two dogs on a colonial-era farm.
    Show book
  • Somewhere I'll Find You - cover

    Somewhere I'll Find You

    Lisa Kleypas

    • 7
    • 36
    • 0
    A classic tale of sensuous secrets and unanticipated passion,from the extraordinary New York Times bestselling author 
    The toast of the town ... 
    All London is at Julia Wentworth's feet—and anything she desires is hers for the asking. But the glamorous leading lady guards a shocking secret: a mystery husband whom she does not know, dares not mention ... and cannot love. 
    For years Damon Savage has been searching for the stranger his parents wed him to without his consent, hoping  to legally free himself from matrimony's invisible chains. And he is astonished to discover his "bride" is none other than the exquisite lady he'd hoped to make his mistress! But though his wife by law, Julia will never truly be Damon's—until he conquers her fears, his formidable rivals ... and her proud, passionate, and independent heart.
    Show book
  • The Children of Lovely Lane - cover

    The Children of Lovely Lane

    Nadine Dorries

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The second gripping novel in the Lovely Lane series, from bestselling author Nadine Dorries. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Catherine Cookson. 
     
    The nurses of Lovely Lane – Dana, Victoria, Pammy and Beth – are now in their second year and are about to face some truly harrowing and difficult times on the wards. 
     
    St Angelus needs a new assistant matron, but the members of the Liverpool District Hospital Board have overruled Emily Haycock and Dr Gaskell in their choice. Enter the mysterious Miss Van Gilder from somewhere down south. 
     
    The life of St Angelus is soon disrupted as her proposals turn the running of the hospital upside down and threaten the jobs of the domestics and porters. But Miss Van Gilder harbours a dark and dishonest secret, and the staff – who are used to looking after their own – set out to uncover it. 
     
    Will they do so in time, before her meddling begins to affect the morale of the nurses and put the lives of their patients in danger? For one very sick little boy, especially, it will be touch and go. 
     
    Can't wait for the next one? THE MOTHERS OF LOVELY LANE is out now! 
     
     What people are saying about THE CHILDREN OF LOVELY LANE: 
     
    'Another fantastic book in this amazing series!' 
     
    'Nadine Dorries is fast becoming my favourite author. Once I start reading, her books are difficult to put down' 
     
    'So well written and the story line always keeps you wondering' 
     
    'There is nothing better than reading a Nadine Dorries book'
    Show book
  • The Rufus Spy - A medieval mystical mystery - cover

    The Rufus Spy - A medieval...

    Alys Clare

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Apprentice healer Lassair heads on a perilous journey north in the absorbing new Aelf Fen medieval mystery.October, 1093. Two young men have been brutally beaten to death; a third viciously attacked. All three men are of similar appearance. But could there be another connection?Lassair meanwhile has agreed to accompany her former lover Rollo on a perilous journey north in search of King William. On their trail is a skilled, relentless and ruthless assassin. Who is he ? and why has he targeted Rollo? If they are to survive, the hunted must become the hunters: Rollo and Lassair must lure their pursuer to the treacherous fenland terrain Lassair knows so well and turn the tables on their would-be killer.
    Show book
  • The Duke and the Lady in Red - cover

    The Duke and the Lady in Red

    Lorraine Heath

    • 5
    • 60
    • 0
    Sparks fly in the finale of the Scandalous Gentlemen of St. James Place series, as the last wicked rogue meets his match. 
    When Rosalind Sharpe gains the attention of the deliciously wicked Duke of Avendale, she’s torn between her distracting attraction to the notorious rogue and the knowledge that he—rich as Croesus—is the perfect target for a deception that will put her swindling days behind her. 
    However, Avendale is no fool. After he discovers the tantalizing lady packing up to leave London with his coins in tow, he confronts her with a scandalous proposition: she can have all the money she requires…for a week in his bed. 
    Desperate for the funds, Rose agrees, but on one condition: he must never question her motives. Avendale quickly sees beneath her mask and discovers she is more than passion and pleasure—she is everything he has ever desired. But claiming her requires he unveil her secrets and lose her forever. Unless he can put his own dark past aside and risk everything for a chance at love.
    Show book