Do you want to read 1 year without limits?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Beginning to Heal (Revised Edition) - A First Book for Men and Women Who Were Sexually Abused As Children - cover

Beginning to Heal (Revised Edition) - A First Book for Men and Women Who Were Sexually Abused As Children

Laura Davis, Ellen Bass

Publisher: Avon

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

There's nothing as wonderful as starting to heal, waking up in the morning and knowing that nobody can hurt you if you don't let them. 
Beginning to Heal offers hope and guidance for all survivors starting the healing journey. No matter how great your pain today, you can not only heal but thrive. Based on the authors' bestseller The Courage to Heal, this Revised Edition of Beginning to Heal takes you through the key stages of the healing process, from crisis times to breaking the silence, grief, and anger, to resolution and moving on. It includes inspirational highlights, clear explanations, practical suggestions, and compelling accounts of survivors' pain, their strength, and their triumphs.

Who read this book also read:

  • In Manchuria - A Village Called Wasteland and the Transformation of Rural China - cover

    In Manchuria - A Village Called...

    Michael Meyer

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    In the tradition of In Patagonia and Great Plains, Michael Meyer's In Manchuria is a scintillating combination of memoir, contemporary reporting, and historical research, presenting a unique profile of China's legendary northeast territory. For three years, Meyer rented a home in the rice-farming community of Wasteland, hometown to his wife's family. Their personal saga mirrors the tremendous change most of rural China is undergoing, in the form of a privately held rice company that has built new roads, introduced organic farming, and constructed high-rise apartments into which farmers can move in exchange for their land rights. Once a commune, Wasteland is now a company town, a phenomenon happening across China that Meyer documents for the first time; indeed, not since Pearl Buck wrote The Good Earth has anyone brought rural China to life as Meyer has here. 
        
      Amplifying the story of family and Wasteland, Meyer takes us on a journey across Manchuria's past, a history that explains much about contemporary China--from the fall of the last emperor to Japanese occupation and Communist victory. Through vivid local characters, Meyer illuminates the remnants of the imperial Willow Palisade, Russian and Japanese colonial cities and railways, and the POW camp into which a young American sergeant parachuted to free survivors of the Bataan Death March. In Manchuria is a rich and original chronicle of contemporary China and its people.
    Show book
  • The Genius and the Goddess - A Novel - cover

    The Genius and the Goddess - A...

    Aldous Huxley, heirs Huxley...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Thirty years ago, ecstasy and torment took hold of John Rivers, shocking him out of “half-baked imbecility into something more nearly resembling the human form.” He had an affair with the wife of his mentor, Henry Maartens—a pathbreaking physicist, winner of the Nobel Prize, and a figure of blinding brilliance—bringing the couple to ruin. Now, on Christmas Eve while a small grandson sleeps upstairs, John Rivers is moved to set the record straight about the great man and the radiant, elemental creature he married, who viewed the renowned genius through undazzled eyes.
    Show book
  • The Gender Agenda - A First-Hand Account of How Girls and Boys Are Treated Differently - cover

    The Gender Agenda - A First-Hand...

    James Millar, Ros Ball

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From language and clothes, to toys and the media, society inflicts unwritten rules on each gender from birth. Aiming to make people aware of the way gender is constructed and constantly reinforced, this diary chronicles the differences two parents noticed while raising their son and daughter.
    
    Adapted from tweets and blogs the couple kept throughout parenthood, this collection shows how culture, family and even the authors themselves are part of the 'gender police' that can influence a child's identity, and offers ideas for how we can work together to challenge the gender stereotypes that are ingrained in our society.
    Show book
  • Frackopoly - The Battle for the Future of Energy and the Environment - cover

    Frackopoly - The Battle for the...

    Wenonah Hauter

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Over the past decade a new and controversial energy extraction method known as hydraulic fracturing, or fracking, has rocketed to the forefront of U.S. energy production. With fracking, millions of gallons of water, dangerous chemicals, and sand are injected under high pressure deep into the earth, fracturing hard rock to release oil and gas.Wenonah Hauter, one of the nation’s leading public interest advocates, argues that the rush to fracking is dangerous to the environment and treacherous to human health. Frackopoly describes how the fracking industry began; the technologies that make it possible; and the destruction and poisoning of clean water sources and the release of harmful radiation from deep inside shale deposits, creating what the author calls “sacrifice zones” across the American landscape.The book also examines the powerful interests that have supported fracking, including leading environmental groups, and offers a thorough debunking of its supposed economic benefits. With a wealth of new data, Frackopoly is essential and riveting reading for anyone interested in protecting the environment and ensuring a healthy and sustainable future for all Americans.
    Show book
  • Hello Cutie! - Adventures in Cute Culture - cover

    Hello Cutie! - Adventures in...

    Pamela Klaffke

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A doe-eyed doll, a smiley-faced cupcake, a sweet plush kitten: they're cute?and cute is at the heart of a growing legion of adult collectors and enthusiasts who live and breathe all things cuddly and adorable.Journalist and writer Pamela Klaffke, author of Spree: A Cultural History of Shopping and herself an avid collector of cute since she was a child, takes readers on a rainbow-and-unicorn-filled journey through cute culture, from its origins in Japan where teenaged girls help drive the "cute" economy, to its modern-day manifestations in the bubblegum-colored careers of performers like Katy Perry. The book also delves into the fanatical world of cute creators and collectors, the psychology of nostalgia, and the phenomenon known as creepy/cute. There's also cute food, anthropomorphized animals, and cute superstars such as Blythe, My Little Pony, and Hello Kitty herself. Full-color throughout, the book also includes many photographs of cute objects from the author's extensive personal collection.As charming and captivating as its subject matter, Hello, Cutie! invites readers to indulge their cuddliest guilty pleasures. It's as cute as can be!Pamela Klaffke is the author of Spree: A Cultural History of Shopping.
    Show book
  • How to Create a Blueprint for Living - cover

    How to Create a Blueprint for...

    Wee Dilts

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Create your own blueprint and live the live you always dreamed of living. You’ll receive remarkably clear tools and techniques on how to create the life you want to live. The pathway to a new exciting you, the secrets of success and peace of mind revealed in this amazing E book. 
    Don’t take my word for it. Learn for yourself, how to live stress free and get more done. Here’s the truth about how to focus, attain clarity and success for yourself. It's Easy
    Show book