Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Horse's Arse - cover

The Horse's Arse

Laura Gascoigne

Publisher: Clink Street Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Patrick Phelan is an ageing artist who has never made it big but who somehow manages to live on air in a North London suburb.

When not running art classes for amateurs, Patrick wrestles in the shed at the bottom of his garden with his life's work: a series of visionary canvases of The Seven Seals.

When his wheeler-dealer son Marty turns up with a commission from a rich client for some copies of paintings by modern masters, Phelan reluctantly agrees; it means money for his ex-wife Moira. However the deal with Marty is, typically, not what it seems.

What follows is a complex chain of events involving fakery, fraud, kidnapping, murder, the Russian Mafia and a cast of dubious art world characters. A contemporary spin on Joyce Cary's classic satire The Horse's Mouth, The Horse's Arse by Laura Gascoigne is a crime thriller-cum-comic-fable that poses the serious question: where does art go from here?
Available since: 04/04/2017.
Print length: 220 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Diary of a Nobody - cover

    The Diary of a Nobody

    George Grossmith, Weedon Grossmith

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Dive into the life of a normal man with a normal family in this humorous novel told in diary entries from one Charles Pooter: husband, father, and someone who experiences relatable social embarrassments and humiliations. As he chronicles a year in his life, he discusses his twenty-year-old son's foray into the dating scene, the couple's attempts at blending in with higher society, and his general interactions with friends and co-workers. Originally released as an intermittent serial in Punch, a satirical magazine, The Diary of a Nobody is the literary genius of two brothers who told it like it is.
    Show book
  • Three Men in a Boat - cover

    Three Men in a Boat

    Jerome K.

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    "Three Men in a Boat" is a humorous account penned by Jerome K. Jerome and first published in 1889. The story chronicles the comedic misadventures of three friends - Jerome, George, and Harris - along with Montmorency, their spirited fox-terrier, as they embark on a boating holiday along the Thames River. What starts as a restorative leisure trip quickly becomes an uproarious journey filled with mishaps, misunderstandings, and memorable anecdotes. Through Jerome's witty narrative, the novel presents a delightful mix of absurdity and astute observations on human nature and the Victorian era's peculiarities.
    Show book
  • NPR Driveway Moments All About Animals - Radio Stories That Won't Let You Go - cover

    NPR Driveway Moments All About...

    NPR

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    What’s a “driveway moment”? It’s when you’re so captivated by a story you’re hearing on NPR that you stay in your car to hear it to the end—even if you’re sitting in your driveway with the motor running. For years, listeners have written to NPR to describe such moments. Now animal lovers especially will want to make sure their tanks are full. Heard on All Things Considered, Morning Edition, Talk of the Nation, and Wait WaitàDon’t Tell Me!, hosted by Morning Edition's Steve Inskeep, these stories will make you laugh out loud and shed a tear or two.
    Show book
  • The Brazilian - brilliantly witty holiday read exposing the garish world of reality TV - cover

    The Brazilian - brilliantly...

    Rosie Millard

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    'Hilariously observed… a much-welcomed comedy of manners.' Jane Green, New York Times Bestselling author 
    Perfect for fans of Rachel Johnson and Claire Sandy, The Brazilian offers a much-needed dose of celeb scandal for fans of Love Island and other reality TV shows. 
    Following a sensational scandal at one of London's most desired postcodes, Jane and Patrick decide to escape the gossip with a family holiday to Ibiza, their eight-year-old son George in tow. 
    Also on the island that week is a TV reality show involving an eccentric artist, a horny It Girl, a Brazilian footballer and a famous magician. 
    As hapless celebrities are picked off one by one, Jane is desperate to be on the programme, leaving childcare in the not so capable hands of a teenager. 
    One lesbian escapade and an explosive row over hair removal later, the contestants of Ibiza or Bust leave the island with more than sand in places they never knew existed... 
    'Quirky... and real fun too!' The Independent 
    'Worthy of Trollope, Austen and Arnold Bennett' Mature Times 
    'Pin-sharp and wickedly funny' Adam Foulds 
    'Shot through with wit... Punctures the tawdry and vacuous world of Reality TV with a racy, pacy wit. ' Jonathan Maitland 
     
    'A hilarious bit of escapism. The perfect accessory forany beach vacation.' Jo Piazza 
    'Packed with sun, scandal and crackling humour, this is a beach read full of belly laughs.' Chrissie Manby 
     
    'The Brazilian is what happens when Wish you were here? meets I’m a Celebrity: Rosie Millard’s well-observed island romp depicts the ultimate all-inclusive fortnight in Ibiza. A fun, fast-paced read ideal for a summer getaway' Simon Calder, Travel Journalist & Broadcaster 
    'Hilarious naughty fun - The Brazilian could not have been a more perfect companion for the beach!' Lucy Sykes 
    'An irresistible energy pulsates through Rosie Millard's latest novel. She capture the foibles and follies of her characters with a wry humour that is hard to resist.' Mark Palmer, Daily Mail
    Show book
  • The Devil and the Detective - cover

    The Devil and the Detective

    John Goldbach

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    "Goldbach's touch is light and his narrative momentum is fierce."-- The Globe and Mail Robert James, a private detective more interested in chronicling his cases than solving them, gets a midnight call from a young woman whose older husband has been found with a knife in his chest. Murder, corruption, and betrayal ensue as he's drawn into the dark underworld of his client, but hapless Robert and his sidekick, a flower-delivery guy, can't stop drinking, smoking, and philosophizing long enough to keep up. Imagine The Big Sleep via Fernando Pessoa, with a side of Buster Keaton. John Goldbach is the author of Selected Blackouts, a collection of stories.
    Show book
  • The Adventures of Spike the Wonder Dog - As told to Bill Boggs - cover

    The Adventures of Spike the...

    Bill Boggs

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Spike is an English Bull Terrier with a keen comedic eye for human foibles. He rockets to TV and internet fame after appearing on The Tonight Show with Jimmy Fallon, along with his master, Bud, who hosts a local morning show in High Point, North Carolina. Spike and Bud soon hit the fast track to bigger stardom when Bud signs on for a talk show in New York City.  They embark on an endless stream of mind-boggling adventures that include the world's first topless theme park, a rabbi promoting Christmas shows, and a yogi who discovers Spike's comical talent for teaching Transcendental Meditation. Spike's pop culture fame and the A-list crowd he mingles with in Manhattan exact a potentially fatal price. Dangerous forces enact a scheme to snatch the famous wonder dog and plunge him into an international dog fighting ring. Spike calls to mind the cultural icon Rocky Balboa as he goes into battle armed with humor and guile as well as the ancient, but never tested, skills of his breed. Will they be enough to enable him to survive?
    Show book