Turn 2021 into a year of reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Whatever Happened to Vicky Hope's Back Up Man? - The most romantic feel-good novel you'll read this year - cover

Whatever Happened to Vicky Hope's Back Up Man? - The most romantic feel-good novel you'll read this year

Laura Kemp

Publisher: Aria

  • 0
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

'Read this book while on holiday – and loved it! I would highly recommend!' RACHEL ABBOTT. 
 
A funny, feel-good coming-of-age novel which asks if the past can ever be part of your future. 
 
Twenty-one and insecure, Vicky Hope comes up with a plan on the eve of travelling the world with her high-flying friend, Kat Lloyd: if she isn't married by the time she's thirty, she'll marry her geeky best mate Mikey Murphy. 
 
Fast-forward eight-and-a-bit years, Vicky, now Vee wakes up on her thirtieth birthday in Brighton, expecting a proposal of marriage from her arty boyfriend Jez. Instead he tells her their relationship is over and she has no choice but to return to her parents' home. 
 
Devastated and alone in her childhood bedroom, she decides she has nothing to lose and tracks down her two old mates. With shock, she discovers Mikey, now Murphy, is a successful app designer driven by his tragic upbringing. Kat, or Kate, never made it – but she hides a devastating secret, which threatens the happiness of all three. 
 
What people are saying about WHAT HAPPENED TO VICKY HOPE'S BACK UP MAN? 
 
'Gorgeous! Funny, clever, romantic and real, it's brilliant' RACHAEL LUCAS 
 
'A delightful story of lasting friendship & first love' 
 
'I enjoyed every page' 
 
'A read full of love, laughter and tears. The kind of book that lingers in the mind' 
 
'Get a cuppa, get on the sofa, and settle down to a good old entertaining story!'

Other books that might interest you

  • How to Marry a Marquis - cover

    How to Marry a Marquis

    Julia Quinn

    • 3
    • 37
    • 0
    When James Sidwell, Marquis of Riverdale, offered to help Elizabeth Hotchkiss find herself a husband, he never dreamed that the only candidate he could propose would be himself..
    Show book
  • Seven Secrets of Seduction - cover

    Seven Secrets of Seduction

    Anne Mallory

    • 3
    • 43
    • 0
    “Anne Mallory gives classic romance a fresh and delightful spin with her clever plots and winning imagination.”—Teresa Medeiros, New York Times bestselling author Explore seduction, deception, and searing passion in USA Today bestselling author Anne Mallory’s Seven Secrets of Seduction. A RITA Award finalist (for Three Nights of Sin  and For the Earl's Pleasure ), Anne once again delivers a passionate, heart-wrenching Regency Era romance, intricately well-plotted and filled with memorable characters, including a particularly fearless heroine. Fans of Julia Quinn and Elizabeth Boyle will delight over Anne Mallory’s scandalous Secrets.
    Show book
  • The Duchess Deal - Girl Meets Duke - cover

    The Duchess Deal - Girl Meets Duke

    Tessa Dare

    • 13
    • 164
    • 0
    When girl meets Duke, their marriage breaks all the rules… 
    Since his return from war, the Duke of Ashbury’s to-do list has been short and anything but sweet: brooding, glowering, menacing London ne’er-do-wells by night. Now there’s a new item on the list. He needs an heir—which means he needs a wife. When Emma Gladstone, a vicar’s daughter turned seamstress, appears in his library wearing a wedding gown, he decides on the spot that she’ll do. 
    His terms are simple: 
    - They will be husband and wife by night only. 
    - No lights, no kissing.  
    - No questions about his battle scars.  
    - Last, and most importantly… Once she’s pregnant with his heir, they need never share a bed again. 
    But Emma is no pushover. She has a few rules of her own: 
    - They will have dinner together every evening.  
    - With conversation. 
    - And unlimited teasing. 
    - Last, and most importantly… Once she’s seen the man beneath the scars, he can’t stop her from falling in love…
    Show book
  • When the Marquess Was Mine - The Wagers of Sin - cover

    When the Marquess Was Mine - The...

    Caroline Linden

    • 0
    • 9
    • 0
    In the game of love… 
    Georgiana Lucas despises the arrogant and cruel Marquess of Westmorland even before learning that he’s won the deed to her friend Kitty’s home in a card game. Still, Georgiana assures Kitty the marquess wouldn’t possibly come all the way to Derbyshire to throw them out—until he shows up, bloody and unconscious. Fearing that Kitty would rather see him die, Georgiana blurts out that he’s her fiancé. She’ll nurse the hateful man back to health and make him vow to leave and never return. The man who wakes up, though, is nothing like the heartless rogue Georgiana thought she knew… 
    You have to risk it all 
    He wakes up with no memory of being assaulted—or of who he is. The bewitching beauty tending him so devotedly calls him Rob and claims she’s his fiancée even as she avoids his touch. Though he can’t remember how he won her hand, he’s now determined to win her heart. But as his memory returns and the truth is revealed, Rob must decide if the game is up—or if he’ll take a chance on a love that defies all odds.
    Show book
  • The Sum of All Kisses - cover

    The Sum of All Kisses

    Julia Quinn

    • 4
    • 38
    • 0
    From Julia Quinn, the New York Times bestselling author of steamy historical romances, comes the third seductive installment of the Smythe-Smith Quartet, The Sum of All Kisses. 
    Sarah Pleinsworth can’t forgive Hugh Prentice for the duel he fought three years ago that nearly destroyed her family, sent her cousin fleeing, and left Hugh himself with a badly injured leg. That’s fine with Hugh, who can’t tolerate Sarah’s dramatic ways. But when the two are forced to spend a week together, they find that unexpected kisses, and mutual passion, may have the power to change both of their minds. 
    Written with Julia Quinn’s trademark style, The Sum of All Kisses is a witty and lighthearted Regency romance.
    Show book
  • Devil's Daughter - The Ravenels meet The Wallflowers - cover

    Devil's Daughter - The Ravenels...

    Lisa Kleypas

    • 4
    • 30
    • 1
    Although beautiful young widow Phoebe, Lady Clare, has never met West Ravenel, she knows one thing for certain: he’s a mean, rotten bully. Back in boarding school, he made her late husband’s life a misery, and she’ll never forgive him for it. But when Phoebe attends a family wedding, she encounters a dashing and impossibly charming stranger who sends a fire-and-ice jolt of attraction through her. And then he introduces himself...as none other than West Ravenel. 
    West is a man with a tarnished past. No apologies, no excuses. However, from the moment he meets Phoebe, West is consumed by irresistible desire...not to mention the bitter awareness that a woman like her is far out of his reach. What West doesn’t bargain on is that Phoebe is no straitlaced aristocratic lady. She’s the daughter of a strong-willed wallflower who long ago eloped with Sebastian, Lord St. Vincent—the most devilishly wicked rake in England. 
    Before long, Phoebe sets out to seduce the man who has awakened her fiery nature and shown her unimaginable pleasure. Will their overwhelming passion be enough to overcome the obstacles of the past? 
    Only the devil’s daughter knows… 
     
    Show book